Rent Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII for PS3
view large frontback

Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360, Xbox

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.1

1999 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Coop Multiplayer is amazing.

posted by TheRaptor (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

41 out of 41 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This came looks very polished and clean. Having never played the 360 version I have no basis for comparison, but I have played this game non stop since I got it. Split screen coop multiplayer.

Example: I played the pearl harbor level. We started off in our hangers it took us longer to start our engines since they weren't warmed up. We had to take off from a runway with wreckage of planes in our way (Nice touch). Then fight off a huge force of Zero's and bombers. The atmosphere and graphics made me feel the threat of being in a real dogfight.

The planes handle very differently which is great since my buddies enjoy different handling than I do. So we ended up developing our own style of play. Single player has innovative levels (Like flying through a sandstorm to take recon pictures of german basis using only your radio signal to track them down, while taking anti aircraft fire.) I only gave it an 9 because I haven't gotten used to the motion sensitive controls yet. Very hard to use but I'm sure I'll get used to it and probably prefer it later.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Flying with the SIXAXIS

posted by indy83815 (COEUR D ALENE, ID) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

All in all this game isn't too bad. It looks nice and the missions are difficult enough to keep you busy. Flying by tilting the controller was actually more fun and natural than I thought it would be. The only issue I had was during extended acrobatics the SIXAXIS seemed to loose calibration and I found myself steering into the ground no matter how hard I tried to avoid it. After a few nose dives I learned how to fix this problem. When your steering seems to go hay-wire you can pull yourself out of the dive with the thumb sticks. Once you've leveled out (your plane and the controller) the SIXAXIS will recalibrate itself and you'll be set to head back into the dog fight. Happy flying!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good first generation game

posted by LogKenosha (KENOSHA, WI) Mar 13, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This game is a good game for the ps3. Especially for the first generation of the system. The game has good graphics, great and speedy animation. The game play is incredible. If you play the game using the motion of the controller, it gets to be a little tricky. If you haven't heard, you can fly the plane just by moving the controller and not pushing any buttons. The portion of the game that you play online is fun too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Well worth playing

posted by RoninDex (CAPE GIRARDEAU, MO) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Apr 2004

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Well, I had seen this game in magazines it it had just average reviews. This caused me to be kinda shy to give the game a try. then a guy I work with suggested I give it a try so I did. I am very glad I did. The graphics are really impressive, reminded me of watching Dogfights on the History Channel. Controls are solid, with a nice storyline. Also, this was a welcome departure from the WWII games that are on the market (Call of Duty, Medal of Honor...) since it was air combat. The only downside is that it can get a little boring at times and even the missions and the planes give you somethin to look forward to, for me personally the replay value becomes low. The online muliplayer was cool, but I didnt really find alot of people online playing it, so that become boring to sit around and wait.
Overall a solid game that is well worth some time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love it...

posted by MrWills (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jan 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have seen many negative reviews and comments. If you like flight sims then you will like this game. Graphics and game play are intense and a thrill to fly. Must have HD TV and if you got a big screen TV then you will find your self turning your body with the movement of the plain. Love it, fast paced game and intense dog fights keep you involded and on your toes!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Crazzygood

posted by bubbbaa (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I thout this would be a another acecombat old school knock off but it was refreshing becuase the single player is good and the multi player coop is Amaiging. not a game to buy but good 2 rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Blazing Angels: Fair Play

posted by toph84 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was fair, below I outline the bare bones of what made the game good, bad, and ugly.

Good: Intense action, challenging missions, photorealistic graphics

Bad: No Dolby Digital surround sound, split screen multiplayer fun, but leaves you wanting more (I didn't try online, no desire to), some missions frustrating because of time constraint

Ugly: Severe slowdown in some parts, wasn't the PS3 supposed to be "all powerful"??

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This is fun?

posted by Kattsee (JONESVILLE, MI) May 20, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

With the lineup for 2 player co-op games for the PS3 limited, I decided to try this game out after reading some of the reviews posted. Needless to say, I turned it off after about the first five minutes of the game.

I'm not really a fly gal, I'm more into the RPG game's as is my fiance. But hey, a person can be occasionally surprised aye? Yea right! We never did get anything shot down. The graphics were not all that great although the controls seemed to be pretty straight forward.

Honestly, if you ever played old school games like Top Gun, don't pick this up as you'll be sorely disappointed, or if you like the tried and true. If your up for something new, possibly something for a change and up for an adventure as to what you may get.. then this is for you.

Off on the hunt still for some decent 2 player games that are not sports or racing games. sigh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Totally Lame

posted by lbz999 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

By far, the worst game I've played on PS3. Never played any of the other versions.

What fun is it to fly an airplane that has a ceiling so low.

Pretty lame that you will be chasing an enemy plane and the "conveniently" fly out of the combat zone...

Graphics? Could have fooled me.

Overall, horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Buggy arcade style game with a generic storyline

posted by Threxx (COLLIERVILLE, TN) Feb 6, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Lots of issues with this game...
Bugs? Well, it flat out locked up on me once.
Also, this might be Sony's fault but on certain PS3 software update revisions (I think 1.3 until 1.5 where it seems to be have been fixed) the voices during flight do not work, forcing you to read the text on the screen which is nearly impossible to do during some battle sequences. (Work around for this bug for those who are experiencing it, is to set your PS3 to display at 720p by default before starting up the game, even though the game displays at 720p anyway, this fixes the voice problem).
And also buggy because it was ported over inefficiently to the point that if you fly through an area with a lot of smoke in the air, the game gets REALLY choppy. This should NOT be hard for the PS3 to render but it is for some reason, and I'm about 99% sure it's just a sloppy job of porting.

And what's with the enemies I'm dog fighting going off into areas that are "outside of the battle area"? They aren't retreating, I'm still expected to kill them, and yet if I follow them I get sucked into this long drawn out turn around sequence because I went outside of the boundaries of the battle field.

Gameplay is OK if you have no desire to fly a realistic plane, or no idea how flight physics work, but everything from the acceleration and deceleration characteristics to basic dogfighting moves ranges from extremely fake/corny to impossible. If this gives you any idea, the planes never stall until they hit a certain max ceiling of around (by my guess) 4000 feet, and then they instantly stall out and nose down. Doesn't matter what plane you're in or how fast/slow you're going, you stall at the same height every time unless you're in a canyon run, then magically your plane seems to stall at 200 feet or so for no reason at all.

The story and gameplay themselves are rehashed and generic, at best, too. When are the good PS3 games going to come out??

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by GoGreen (PERKASIE, PA) Jan 22, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fair at Best

posted by abb1971 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I did not like the control of the planes in this game. The steering and handling of aircraft were not realistic. I played this game for a few hours and then didn't play it. I'm glad that I only rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Has potential but falls short

posted by scubatim84 (SANTA CLARA, CA) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The graphics, storyline and gameplay of this game are all pretty good. I would put them on the order of an 8 or 9. The problem I have with this, which is why I'm sending it back prematurely before finishing it and giving it a 5, is that some missions are just stupid. I don't mean stupid as in they're hard to get past...I mean just stupid. If you decide to play this game, you'll see what I mean when you get to the mission where the game asks you to land a damaged plane while the game is forcing your plane to swerve all over the screen and spin around in circles, all without you even touching the controller. I fail to see how the game developers thought that could be fun.

However, this is past the halfway point for the missions. If you want to have some fun for a few days, I would say give it a shot...I just wouldn't get your hopes up. I'm sure there are other missions in there too which are just plain stupid and do not make for anything other than miserable gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nor Recommended

posted by FatThumb (STATESVILLE, NC) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Being a relatively new PS3 owner, I will admit that my expectations may be off a bit, but this game just did not do it for me. I appreciate a good air combat game, but this one lacked a few things that I need to have in place:

1) Unstable controls
2) Unable to distinguish targets in the midst of combat (far too much going on)
3) Not colorblind friendly (too many of the colors run together)

I guess that I'll just stick with the highest rated games from now on. I sent this one right back to GameFly... express mail!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great idea, poor execution

posted by Operator7 (LONG BEACH, CA) Nov 25, 2008

Member since May 2007

I, like some other posters, couldn't get past the first mission.

You're supposed to bomb some ground units, but there is NOTHING telling you where they are at. So you fly around trying to find them, and after about 20 minutes of this, and ZERO assistance from the game, I was done.

There is a map, and a radar, and the game gives you no clue how to read them.

And I am a very active gamer!!!

So don't think it's a case of me not being game-literate.

Oh sure, I could probably surf the web to find this info out, BUT WHY SHOULD I HAVE TO???

Amazing that people spend so much time and money developing a game, and stuff like this doesn't get addressed.

You'd think they'd maybe have someone test the game, so that people like myself (and others who said the same exact thing), don't give up in frustration.

Oh well.

I played it for about an hour, then back in the mail it goes.

Nice job developers.

Next game please!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ehhh...

posted by fightfan31 (JOLIET, IL) Oct 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Played this to pass the time between new releases and it was OK. A Relatively older game with sometimes convoluted objectives and some next-to-impossible missions. It was entertaining for the 8 or so hours it took to complete.
Don't even try the multiplayer 'cause it won't work...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love passing game!!

posted by CHAMO1217 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Game was very very fun it actually felt part of the team fighting in WWII...!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OH MY GOD!!! THIS GAME IS LAME!!!

posted by armyofone (HARPSWELL, ME) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game sucks,period.Get it,got it? Good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game rocks

posted by nickdipao (CAMARILLO, CA) Sep 24, 2008

Member since May 2008

I was never fond of flying games, i found them to jarbled and boring, but this game was off the hook, i mean if you want to play a flying game, this is it, i'm renting part 2 right now, i need it. this game deals with the germans and the japenese, from Dunkirk, to Pearl Harbor and back to Berlin, this game has it all. Top Notch, Thanks game fly for sending it and thanks Ubisoft for making it. Frickin tight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun WWII Flier

posted by archquestr (NORTHUMBERLAND, PA) Aug 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I first played this game on wii and I thought it was pretty fun using the interactive controls, though I thought it actually made the game more difficult.
On PS3 I was pleased with the different game controls and I had a lot of fun with this game.
As a qualifying note: I am a big fan of the History oriented war games so this game was something I probably would have enjoyed even if it were sub-par... that being said I really enjoyed most of the aspects of this game.
If you like WWII History and flying games you will definitely enjoy this game. As you progress through the game you also progress through the History of both the Alied and Axis powers' aviation technology (with historically accurate machines and technology). You gain access to newer more powerful and specialized war planes. The game play takes you through many historically referenced arenas of WWII that are at least somewhat historically accurate as well.
The graphics are right on par with what you should expect from a PS3 game (especially an early game that was developed for multiple platforms). The difficulty of the game is about a C+. Some things are pretty easy and others seem to be overly difficult. This game is long enough to keep even an experienced gamer going for a while, but it is not overly long (pretty well balanced). I also found it interesting that they made an effort to incorporate dog fighting with land and sea attack as well - though on a historical note, they did make it a little silly to have bombing capability from pure fighters... Overall the game was very fun and fairly challenging... This is a game I could honestly see myself owning, just to go back and re-fight some great air battles every now and again when I get the urge to blow some stuff up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, but not my thing.. Does have subtitles..

posted by Deafguy (MIAMI, FL) May 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Gave it an honest tryout but I couldn't get past the first mission, there simply isn't enough time, for someone with fair skills. I just couldn't get the planes to do exactly what I wanted, almost impossible to achieve any precision no mater the controller configuration, at least for me.

I give ++ kudos for subtitles , has good graphics, a cool game for WWII plane buffs but overall I just hated it.

Game play wasn't that bad, I just couldn't master the controls to get the precision needed. Would have been a 9 rating if game came with difficulty/skill levels rather than having game choose difficulty based on training mission.

However I'll give it a 6 because I cant really find fault with the game overall. It just isn't my kind of game, I guess.. as far as being Flight Sim, however, it's at best, grade school stuff - not really that much to it in the way of flight sim.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Blazing Flyer

posted by viper74 (RAEFORD, NC) May 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I love WWII era stuff. The planes aren't high tech, but the battles and environments are very cool. I thought the game was a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good to rent, not good to buy!

posted by creole81 (SULPHUR, LA) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Rented this game and I'm glad I didn't purchase it. Gameplay was just ok, missions was not very hard and finished the game in 2 days. Good luck in trying to play online, can't find anybody really playing it. Allows you to land on carriers and bases which helps create a beginning and ending feel to a mission. You also can fly a lot of different planes. I enjoyed it, but there are other games that are better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Under par

posted by Gallep (DENVER, CO) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

The screen play actually lagged, at home. I was flying low and firing at training balloons on the first training mission, and as I was flying through the balls of fire, play back got slow and choppy/laggy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE!!

posted by reggiere (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This is most def a rushed release title.Game play feels rough.Frame rate Is Awful at higher resolution
Stay FAR AWAY from this title!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse