Rent Bleach: The Blade of Fate for DS
view large frontback

Bleach: The Blade of Fate

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

537 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun and Appealing to All

posted by AW1985 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game follows the storyline of the TV series where Ichigo and co. go to save Rukia. Great for fans of the show, but also for new fans as well.

Pros:
BALANCE. Different but familiar styles give the characters great power in their own right. Learning how to utilize their tactics comes easily.

PICK UP & PLAY. You can input moves (i.e.: down, forward, X), or you touch screen panels that quickly do a special move or super attack. This uses more power to make your moves stronger. Moves done the old fashion way (which are not complicated) let you do moves quicker. Learning to use fast or strong attacks add to the tactics.

SPIRIT CARDS. These help in a number of ways. From boosting defense, to limiting your enemy's power for a certain time adds to the fun, seperating this title from standard button-mashers.

The game has a TON of UNLOCKABLE CONTENT. From stronger cards, to extra characters, different uniforms, even an art and sound gallery.

4-PLAYER BATTLES. These can be a pure delight! Think "Super Smash Bros.," but only 2D.

BANKAIS. Super moves that rule all. 'Nough said.

Cons:
REPETATIVE. While you often keep coming back for more, the game does get a bit tedious after about 15 minutes.

THE CHALLENGE FACTOR. Even on Hard, a three-on-one battle is usually the only time you'll feel pressured to fight to win. However, please note that certain characters get a bit of a "grudge" to their AI and get extremely aggressive. These battles are always exciting when you realize you've got a good fight on your hands. They seem rather random, though.

STORY MODE. Ichigo has the best, longest, and most complicated story. The other characters have rather weak and short story modes.

LAG. Yes, the game can slow down in a 4P battle where a lot happens at once. Rare, but annoying when noticed.

BANKAIS. Not everyone have one, leaving the title with a sense of bias toward certain chracters.

All in all - a fun, addicting little fighter.
9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

could be better with a diffrent system

posted by gamefan642 (BELLEVILLE, IL) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was kinda cool of that old street fighter arcade theme. I love bleach and when i saw that this game was 4 the ds I had medium expectations 4 it. the moves were cool but hard 2 use if u didnt use the touch screen and not 2 minchin u need to no how to play better then what the tutorial shows. If it was really on a diffrent system with better graphics and a diffrent fighting system it would be cooler instead of the lame old street fighter arcade theme. over all i give this game a 8 but only because its one of the few bleach games out there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fan appeal

posted by Burgerman (COTTAGE GROVE, MN) Oct 11, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game seems to lean more towards the anime fans more than the gaming community. Although the game play seems pretty solid and it allows for and auto feature which helps the begginers out by blocking and chaining combos for them. Other than that it really seems to be geared to the fans of the series with nothing about it that would make it stand out from any other fighting games out there now. Still it has it's moments such as the soul card system allowing you to have temporary power boosts or de-buffing your opponents. The wi-fi capability of this game is my personal favorite with a ranking system mode allowing players to gain points and move up the ladder so to speak of the Soul Society. With a starting position at the 10th seat and 1000 points you battle up to 3 other people in a regular battle to increase or decrease your rank. Besides story mode and VS mode there are also a few other modes such as Arcade, Training and Challenge modes. Challenge mode is basically a series of 8 or so combos that get harder each time. There is 8 challenges for every character but you can only do their challenges when you unlock them. Arcade like any other fighting game has you pick a fighter and go through various stages until you have either lost or beaten every opponent with your score being ranked. Training is just as it sounds, boring, it has no tutorial feature in it it's just for fiddling around with moves. That is about it over all great game but I am a fan of the series so I have a bias. Worth the pick-up if you just like fighting games though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bleach

posted by Futurama01 (SCOTTVILLE, MI) Dec 2, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

My opinion on this game is that... it is the best game I've ever played!!! PRO: Pretty much everything! But here, I'll be more specific. Great fighting system, thanks to the DS's touch screen, we don't have to press a hundred buttons to do a special attack. It's based on around episodes 20 to 63, so you can relive 44 episodes of the series! Play through 23 stories in Story Mode, and play as characters like Kon and Tatsuki, plus 26 other characters. That adds up to 28 characters to play as. My favorite character is Sosuke Aizen. My least favorite character is Kenpachi Zaraki. He's really strong in the show, but he's the stupidest character in the game. He has NO attacks that are helpful, OR that do damage, and in a two-on-one fight, you'll be lucky to survive with what would've been three or four more heavy attacks you would've been dead. Aside from Zaraki and his story, the game is 100% PERFECT! If you're a Bleach fan, or someone looking for the perfect fighting game, this game is for you. Best game I've played so far, buy it if you're a Bleach fan, or are looking for the perfect fighting game as I just said, and you'll agree with me, I guarantee it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad, but not great

posted by D00nut (PARKER, CO) Nov 13, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you're a gamer who has had an urge for a fighting game but doesn't want to import Jump Ultimate Stars, Bleach is a nice alternative for the American audience.

The gameplay is fast and captures the feeling of the show in some ways but not so much in others. If you've played any other 2D fighter like Street Fighter, then you'll get the hang of the controls from basic moves to specials fairly quickly. It had enough flexibility to the depth of the game where you can play it deeply or mash away to your hearts content while using the touch screen to pull out the moves.

Visually, it's pretty good for a handheld game. Add in all the action that goes on and a framerate that doesn't give up and you got yourself a good handheld game.

Single player is sort of lousy though. Since the story mode is basically just fighting with small twists at times, and arcade mode is what you expect. You can buy stuff from a shop that will give you unlockable content, but other than that it's kind of dull.

If anything, jump into multplayer if you get the chance. It allows a single-game option that lets another download and choose from a complete character roster, although it is kind of slow. Other than that, the game offers online to battle throughout the world. So you have plenty of options to test your skills against others, but not really against the CPU players.

All in all, Bleach is fun, it's good, but not amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fan of the show... but this game is lack luster

posted by XJet2025 (CONROE, TX) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I love the show, but this game just seems to be pushed out way to fast without much thought. adding cards to a fighting game doesn't add much to depth and it can be beat by the lowest of players within in a few days, most gamers will find this to be too easy and move on in a couple of hours. Multi player is alright but its just comes down to who can find the cheapest "easiest combo to pull off the quickest" character and spam the same few moves over and over again. and getting stuck in the computers cheap move "where they get unlimited spirit energy" to continue to pull off the same incredibly cheap combos as well gets a little old when trying to unlock everything by beating the story with everybody.

End story. cheap anime tie in game. pumped out so quickly that it was half way done and left much to be desired. Look for the Wii edition. hopefully it will be better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bleach TBOF

posted by XxslayerxX (CLIFTON PARK, NY) Jun 7, 2011

Member since May 2010

honestly why do a long review, all i have to say is "Bleach!" That should make you wanna get it right?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hours of fun with a friend, Shumpo!

posted by Vegito (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I own the Japanese version and I really enjoy this game. i think it is the best fighter for the Nintendo DS. It is a 2D platformer and there are 2 planes you can jump back and forth between. The planes exist because up to 4 fighters can fight at once. You can have a FFA, 2V2 or even a 1V3. With players locally, with players online, or with bots if you choose. If you choose the 1 Vs 3, the game will auto-balance the gameplay so that the 3 on the enemy team deal less damage then you, however since there is 3 of them, it is hard to block 3 people at once. This game contains single-cart and multi-cart options and you can play as all the characters on single cart. A fantastic game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why I gave it an 8 and not a 9

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

Ok, first off with the fighting and combat, and the system here, it deserves a 7, if you do not LOVE the series as I do. However, I gave it an 8 because I DO love the series. If you love the series and have watched well into the second section of the series, AND love it I would give it a 9. However, since I am not well into the series, and it started to SPOIL it for me, well, it gets an 8 and not a 9. Does all that make sense ? If you have NO desire to watch the series ever in your life, this gets an eight. Honestly, they totally messed up this game by not starting with the first part of the series and doing a game on it. So yeah. I returned, this game will ruin it for you. My advice ? Use Net flix to watch well into the series and then rent this, you will love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good gameplay, seriously lackng in everything els

posted by Ivellias (HIGHLAND FALLS, NY) Aug 10, 2008

Member since May 2005

Bleach:Blade of fate is one the of Ds's only 2d fighters, and in that respect, acquits itself rather well in that respect.
The gameplay is simplistic and easy to get the hang off, and if you're not the best at doing special attacks you can just tap the specials in the command menu, which makes the really difficult,but useful specials quick to come out.

However,the game completely falls apart everywhere else.

The storyline consists of Bleach's first main story arc, with the player in the spot of Ichigo(the mian character), and proceeds through the different fights. Now this wouldn't be bad in of itself, but fans of the anime will find that the story is completely different from the actual Anime, and is mostly nonsensical to anyone else who Doesn't. The story also wraps itself back around to add more fights, frequently making you fight the same enemies time and again, and without more than one or two easily beatable additions to their fighting style.

The whole game will net you maybe two, three hours of enjoyment by yourself, though you can play with other people who own the game via the DS's built in wireless connection.

All in all, it's a fun game that's ruined by short story, horrible writing,bad voice acting, and low replay-ability

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

it sucks

posted by halovampir (morristown, NY) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

it is a very very very very very very very bad game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »