Rent Blitz: The League II for PS3
view large frontback

Blitz: The League II

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.8

1338 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More of the same from the first game

posted by PolloRojo (PENSACOLA, FL) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The title says it all, this game is very similar to Blitz: The League, but it's a sequel, so what would you expect?

This game takes everything that made the first game interesting, and added enough to keep it from getting old too quickly.

The graphics and sound have been beefed up quite a bit, and there are some cool new features that keep things original. You can now do late hits that add even more damage to players after the whistle is blown, you can target specific areas of players to make sure that you hurt them as badly as you'd like, and there's a new mini game that you play when 'juicing' a player, which allows you to have more control over the outcome, rather than just leave it to chance.

Additional teams and stadiums have been added, and the cheerleaders look less classy than ever before.

The season/franchise/career/w- hatever mode is prett deep for a game with such a simple concept.

If you liked the first game, there's definitely something here for you. Most football fans, and probably fans of wrestling and fighting games will find Blitz: The League II to be a relatively enjoyable experience.

The only downside is that if you don't play the career mode, the gameplay can get old pretty fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

impressed

posted by fern91 (Austin, TX) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

well well this game surely did impress me.
after being a hardcore madden fan i didnt expect this "fake" football game to bring me much fun. i was proven wrong.
its actually pretty fun and addictive, after playing the first blitz the league i thought it was a shame to football humanity. this one made me change my mind it was very fun. the "clash" hits are entertaining(its always nice to see someone rupture their scrotum)..
a pretty good campaign mode which has you battling out through 3 divisions.
..some complaints i did have though is that the gameplay is choppy, it doesnt have that "smooth" feel you see in football games. and you will realize this on the 1st snap of the ball. another thing would be the difficulty i found this game pretty easy for the most part. i found my self blowing out teams by like 30+ points. other than that this was a pretty fair game. should keep you entertained for a while.
if you wanna game add my psn fern91

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good storyline

posted by JPea5USMC (STAFFORD, VA) May 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Very difficult to pull off all of the special moves that you need in order to get the trophies. The story line is what keeps you in the game. Of course landing the big hit on defense and even offense is always cool. Not recommended for children at all, the game is far to vulgar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FUN!!!1

posted by blazer8487 (JONESTOWN, PA) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

aight let me start by saying this, if you want a simulation of real football then go rent madden 09. if you want a fun, hard hitting, sometimes cartoonie, most times gory, arcade style football game, then blitz the league 2 is for you, the graphics look better and feel much much smoother than the last blitz game. has online games, trophies. the only downside is the campaign mode, it has 3 tiers which equals 3 years in the game, but each "season" is only 8 games long, this game would really benifit from a longer season mode that you could build your team up thru the draft. of course you can give your players steriods and boosting drugs. all in all it brings back memories of the old BLITZ arcade game from the late nineties.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ehhh

posted by nitehawk (NORTH BILLERICA, MA) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Not a great game, period.

If you loved the old school NFL Blitz and are sick of playing madden, this is the closest you are going to get to a decent arcade football game. (note: I have yet to play NFL tour, though it looks stupid) Some parts are hilarious with the cursing, gory injuries, late hits, blatant use of steroids and ridiculous commentary. When this game gets to be $10 I will buy it just because I love the old Blitz.

However, this game that is not very exciting and the teams and players are pretty dumb. If you love football, you will like most parts of this game. I don't see it as a good multiplayer game because the controls take a few games to really understand the Clash meter and how to use it.

Defense sucks in this game, it is hard to sack the QB and though you can still knock down receivers in their routes, it is much harder than in the old Blitz.

Overall, it is a very different game, not suited for every football fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Blitz 2

posted by Ozzyhomy (CHATHAM, NY) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pros: Graphics, On-line Game Play, Different Modes of Play.

All in all a great looking game.

Cons: Hard to Play, Not enough time to read or understand what's going on.

Game play even when you put it on easy you don't seem to win to hard even for an adult like me to play.

Would have given it higher rating if it wasn't to challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Midway Killed the Blitz series

posted by ficarrar (STAFFORD SPRINGS, CT) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When NFL Blitz came out for the PS it was great. The arcade graphics and player movement were more realistic. Those graphics were so great that I hoped Midway made a baseball game and they did, two in fact. But Midway like most companies don't have a clue how to make a good baseball game and they ruined the Blitz series. There is very little that is good about this game, if you want a fun football game, rent one of the first 2 to 3 NFL blitz before it became blitz league.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sick

posted by richardray (WHEATFIELD, IN) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I have got to say. That you have to be slightly twisted to like this game. I know because i love this game. It is hands down the best sports game I have ever played please make a number 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's Blitz, of course its fun!

posted by MKulka31 (GREENSBURG, PA) Dec 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved the first Blitz the League, unfortunately this game is quite similar to the first one. What is great about the second one is that the first was really good.

The only real downfall I found was just how corny the storyline stayed, really thought they'd change that.

However, Frank Caliendo as John Madden is quite hilarious and the game itself is just down right fun. If you don't like regular football, and like beating the heck out of people, try this game out! You'll might actually like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but could be better

posted by Alaric (SESSER, IL) May 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A great game is just that …… a game that plays well and is fun to play. This game could be one of those. However, the current trend to add extreme amounts of blood, language and male/female interactions ( I had to state it like this because even the Gamefly site didn’t like the term generally used, and no I’m not talking about a four letter word either) to games really seems to be belittling gamers. Have we the gamers become so childish that games don’t sell with out these things? I love football and have played most of the current titles out there. Blitz is quite a bit different and has some fun and entertaining concepts. I would have rated this game a 9 if the developers had not put in continuous foul language and the over the top constant zooming in for the injuries. If your looking for a different feel to football to play around with this game does it well, but as a player you need to either over look the slow motion often bloody injures and tune out the language or be one of those players that thinks language and blood are needed to add to the realism.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Finaly A Real Football Game...

posted by Jonnymartz (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This football game contains what really goes on on the field and out of the field. There are many MANY enhances from the first blitz AND BEST OF ALL IT HAS LOADS!!!!! OF TROPHIES FOR YOUR PS3!!!! THIS IS A MUST BUY FOR FOOTBALL FANS OUT THERE... THERE IS EVEN A-LIST COMEDIAN FRANK CALIENDO WHICH MAKES THE GAME WORTH PLAYING!!! FUNNY AZZ GAME AS WELL!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Slow Motion no good

posted by Gamesfeo (BROCKTON, MA) Dec 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Playing the game and having the slow motion come on every time someone either breaks a tackle or is being tackled is just horrible for any video game. They should have stayed with the old style Blitx that was more fun and exciting to use.

sexual themes and showing guys ligament beign torn is not what anyone aincluding myself is interested in.

Stay away from them one unless you are a weird person.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Great but Not Bad

posted by Freddy (BELLINGHAM, MA) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is just ok in my opinion. Some of the trophies are glitched if that is one of the reasons why you are picking up this game. It gets old pretty quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WHAT WHERE THEY THINKING!

posted by WWErules09 (HAMPTON, GA) Nov 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

THIS WAS ONE OF THE WORST GAMES I'VE PLAYED BUT HERE IT IS, THE GRAPHICS SUCK, ITS SO FAST PACE YOU CANT EVEN PLAY IT AND WHEN YOU HAVE A HUGE RUNNING BREAK DOWN THE SIDELINE THE JUMP 20 FEET AND TACKLE YOU! THE REASONS I GAVE IT A 3 IS THE FACT THAT IT CAN GO ONLINE THE GORE WHEN YOU GET HIT AND YOUR BONES FALL OUT OR BREAK AND A FAIR STORYLINE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutely terrible, Dont waste your time renting

posted by tadzooks (KINGS MOUNTAIN, NC) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

There is nothing good about this game. Do not waste your time, enough said..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The only football game I play

posted by Desteria (FRANKLIN PARK, IL) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I hate football. I hate all sports to be honest. I use to play NFL Blitz on psone back in the day but for no other reason than to beat the snot out of friends. Same thing with MLB Slugfest 20-04 for PS2. But other than that, I refuse to play traditional sports games because they're just so BORING to me.

This is why I gave Blitz the League a chance, and it didn't disappoint. The hits were brutal, the injuries were sadistically satisfying and the challenge was enough to make you throw your controller across the room.

Blitz the League II only improves upon the foundation set up by the first game. This time around I'm not just playing to hurt the other guy, I'm actually choosing which part of the body to aim for. And when the injury happens, it's something that will make you cringe (in a good way).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

its a problem

posted by poloboy94 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

i put it in my game and it didnt work so i sent it bac da same day i gt it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BLITZ

posted by Frankie01 (MIDLAND, TX) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

THIS IS THE SECOND GAME THAT DOESNT WORK FOR ME :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BLITZ THE LEAGUE 2

posted by whoo (PINE CITY, MN) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

this is the best football game i have ever played! this will blow your mind. ive played all the maddens, the ncaa, street ball but this is the ultimate football gaming expirence. for all my people that have played the first one you know what im talking about. you have to get this game it is amazing!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i miss it

posted by kooleykool (SUMMIT, IL) Jan 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

i like the game me being a story mode person it was perfect i really think they should make a three

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not much better than the first..

posted by Knightmaire91 (TYRONE, GA) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

In many some ways, Blitz The League II feels like a step forward, but in more ways, several steps back. The game feels 'largely' the same as the first one, which is surprising since it came out 3 years later, and only on next-gen consoles.

Gameplay is... well, similar to its prequel. Campaign mode is much shorter, spanning 3 divisions which only have about 8 games. Not even halfway through the game, the opposing team always finds a way to catch up. Most games become a game of "I score, You score, I score, you score..." The game does have its fair share of glitches, like freezing, play selection not popping up, sound skipping or not playing, and cutscenes looping. They didn't happen often, but hindered the experience when I had to start over on a game I had a good lead on.

Overall, the game feels more like a slight upgrade (like NBA Jam and NBA Jam tournament edition) than a proper sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game ,graphics and realism

posted by southman (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Dec 17, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

awesome game , graphics and realism . this blows Madden out of the water you couldn't ask for a more realistic and awesome football game than this . i just hope that the new blitz game coming out soon is as good as this one is . this is a must have and and definite rental .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Blitz the league 2

posted by lcs865 (CLINTON, TN) Nov 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

youve got to be kidding me. i played the origional and loved it, and when i got this i was expecting even better. I WAS DEAD WRONG!!!! An extremely frustrating campain, pointless bonus modes, ridiculous TD dances, and cruddy graphics highlight this crapfest

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Blitz The League II

posted by AcePhiladelphia (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Great game, it's really fun and can be adicting. I beat the game at least 6 times having my team based off og real life NFL teams. Though, there are some flaws. 1 is when you want to edit how a player look you got 4-5 choices and one of them is a dude that looks like a monkey. 2. can be glitchy at times.Especially when you're editing a player. I was editing a player and one came up in purple,green,white colors. And I wanted to change a players number to 97 but would let but I made 97 somehow. It's a really awesome game. But I would NOT recommend buying this for little children. Especially those that play Pop Warner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sweet

posted by youdontknowme85 (NORTON, MA) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I thought this game was pretty fun and I'm surprised that no one ever gave it a chance. The graphics are decent and controls are pretty good. I even enjoyed the little story in it too. I might pick this up if I get the chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse