Rent Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII for PS3
view large frontback

Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, Wii, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.1

1999 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OH MY GOD!!! THIS GAME IS LAME!!!

posted by armyofone (HARPSWELL, ME) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game sucks,period.Get it,got it? Good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE!!

posted by reggiere (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This is most def a rushed release title.Game play feels rough.Frame rate Is Awful at higher resolution
Stay FAR AWAY from this title!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

School project

posted by gamer234 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Looks like it was made by a two grader

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Everything

posted by Ericent (LEWISBURG, WV) Jan 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

The whole game stinks in my personal opinion. 1. The graphics trash the ps3 2. A plane is larger than the london bridge 3. AI was not impressive 4. The game is so easy a cave man could do it 5. One on one combat online lasts forever and if he gets on ur tail u can barely outrun him 6. And lastly the gameplay is too slow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Blazing Angels PS3

posted by MacKane (AUBURN, IN) Jan 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2003

The graphics were not the best. Controls were okay, and game play okay. I just thought it would look better on the PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

To Many Glitches.

posted by jasoncoz (LOUISVILLE, KY) Mar 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

While the game play was fun at times, the sound often cut out during missions, requiring a restart of the system. I ended up pulling the game and just sending it back after the game froze after for the umpteenth time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointing for HD and for gameplay

posted by pythos (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 22, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

There were two major things that disappointed me about this game. First, for an HD platform, it looked rather pedestrian and dull. But, the second aspect that drove me crazy was that the weapon sight is so tiny that it's extremely difficult to hit an enemy. I returned my rental immediately, glad I didn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Totally Lame

posted by lbz999 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

By far, the worst game I've played on PS3. Never played any of the other versions.

What fun is it to fly an airplane that has a ceiling so low.

Pretty lame that you will be chasing an enemy plane and the "conveniently" fly out of the combat zone...

Graphics? Could have fooled me.

Overall, horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This is fun?

posted by Kattsee (JONESVILLE, MI) May 20, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

With the lineup for 2 player co-op games for the PS3 limited, I decided to try this game out after reading some of the reviews posted. Needless to say, I turned it off after about the first five minutes of the game.

I'm not really a fly gal, I'm more into the RPG game's as is my fiance. But hey, a person can be occasionally surprised aye? Yea right! We never did get anything shot down. The graphics were not all that great although the controls seemed to be pretty straight forward.

Honestly, if you ever played old school games like Top Gun, don't pick this up as you'll be sorely disappointed, or if you like the tried and true. If your up for something new, possibly something for a change and up for an adventure as to what you may get.. then this is for you.

Off on the hunt still for some decent 2 player games that are not sports or racing games. sigh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mediocre at Best

posted by journey2 (TURLOCK, CA) May 29, 2007

Member since May 2007

When I first started to play Blazing Angels it seemed like a neat game. Being a history buff, I couldn't wait to get it in, however, it got old very quickly. The single player missions although different in objective all seemed to be redundant. I didn't have a chance to play the multi-player version because I wanted to get Blazing Angels sent back in to get my next game so I cannot Praise nor deny the online and multiplayer portion. From what I saw some of the graphic detail was done in a rush job. I thought that with the powerhouse of the PS3 that the landscape and all around world detail could have been many times better. In some of the beginning missions the plane you are flying is the same size as the ships in the water, and that kind of farsical gameplay will immediately be left out of my play lists.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

VERTIGO SUFFERERS BEWARE!!!

posted by zacharyz (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 26, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

I have some problems with vertigo and dizzy spells. I can play most first-person shooters for about 3-4 hours max, so it's not that bad. But this game set me off after about 15 minutes. I had to quit after a short time and had problems with spinning in my head until I went to bed 3 hours later, and that time was mostly spent reading a book.

The short dose I got seemed quite fun, but beware if you have problems with your inner ear or if games that move a lot can make you sick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fair at Best

posted by abb1971 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I did not like the control of the planes in this game. The steering and handling of aircraft were not realistic. I played this game for a few hours and then didn't play it. I'm glad that I only rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nor Recommended

posted by FatThumb (STATESVILLE, NC) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Being a relatively new PS3 owner, I will admit that my expectations may be off a bit, but this game just did not do it for me. I appreciate a good air combat game, but this one lacked a few things that I need to have in place:

1) Unstable controls
2) Unable to distinguish targets in the midst of combat (far too much going on)
3) Not colorblind friendly (too many of the colors run together)

I guess that I'll just stick with the highest rated games from now on. I sent this one right back to GameFly... express mail!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great idea, poor execution

posted by Operator7 (LONG BEACH, CA) Nov 25, 2008

Member since May 2007

I, like some other posters, couldn't get past the first mission.

You're supposed to bomb some ground units, but there is NOTHING telling you where they are at. So you fly around trying to find them, and after about 20 minutes of this, and ZERO assistance from the game, I was done.

There is a map, and a radar, and the game gives you no clue how to read them.

And I am a very active gamer!!!

So don't think it's a case of me not being game-literate.

Oh sure, I could probably surf the web to find this info out, BUT WHY SHOULD I HAVE TO???

Amazing that people spend so much time and money developing a game, and stuff like this doesn't get addressed.

You'd think they'd maybe have someone test the game, so that people like myself (and others who said the same exact thing), don't give up in frustration.

Oh well.

I played it for about an hour, then back in the mail it goes.

Nice job developers.

Next game please!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Under par

posted by Gallep (DENVER, CO) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

The screen play actually lagged, at home. I was flying low and firing at training balloons on the first training mission, and as I was flying through the balls of fire, play back got slow and choppy/laggy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worst flight sim I've played in a while

posted by Frogman (OXNARD, CA) Nov 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Okay, I'm going to rate this game on a scale of 1 through 10 in three categories (flight sim, missions, and overall quality).

Flight Sim: Definitely not worth more than a 2 in this category. The most obvious is the plane's ability to defy gravity. When you roll into a 90 degree angle of bank, the plane should drop like a rock. Instead, you can maintain straight flight, which is ridiculous. Also, about the only way to stall the aircraft is to pull the throttle to idle and climb vertical for about 10 seconds(WWII era prop planes were capable of vertical flight only at max throttle and only for a short period of time). Finally, it would have been nice to see a few more US aircraft in the game.

Missions: I'll give these a 5 because some of them are relatively realistic. Most of them attempt to follow an actual historical battle, but turn into a cheesy arcade version after takeoff. Example: Being able to repair your plane in flight (goofy; but necessary in most missions).

Overall Quality: 4
The game is beatable in a few hours and after that, there is not much repeat playability. A few of the missions make take dozens of attempts and drive you absolutely batty because of their lack of realism (landing your damaged plane which flies in unrecoverable circles). There are many better WWII flight sims out there (Heroes of the Pacific) but none for PS3 as of yet. Hopefully Ubisoft will see the error of their ways and make Blazing Angels 2 much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not good. Not horrible.

posted by MRPlNK (KANSAS CITY, KS) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I didn't hate it. I hated things about it. Physics? what's that? You can fly straight up for like 15 seconds before you stall. You can do a flip at any speed; you can fly upside down the whole time!
That detracts from the fun to me; physics are an important part of maneuvering in a dogfight. On top of that, the default control scheme was ridiculous. Left turns left. right turns right. "Simulation mode isn't much better. The radio chatter was kind of annoying too.
On the up side. Graphics are decent. Not really good. It's entertaining enough if you want a mindless shooter. I couldn't do it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

next gen?

posted by mrkuyukot (GRANADA HILLS, CA) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

This title is supposed to be for a next gen console? They don't even have voice over for the actual game play. How are you supposed to read the caption while trying to shoot the enemy? The six axis controls needs some time getting used to, which is to be expected. Very disappointing. You can definitely tell that this game was rushed. Next gen games shouldn't only be about great graphics. The developers can't expect us to spend 60-70 dollars on a rushed mediocre game. Rent it and you'll see for your self.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Has potential but falls short

posted by scubatim84 (SANTA CLARA, CA) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The graphics, storyline and gameplay of this game are all pretty good. I would put them on the order of an 8 or 9. The problem I have with this, which is why I'm sending it back prematurely before finishing it and giving it a 5, is that some missions are just stupid. I don't mean stupid as in they're hard to get past...I mean just stupid. If you decide to play this game, you'll see what I mean when you get to the mission where the game asks you to land a damaged plane while the game is forcing your plane to swerve all over the screen and spin around in circles, all without you even touching the controller. I fail to see how the game developers thought that could be fun.

However, this is past the halfway point for the missions. If you want to have some fun for a few days, I would say give it a shot...I just wouldn't get your hopes up. I'm sure there are other missions in there too which are just plain stupid and do not make for anything other than miserable gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ehhh...

posted by fightfan31 (JOLIET, IL) Oct 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Played this to pass the time between new releases and it was OK. A Relatively older game with sometimes convoluted objectives and some next-to-impossible missions. It was entertaining for the 8 or so hours it took to complete.
Don't even try the multiplayer 'cause it won't work...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sigh

posted by BIGCATLUV (DETROIT, MI) Jan 10, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

I wanted to try this game to "broaden the horizon" of my typical gaming genres. It didn't work. This game is okay for folks who like to fly and attack other flying things with a barrage bullets. The six axis only tilts airplanes; you control everything else with analog sticks.
This game ain't me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

My Take on Blazing Angels

posted by Dino46 (REVERE, MA) Jun 25, 2007

Member since May 2007

The game is pretty cool if you just want to play a simple aviation game. Even though your team lacks missiles and leaves you with a lot of the missions by yourself, they do however protect you. This game is good enough to play it once and add it to the collection of beat games section. With little PS3 titles is not a bad choice for a week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is ok

posted by MIGamer1 (MACOMB, MI) Apr 18, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

This game was ok, its worth a rent, but probably not to buy, The controls were kind of cool with the six axis, but it got annoying fast, it was better with the classic controls, but the co-op was ok, the single player was descent, but I guess I really don't like sim flyer's, this game is for people who like flying simulators, they are definitely harder than the average flying game, sometimes to catch someone, I felt like I was just flying in circle, which I was, its a hard game, but its not bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Blazing Angels not that good

posted by kdubgamer (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Mar 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

The fun factor was cool however the slow planes they give you suck and the germans are faster than you. To much going on at times to pay attention to your main targets before you know it you are shot down. Fair is a good rating but did not deserve anything else besides the graphics was not the best for what this machine could do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rent it only

posted by hearMEnow (FRESH MEADOWS, NY) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

hear me now i is giving da 411 on blazin angels. man they were wrong on da word blazin. anyways dis game be ok notin special. plus da 6axis is very sensitive, plus da human hand cant stay still, especially if u be trying to blazin angels. u hear me?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse