Rent Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII for Wii
view large frontback

Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, PS3, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.6

1128 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Use Your Right Hand!

posted by jimbojones (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Apr 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

42 out of 44 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

It's easy for a lot of people to pick up this game, get frustrated, and give up. The control scheme, like any Wii game, does take some getting used to.

It's controlled almost entirely with the Nunchuck. Your first instinct is to play with the Nunchuck in your left hand, Remote in your right. If you are right handed, however, this can feel quite awkward. Put the Nunchuck in your right hand, and it completely changes the feel. Try and keep your hand stationary too, like holding an actual flight stick.

Give this game a chance, get the controls down, and you'll have a great time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Blazing Angels Rocks!!!

posted by flyhigh70 (DOUGLAS, WY) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is perfect for those who enjoy flight simulation games. The controls are almost as good as the real thing! Tip: dropping your landing gear lets you get in from behind quicker in dogfighting. Have fun, I enjoyed this gamed, so I bought it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AUESOME AUESOME AUESOME!!!!!!!!!!

posted by bovinator (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Feb 1, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS THE BEST! THE GRAPHICS ARE GOOD THE CONTROLS ARE EASY AND THE MISSIONS ARE SLIGHTLY CHALLENGING. BUT THE BEST PART IS ALL THE STUFF YOU GET TO DO IN MULTIPLAYER. DOGFIGHT,BOMBING RUN,KAMAKAZI,ONSLAUGHT,AND DUEL,NOT TO MENTION ALL OF THE COOL PLANES YOU GET TO PLAY AS. IN CAMPAIN IT IS EASY TO SHOOT DOWN THE ENEMY PLANES.I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS GAME TO ANYONE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A promise of better games to come

posted by DocDubb (PORTOLA, CA) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm new to the Blazing Angels franchise, so I didn't come to the wii version with expectations from other platforms.

The game can be best summed by its controls--a promise of better games to come. Blazing Angels takes flying games to a new level on the wii, a new and much closer experience to real flight than any other non-pc game. But at the same time the controls are clumsy and often non-responsive. Often in the middle of a level I will be shaking the remote like crazy while my plane nose-dives into the ground.

The game is good with a wide variety of planes, but the controls and poor camera tracking feature makes some of the dogfights a nauseating experience at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME CONTROLL

posted by Strotti (BONITA SPRINGS, FL) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

This game is AWSOME. The controls and how to aim is fantastic. I really play LESS games but I will keep this one directly. The animations are cool and you see a lot of details (such as cars driving on highways). The game is a lot of FUN. But close the blinds from your windows. It looks funny when you're in the action. THis GAME IS A MUST HAVE !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sweet controls!

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Apr 8, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I have played the 360 version, but i wanted the wii version for the controls. The controls are sweet, and extremely customizable too. So if your not one to fly using the motion sensitive nun-chuck you can use the wii remote or the joystick on the nun-chuck.
Graphics are nice as well and if you really want to get into the game; just setup your controls to use the motion nunchuck, simulation style (on control options menu)and put it in 1st person cam (1 button on wii-mote). If you like flying games, rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

cool but not graphics,and controls

posted by master1135 (HENRIETTA, TX) Jul 4, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

in this game it may be fun to control the plane a little realistic but its hard though. it's a little hard to shoot down enemy planes too. anyway the graphics aren't good either. but good sound,voice acting,and fairly long and good AI.

a five out of ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Yuck

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When they first started talking in the first level I honestly thought they were joking.

Pros:
Finally, a plane game like we've been waiting for

Cons:
Like most people I think the controls suck.
Story/Diolouge is laughable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great WWII flight simulator

posted by trentonspa (NORCO, CA) May 24, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is a real challenge, but a lot of fun to play. I am renting it at this time, but I will not be returning it to Gamefly. I will purchase it soon. Use the nunchuck in whichever hand is your dominant one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a bad game....

posted by jacklarkin (ANDOVER, NJ) May 23, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

but not the best. If you have trouble playing flying type games with the controler then the Wii is for you. The controls for this one is right on target. But with the lack of story line and the direction on what you need to do hurts the game play for me. I love WWII games but this one was not up to my par. But don't get me wrong here it is a good game. I would give it a try and you may like it more than I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but controls don't hold up.

posted by voltronguy (BLACKSBURG, VA) May 23, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is actually a lot of fun. The missions and aircraft are quite varied. Using the Nunchuck control scheme is simple and fun. (Take the suggestions of others and hold the Nunchuck in your right hand). If you use the target following camera (button A) it really gives the game a cinematic feel.

The control scheme is also a big con. If you attempt a sharp turn the Nunchuck often looses positional awareness and the plane gets stuck and you can't easily level out. You actually end up twisting your arm all over the place and can end up crashing if low to the ground. The other problem is that the long distance viewing of targets is hard to see and thus can cause eye strain.

Overall the game is fun and is absolutely worth renting. I'm sure there will be better flight sims out that were meant specifically for Wii, rather than a port.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a very hands on game.

posted by patman256 (HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game was very fun but also very hard. On the wii you have to actually control the game by holding the nunchuck up. Learning how to play this I ended up crashing a lot but after you finish the first level it gets easier. A real fun game for laughs on my part and great with a friend. I give it two thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WWii Air Fighter

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 24, 2007

Member since May 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Pros:
Graphics are nice at 480p, very similar to the PC version. I thought I give it a go with the Wii control scheme. Somewhat smooth controls. A novice flight sim. Not a beginner nor is it hardcore. The casual gamer should be able to pick this up with much practice.

Cons:
High learning curve, controls sometimes have a mind of its own when you are turning in extreme conditions, perhaps its because I'm not use to it yet. Difficult to bomb multiple ground targets when you're in a rush. This is not for the kiddies.

Even though this game gives you hordes of options on how you want to use the Wiimote and nunchuck, I still found it difficult to find the right setting. You definitely need a flight stick with this fighter sim. Unless you are a diehard flight simmer and need something now, I would not recommend this game for the Wii. Save yourself the $50 bucks and just rent this game to find out for yourself. Or get the PC version if you have a flight stick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible controls.

posted by bort43 (CHICAGO, IL) May 27, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The controls for this game are not at all intuitive or smooth. Distant objects look terrible as well. Overall, poor graphics and poor wii controls make this game terrible. I can't believe it is rated so highly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great flying game!

posted by Edlover1 (FORT MILL, SC) May 29, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I rented this game, I had trouble putting it down. It's really a great flying simulator, and with the wii remote, it really feels like your flying the plane. You have an option of flying in the cockpit of the aircraft or flying in third person view. The voice acting is great, and the graphics are pretty good if you fly low. The water is what really stunned me. Though it doesn't look so good from above, fly right above it and you can see waves and reflections. This game is definantly worth a rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You must rent this game!!

posted by freddy1 (MIAMI, FL) May 16, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game may start off hard, but trust me its gets easier and easier. Try doing the first mission over and over to get the hang of the controls, oh and other thing I suggest you change the original controls. Letting the chuck control the speed, direction and fire can be over powering. Let the remote handle direction and leave the speed and fire to the chuck (it's much easier that way). As you progress through the game you unlock different plane, which each have their own ability's (so choose wisely). The graphics are so of the best I have seen on the Wii, the story is good, and AI unit do interact without pretty good (instead of you fighting off every plane in the sky). I like this game so much I'm going to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game was fun, but is was very hard to control

posted by fudgems (WAYNESBORO, VA) Apr 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game very much. I liked every aspect of it except for the controls. It is very hard to turn your plane using the nunchunk. I found that it is much easier to use the Wii Remote to turn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Blazing Angels

posted by warrior152 (Minneapolis, MN) Aug 2, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved the concept that the game had and even had fun flying around shooting down planes. The game sucked when it came to the missions they were so hard that the game became real boring real fast. Very very difficult to do any of the missions even with using the cheat code to unlock the other planes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

poor play control makes for frustration

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Jul 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I found this game frustrating to play. There were a lot of different configurations to hold the wii remote but I could never really turn where I wanted too. Good voice acting, music ,graphics, missions,story and all WWII games feel very noble and worthwhile but this particular game I couldn't play for more than a couple hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good concept, Annoying Controls

posted by Naudan (MAHWAH, NJ) Jun 17, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The concept of the game was extraordinary, I will give it that. It was exciting, the missions were challenging, and the multiplayer features are fun (duels, or duo missions). They also educate the player with historical background information about why you are fighting where you are, which really gives you the perception that your fighting for something, adds to the experience.

However there were some downsides to this game. For one, although the controls were creative (being that your nunchuck literally becomes the control stick of a pilot), they lacked accuracy when trying to control the plane. It would not react quickly or as often was the case, would simply not react at all. If you customize your controller this may give you a better experience of the game, however if you stick with the stock settings then I am sure you will witness the same problems.

Also as many of the Wii games do, they try to put so much detail into the graphics of the game that it becomes a jumbled mess of pixels.

So in all, the game itself was great, however problems controlling the plane and trying to smother the screen with detail degraded the game to a 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Why Flight Simulation Sticks To The PC

posted by jsvplyr17 (DALLAS, TX) Jun 9, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Pass on this game, rent or buy Heatseeker...

The reason why this game isn't any good is because of:

Controls: the controls are all based on the nunchuk. It's used to control plane's movements (bad move Ubisoft)

Graphics: last gen, game cube graphics... (very bad)

Learning To Play: take at least 2 hours of practice...

Another reason not to even try the game is the missions, they are very hard. For experienced gamers ONLY...

Make a good choice, get HEATSEEKER!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is one of the best WW2 games EVER MADE!!

posted by ilovewii (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

ITS AWSOME!!!!!!!I really liked playing this game. The missons are great and the planes are even greater. It takes some time getting used to the controls,ut once you do the game plays really well.

The graphics are really good too. It is very relistic. The building abd the planes all look really good. Some of the levels are a little weird though.

The game play is really fun but could be a bit hard some times. Most levels are challenging but some are to easy. Parts of others seem imposible but once you figure out what to do it is a little easier.

Multiplayer mode is really cool. There is about five diffrent modes to choose from. The modes vary from boming runs to dogfights. I prefure the boming run and the onslote. There all really fun though. theres a good varity of leves too.

The extra stuff is very fun and addictive. You have three modes to choose from, theres mini campan, arcad, and ace battle. On mini campan you can choose eather to be a fighter or a bomer. The only bad part is you have to beat the regular campan to unlock it first. In arcad mode you can fight three waves of twelve planes (your enemy differs form the plan you choose). If you beat the three waves your plane is upgraded a little. In Ace mode you can pick any of the planes you have unlocked and fight agenst the same type of plane. If you win you get a specal paint job or something like that. It doesn't seem to change the plane much though. After a while, when you start getting better the ace mode seems to get easier(a little to easy). If you ever get bored or stuck on the campan you can always do these modes. Its fun tring to get all your planes at Ace level, or get them upgraded.

In the reagular campain you can earn medles. If you complete the misson under a certan amount of time you get a medle.

In conclusion, this is a very good WW2 game. It is diffrent from all of the other WW2 games. I would recamend this game to any one who loves WW2!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blazing Angels

posted by f3bomb (WATERTOWN, MA) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game makes me want to put a bomber girl on the side of my Wii. At first the controls are a little weird. It's best to switch to the simulation mode, right hand setup. The simulation mode allows you to do barrel roll flying, vs rudder style turning. It takes a while to get used to, but if you are a person that has a lot of hand eye coordination it becomes very rewarding. The two player mode is a lot of fun. There are lots of different planes to fly, and shoot your friend down with. Too bad there is no giant 50 person multiplayer battles online. Bottom line is if your looking to get a flight simulator, buy a flight sim for your PC. If you want nonstop arcade style action with tons and tons of planes to shoot down and you are not afraid to put some time mastering the Wii's controls this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game EVER.

posted by saxlord (ARLINGTON, TX) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game was absolutely horrible. Mastering the flight controls is next to impossible. If you can, you're either playing video games 25 hours a day, you were an ace pilot in real life, or you're an extra-terrestrial with mind powers. I got three missions into it before I finally gave up. I would rate it less than one if I could. What a waste of my time and money. Ubisoft should be ashamed of themselves. If one of your friends waves this game in your face and asks you if you want to play, run in the opposite direction as fast as you can! BOO!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by Brunor (ADRIAN, MI) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

i read another users review of this game before it got here and it suggested using the nunchuck in my right hand, if your right handed.,could not have been better advice, this game was amazing. i tried playing it with the simulated flight controls, and it was almost like really flying, i loved this game

i will be buying this game, it is that good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse