Rent Bleach: Shattered Blade for Wii
view large frontback

Bleach: Shattered Blade

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.4

2177 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

For the Fans

posted by kedro3 (LONG BEACH, CA) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

15 out of 15 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You know you are a hardcore fan if you can name all 13 squad captains off the top off your head. And this game will give us what we want. I mean the controls are pretty good compared to many other wii titles sometimes it can be hard to get the move you want to pull off but overall it works. The episode mode could of been better, it doesn't really make sense sometimes as you fight the most random people for no reason. It would of been better if it just followed the first three arcs of the show but they tried to be original. I would recommend it for fans I don't know how much anyone else would enjoy it (you probably would but not as much).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Only for Bleach fans

posted by Guardian42 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Oct 13, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

38 out of 42 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

The first 3d Bleach game to hit the US, and here we have it gracing the Wii with a unique control scheme that requires you to swing your sword in one of several directions using your wiimote. This usually works well, but sometimes, it can misread a move as a jab instead of a swipe or other little mistakes.
Pro: The graphics are beautiful and really show off the characters and their specials well. Music is a decent rocking beat, and there is a nice selection of 32 different characters to choose from. Of, course, there's lots to do to unlock all of these characters plus to get all the extra costumes and gallery stuff.

Con: This game is over fast and will only really hold your interest or attention if you are a fan of the series. Most characters have similar attacks and a few specials and one big special that has a nice animation with it usually. If you don't know the series, a lot of the splendor of being Ichigo going bankai or others will be lost on you. Dub work is terrible and they did NOT include the option for Japanese, like DBZ:BT2 did. the story is nothing special and half the time they won't explain much as to why you are suddenly fighting these people one after the other.
If you have some friends to play with, it can be fun, but by yourself, the game gets old fast.

In the end, this game is for the Bleach fans only. Only a fan would find the 50$ price tag worth it. As for a rent, yeah, it could last a day or two, then you'll probably be ready for something else with more depth, or at lease more to do that swing your mote widely.

A good game, for a specific crowd.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This is only for Bleach fans.

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

if you dont know what Bleach is, dont get this game. If you like bleach, then this is an okay game. I love bleach so i liked the game. The voice acting and storyline is horrible. But the fighting is fun. It really is like the show. You can go into Bankai or Shikai form and use special attacks. When fighting regular, you wave the wii-mote up and down for a slice, left and right for a slash, and toward the sensor bar for a stab. Then holding A or B and doing any of these things does critical or special moves. Same thing when in Bankai or Shikai form. It doesnt sound like much, but if you like bleach and see all the signature bleach characters and moves, its really cool. The graphics are alright, not the best on the wii but not the worst.

GAMEPLAY:9.7/10
GRAPHICS:8/10
DESIGN:7/10
CONTROLS:8.7/10
OVERALL: 8/10 Bleach Fans= Get it, Non Bleach Fans= Dont get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Shattered blade

posted by Ninja75621 (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) May 21, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game I like how you can swing your wii mote like your using a katana and the funny anime stuff is good too and I love Bleach and you should really rent this game now and IGNORE THOSE OTHER ANNOYING USER REVIEWS!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bankai? More like Banzai

posted by Saviour (MANCHESTER, CT) Feb 14, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was a bit cautious about this game at first considering I played Bleach Battlers 1+2, and how poor games like Naruto Clash of the Ninja and DBZ Sagas hit me like a sucker punch from my best friend, I'll admit, to be perfectly honest I only rented this because my anime posse are Bleach freaks (still trying to figure out why it's called Bleach, I theorize it has something to do with almost everything being white?)

Well one way or the other Bleach ended up in my mailbox so I figured I'd get it over with, and all honesty, this game is good, I DO NOT reccomend just STARTING story mode, you'll die faster then I lose girlfriends. Training mode is simple and explains how and wehat to do. Going through story mode is a bit tidious. Story mode is the same with every character, however going through Story mode with Hanataro is HARD! REALLY REALLY HARD! Even on easy mode. Unlocking characters can also be tidious since you need to go through arcade mode to unlock specific characters, using characters you may or may not like.

My personal favorite was obnoxious, 16 battles to unlock one character and another 16 to unlock another, fight 8 more battles with the newley unlocked characters to unlock a new character, then play 8 more characters with the new guy to unlock my favorite character, to shorten it up, in order to unlock my favoprite character I needed to play 56 matches of arcade mode with characters I'm not to fond of (one grew on me though), then 8 MORE to unlock Grimmjow, especially since the main strategy is, hack and slash, run, hack 'n slash, run, Bankai, end.

This game is fun, and unlocking characters is awsome, however with models, songs and voices, theres nothing really special, it's like unlocking colors to a crayon box, nice but not special. The only thing this game has the others is that they have a Aturo, a game-onloy character, no Kon, which upsetted me.

This game is worth a rent, you honestly will loose track of time, worht it
9/10
BANKAI!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bleach fans only!!!

posted by onish91 (BADEN, PA) Feb 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok this game is great and the best fighting game besides naruto for the wii the characters have cool zanpuktos which is like a the players sword. BUT, now this is a big but this game is for fans only. im saying this because you will not have any idea whats goin on and the game is just fun when you understand it all. so when can tell me the deference between sqauds rent this game right away. btw if u have one friend this game is much better then single player but thats my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

bleach

posted by lonnie (THONOTOSASSA, FL) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is so very cool and i never watched the show so i thought i should get the game and its grate

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is the Shizzit

posted by XxKanexX (TEMPLE, TX) Oct 10, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I've yet to play this game in English, thyough it is due it my house tommorow, but I have played it in japanese, and if you have the logic to figure out how to use the controls, then you can figure out that this game is GREAT! It does a great job of capturing the abilities of the Shinigami (Soul Reaper) that are in the game. The fact that Tite Kubo, the creator of BLEACH, created a character specifically for this game, Arturo Plateado, shows the true dedication put into this game, it controls well, and the characters are fun, if you like BLEACH, or just fighting games, play this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Next Level of fighting

posted by KuraiKoori (MECHANICSVILLE, MD) Oct 9, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game takes fighting games to the next level and blurs the fine line of the henious act of "button mashing" at the same time.

Characters reveal the plot for the later half of the series not yet seen in the show in America, so not reccommended for those who dont wish for spoilers, but is an excellent game for those of us who are keeping up with the Japanese manga and anime.

A favorite at this years Otakon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a fun but boring (after a while) game like any

posted by DemonBoy13 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

when you play a fighting game like this. you play it and then you finish.. you have every one to play as and yu finished...... and then? you finished episode which lasts a day but then you cant do anything! unlike action/adventures you cant play it... and go discover new things! or unlock better things and play again. if you play a game like No More HEros then you will see that yoy lay once.. but its the kind of game you can play again and the game will be diffrent because you can buy/get diffrent things.

well in Fighting you just fight. but other then that this game is really a great game! you can slash and stab and chop! its not ONLY for bleach fans. its also for fans of killing people at high speed! its no DBZ but it is still extremly good. you will enjoy ths game for hours and hours. but if you dont have any friends to play with. it will be boring after a week or two of finishing episode and
arcade again and again. so just rent it. and I know you will enjoy this game very much.

Enjoy

~DemonBoy13

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love The Anime, Love This Game

posted by Kakashi12 (CARSON CITY, NV) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

When I started, I went to the Episode Mode. I kept losing so I then went to the training mode to learn how to get better. It worked. So the I went to the Episode Mode with Renji ( One of my favorite characters) and lost again when I got to the final boss. ( Let you in on a little secret, he is impossible to beat unless you have gotten all the training you need.) If you go to the arcade mode you can get other players. If you start out with the guy who shoots arrows and win, you will get team tens leader ( sorry, can't remember his name), after you beat it with him, you will get Kisuke Urahara. The reason I gave this game a 9 was because the Episode mode was a little too hard, even on easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wiggle wii, Watch Bankai movie, return to gamefly

posted by xWOLFx (SANTA FE, NM) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

if you rent this thats what you will do, this game is horrible! i played about 10 matches before i was over it, thank god for gamefly because i almost bought this junk.

so gameplay consists of running over to your enemy, wiggling the wiimote until the bankai gauge fills up, then you move the nunchuk upward to engage the bankai mode. at this point you are forced to wait for a very long (for a fighting game) cutscene where your guy says the same thing every time and you cant skip through. now if you want to spend a week of your life NOT playing a good game while this thing gets sent to your house and back then go ahead, but i warned you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my opinion

posted by zongetsu09 (CLEVELAND, OH) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Shonen Jumps Bleach is good excercise if you get deep into it. I mean for real bleach is a good series. The game takes sword fighting to the next level. Its multi player so u can beat your friends without realy hurting them (unless you get angry and chuck the wii-mote at there head) there is about 20+ charecters ranging from Ichigo Kurosaki to espadas #1 Ulquiorra Schiffer. this is my favorite Wii game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bleach is pale, much like the name

posted by Senaro (HOBE SOUND, FL) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Being a big fan of the series, I expected a lot from a game carrying the Bleach name. The game has a few good points. Well...one good point, and that is that the character designs are exceptionally good. I almost drooled when I saw Kenpachi taking off his eyepatch for the first time, it looked that cool. However, the good graphics can't hide the fact that this game isn't any fun to play. Every fighter has the same exact moves, which is a superfast combo of basic punches and strikes which basically mean each player just swinging recklessly until your 'Bankai Meter' fills up and your character enters into a 'Super Mode.' Again, this game is very good-looking, but I only played about five matches with my brothers before putting the game back into it's package and sending it straight back to my mailbox. I rate it 3/10, but only because it looked so darned pretty at first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Unless you're an Otaku Nerd Fanboy, avoid this!

posted by JESUSALI (MILWAUKEE, WI) Nov 10, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

I received emails from Nintendo telling me about this brand new game and ground breaking control system. I'm 29 (and have a life) so I had never heard of the Bleach anime and manga series, so obviously, I'm not the target market for this game, but I saw a still from Bankai mode and it looked pretty cool.

But in actual usage the control system is anything but ground breaking. It straight up sucks. It is the Wii equivalent of button mashing, Remote flailing! Just shake that thing holding A, shake that thing holding B! Shake the nunchuck! Shake the remote again! And repeat, ad nauseam.

Unless you love the anime or manga, this game offers nothing of interest, beware.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Different; But In A Good Way!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Oct 13, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I am not a fan of fighting games (to boring); but this one is way better then Mortal Kombat. I thought the gameplay would be bad but this is a buy if you a fan of these games. Might be even better then Brawl (if it comes out). Sega has stepped up when they make exclusives (this year).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Completely pathetic

posted by ace222 (WALLINGFORD, CT) Dec 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I rented it just at a quick glance. All the game is is swinging the wii remore back and forth. The attacks happen about 1000 a second and their is not strategy involved. DONT RENT IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

please check ur game befor u send it.

posted by leondrea (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

hello gamefly the game we rental dont work at all we r send it back to u. please check the game and see if it work for u.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

want it so bad

posted by djphat (ARLINGTON, NE) May 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

im going with a 9 cause i love bleach but i dont have a wii they need to make a bleach game for ps3 but make gameplay more like dbz raging blast i always imagined bleach that way for ps3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bleach Fan

posted by Gamer20 (CHATHAM, LA) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

Im a Bleach fan and I am very sad to say it was not a good game at all the training mod was ok the shop mod didnt have anything in it til after u played the game some the moves where somewhat annoying to do the sound was ok the graips(s) could have been 90% better and out of the characters u can pick from at the start was nearly all the characters a few had a overpowering system making it hard to fight and the timeing within the episode mod needed to be more from the start but u have to change it urself it dosent autosave ur place in the episode mod if u want to stop and try out a move before u waste time fighting over and over on one character and to top it all off it reminds me the of the ps2 games naruto ultimate ninja 1-3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ITs okay

posted by JMarcus (KEYPORT, NJ) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Its good, moves are somewhat easy to master, easy to beat the game, beat it 1 time in 1.5 hours.

Each time you beat it, you unlock another character in episode mode. Episode mode is stupid, its not like a regular story mode where you have to run around and find stuff gets coins and points and then fight villians. You just fight villlians with dialog between fights sometimes.

You can attain points and use that for the store in the game to get stuff but you only get the points when u beat the game then go to the store to buy stuff. its kinna stupid as well.

I didn't have anyone to play against for arcade mode except the computer and it is okay. i am sure its better if you play against friends.

moves are accurate to the TV show which is cool, they didn't leave anything out there and it has all the characters everyone loves and loves to hate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its ok

posted by streetman4 (BERWICK, PA) Feb 2, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

its ok.. but i think its a bleach version of teken... i mean i love the series and stuff but i think there should have been a better story line than that.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Perfect game for Bleach Fans

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Aug 21, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

If you like to watch Bleach, like I do, then this game is a must buy. This is the only Bleach game for Wii there is, so there is no question that you should buy this game. If you don't like Bleach or you don't know what it is, then do not buy this game. I thought the selection of characters was very good and the stages had good choices to choose from. The controls though, is the reason that this game isn't as good as it should be. Just playing the game I was just finding myself button mashing and I had no idea what I was doing half the time. One minute I was frenzy swording and then I went into bankia mode without even realizing it. The Arcade mode is just fighting some random characters in row and once you are done your done. Story mode I would have to say is skipable, unless you want to spend hours trying to get through it, I would say go for it. The VS mode is the best part of this game though, you can do Player vs CPU, Player vs Player, or my favorite CPU vs CPU. Ichigo vs Ulquiorra is still the best fight ever in Bleach.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ONLY FOR BLEACH FANS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by HolwIchigo (MUSKEGO, WI) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I have to say I wasn't expecting much since it is on the Wii, but I was surprisingly impressed. The graphics were somewhat better from other BLEACH games and the controls were simple enough, which had some minor errors. Do not expect this game to have a good story, it's mainly for fun. A decent selection of characters from the early seasons of the anime/manga, but sadly, no Vizards. A new Arrancar character, apart from the story, joins the game. The soundtrack was decent, very similar ot the anime music. The voices are only out of sync a few times. Overall this has been a pretty good game, but only get this if you are a true BLEACH fan!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

cool game

posted by curtissr (HARTFORD, CT) May 29, 2010

Member since May 2010

this game is really good the best part is wen u get 2 go on the part wen ichigo trasforms its so tough u should get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse