Rent Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII for PS3
view large frontback

Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, Wii, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.1

1991 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sigh

posted by BIGCATLUV (DETROIT, MI) Jan 10, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

I wanted to try this game to "broaden the horizon" of my typical gaming genres. It didn't work. This game is okay for folks who like to fly and attack other flying things with a barrage bullets. The six axis only tilts airplanes; you control everything else with analog sticks.
This game ain't me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Aiiiiiight

posted by ManSpider (NORTHPORT, NY) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

School project

posted by gamer234 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Looks like it was made by a two grader

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worst flight sim I've played in a while

posted by Frogman (OXNARD, CA) Nov 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Okay, I'm going to rate this game on a scale of 1 through 10 in three categories (flight sim, missions, and overall quality).

Flight Sim: Definitely not worth more than a 2 in this category. The most obvious is the plane's ability to defy gravity. When you roll into a 90 degree angle of bank, the plane should drop like a rock. Instead, you can maintain straight flight, which is ridiculous. Also, about the only way to stall the aircraft is to pull the throttle to idle and climb vertical for about 10 seconds(WWII era prop planes were capable of vertical flight only at max throttle and only for a short period of time). Finally, it would have been nice to see a few more US aircraft in the game.

Missions: I'll give these a 5 because some of them are relatively realistic. Most of them attempt to follow an actual historical battle, but turn into a cheesy arcade version after takeoff. Example: Being able to repair your plane in flight (goofy; but necessary in most missions).

Overall Quality: 4
The game is beatable in a few hours and after that, there is not much repeat playability. A few of the missions make take dozens of attempts and drive you absolutely batty because of their lack of realism (landing your damaged plane which flies in unrecoverable circles). There are many better WWII flight sims out there (Heroes of the Pacific) but none for PS3 as of yet. Hopefully Ubisoft will see the error of their ways and make Blazing Angels 2 much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

flight of the phoenix

posted by mattmatt (OAKDALE, CA) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

blazing angels is a good game to play if you like planes of WWII. i was not impressed all that much but it is real easy to pick up and play. the graphics weren't up to next gen status but unlocking a different plane after every mission was cool. even though, you find a plane and stick with it for the entire game. Overall, this is a good game to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Plane Sim

posted by PS3Lover (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Fun and innovative, this game delivers intense plane shooting actions as well as using full advantage of the SIXAXIS motion controller. The graphics are well designed and this is a good game to rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game to pass the time

posted by Darwin67 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

I would rate this game higher if it weren't for the problems I kept having with the controller. During game play. In either motion control or button control the controller would lock up, and in tight turn situations, such as the "Glacier" mission, it would mean certain doom, and thus it took far too long to finish the mission making it very frustrating.

Other than that big gripe, I have to say that the graphics are pretty clear and nice. Since I'm a fan of WWII shooters, this was a nice break from COD, and a hice hold over until some new ones come out this fall! If you like Shooters, you like flying, than this is a must play....especially online!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game for the guy with a short attention span!

posted by Photrick (BEREA, KY) Sep 10, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

The game dynamics is great! You have a variety of missions that never kept me bored and i have a short attention span. But what bugs me is your wingman say the same things over and over. If you are only receiving ground fire and they tell you watch your six its kind of stupid. It has a great replay value and the standalone missions and campaigns are always fun. The multi-player is very enjoyable also!

All in all the down side to this game is enemy lock. I have trouble locking on to some enemies so i can follow, but other than that great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Boring

posted by imcool925 (CHADDS FORD, PA) Sep 2, 2007

Member since Jul 2004

The 360 version seemed so much funner to me than the ps3 version. In this one (the one thats for the ps3) the story mode or campaign is so boring you want to shoot yourself. Of course the graphics are really good and the planes look awesome especially when you fire machine guns or drop bombs but it just doesnt mix with the gameplay. Every mission is basically the same and some are boring and pointless while others are to hard or impossible. I had trouble finding people to play with which may just be because this games kinda old but the multiplayer was kinda boring just because no one has a headset. In the 360 version although the campaign was just as boring it seemed alot easier. The multiplayer was extremely fun and very talkative. Anyways bottom line is get it for the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An OK Flyer Game.

posted by alexbonao (BRONX, NY) Aug 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

This game is a solid flyer game. It has OK missions, the graphics could be alot better. Graphics are not up to PS3 standards. If you like flyer games this is a must RENT and a maybe BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Flying and shooting old planes was never more fun!

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Aug 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This game is very nice to look at, even with the old look throughout the game. The planes are fun to fly especially once you get the sixaxis motion down, which is very, very tricky at first, then becomes natural. There are tons of planes w/ various weapons but you'll come to use only a couple depending on the mission type. The biggest downfall is how easy the game is. It was a breeze to get through less a couple missions. Place the game on hard and you wont even be able to take off, too much gap in difficulty. BOTTOMLINE: If you like simulator/arcade flying games and/or are a fan of war titles this is a must rent, otherwise check it out if your bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Fun

posted by dualkarn (DENTON, TX) Jul 16, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

Great graphics, excellent controls and, for me at least, challenging! I actually re-rented this title because I missed playing it.

Refreshing graphical and tactical requirements for single-player games and a great multiplayer online version compliment well-designed gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's Ok.

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Jul 2, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

For me I do not have a lot time to play and learn new video games so this game was going to just take me too much time to get good at. If you have the time to learn a new game this one is worth renting, otherwise I would pass on it. Also, when I logged on there wasn't anybody playing online which leads me to believe it has overstayed its welcome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Interesting title

posted by HerdJC (MILTON, WV) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This is an interesting game to pass some time with. If you have a lull in games as far as ones you want to play, give this a try and play around with it. There are some levels that are pretty frustrating, but overall it's worth it as a time-killer.

Graphics leave some to be desired but not all that shocking considering it's a first-gen PS3 game. Sound effects are also a bit bland, but not terrible. Online play is fun, but only if you can actually find other people online to play with.

Overall, it's worth a rental to check it out, but probably not a game you'll want to purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent History Flying Game

posted by sultanon (DENVER, CO) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

Full of Action this is probably the best game I have played on PS3. It has historical substance and it is just simply addictive, you can't wait to see what the next mission will hold and it just feels like you are in WWII. Great action, graphics and flying simulation. Excellent rating for this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

My Take on Blazing Angels

posted by Dino46 (REVERE, MA) Jun 25, 2007

Member since May 2007

The game is pretty cool if you just want to play a simple aviation game. Even though your team lacks missiles and leaves you with a lot of the missions by yourself, they do however protect you. This game is good enough to play it once and add it to the collection of beat games section. With little PS3 titles is not a bad choice for a week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mediocre at Best

posted by journey2 (TURLOCK, CA) May 29, 2007

Member since May 2007

When I first started to play Blazing Angels it seemed like a neat game. Being a history buff, I couldn't wait to get it in, however, it got old very quickly. The single player missions although different in objective all seemed to be redundant. I didn't have a chance to play the multi-player version because I wanted to get Blazing Angels sent back in to get my next game so I cannot Praise nor deny the online and multiplayer portion. From what I saw some of the graphic detail was done in a rush job. I thought that with the powerhouse of the PS3 that the landscape and all around world detail could have been many times better. In some of the beginning missions the plane you are flying is the same size as the ships in the water, and that kind of farsical gameplay will immediately be left out of my play lists.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun First Gen Game

posted by Stunna (SEATTLE, WA) May 23, 2007

Member since May 2007

I must first say, that many of the reviews I read about this game from major sites, wer BIAS. Blazing Angels is definitely an underdog game.

The major points of the game revolve around its historical re-enactments. From what I know, the games give a relatively good representation of what occured during WWII. The controls are fun (when using the SIXAXIS [THANK YOU SONY]) but can take a few missions to get adjusted to.

Graphically the game is a bit sub-par, there are some good parts (the plains, and environments) but there could have been a better usage of the PS3 hardware. The difficulty of some missions could also have been scaled down.

Overall this is a must play, until better games come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wow i loved it but not enough for a 10

posted by lltpppdove (SAN CLEMENTE, CA) May 22, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

this game is good but like it says below your going to have lot's of issues with the motion controller and its weird with the camera angles. Because of the camera shifting while ur trying to fly right and the camera shifts to look at the wing and now your turing ur tail left its hard to get use to but after a while its well worth it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really well put together

posted by Piempster (CORONA, CA) May 21, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I'm not really a fan of flight sim games but wow this blew me away ... i was expecting another typical flight sim but this game is a step above any flight sim game ive played ... the controls are easy to adjust to and the sixaxis is pretty smooth as well ... the graphics are amazing for a next gen low rated game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Blazing Angels

posted by Hottorr (MIDDLE VILLAGE, NY) May 15, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This game is really fun!If you happen to be looking for something different,here it is.Great graphics,good gameplay,ok sound.The only knock i would have is it can get a bit repetetive.Worth the rental,try it you will like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OK

posted by broncos (SOUTH CHINA, ME) May 8, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

great I loved the game there are some bad things. Like the Frame rate is messed up when you go through a smoke cloud and some parts when you your shooting. But other then that it is a good game like the graphics are alright and it is awesome how you can old time plains and some of the most historic battle. If you are wondering whether to get it just get it I will bet that you will like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

BLAZING ANGELS

posted by 6REVEREND6 (ROCKY POINT, NY) Apr 22, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

great game graphics ,a lot of fun flying and dogfighting.the game falls short on keeping it fun.becoming to challenging at times leaving the player frustrated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but could be better

posted by insanereap (EUREKA, CA) Apr 19, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

ok this game is good but im am not happy it ends so fast. i finshed the game in less then 5 hours. the good part was there are alot of planes you can pick from. i would say rent the game dont buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is ok

posted by MIGamer1 (MACOMB, MI) Apr 18, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

This game was ok, its worth a rent, but probably not to buy, The controls were kind of cool with the six axis, but it got annoying fast, it was better with the classic controls, but the co-op was ok, the single player was descent, but I guess I really don't like sim flyer's, this game is for people who like flying simulators, they are definitely harder than the average flying game, sometimes to catch someone, I felt like I was just flying in circle, which I was, its a hard game, but its not bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse