Rent Blitz: The League for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Blitz: The League

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, Xbox
GF Rating
6.0

1880 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Comeback

posted by Bonafide (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 3, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

As a long time Blitz player, i was a bit bummed that they said they'd retired Blitz. Wow, did they shock me when this came out. It still has the strange motion problems that's far from the real thing, but it's definitely improved Since Blitz Pro. The characters arent Huge and bulbous, and they have noticely, well, grown up with the language and dirty hits. LT playing NY Nightmares, and even the leagues best player was great. This game has it s up's and Downs and its kind of a bad list.

Up's: Hard hitting style, Clash and unleash, and each team having it's star players.

Downs: Only able to draft two of your own players, the movement style of the game, the money you start out with, the price of things, and the skill level of other teams.

So, as much as it's added, it still has to have some big improvements done, but they've got something with this. the graphics are way better thank to the 360's HD, but not nearly as good as some others, like madden, but this has to be one of midway's best games. I would give this game a 7 1/2 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!!!

posted by GamerKP14 (MUSTANG, OK) Jun 14, 2007

Member since May 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game was very fun to play. I was very skeptical at first because of all the bad reviews, but this is a game you will have to play for yourself and you be the judge. The graphics are great. The action awesome. The Unleashed Mode in the game is the coolest part. Also how you buy equipment for your team. Also you can buy steroids for certain players. This was an awesome game not too easy not to hard it was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Blitz Fun

posted by Gommash (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Dec 21, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

OK I know it seems like a straight port from the xbox game with no new awesome graphics, but the game is pretty fun.

We had fun just jumping in and playing and fighting on the field. We haven't tried the career mode yet, we have been having fun spending 20 minutes throwing passes and doing dirty hits.

It is fun for 2 players, single player is ok, but the real fun is playing with someone else. It's funny because you end up doing a lot of smack talk.

2 big problems with the game:

1. Load times are unbearable. We've turned off auto save to make them quicker.

2. Running game is too hard. Need to make it easier to rush.

It is worth a rent especially if you have someone to smack in the face!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

You get EXACTLY what it says. This is NOT Madden

posted by Chicken6 (PACOIMA, CA) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

People writing reviews here are lame. This NOT a Madden nor does it try to be. This is exactly what it says it is, an arcade stlye beat 'em up with harsh topics like drug abuse, immorality choices, etc. Don't expect anything else. Oh, yea it is rated M for Mature, so keep it away from the kiddies. It is an arade sim not a sports sim, so it will look and play unlike anything Madden, get over that fanboys.

Now, if you go into the game knowing and expecting all this already, then you can have a good time. Gamepely is "Blitz" like so expect the late and brutal bone-crunching tackles. Coach decisions are zany and fun, multiplayer is a blast here too. Solid football game overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Quality Football Gameplay

posted by LowFuel (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 25, 2006

Member since May 2004

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

It's sad that EA had to get an exclusive NFL license in order to completely shut out their competition.
But it's obvious why they needed to after playing this - the mechanics are better, the game is far more responsive, and even the graphics are superior to Madden.
I give this game a 9 for sheer football gameplay value, however I have to ding it a few points for the direction they decided to go in. The humor value in making this a parody of all the NFL's bad sides just didn't really work for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Old school beat down

posted by 65Impala (Grand Rapids, MN) Nov 18, 2006

Member since May 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

While this game will appear fun to anyone just turning it on, I warn you it only takes about 3 days to beat, after that its not so fun. I played this game on ps 2 over a year ago. And the game is identical. I called the opening cut scene, the game play is the same, everything about it is the same. So if you played that one, this one is boring because you have already done it... The game itself is pretty fun, I like the idea, its just WAY to short!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty interesting

posted by benhess (SANDOWN, NH) Nov 20, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Although I haven't beaten the game yet, it definately gives me another reason to not play Madden 07...I like the style of play, the speed of the game, the vulgar language, the breaking of bones, the juicin of players, so I give it a "Good" overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

something different please

posted by cel3316 (STOCKTON, CA) Dec 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When i heard blitz the league was going to be on xbox 360 i had to get it, only to be disappointed.
the graphics are exactly like the old one nothing new, rent it only if you haven't played the old one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Blitz: The League

posted by pooooop7 (SAN ANGELO, TX) Nov 26, 2006

Member since May 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If this game is the same as the one on the xbox once you get towards the end it gets really cheap like some games do so like for example, you barely get hit and your guy fumbles the ball and then the other team picks it up and runs it back for a touchdown but other than that its pretty fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Fun

posted by kunalb (LILBURN, GA) Dec 19, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is not what it used to be with blitz. Sure the new storyline feature is great but everything else that was fun has been taken out or altered. Blitz used to be awesome where someone who knew nothing about football could be a great player, but with the new game engine it's getting too technical and too involved almost like a real football game which Blitz is not supposed to be. There are no more late hits or easy hard hitting qb sacks, now you have to make plays to earn "turbo" and use it to make hard hits to get more turbo and then once everyones pd off, you dont get a brawl but 5 seconds to do as many late hits as possible. It just lost its simplicity which was the best part.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Let Me down.

posted by TheIceman (HANOVER, PA) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was hoping for some kind of alternative to Madden, what I ended up with was a poor excuse for a game to use foul language. This game disappointed me in soo many ways. First off the graphics are sub par for a next gen system. Even in 1080i it just looks like a sharp version of an old Blitz game. The field looks good, but the players just look bad. They really should have put more work into making the players look better. The sound is good. But why did they have to put so much profanity in a football game? I just don't get that. So for you parents out there, don't get this for your kids and don't play this around your kids either. Now lets get into game play. Well lets just say it sucks in every way. i played a whole game and I think maybe I was able to make 4 complete passes. I tried running and that was not so great either. I was sacked more times that I can remember and it seemed like I had no control over that either. I never did really understand how to punt and make field goals. What I was expecting in this game was an alternative to madden. If Midway did this game right, they could have gave Madden a run for their money. But instead they wasted their time. Online play is basically void. I waited 30 mins and nothing. So then I created my own game with the hope that someone would join me. Nada. So overall don't even waste your rental for this one. This will be in the bargain bin soon. Then when it is worth only $15 bucks, I still would not recommend it. Stay away. This game just makes me thank Gamefly for such a nice service!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ehhh.. nothing like the old ones.

posted by l2yaaan (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's not that good as the older ones for like ps1 or n64. The defense is terrible, and it is very hard to stop plays. The fact that the computer quarterback can go slow-mo and dodge you from tackling him. The lack of plays doesn't really help either, neither does not being able to create plays. I wouldn't recommend, it really.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW

posted by Pitbull666 (TRINIDAD, CO) Dec 6, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Please merciful lord, do not get this game in hopes of it overtaking madden, or any other football game, this is stupid, sure the cussing and steroids might seem fun...........for about 30 minutes, then it gets super repetitive and just ridiculously stupid. Do yourself a favor and pass this up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good bad buying!!

posted by TheColdWol (HUNTINGTOWN, MD) Jan 13, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I rented this game before and it is horrible, and the controllers, are hard to get used to. The graphics look like xbox ones graphics, it is just not good at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Sports Game Ever

posted by HateIt (CANONSBURG, PA) Dec 30, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is by far the worst sports game i've played. Game play is constantly interrupted by little movies of the players threatening each other. Tackling is impossible. No matter how much pressure or how many people him them the quarterback almost never gets sacked. The game is just flat out annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Blitz: The League

posted by fatebigbub (FORT SMITH, AR) Jan 14, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the game cheats and sucks and if the players were real i wud rip out thare skull good bye game and good ridance

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Football Game

posted by SickTag (ALAMOGORDO, NM) Dec 16, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game had a lot going for it, but Midway games was not able to get NFL support for this game. So you get to play on made up teams. The game play is clunky, the characters are not that great and the game gets old after one game.

The idea that Midway wanted was of a football career/RPG type of a game. Without the NFL, you feel like there is really no basis to play this fantasy football game.

Madden is still a better Football game and I would suggest not wasting your breath with this game. I bought this game when it came out and tried to return it an hour later. It was the Two Worlds of Football. Disappointment abound!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Blitz: The League

posted by sportster (PAXTON, IL) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game was awesome,great grahpics,will recommend it to all my friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever

posted by Shelby (MANDAN, ND) Dec 13, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is by far the worst blitz game there is i wouldnt get this game ever again most of the moves dont work and 2 mins a quarter is not long enough to get anything done

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Same Game

posted by mmets12 (STAMFORD, CT) Dec 10, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is the exact same game that was on Xbox and PS2 last year. Nothing has changed except the graphics are cleaner. If you played the game on Xbox or PS2 last year its not worth your time. If you didn't play it last year then its pretty good. I just wish they had a new story line for this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste a rental on this game

posted by MrXbox360 (DELAND, FL) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is such a joke, the graphics are Xbox quality. The gameplay really sux. All these people posting these glowin g reviews must obviously work for Midway as I can't believe anyone would recommend this lousy game. I played it for 5 mins and immediately sent back to Gamefly. DO NOT RENT THIS GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the worst sports game i have ever played

posted by Wehby13 (LOXAHATCHEE, FL) Aug 16, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

let me start off by saying i love (loved, rather) the blitz series, and how the rules were toned down from the usual ones in modern football were cool. this game, however, plays totally different. unbelievably cheap AI, bad voice acting, previous-generation graphics, and all in all the worst football game out there. i would rather play any of the old Playstation 1 Blitz games anyday compared to this. when you kick off after a touchdown and the enemy runs all the way back almost eveytime (or gets very close to doing so) by stiff arming YOUR ENTIRE TEAM (which is composed of a bunch of idiots), then you know its time to return this game and get ANY OTHER GAME from gamefly. i got this game out of nostalgia, to remember the old Blitz days, and man, i couldn't be any more dissapointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Good Premise, Needs less steroids & better graphix

posted by arcangelgx (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 29, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

For some reason Midway must have thought steroids and drug abuse were a part of the game that the fans liked. Which fans are these? There is also some very questionable content for a game that has two cartoon characters on the front of it and will be inevitably played by scores of kids and pre-teens alike. Personally, I rather not glorify the steroid aspect of professional sports, but Midway evidently disagrees.

If Midway wised up, they would fix the graphics deficit between Blitz and Madden (WHICH IS UNFORGIVABLY VAST) and expand upon the deeper feel to the franchise mode in terms of players and coaches off the field. However, apart from graphics, Midway also needs to take a giant leap forward in terms of actual gameplay as well as the player person ell aspects of running a franchise.

Midway must think that arcade style gameplay is still a huge draw for a generation that hardly spent anytime in arcades! I'm 30, I spent time in arcades, but my little brothers (22 + 20) hardly ever have. It's a new era for video games, and the allure of console titles emulating the "arcade" feel is in it's death throes. There's a reason there haven't been any Street Fighter 2 or Mortal Kombat hits in the last few years. The arcade is dead. Console is king. Deal with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by louman (OOLTEWAH, TN) Nov 15, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 45 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Defective

posted by destroyer2 (CAPE CORAL, FL) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Hey Blitz the league is a great game and all but your game had so many scratches on it and I could't play it on my xbox 360. I read how you apparently change the game if it has scratches but you musn't have looked that well cause it looked like someone chewed on it. I have been a member of Gamefly for a year and I love your rentals but you guys really have to check on these games. e-mail me back, my e-mail is megakingdude at gmail

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse