Rent Bleach: The 3rd Phantom for DS
view large frontback

Bleach: The 3rd Phantom

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.9

284 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

An addition to the Bleach canon

posted by DocHoliday (Omaha, NE) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There are really two aspects to this game, the strategy board and the exploration of the Bleach world. As a strategy game it is adequate. You have a basic grid and the ability to attack and use skills (spells). There's no facing, no control zones, etc that make up good tactics games. The only addition is camaraderie in which allies standing next to each other impart benefits to each other. But you have to allocate these ties in a confusing hidden menu on the battle setup screen. Maybe it gets better (harder) later in the game, but for now it's a decent method to keep the story going.

And the story's the thing. Unlike other Bleach games, this one doesn't just retell the story in the anime. In this game you play as twins born in bad part of soul society who are taken in by royalty and grow up to become Soul Reapers. The time period is 50-100 years before the current anime (I'm not sure how time works in SS). Rukia and Renji are children, Aizen is a vice-captain, and Urahara is still a captain.

There is a lot of talking in this game, so much in fact that they made a minigame of it. You get a list of people you can talk to and they have "movement" values. Talking to them moves Kon on a minimap where you can pick up extra items and abilities, so you have to plan who you talk to when. Since it's a new story and I love Bleach I'm enjoying it a lot. It's a good way to learn the back stories of a lot of minor characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Bleach: The 3rd Phantom

posted by Henry121 (LYFORD, TX) Nov 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not bad. This bleach game gives you more freedom than the others but I wouldn't call an RPG, as some say, or a fighting game really. It's more of a strategy simulation kind a game. You command your favorite bleach characters into battle against Arancars, Hollows, and Espada of all kinds. For fans of the BLEACH SERIES this game answers a lot of questions about the past. It starts you off in an age when Kiske Urahara is still a captain along with Yoruichi Shihouin, Kaien Shiba is still alive and well, Sousuke Aizen is only a lieutenant, Kenpachi Zaraki isn't yet a soul reaper, and Rukia Kuchiki, Rengi Abarhi, Momo and Toshiro Hitsugaya, Rangiku Matsumoto and Gin Ichimaru are just children!
The plot is amazingly good considering this is a runoff of the Bleach Series. You choose a twin, male or female, edit the name, and fight alongside your twin most of the time. Also you choose your SHIKA, or as some know it: A ZANPAKTO'S release form, later down the road.
This is a very good game and something i'd play more than once. A bleach fan's dream.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A new look on Bleach

posted by ghettoN (CARLSBAD, CA) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me just start by saying that this is one of the hardest games ive ever played. That saying it is also one of the funnest games ive ever played. This game is a new look on the incredible series of Bleach. You play as either a male or female twin. You get stronger through the process of fighting in battles or aqiering expeirence in the free time mode. Evry battle is extremly hard but theyre always some what fun. Unlock new charictures and new abilities for your newly aqierd zonpokto. This is a great game but you must have patience to go through all of the intense battles. I have had this game for a while now and i dont believe that im even close to beating it. This game takes you to the past and the future, which lets you see alot of the behind the senes of the main story. If you decide to get this game you better be prepeared to get angry alot and read an extream amount!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is great....

posted by Drock32 (DOLTON, IL) Sep 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

It gets a little slow, because of the style of game it is...But the story is compelling, and long, so its like you're actually in the Bleach universe....

Everything else is excellent on the game, if you're a bleach fan, I highly recomment it....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this sucks

posted by mizike13 (SUWANEE, GA) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

this game sucks after one of your man die you lose and theres to much talking

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good

posted by JadeSoul (FREMONT, CA) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Not bad. I enjoyed the new characters. I wish more Bleach games were like this. I would to see a sequel, but that's just my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It was good.

posted by Kingdom128 (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

I did not finish the game because it's so long but still a great game. Too much talking but good story about the past. And tactic game were good. Nothing's the problem or anything that makes you wanted to say "That's bull!" It was good. Not "Bull" also, lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »