Rent Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, Wii, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.6

4115 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent!!

posted by Patrick913 (LONGVIEW, TX) Oct 2, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First this game is overall fun and challenging, and sometimes disorienting. The graphics are great. There is alot of detail in the cities and it makes it feel like you are almost flying. The vibration when at full throttle is cool but i cant help thinking that its gonna kill my batteries faster in the wireless controller. But that might happen since i go full speed through every level. The missions seem repeditive but are still fun. It seems impossible to find the german camps in the desert storm to take their pictures. It would have been nice to have some kind of compass on the screen to keep track of where i had been. I have not got very far in this game to give a really thurough review, but from what i have seen and obliterated, i have had a big grin on my face the whole time. I cant play the game online cuz all i have is dialup on the computer, but im happy with what i have. Having beat all of the Ace Combat Games on PS2 im glad that there is not a cheezy storyline and alot of stupid chatter while you are trying to fly. However in the desert reconasince mission(mentioned earlier) the radio communications just got really annoying from all of their repeating. (the mute button on my tv helped) Overall this is a fun game for the money and i would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I had high hopes for this game

posted by seamonkey (MODESTO, CA) May 15, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

First off, I thought that the game itself looked pretty sweet. It is very clear and sharp. I loved the feel of shooting down your first german bomber, how the plane just brakes apart depending on where you hit it.

I didn't think that the planes themselves sounded very realistic. They all kind of sound the same. And they always stall way to easy. The controls were hard to get used to at first, the plane doesnt seem to go were you want it to go.

And it does get boring after a couple of missions, after awhile I wanted to be on the ground fighting the germans. So I basically kept playing it to see how it was going to end. Oh and the voices for the pilots was so annoying that I turned them off. I couldnt take it anymore. With the same sentences over and over again, and they all sound the same, you cant tell if it was a British pilot flying a Bf-109 or a german.

Its definitely a rental, not a keeper.

My thought is that its definitely a rental, not a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good overall ww2 flight game for xbox 360

posted by Jethro1964 (MANSFIELD, TX) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is entertaining, however, does seem to lack a real story and jump the player around from theater to theater. Getting achievements is like pulling teeth...ive played for hours and got a few points. I will say the cities are very detailed and its neat flying under the Eifel Tower. The game seems kinda rushed to get it out to the 360 but still a descent game. Crimson Skies is the benchmark for this kind of game imo....This game is a great renter and if you like ww2 planes the detail is great and worth purchasing. Online has been fun although ive found very few games to join but when i do its lots of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Boring

posted by stevenj (COVINA, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Single player is boring, multiplayer is fun for about 10min and then is just plain repeitive...okay graphics for a so called next gen game...Idea of this game great, but presentation is awful...Cant change the controls to simulation style either, only arcade style...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Functional, but not very fun

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Aug 30, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

18 out of 30 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is just plain dull. The only good thing about it is how horribly bad it is, like a Uwe Boll movie. I can't in good conscience give it less than a 4, only because it at least works in my 360 and plays kinda like a videogame. Let me go into some detail here:

The first thing I noticed was how bad the American redneck mechanic was stereotyped. As the game progressed, it only got worse. All of the pilots spoke English with their respective accents (British, French, German, Japanese, and Hillbilly) which doesn't make a great deal of sense, does it? The dialog itself was just plain awful. They said stuff like "How rong tir the generator is operationar" (in a horrible Japanese stereotypical accent), and anytime you shoot a German pilot you get some nonsense like "Der Fuhrer will not be pleased" or "Oh no! Shot by an American". To top it off, it seems like they only had maybe 3 or 4 guys doing ALL of the voices, or better described as their "impressions". Awful... just awful.

Now, horrible voice acting by itself does not break a game (even though I must give props to how awesomely bad this was). The missions were all fairly easy leading up to the "what the heck am I supposed to do here?" stage of Rabaul. I must've replayed that stage 30 times before I beat it, and looking at message boards seems to indicate that most other players did, too. The stages after it were all easy again.

Each mission gives you a 1 to 5 star rating, with a 5 being Ace, which also rewards you with a medal. Getting an Ace on every mission nets you an achievement, and getting all medals gets another. Why two separate achievements for doing the same thing? Who knows... all of the achievements in this game are half-baked like that, and all require you to beat the game. Add to that the bombing mission, where the controls for the turrets are the OPPOSITE of your flight controls, and you have a game that, overall, wasn't very well thought out. It just plain wasn't any good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Long ways from a 10

posted by Prompt (DEATSVILLE, AL) Jun 7, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I think most people are right about this game the history base parts is not even close in some areas. And there is some missions that are plan stupid. "flying in a sand storm" Graphics are standard xbox quality. It's not all bad the flying controls are not that hard to master and can be a lot of fun. Multi player is good also. Ok to rent, but don't make the mistake and go out and buy it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MP is where it is at

posted by XNCSaafend (GAYLORD, MI) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Feb 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Many people have been dogging on this game. I agree its longevity is not massive but it is a solid game that does just what it says on the box so to speak.

Single player is solid and is not as repetitive or monotonous as some people make out. Agreed once you complete the missions you might not want to replay over and over but there is enough variation to keep you coming back.

Multi Player is where it is at. Maybe it is mano et mano or a full blown death match. Maybe you like some co-op (my personal fav) but this game gets addictive when you and a few buddies take to the skies and try out the scenarios. Bombing runs, taking out the fighter escorts or stopping the kamikaze's. The fun is certainly pretty much non-stop.

The main problem is all the haters quit playing and now many nights it is impossible to get a good game going unless you have a couple of friends who play it. I love the game but wont see myself playing it for more than a couple of months. Well i drink too much caffeine and my attention span is not that good anyhow.

Graphics are fairly good, Playability is excellent. Sound is average and longevity is average.

Overall i would give it an 8 just for the Multi player

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

loved it

posted by tokobe (BERKELEY, MO) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm a much older gamer, and found this game very realistic and demanding....I couldn't stop playing. The landings lacked some realism...but didn't subtract from my over-all experience

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Blazing Angles ...

posted by mjames (LITTLETON, CO) May 20, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Blazing Angles is graphically pleasing, the environments are clean and the airplane models are very high poly and well done. But as we all know graphics don't make the game. This title suffers from fairly major framerate issues in parts and gets VERY repetitive. Also worth mention is the survival mode in the arcade for an achievement is quite mind numbing :) 32 planes x 3 waves ... crazy. Worth the rental to check it out but a big no on a buy.

Cheers,
Matt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun to a point

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Jun 17, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have seen a lot of games with numerous flaws get 10's by some reviewers that has been making me crazy. Any game that has flaws is by no means a perfect 10 period. That said Blazing Angels is far from perfect. Fun yes, but only to a point. The challenge curve varies so drastically from mission to mission that the feeling of fun goes to the urge to smash the disc. The graphics are still like many first gen launch titles for the 360 is below par. Not bad mind you, just not as good as it should be. Flying around shooting down Germans and Japanese aircraft has its moments of yahoo fun, but then you get these tedious missions with little or no guidance that kill the buzz. Some missions are perfectly challenging and others require the skills of a jedi. Unless you can shoot down 20 Japanese bombers in 3 seconds the mission is a failure, and there is no clear understanding of why? That makes this game partly suck. For an arcade style flying game it comes packed with decent affects, and semi realistic dog fighting moments. But really just rent this it is not worth $60 to own. What is good about this game? Well it does have appeal to the couch pilots and holds attention for some time. But eventually it becomes tiresome and irritating with little to zero replay value. It isn't awful, but also no where near what could have been. And again this holds true to most 360 titles on the shelves right now. Dear god please bring us another Oblivion like game that delivers on all counts but with fewer technical bugs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

blazing angles

posted by mrhammy (GREENSBORO, NC) May 20, 2006

Member since May 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

very fun, challenging game. good graphics, sound. controls...could have been better. learned allot about world war 2 aircraft.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Easy Achievments!

posted by o00shiz00o (HUDSONVILLE, MI) May 5, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Ok I really did not think I would ever get this game because im more into shooters but I had Crimson Skies so I said I would try it since every other game was on a "short wait"
I must admit this game was a lotta fun!! Man...the game isnt that long or anything so its easy to get the 1000 achievments because you can use cheats if you want. I really think you should rent this game because I wish I could of gotten to rent it earlier! I did not even think about renting it but again since every other game was on short wait I was forced...turns out im glad! I should of put it on top of my list! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Expected More from Ubisoft

posted by XeonPro (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I almost made it through the first round before I turned this game off and sent it back. The controls are not that difficult, but the multi-player aspect as well as single player is just too dull. It is the same thing over and over. The multi-player features are difficult as well. I expected more from this game, I really like what Ubisoft has put out on the 360 thus far, but I feel I was let down a little. Just my opinion either way, but I gave it a 1 rating because I wouldn't play it again and didn't even finish the first mission.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blazing Through This Game Is Worth It.

posted by gamerater (KATY, TX) May 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Story- Become a plot and fight your way through wars such as pearl harbor.

Graphics- Decent Graphic, Could Of Been Better,
But Nothing Of Xbox 360 Calibur! (Rating 7.0)

Gameplay- Great Gameplay Though Controlls Are Hard to Figure Out Untell You Get Use To them...(Rating 9.0)

Overall- Rating 8.0
"An Okay Shot At Pilot Gaming For the 30"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nothing new in next-gen flying

posted by KimboSlice (EDWARDSVILLE, IL) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Blazing angles is a fighter pilot game based on WWII battles. It is too bad that there is no real story in this game and the single-player is very uninspiring.
Graphics: The plane models look very good, although there is no cockpit view and you arent given any camera control. Rating: 8
Sound: Sound is average. Planes machine-guns sound weak and dont feel or sound real. Rating: 6
Gameplay and Story: There is nothing new found in the first next-gen flying game. Rating: 5
Overall, this game is NOT worth your money. It probably isnt worth a rental to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Annoyances abound

posted by Revan67 (RED OAK, TX) Jun 8, 2006

Member since Feb 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Worst voice acting ever...

If you rent this game turn off the voices you'll be doing yourself a favor trust me. This game can get frustrtaingly difficult in some places the annoyance of bad dialog and racial sterotypes doesnt help.

Most of the Achivements are downright sadistic, have alot of free time and patience before going after these. For one specific achievment you have to fly 32 different planes against 3 waves of 12 enemy fighters thats assuming you dont get shot down at all.

Another you 'just' have to get an ace pilot rating through the entire campaign. I managed it after repeating the campaign once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as I hoped but pleased

posted by Bocevus (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Being a big fan of Crimson Skies on the original XBOX I was very excited about this game. Everything I read about it made it seem like a better, prettier, Crimson Skies. Turns out it a good flying shooter but it's no Crimson Skies

Pros
Graphics are great
Controls are top notch
Easy learning curve
Sounds are very decent
Nice variety in levels
LIVE play is fun albeit scarce

Cons
Short game
Repetitive gameplay
Occasionally you will see a V-sync tearing when performing a turn
Annoying radio chatter (not really a con)

I bought this game and don't regret it. The achievements are pretty easy to get and that adds to the replay value. The cons are minor but have to be noted. Wanted to give this a rating of 8 but the cons lowered the score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Renter

posted by Akula710 (HUDSONVILLE, MI) Apr 12, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had heard some mixed things about this game, but all in all I'd say it's definitely worth playing. Especially if you like flying games, because this is about all you have on 360 right now. Just beat it last night and most likely I'll go through one more time to get all of the achievements(probably will never happen, though.) First time I've done that in a game. The story line was non-existent, but it wasn't really required to hook you in. The flight dynamics were pretty good. After the first real mission I was used to using the following camera and never had any problems with the controls after that.

Yes, it's true...the missions get kind of repetitive. They are decently fun the first time through the game, but I'm sort of dreading doing it again. Luckily the game is nice and short, so I might be able to do it this weekend.

As for the multiplayer: What I played was awesome. This is most fun I've had on my 360 yet. It's a blast to fly over Paris and London shooting other people out of the sky. Unfortunately, it took quite some time to get anyone in a room and I never did see a full room before we started. Just seems that no one is playing this game online. Quite a shame, because like I said, the multiplayer is awesome.

In summary, I recommend to anyone with a 360 to put this game in their que for a renter. The story mode is short and semi-repetitive, yet still fun and the multiplayer(if you can find anyone to play) is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst fighter plane game EVER!

posted by Intercaust (RAINIER, OR) Jul 11, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wow! It is unbelievable somebody actually got paid money to make a turkey like this. The control scheme is the most illogical, confusing, contrived peice of junk since..since...forever. Don't bother with this clunker. You will only pull your hair out and send it right back just like I am doing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A GREAT rental!

posted by mdhegs (CEDAR HILLS, UT) Jun 6, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You know, I really liked getting this game from Gamefly! It is the epitome of a perfect rental.
The game is actually pretty fun for a few days, but after about a week you have pretty much done all there is to do! The graphics are very nice and the gameplay is very good, no Crimson Skies, but still very servicable. The single player campaign is completely lacking in story and is pretty pieced together, but the graphics and gameplay make up for that for a while. I found the most joy came from playing split screen dog fighting and co-op'ing with friends. Being a HUGE WW2 fan I was hoping for more and in the first few days I really though I would buy this ... but than it got old. Rest assured that this is an excellent game to put into your Q and if it ever hit $30 it might make the collection. But at the $60 I will take a pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boooorrriing....

posted by Knish111 (AUBURN, GA) May 28, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I first looked at this game I thought it was going to be really good but after playing it for about an hour it got really bland and boring. Every level consists of shooting down enemies or rather red squares before they destroy the green squares. That's all I feel like im doing. On top of that the area your allowed to fly around in is really small and enemies are constantly flying out of the area so the game will have to auto turn you around. This is frustrating especially in timed missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Blazing Angels

posted by MarcMan (SAN MATEO, CA) May 16, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Decent game. You will get bored after 30 minutes. The levels are the same, they just get harder and harder.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a bad try at a World War II

posted by Penguinite (ATLNATA, GA) May 13, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok this really was a valant effort at a World War II Filght Simulator. However there us a really lacking in the campaign story mode. It really didnt feel like there was really any connection between missions and really no reason that I should be at Pearl habor the to London and so on and so forth. Some of the later missions can get a little rediculas and Berlin is just retarded espeically if you like to get achievements or gamer points. The Multiplayer aspects of the game are a real saving grace and while campaign mode is fun the multiplayer is better. Nothing like haveing a real person as your wingman rather than a computer algorthyme

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

its ok

posted by cardman257 (RIVERVIEW, FL) May 6, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is an ok game, not really any different than other flying games on the regular xbox

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

cheesy and..well....cheesy?

posted by xnickx (LEXINGTON, KY) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Being a big fan of world war II flight sims I have to say this game was a little disappointing. The game starts out in a very sluggish training mission where you learn how to shoot and bomb. you definitely would have figured it out. Anyway, after that youre launched into the battle. The game is easy for the most part, and then you have your "destroy the base and protect the bombers at the same time" and "take photographs of the camps in a desert storm" and then you have the classic escort the bombers.

The multiplayer for blazing angels is fun but really starts to get old...fast. you are trying to shoot down an opponent and all of the sudden bam your dead. becaause someone came and killed you and then stole your kill.

Blazing angels mainly lacks a storyline. Most of the missions are just random shoot em up missions. Blazing angels is not worth buying and hardly worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse