Rent Bleach: Soul Resurreccion for PS3
view large frontback

Bleach: Soul Resurreccion

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

2578 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, no doubt, but need to rent first

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Aug 2, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

73 out of 77 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Anime- i'm not a big fan of it, honestly. But my friends kept telling me and telling me to play this game, so i did. Didn't like it much at first, but it grew on me until i was playing this game for hours on end.

Gameplay/Storyline: You pick a character from the anime series "Bleach", each one specializing and excelling in a different type of combat. Weither your a heavy hitter, fast and agile scout-like character, or something in between, you'll find enough chanches to watch enemies fall to your preferred combat style. I can't spoil the storyline for you so i'll leave that up to you to find out.

Graphics/Sound: I didn't hear or realize any problems with the sound, so i'll skip ahead to the Graphics. Visuals were OK, but not amazing. While there is ALWAYS room for improvement, i felt like the developers did their job.

Glitches/Bugs: Hmm... i came across... maybe two glitches? One glitch was probably bcuz i had been playing for too long- when the game froze up. So i can only blame myself there. The other one was when my sword was coming down on an enemy's head and the game suddenly turned itself off and returned me to the PS3 homescreen.

Conclusion: Good game, even for the people who dont love Anime. This is a MUST-HAVE for "Bleach" fans as im told by my anime/manga-loving friends. SO check it out, and if ya like it enough, buy it.

Yes..... im back in the game of reviewing games. Thank you for checking me out on GAMEFLY! :food'n'drink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Did Somebody Say "Getsuga Tenshou"...?

posted by KhaotiKoalition (WICHITA, KS) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

: : OVERVIEW : : : : : :
Bleach is a series I've loved since it came out, and have been a good fan of it ever since. Was pretty excited when the game came out, because what fan doesn't want to throw down a little with their favorite characters? Anyway, let's break it down...

: : PROS : : : : : :
- Graphics are great for an anime game
- Kept the right voices for each character
- Included many popular characters and their iconic moves and abilities
- Follows the story well, ending with the climactic Ichigo vs Aizen battle we all looked forward to (didn't disappoint either)
- You can upgrade your characters for use in the Story and Challenge modes
- You can fly around, which is quick and fun

: : CONS : : : : : :
- You can't flash-step in rapid succession like they do in the show
- Dodging attacks is irritatingly difficult in some battles (especially the Yami showdown)
- Some of the non-story challenges seem like they're supposed to be impossible (like taking on Kenpachi and Nnoitra at the same time)

: : FINAL WORD : : : : : :
Great game overall, really enjoyed playing the story mode and reliving those sections of the anime myself. I think you could thoroughly enjoy this game without buying it though, so I just give it a 'RENT' and save your money for something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bleach

posted by Troy365 (CAMBRIDGE, MD) Sep 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Finally A bleach game! They took the formula from Dynasty Warriors And turned the swag up to the maximum!This was great wish it had came out alil sooner.They could of added more charecters but the favs are all here. Also transformations! Everone starts in Bankai (weak) Frustraiting Other than that its a worth picking up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Are you Kidding me? How did this get a 7

posted by Thecoolr (MESA, AZ) May 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics are amazing, game play sucks. This is like playing a bad camera'd version of smash bros. I played this game for 2 hours to give it a chance. It is not worth it, except to recap the story line and look at anime stills.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lamest game ever

posted by Amalo (BEDFORD, PA) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I want to preface by saying I am a big fan of Bleach and was extremely excited when this game came out. I quickly handed over 60 bucks and 10 minutes after I started playing I realized it wasn't worth $1.99.

The game is horribly repetitive. Every single stage is "rush through using the exact same simple button combos for every character".

It also doesn't give much incentive to actually play. You're only forced to fight maybe .01% of enemies you'll encounter through the stage. Fighting does level you but leveling really doesn't mean much. Upgrades are pathetic, and the entire "story" of the game is just voice-overs reading lines from the show while you run through the straight line stages.

It's kind of like Megaman Legends except with simpler dungeon maps, minus everything outside of dungeons, and minus all the treasure inside the dungeons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Quick...i now need a ciggaret...yea

posted by CHRISMURPH (DALLAS, OR) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So i had gotten the game over the weekend, i didnt play it till late saturday and early sunday, and in thoat time i beat the story, the missions are a little insane but i guess that keeps you acupied from the story line basically being the same every single time...soo yea...good game in all love the graphics but i gata send it back as soon as im done with the missions

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Bankai!!!

posted by Viper561 (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

From one Bleach and anime fan to another, finally we get what we want and that is a US release of Bleach. Now its the first and there were a few small issues but it doesn't take anything too much from the game.

Pros: Graphically looks like the anime and similar texture to that of Dynasty Warriors Gundam 3 which is a positive look. Japanese voice acting is exactly what its suppose to be. Character availability is exact pertaining to this arc in the story. The techniques and abilities of each character is closely related to what they use in the anime. Mission mode and soul attack is interesting in which you can use any character and beat your best score. The battle system is similar to Dynasty Warriors which is fine.

Cons: The story mode skips important fight scenes that are relative to the story which makes this mode short. Characters are already in their main forms example (Ichigo is already in bankai form or Grimmjow is already in his resurrection form). Yes, ignition allows you to use their strongest abilities in that form but it takes away from the initial release of a zanpaktou which is what we live for, not everyone is like this but the majority are.

All in all, its still a good Bleach game to start off with. Hopefully we see more but with improvements. Like DLC or online ability.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WOW!!!

posted by racoonsurvivor (HIGH RIDGE, MO) Aug 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I was a fan of this manga and anime for a while and kind of fell out during the Bount saga, however this game makes me miss it and I believe that I will be going back to it soon. Most of the "story requires some understanding of the series, that being said if you have never played it and like hack and slash games(N3, dynasty warriors) this one is great. If you are a fan of the series this game is great, and if you want a solid anime... well try Full metal alchemist. But as odd as this series is and as many times as you may question some of the things that are happening this game is great in almost every way, including a rather deep level up system. Play this game it is very good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

loved it but to short

posted by hippykiller (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this game to death and the bleach series. but it was too short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Short but fun for a weekend!

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Oct 26, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's a great time. Great for any fan. Finally a game that's not all side screen fighter. It's a walk around slasher. I loved it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A must play. and for the fans of bleach. play it.

posted by JujiKabane (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Aug 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

been watching the anime bleach from the start. and this bleach game is. everything I was hopeing it would be. the fighting. the music and sound. and the story. it will be the best game ever for me. mixing a awesome anime and videogame. it will ruin me with all other videogames. and I love it. Bleach rules.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

buying it the second i get teh chance read me!

posted by djphat (ARLINGTON, NE) Aug 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

iv only played the japan demo but its so freakin awesome i knew that soul resserection would be awesome i saw the gameplay vids and if online play was possible id kick those guys butts i tossed the boss in heck in the japan demo around like a rag doll and those guys could barly beat grimmjow lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by evanhan1 (TERRE HAUTE, IN) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

dear Gamefly , the bleach game for ps3 please send it to me for my next game out i like this game if it was for sell i would buy it.......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hack and slash based off of bleach, i give it a 9.

posted by DeadCry (COPPELL, TX) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'm a big fan of bleach, and i think this game is a 10 but some people might give it a bad rap so heres pro's and con's...

Pro's
Its Bleach....
Great Graphics
Great Gameplay
Very Hard difficulty is Very Hard.
You can unlock stuff.
You can level your characters.
Theres story mode and mission mode
Lots of characters, some of them are pretty awesome...

Con's
Anyone who doesnt know what bleach is should probably go watch some bleach first...your not gonna know whats going on.
It could have been open world, but it isnt.
They cut alot of stuff from the anime out of the game.
Gets Repetitive if you dont have much patience.
Changing characters throughout the series is good, but some of them really suck, and are hard to control.
Missing some characters from the anime.

pretty simple review for a simple hack and slash based off of an anime, i love the series and i love video games so i know how often people screw this up but they did alright 9/10 could have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2 wykid

posted by cjhb6464 (OBERLIN, LA) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

game was awsome nuff said...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

thx gamefly

posted by pawnager9899 (WESTFIELD, NY) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

8 out of 33 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

thx gamefly this is awesome i luv it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Extremly Dissapointing.

posted by Winnerwho (NEW YORK, NY) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Now there in total of 21 characters and they have alot of fan favorites in here. Now each character is unique but some are alot more funner than others. There are 3 different game modes.

Story: Now the story mode takes place during season 14. Episodes 266-316. Now in the story mode. There 14 episodes to play through which are extremely short. The levels in this game are broken up into 3 parts. The first 2 parts consist of monsters you can fight. Each monster you defeat give you soul points but we talk about that later. You can just run past them or fight them. Anyway once you reach the third part, there a boss battle. It like this for every story episode and every mission mission mode. It gets really boring and old really quick. I finished the story in less than 3 hours.

Mission mode: Now mission mode is basically get to the end of the level and beat the boss. Some missions might have restrictions like you can't jump or can't use your ignition meter. Anyway there 28 missions in total and they get really hard early on. Now if you are a bleach fan you will be playing mission mode multiple times because when you reach the boss at the end of a level. Depending on your character, they will have special dialogue with the boss of that level.

Soul attack: This is basically a time attack mode where you can upload your scores at the end of a level on an online leaderboard.

Gameplay: Now the game basically is you fighting group of eniemies. I personally felt the gameplay was weak. When you attacking an enemy. There barely any reaction out of them. It just feels stale. Also the highest amount of enemies i killed at the end of the level was 204. There is a lev up system in this game and it a grind fest so be prepared if you're trying to platinum.

Overall this game is not worth $60. I would say wait until the pricedrop but this is a Atlus game and it going to be expensive in the future. So if you're a bleach fan. Buy it. If not, then rent because this is a love/hate gam

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This games makes DW look like a masterpiece.

posted by Eddie_Izzard (SPANAWAY, WA) Aug 16, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 18 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This game is the epitome of a waste of time.
There is only one thing good about it: I like the voice actor who did the narration. That's all.

To begin with, let's look at the most important aspect:
Gameplay.
I can't find the words to explain properly how boring and repetitive the gameplay is. It's a game that plays like Dynasty Warriors; but without the satisfaction of mowing down hundreds of enemies. Every single level is a corridor, every one with the same enemies, the same fights, and the same difficulty; nil. The "bosses" are a massive waste of time as you can simply strafe and kill with zero effort involved. The combos are boring, the enemies are boring, the entire game is a bore to play.

Characters.
"Who are they? Who are these people? What's going on? What's that mean? Where are we?"
~The words of someone who doesn't know the anime this is based off of.

There is no explanation for anything. This is a game obviously made solely for fans of the anime, and to that effect it is a massive disappointment. Most, if not all, of the action is explained with scrolling text over a boring picture. And of that, nothing is actually described. Without prior knowledge of what's going on (Which is far from the beginning of the anime) you will be lost and confused. They couldn't even throw in cutscenes from the anime itself, everything is explained in dialogue, and poorly.

Music.
So bad I don't even notice that it's there.

Story.
What story? This game vaguely follows one arc of the anime in such a loose, quick way that any emotional attachment or a single thought at caring what's going on is thrown out the window immediately. Many, many key points are outright ignored and not mentioned. The plot can, at best, be described as a bowl movement by a novice who had some spare time while waiting for the bus.

Overall:
This is, easily, the worst Dynasty Warriors rip game I have ever played. It should not exist. Do not even consider renting this schlock.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bleach: soul resurreccion

posted by jjazcarate1 (MIAMI, FL) Aug 10, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

it is the most horrible game I've ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for bleach fans!

posted by Alucard99 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Aug 10, 2014

Member since May 2014

I wish they would continue with the Bleach episodes. If your like me and your dying for some Bleach action. You can get your fix in this game.

The story will be familiar to Bleach fans but there will be nothing new. But being able to rock with Ichigo in his final form is too epic to put into words.

Definitely worth a rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Loved this game!

posted by DeathDemon24 (FAIRBORN, OH) May 27, 2014

Member since May 2014

I've been a Bleach fan for years and have always wanted to play as Ichigo and the rest of the crew. I decided to try this game out and once I started..... I couldn't put it down. I played for three days straight before I beat the story. I do wish they would have included more of the characters. I can really appreciate the work that went into making it. The cell shading was perfect, no ghosting issues, and an easy control matrix to understand. I actually plan on buying this game for my personal collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No Checkpoint? Really?

posted by DragonDan2453 (CHANNAHON, IL) May 16, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

Liked the game for a while until I realized the developers didn't put a checkpoint before the boss fights. Why didn't they? I don't know. You would think putting a checkpoint before the boss fight would be common sense. Sadly for the developers, I don't think they had any. You die in the boss fight, you start all over from the beginning. In simple terms, you fight across a stage for 10 minutes just to get back to the boss fight, only to be screwed in the end. Also, they gave Soi Fon the worst moves in the game against the most cheapest boss in the game. Still to this day, Bleach the 3rd Phantom remains the best Bleach game made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Game

posted by afenix (ELGIN, IL) Mar 23, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Pretty good game. got bored quick though. The closest thing I can compare it to is Saint Seiya Senki (Sanctuary Battle). The moves and bankais are cool but I got bored quickly because there is no button to raise your "power". The other downside is that it appears to take forever to raise enough power to use your bankai. You can only raise your power by fighting or finding orbs unlike S.S. Senki where you can press and hold a button to charge but you can still find orbs. Overall it was a good cuz I like Bleach. I wouldn't recommend it unless you a huge fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

wack game

posted by rex41551 (EL SOBRANTE, CA) Jan 3, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Sucks passedit in 3 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bleach

posted by Rainswagg12 (HALETHORPE, MD) Aug 18, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

The game was totally awesome, it was better than i thought it would be. I thought it could of been longer and a lot more to do but the graphics were pretty good and the moves were pretty cool but i thought it could have had more move options but overall it was pretty good i would recommend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse