Rent Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII for PS3
view large frontback

Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, Wii, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.1

1999 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fair at Best

posted by abb1971 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I did not like the control of the planes in this game. The steering and handling of aircraft were not realistic. I played this game for a few hours and then didn't play it. I'm glad that I only rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Has potential but falls short

posted by scubatim84 (SANTA CLARA, CA) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The graphics, storyline and gameplay of this game are all pretty good. I would put them on the order of an 8 or 9. The problem I have with this, which is why I'm sending it back prematurely before finishing it and giving it a 5, is that some missions are just stupid. I don't mean stupid as in they're hard to get past...I mean just stupid. If you decide to play this game, you'll see what I mean when you get to the mission where the game asks you to land a damaged plane while the game is forcing your plane to swerve all over the screen and spin around in circles, all without you even touching the controller. I fail to see how the game developers thought that could be fun.

However, this is past the halfway point for the missions. If you want to have some fun for a few days, I would say give it a shot...I just wouldn't get your hopes up. I'm sure there are other missions in there too which are just plain stupid and do not make for anything other than miserable gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nor Recommended

posted by FatThumb (STATESVILLE, NC) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Being a relatively new PS3 owner, I will admit that my expectations may be off a bit, but this game just did not do it for me. I appreciate a good air combat game, but this one lacked a few things that I need to have in place:

1) Unstable controls
2) Unable to distinguish targets in the midst of combat (far too much going on)
3) Not colorblind friendly (too many of the colors run together)

I guess that I'll just stick with the highest rated games from now on. I sent this one right back to GameFly... express mail!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great idea, poor execution

posted by Operator7 (LONG BEACH, CA) Nov 25, 2008

Member since May 2007

I, like some other posters, couldn't get past the first mission.

You're supposed to bomb some ground units, but there is NOTHING telling you where they are at. So you fly around trying to find them, and after about 20 minutes of this, and ZERO assistance from the game, I was done.

There is a map, and a radar, and the game gives you no clue how to read them.

And I am a very active gamer!!!

So don't think it's a case of me not being game-literate.

Oh sure, I could probably surf the web to find this info out, BUT WHY SHOULD I HAVE TO???

Amazing that people spend so much time and money developing a game, and stuff like this doesn't get addressed.

You'd think they'd maybe have someone test the game, so that people like myself (and others who said the same exact thing), don't give up in frustration.

Oh well.

I played it for about an hour, then back in the mail it goes.

Nice job developers.

Next game please!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ehhh...

posted by fightfan31 (JOLIET, IL) Oct 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Played this to pass the time between new releases and it was OK. A Relatively older game with sometimes convoluted objectives and some next-to-impossible missions. It was entertaining for the 8 or so hours it took to complete.
Don't even try the multiplayer 'cause it won't work...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love passing game!!

posted by CHAMO1217 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Game was very very fun it actually felt part of the team fighting in WWII...!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OH MY GOD!!! THIS GAME IS LAME!!!

posted by armyofone (HARPSWELL, ME) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game sucks,period.Get it,got it? Good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game rocks

posted by nickdipao (CAMARILLO, CA) Sep 24, 2008

Member since May 2008

I was never fond of flying games, i found them to jarbled and boring, but this game was off the hook, i mean if you want to play a flying game, this is it, i'm renting part 2 right now, i need it. this game deals with the germans and the japenese, from Dunkirk, to Pearl Harbor and back to Berlin, this game has it all. Top Notch, Thanks game fly for sending it and thanks Ubisoft for making it. Frickin tight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun WWII Flier

posted by archquestr (NORTHUMBERLAND, PA) Aug 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I first played this game on wii and I thought it was pretty fun using the interactive controls, though I thought it actually made the game more difficult.
On PS3 I was pleased with the different game controls and I had a lot of fun with this game.
As a qualifying note: I am a big fan of the History oriented war games so this game was something I probably would have enjoyed even if it were sub-par... that being said I really enjoyed most of the aspects of this game.
If you like WWII History and flying games you will definitely enjoy this game. As you progress through the game you also progress through the History of both the Alied and Axis powers' aviation technology (with historically accurate machines and technology). You gain access to newer more powerful and specialized war planes. The game play takes you through many historically referenced arenas of WWII that are at least somewhat historically accurate as well.
The graphics are right on par with what you should expect from a PS3 game (especially an early game that was developed for multiple platforms). The difficulty of the game is about a C+. Some things are pretty easy and others seem to be overly difficult. This game is long enough to keep even an experienced gamer going for a while, but it is not overly long (pretty well balanced). I also found it interesting that they made an effort to incorporate dog fighting with land and sea attack as well - though on a historical note, they did make it a little silly to have bombing capability from pure fighters... Overall the game was very fun and fairly challenging... This is a game I could honestly see myself owning, just to go back and re-fight some great air battles every now and again when I get the urge to blow some stuff up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, but not my thing.. Does have subtitles..

posted by Deafguy (MIAMI, FL) May 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Gave it an honest tryout but I couldn't get past the first mission, there simply isn't enough time, for someone with fair skills. I just couldn't get the planes to do exactly what I wanted, almost impossible to achieve any precision no mater the controller configuration, at least for me.

I give ++ kudos for subtitles , has good graphics, a cool game for WWII plane buffs but overall I just hated it.

Game play wasn't that bad, I just couldn't master the controls to get the precision needed. Would have been a 9 rating if game came with difficulty/skill levels rather than having game choose difficulty based on training mission.

However I'll give it a 6 because I cant really find fault with the game overall. It just isn't my kind of game, I guess.. as far as being Flight Sim, however, it's at best, grade school stuff - not really that much to it in the way of flight sim.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This is fun?

posted by Kattsee (JONESVILLE, MI) May 20, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

With the lineup for 2 player co-op games for the PS3 limited, I decided to try this game out after reading some of the reviews posted. Needless to say, I turned it off after about the first five minutes of the game.

I'm not really a fly gal, I'm more into the RPG game's as is my fiance. But hey, a person can be occasionally surprised aye? Yea right! We never did get anything shot down. The graphics were not all that great although the controls seemed to be pretty straight forward.

Honestly, if you ever played old school games like Top Gun, don't pick this up as you'll be sorely disappointed, or if you like the tried and true. If your up for something new, possibly something for a change and up for an adventure as to what you may get.. then this is for you.

Off on the hunt still for some decent 2 player games that are not sports or racing games. sigh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Blazing Flyer

posted by viper74 (RAEFORD, NC) May 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I love WWII era stuff. The planes aren't high tech, but the battles and environments are very cool. I thought the game was a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good to rent, not good to buy!

posted by creole81 (SULPHUR, LA) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Rented this game and I'm glad I didn't purchase it. Gameplay was just ok, missions was not very hard and finished the game in 2 days. Good luck in trying to play online, can't find anybody really playing it. Allows you to land on carriers and bases which helps create a beginning and ending feel to a mission. You also can fly a lot of different planes. I enjoyed it, but there are other games that are better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Under par

posted by Gallep (DENVER, CO) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

The screen play actually lagged, at home. I was flying low and firing at training balloons on the first training mission, and as I was flying through the balls of fire, play back got slow and choppy/laggy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE!!

posted by reggiere (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This is most def a rushed release title.Game play feels rough.Frame rate Is Awful at higher resolution
Stay FAR AWAY from this title!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sigh

posted by BIGCATLUV (DETROIT, MI) Jan 10, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

I wanted to try this game to "broaden the horizon" of my typical gaming genres. It didn't work. This game is okay for folks who like to fly and attack other flying things with a barrage bullets. The six axis only tilts airplanes; you control everything else with analog sticks.
This game ain't me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Aiiiiiight

posted by ManSpider (NORTHPORT, NY) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

School project

posted by gamer234 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Looks like it was made by a two grader

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worst flight sim I've played in a while

posted by Frogman (OXNARD, CA) Nov 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Okay, I'm going to rate this game on a scale of 1 through 10 in three categories (flight sim, missions, and overall quality).

Flight Sim: Definitely not worth more than a 2 in this category. The most obvious is the plane's ability to defy gravity. When you roll into a 90 degree angle of bank, the plane should drop like a rock. Instead, you can maintain straight flight, which is ridiculous. Also, about the only way to stall the aircraft is to pull the throttle to idle and climb vertical for about 10 seconds(WWII era prop planes were capable of vertical flight only at max throttle and only for a short period of time). Finally, it would have been nice to see a few more US aircraft in the game.

Missions: I'll give these a 5 because some of them are relatively realistic. Most of them attempt to follow an actual historical battle, but turn into a cheesy arcade version after takeoff. Example: Being able to repair your plane in flight (goofy; but necessary in most missions).

Overall Quality: 4
The game is beatable in a few hours and after that, there is not much repeat playability. A few of the missions make take dozens of attempts and drive you absolutely batty because of their lack of realism (landing your damaged plane which flies in unrecoverable circles). There are many better WWII flight sims out there (Heroes of the Pacific) but none for PS3 as of yet. Hopefully Ubisoft will see the error of their ways and make Blazing Angels 2 much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

flight of the phoenix

posted by mattmatt (OAKDALE, CA) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

blazing angels is a good game to play if you like planes of WWII. i was not impressed all that much but it is real easy to pick up and play. the graphics weren't up to next gen status but unlocking a different plane after every mission was cool. even though, you find a plane and stick with it for the entire game. Overall, this is a good game to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Plane Sim

posted by PS3Lover (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Fun and innovative, this game delivers intense plane shooting actions as well as using full advantage of the SIXAXIS motion controller. The graphics are well designed and this is a good game to rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game to pass the time

posted by Darwin67 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

I would rate this game higher if it weren't for the problems I kept having with the controller. During game play. In either motion control or button control the controller would lock up, and in tight turn situations, such as the "Glacier" mission, it would mean certain doom, and thus it took far too long to finish the mission making it very frustrating.

Other than that big gripe, I have to say that the graphics are pretty clear and nice. Since I'm a fan of WWII shooters, this was a nice break from COD, and a hice hold over until some new ones come out this fall! If you like Shooters, you like flying, than this is a must play....especially online!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game for the guy with a short attention span!

posted by Photrick (BEREA, KY) Sep 10, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

The game dynamics is great! You have a variety of missions that never kept me bored and i have a short attention span. But what bugs me is your wingman say the same things over and over. If you are only receiving ground fire and they tell you watch your six its kind of stupid. It has a great replay value and the standalone missions and campaigns are always fun. The multi-player is very enjoyable also!

All in all the down side to this game is enemy lock. I have trouble locking on to some enemies so i can follow, but other than that great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Boring

posted by imcool925 (CHADDS FORD, PA) Sep 2, 2007

Member since Jul 2004

The 360 version seemed so much funner to me than the ps3 version. In this one (the one thats for the ps3) the story mode or campaign is so boring you want to shoot yourself. Of course the graphics are really good and the planes look awesome especially when you fire machine guns or drop bombs but it just doesnt mix with the gameplay. Every mission is basically the same and some are boring and pointless while others are to hard or impossible. I had trouble finding people to play with which may just be because this games kinda old but the multiplayer was kinda boring just because no one has a headset. In the 360 version although the campaign was just as boring it seemed alot easier. The multiplayer was extremely fun and very talkative. Anyways bottom line is get it for the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An OK Flyer Game.

posted by alexbonao (BRONX, NY) Aug 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

This game is a solid flyer game. It has OK missions, the graphics could be alot better. Graphics are not up to PS3 standards. If you like flyer games this is a must RENT and a maybe BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse