Rent Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII for PS3
view large frontback

Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
6.1

2002 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love passing game!!

posted by CHAMO1217 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Game was very very fun it actually felt part of the team fighting in WWII...!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent History Flying Game

posted by sultanon (DENVER, CO) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

Full of Action this is probably the best game I have played on PS3. It has historical substance and it is just simply addictive, you can't wait to see what the next mission will hold and it just feels like you are in WWII. Great action, graphics and flying simulation. Excellent rating for this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OK

posted by broncos (SOUTH CHINA, ME) May 8, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

great I loved the game there are some bad things. Like the Frame rate is messed up when you go through a smoke cloud and some parts when you your shooting. But other then that it is a good game like the graphics are alright and it is awesome how you can old time plains and some of the most historic battle. If you are wondering whether to get it just get it I will bet that you will like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by GoGreen (PERKASIE, PA) Jan 22, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game rocks

posted by nickdipao (CAMARILLO, CA) Sep 24, 2008

Member since May 2008

I was never fond of flying games, i found them to jarbled and boring, but this game was off the hook, i mean if you want to play a flying game, this is it, i'm renting part 2 right now, i need it. this game deals with the germans and the japenese, from Dunkirk, to Pearl Harbor and back to Berlin, this game has it all. Top Notch, Thanks game fly for sending it and thanks Ubisoft for making it. Frickin tight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The beginning to the future of gaming

posted by ytsejammer (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

There is alot of interesting things about this game, but i have to say the MOST interesting has to be the great use of Tilt control technology that the game puts to use. The tilt control really allows for a bit more interaction with the game and although people say it was an attempt for PS3 to match the Wii i dont feel that way at all because you also have to be aware of the buttons you are pressing...

This game is not one of those hold down the fire button type of games. Although i will admit that the levels tend to get a lil repetative with the same general "protect the planes" and "sink the ship mission" there is a lot of variety in each of those levels also. I didn't get to spend alot of time with the game online but i would still say it is one of those worth playing online.

All and all i think this game deserves recognition especially because of the historical accuracy of the planes. And even more so i would say that even if fighter pilot games aren't you (which more so then not they are not for me) this game is one everybody with a PS3 should play

YTSEJAMMER()

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love it...

posted by MrWills (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jan 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have seen many negative reviews and comments. If you like flight sims then you will like this game. Graphics and game play are intense and a thrill to fly. Must have HD TV and if you got a big screen TV then you will find your self turning your body with the movement of the plain. Love it, fast paced game and intense dog fights keep you involded and on your toes!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great!!! almost perfect

posted by SANTACLAUS (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 9, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

This game was nearly perfect. It's game play is great, the controls are fantastic, one of the best features is the six axis controls. The graphics are fantastic the only negative thing I have to say, is so far I have not seen anything different from the Xbox 360 game, it would have been nice to see something special for the PS3 like a new level or something. But I don't know maybe they have later in the game I have only gotten to the third level so far, and it keeps on getting better I cant wait to finish the rest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Coop Multiplayer is amazing.

posted by TheRaptor (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

41 out of 41 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This came looks very polished and clean. Having never played the 360 version I have no basis for comparison, but I have played this game non stop since I got it. Split screen coop multiplayer.

Example: I played the pearl harbor level. We started off in our hangers it took us longer to start our engines since they weren't warmed up. We had to take off from a runway with wreckage of planes in our way (Nice touch). Then fight off a huge force of Zero's and bombers. The atmosphere and graphics made me feel the threat of being in a real dogfight.

The planes handle very differently which is great since my buddies enjoy different handling than I do. So we ended up developing our own style of play. Single player has innovative levels (Like flying through a sandstorm to take recon pictures of german basis using only your radio signal to track them down, while taking anti aircraft fire.) I only gave it an 9 because I haven't gotten used to the motion sensitive controls yet. Very hard to use but I'm sure I'll get used to it and probably prefer it later.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game to pass the time

posted by Darwin67 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

I would rate this game higher if it weren't for the problems I kept having with the controller. During game play. In either motion control or button control the controller would lock up, and in tight turn situations, such as the "Glacier" mission, it would mean certain doom, and thus it took far too long to finish the mission making it very frustrating.

Other than that big gripe, I have to say that the graphics are pretty clear and nice. Since I'm a fan of WWII shooters, this was a nice break from COD, and a hice hold over until some new ones come out this fall! If you like Shooters, you like flying, than this is a must play....especially online!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game for the guy with a short attention span!

posted by Photrick (BEREA, KY) Sep 10, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

The game dynamics is great! You have a variety of missions that never kept me bored and i have a short attention span. But what bugs me is your wingman say the same things over and over. If you are only receiving ground fire and they tell you watch your six its kind of stupid. It has a great replay value and the standalone missions and campaigns are always fun. The multi-player is very enjoyable also!

All in all the down side to this game is enemy lock. I have trouble locking on to some enemies so i can follow, but other than that great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An OK Flyer Game.

posted by alexbonao (BRONX, NY) Aug 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

This game is a solid flyer game. It has OK missions, the graphics could be alot better. Graphics are not up to PS3 standards. If you like flyer games this is a must RENT and a maybe BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Fun

posted by dualkarn (DENTON, TX) Jul 16, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

Great graphics, excellent controls and, for me at least, challenging! I actually re-rented this title because I missed playing it.

Refreshing graphical and tactical requirements for single-player games and a great multiplayer online version compliment well-designed gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really well put together

posted by Piempster (CORONA, CA) May 21, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I'm not really a fan of flight sim games but wow this blew me away ... i was expecting another typical flight sim but this game is a step above any flight sim game ive played ... the controls are easy to adjust to and the sixaxis is pretty smooth as well ... the graphics are amazing for a next gen low rated game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but could be better

posted by insanereap (EUREKA, CA) Apr 19, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

ok this game is good but im am not happy it ends so fast. i finshed the game in less then 5 hours. the good part was there are alot of planes you can pick from. i would say rent the game dont buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun to fly.

posted by PoppaPoe33 (Chesapeake, VA) Apr 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Being a fan of historic wars, I enjoyed this game. The graphics were well done, and the gameplay was great. This is by far the best flight game I've played. Definetely recommend renting this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII

posted by udaykiran (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

It's a great game but need lot of patience to get going as the controls take some time to get used to.
It is a buy it and use it slowly over a period of time game, not finish in 2 days kind-of-game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underrated game

posted by blahwi (PEWAUKEE, WI) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Pros: Looks very nice, water textures and representations of Pearl Harbor, Normandy, midway, london, etc. are just amazing. The game is just plain fun. Sixaxis control is a blast and as far as I'm concerned is the best way to play. Multiplayer and online play is very fun. Nice selection of aircraft, which all fly differently from one another.

Cons: Audio gets to be annoying, game will slow up at certain points but not nearly as bad as advertised by most reviewers. Some of the mission success have more to do with plain luck as opposed to actual skill.

Overall: Very fun game. Great dog fights, bombing runs...may not be 100% correct physics wise, but who cares. If you try this game, I suggest trying it with the sixaxis, it just adds another dimension to flying games. Plenty there to peak my interest over a longer period of time. Definitely worth the rental I would seriously consider buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Crazzygood

posted by bubbbaa (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I thout this would be a another acecombat old school knock off but it was refreshing becuase the single player is good and the multi player coop is Amaiging. not a game to buy but good 2 rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots of fun.

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Jan 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

Not the best graphics but the sky looks amazing and the missions are a lot of fun. I love bombing carriers and battleships. One problem I have is the voiceovers do not play. I can hear a blip from time to time when they are supposed to be talking but there is no sound other than that and im forced to read all the text. Other than that...this is a great game and if you like flight simulators this one will keep you busy for a couple days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun WWII Flier

posted by archquestr (NORTHUMBERLAND, PA) Aug 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I first played this game on wii and I thought it was pretty fun using the interactive controls, though I thought it actually made the game more difficult.
On PS3 I was pleased with the different game controls and I had a lot of fun with this game.
As a qualifying note: I am a big fan of the History oriented war games so this game was something I probably would have enjoyed even if it were sub-par... that being said I really enjoyed most of the aspects of this game.
If you like WWII History and flying games you will definitely enjoy this game. As you progress through the game you also progress through the History of both the Alied and Axis powers' aviation technology (with historically accurate machines and technology). You gain access to newer more powerful and specialized war planes. The game play takes you through many historically referenced arenas of WWII that are at least somewhat historically accurate as well.
The graphics are right on par with what you should expect from a PS3 game (especially an early game that was developed for multiple platforms). The difficulty of the game is about a C+. Some things are pretty easy and others seem to be overly difficult. This game is long enough to keep even an experienced gamer going for a while, but it is not overly long (pretty well balanced). I also found it interesting that they made an effort to incorporate dog fighting with land and sea attack as well - though on a historical note, they did make it a little silly to have bombing capability from pure fighters... Overall the game was very fun and fairly challenging... This is a game I could honestly see myself owning, just to go back and re-fight some great air battles every now and again when I get the urge to blow some stuff up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Blazing Flyer

posted by viper74 (RAEFORD, NC) May 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I love WWII era stuff. The planes aren't high tech, but the battles and environments are very cool. I thought the game was a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good to rent, not good to buy!

posted by creole81 (SULPHUR, LA) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Rented this game and I'm glad I didn't purchase it. Gameplay was just ok, missions was not very hard and finished the game in 2 days. Good luck in trying to play online, can't find anybody really playing it. Allows you to land on carriers and bases which helps create a beginning and ending feel to a mission. You also can fly a lot of different planes. I enjoyed it, but there are other games that are better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

flight of the phoenix

posted by mattmatt (OAKDALE, CA) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

blazing angels is a good game to play if you like planes of WWII. i was not impressed all that much but it is real easy to pick up and play. the graphics weren't up to next gen status but unlocking a different plane after every mission was cool. even though, you find a plane and stick with it for the entire game. Overall, this is a good game to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Plane Sim

posted by PS3Lover (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Fun and innovative, this game delivers intense plane shooting actions as well as using full advantage of the SIXAXIS motion controller. The graphics are well designed and this is a good game to rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse