Rent Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII for PS3
view large frontback

Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360, Xbox

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.1

1999 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK game..

posted by shamilton (RANCHO SANTA MARGARITA, CA) Apr 17, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

If your into WWII or old aircraft this game is worth checking out. The graphics are okay and the controls are not that difficult to master. (My only real grip about the game is the frame rate is slow.) The variety of aircraft and missions make this a ok game. This one ranks as a good rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth a shot

posted by crazy8 (MIDDLEBURG, FL) Apr 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

This game is very fun to play you i love getting into dog fights.i like the target locking feature and there's no shortage of targets to attack.There's enemy ships,artillery positions,tank formations and of course other planes.This game does get a bit repetitive after a while that's why i would't buy it. But it's definitely worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun to fly.

posted by PoppaPoe33 (Chesapeake, VA) Apr 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Being a fan of historic wars, I enjoyed this game. The graphics were well done, and the gameplay was great. This is by far the best flight game I've played. Definetely recommend renting this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII

posted by udaykiran (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

It's a great game but need lot of patience to get going as the controls take some time to get used to.
It is a buy it and use it slowly over a period of time game, not finish in 2 days kind-of-game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

blazing angels squadrons of WWII(PS3)

posted by kdog8001 (PAWTUCKET, RI) Apr 7, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

this is an awesome game if you are into flying planes and lot of shooting and destruction, it takes a few trys to get the hang of the controls but once you master that it is alot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

To Many Glitches.

posted by jasoncoz (LOUISVILLE, KY) Mar 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

While the game play was fun at times, the sound often cut out during missions, requiring a restart of the system. I ended up pulling the game and just sending it back after the game froze after for the umpteenth time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Blazing Angels not that good

posted by kdubgamer (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Mar 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

The fun factor was cool however the slow planes they give you suck and the germans are faster than you. To much going on at times to pay attention to your main targets before you know it you are shot down. Fair is a good rating but did not deserve anything else besides the graphics was not the best for what this machine could do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Squadrons of World War 2?

posted by antiy4ho0 (SAN LEANDRO, CA) Mar 27, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Well, What can I say about Blazing Angels? I'll start with the good I guess. The game is pretty, and it can give you a real sense of speed when flying low. The game can be very fun, theres nothing like being outnumbered in the skies and dropping every single enemy.

Too bad thats about all the positive I have to say about this. The difficulty ranges from mind numbingly-easy to
throw-your-controller- through- your- TV hard. The difficulty doesn't ramp either, its very random. One minute your playing a mission with your eyes closed, the next minute you are racing against a near impossible clock to complete your mission.

While the graphics are very nice for a launch title, the frame rates can get pretty bad! No flying through smoke if you value your frame rate, otherwise the game gets very choppy, and there is quite a few missions with a lot of smoke in the sky.

The enemy AI, for lack of a better word, sucks. I don't remember EVER getting actually shot down throughout the game, anytime I failed it was due to not completing an objective in the alloted time.

Tilt controls are very unresponsive, and this was one of the main reasons I wanted to try the game, but they just don't work very well. Sometimes they seem very touchy, other times your tilting your controller like a madman and you get a tiny veer off.

It sounds like I hate the game, but I don't. I've definitely played worse games, but I've played better as well. I had some fun with it and I think most people would as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underrated game

posted by blahwi (PEWAUKEE, WI) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Pros: Looks very nice, water textures and representations of Pearl Harbor, Normandy, midway, london, etc. are just amazing. The game is just plain fun. Sixaxis control is a blast and as far as I'm concerned is the best way to play. Multiplayer and online play is very fun. Nice selection of aircraft, which all fly differently from one another.

Cons: Audio gets to be annoying, game will slow up at certain points but not nearly as bad as advertised by most reviewers. Some of the mission success have more to do with plain luck as opposed to actual skill.

Overall: Very fun game. Great dog fights, bombing runs...may not be 100% correct physics wise, but who cares. If you try this game, I suggest trying it with the sixaxis, it just adds another dimension to flying games. Plenty there to peak my interest over a longer period of time. Definitely worth the rental I would seriously consider buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rent it only

posted by hearMEnow (FRESH MEADOWS, NY) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

hear me now i is giving da 411 on blazin angels. man they were wrong on da word blazin. anyways dis game be ok notin special. plus da 6axis is very sensitive, plus da human hand cant stay still, especially if u be trying to blazin angels. u hear me?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you like flying games this one is for you...

posted by kman76 (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Not a bad game at all. Wish you could use mic online but other than that the game was pretty descent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not good. Not horrible.

posted by MRPlNK (KANSAS CITY, KS) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I didn't hate it. I hated things about it. Physics? what's that? You can fly straight up for like 15 seconds before you stall. You can do a flip at any speed; you can fly upside down the whole time!
That detracts from the fun to me; physics are an important part of maneuvering in a dogfight. On top of that, the default control scheme was ridiculous. Left turns left. right turns right. "Simulation mode isn't much better. The radio chatter was kind of annoying too.
On the up side. Graphics are decent. Not really good. It's entertaining enough if you want a mindless shooter. I couldn't do it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's a must at least try

posted by Skiingrule (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

If you like flying games this is one of the better ones. Realistically I was hoping for a little better graphics. I really thought that since it is PS3 they might go all out. I would love to have been able to see the ground troops fighting when you're helping them evacuate, or civilions on the ground when you buzz a farm or town. But nope. What this game lacks in graphics, which are better than any PS2 game it makes up for in flight control. I'm training to become a pilot and this game has the most realistic controls I've ever had in any game that's not a true flight simulator. It also has one of the better storylines. Even though it is based on true battles you get to know other characters in the game. All in all this is a good game. ANd I think is a must rent if you have a PS3 or if you like a flight simulated style of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The beginning to the future of gaming

posted by ytsejammer (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

There is alot of interesting things about this game, but i have to say the MOST interesting has to be the great use of Tilt control technology that the game puts to use. The tilt control really allows for a bit more interaction with the game and although people say it was an attempt for PS3 to match the Wii i dont feel that way at all because you also have to be aware of the buttons you are pressing...

This game is not one of those hold down the fire button type of games. Although i will admit that the levels tend to get a lil repetative with the same general "protect the planes" and "sink the ship mission" there is a lot of variety in each of those levels also. I didn't get to spend alot of time with the game online but i would still say it is one of those worth playing online.

All and all i think this game deserves recognition especially because of the historical accuracy of the planes. And even more so i would say that even if fighter pilot games aren't you (which more so then not they are not for me) this game is one everybody with a PS3 should play

YTSEJAMMER()

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

VERTIGO SUFFERERS BEWARE!!!

posted by zacharyz (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 26, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

I have some problems with vertigo and dizzy spells. I can play most first-person shooters for about 3-4 hours max, so it's not that bad. But this game set me off after about 15 minutes. I had to quit after a short time and had problems with spinning in my head until I went to bed 3 hours later, and that time was mostly spent reading a book.

The short dose I got seemed quite fun, but beware if you have problems with your inner ear or if games that move a lot can make you sick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for about the first 16 levels.

posted by JMan0711 (MANAHAWKIN, NJ) Feb 25, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

This game is plenty of fun and has much to do. It isn't easy, but it isn't hard. This only last for about the first 16 levels. After that It isn't easy and it isn't hard..its impossible. (Without cheats that is). There are many different planes that can be upgraded somewhat and each level has a little something different to offer, but like i said after 16 levels you will pull your hair out and start using cheats.

At least i did, but I dont mind taking the easy way out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I had a great time playing this game.

posted by Shooster (FARGO, ND) Feb 24, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

Visually I thought this game was very well put together; from the details on the plane I just shot down to the ruins of Berlin. The controls were easy to get ahold of and the attributes of each plane matched its performance.
The problem I had with it though was that I did beat it in 1 week of nightly playing; making it an easy game. Online play was fun, but tought to find a full match. And lastly it took a while to get used to the turning on the screen, I caught myself a couple times turning with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointing for HD and for gameplay

posted by pythos (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 22, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

There were two major things that disappointed me about this game. First, for an HD platform, it looked rather pedestrian and dull. But, the second aspect that drove me crazy was that the weapon sight is so tiny that it's extremely difficult to hit an enemy. I returned my rental immediately, glad I didn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fairly Good Game

posted by gagerager (FORT COLLINS, CO) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Blazing Angels is a great WW2 squadron game, but the game I feel lacks overal campaign storyline, as well as co-op capability. If you are intrested in a fighter simulation multiplayer game I would hold out, but overal the gameplay and graphics of Blazing Angels is nice and smooth, and realistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

next gen?

posted by mrkuyukot (GRANADA HILLS, CA) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

This title is supposed to be for a next gen console? They don't even have voice over for the actual game play. How are you supposed to read the caption while trying to shoot the enemy? The six axis controls needs some time getting used to, which is to be expected. Very disappointing. You can definitely tell that this game was rushed. Next gen games shouldn't only be about great graphics. The developers can't expect us to spend 60-70 dollars on a rushed mediocre game. Rent it and you'll see for your self.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Everything

posted by Ericent (LEWISBURG, WV) Jan 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

The whole game stinks in my personal opinion. 1. The graphics trash the ps3 2. A plane is larger than the london bridge 3. AI was not impressive 4. The game is so easy a cave man could do it 5. One on one combat online lasts forever and if he gets on ur tail u can barely outrun him 6. And lastly the gameplay is too slow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great!!! almost perfect

posted by SANTACLAUS (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 9, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

This game was nearly perfect. It's game play is great, the controls are fantastic, one of the best features is the six axis controls. The graphics are fantastic the only negative thing I have to say, is so far I have not seen anything different from the Xbox 360 game, it would have been nice to see something special for the PS3 like a new level or something. But I don't know maybe they have later in the game I have only gotten to the third level so far, and it keeps on getting better I cant wait to finish the rest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots of fun.

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Jan 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

Not the best graphics but the sky looks amazing and the missions are a lot of fun. I love bombing carriers and battleships. One problem I have is the voiceovers do not play. I can hear a blip from time to time when they are supposed to be talking but there is no sound other than that and im forced to read all the text. Other than that...this is a great game and if you like flight simulators this one will keep you busy for a couple days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Blazing Angels PS3

posted by MacKane (AUBURN, IN) Jan 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2003

The graphics were not the best. Controls were okay, and game play okay. I just thought it would look better on the PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Visually stunning, but quickly boring.

posted by Squishy503 (BEAVERTON, OR) Jan 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

I was really looking forward to this game. I thought I was even going to buy it...and then I played it.

Well it sure is a pretty game. Besides the graphics, there's really nothing left. The story mode isn't very exciting, and the missions are either way too easy, or next to impossible.

While this is one of the top 10 PS3 games in my book, it's only because there aren't that many more that have been released.

Worth a rental, if you have an HD TV. It was gorgeous on my 56" 1080p.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse