Rent Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII for Xbox
view large frontback

Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.3

510 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blazing Angels

posted by Rob911 (NEW GLOUCESTER, ME) May 4, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

21 out of 21 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Welcome pilots!, let me start off by saying this game is truly a great flying game, although it does lack in some areas we will get to that later. let me first break this game down into pros and cons.

pros: the lock on enemy feature is very innovative and is quite helpful in a dogfight. The graphics are AMAZING the aircraft are historically accurate and take damage realistically. The storyline is based on actual events in history. The flying itself feels nice except it does take a little while to get used to the controls. Online play is great fun, this game combines co-op and death match type games which proved to be one of the greatest things about this game. everyone loves dog fighting or going on a bombing run with a buddy over africa :).

cons: the controls in this game although good do take some time to get used to. The missions although varied still felt very repetitive. the voice acting in the game is extremely stereotypical, the germans and japs sound like whiney 13 year olds you hear online all to often.

overall: blazing angels is an excellent arcade flying game, i recommend you play it and enjoy it you wont be let down. :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Blazing angels

posted by smidge1000 (MINNETONKA, MN) Nov 11, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i thought this game was pretty tight, i also liked being in real battles of WWII although, there could have been more levels because of how long WWII was. there are like 9 different planes you can use like fighters, bombers, etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not a Flight Simulator

posted by Lawdog (MORNING SUN, IA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

My only disappointment, Arcade style controls vs Simulator Style. (turn left rather than roll left when pushing left on thumbstick for example).

That said, LOVED the game still. Amazing graphics and I love the lock on view for targets. Very realistic. Love the historical accuracy as well. I would love to see a modern era, Blazing Angle's.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Blazing Angles SWWII

posted by sdk208 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I waited so long for this game to come out, only to be disappointed. The single player campaign is repetitive and the voice acting and stereotyped dialog is ridiculous! I played the single player half way through and couldn't stand it any more. Multi player on xbox live is quite fun, yet again it gets repetitive. I didn't mind the controls, it's a console flying shooter after all. It would have ben nice to be able to map your own config though. The thing that did impress me were the graphics, great plane models, and sky lighting. They are the only thing that made me push this from a 5 to a 6. Give it a try and see what you think!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An "A" for Effort

posted by AnimeGamer (EUGENE, OR) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I thought Blazing Angels was ok. The game tries to go for historical accuracy with the right mission setups and real life planes to fly. Unfortunately this title stumbles due to its control setup (left & right "steer" the plane, while rolling requires the right control stick), the voice acting could have been less hokey and repetitive, compared to Ace Combat 5`s constant radio stream rather than the sound clips used in Blazing Angels. Although this game does impress with far draw-in distances, and huge detailed cities to fly above, it falls just short of tying everything together the way NAMCO does. Instead try the Ace Combat series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

blazing angels: squadrons of wwII

posted by optimo510 (FORT PIERCE, FL) Apr 13, 2006

Member since May 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

In this game you cannot change the camera view, which makes it difficult to fly in some missions. Detail to planes are veiw good though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Misses the mark

posted by otterG (COLBERT, WA) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Flying games tend to either be flight simulators (slow-paced) or arcade games (fast-paced but totally unrealistic.) This game tries to split the difference, and ends up just being bad.
1) You can choose between arcade controls or flight simulator. In either case, the rudder is tied to the throttle. If you choose arcade, you have to use 3rd person. The sight angles in either mode are horrible, and in the end the enemy is not the Germans but rather the xbox controller.
2) Every mission is timed (or has a base or NPC who is slowly getting shot up = timer.) Often, you have to play the mission twice just to orient yourself, because a wrong turn will end up timing you out.
3) It takes a long time to see the cool planes, and then you get missions like land the cool plane, get out and take off in the clunker for the rest of the mission.
4) The lock-on and targeting buttons are just plain broken. You can spend an entire mission locked onto a target miles away while you are getting shot to death in a dogfight. The A and B buttons only change the target sometimes.
5) The NPC generals treat you like dirt, even though you are accomplishing more in any mission than any pilot ever did.
6) The ranges are messed up. Most of the time you are shooting at a red triangle above a green health indicator bar (long range). You will only see the shape of a plane if you are on its 6 chasing it down, and if you had to get that close, your timer will probably run out.

I would strongly suggest that the manufacturer play-test a game before placing it on the market.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII

posted by dominici (NEW HAVEN, CT) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

I thought the game was great. However, the player's plane was not as quick or maneuverable as the enemy aircraft.

Also, in some spots there should be more check points. The fjords were really tough.

If you are into flying games then I would certainly recommend this one.

Overall, it was a great experience!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blazing Angels Indeed

posted by Ryking (CLINTON, MO) Nov 13, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

This title was very fun. After having played Crimson Skies, I thought I'd give another action/adventure flying game a try. It has its strengths and its weaknesses.

Strengths: Good AI. Unlike Crimson Skies you have 3 other pilots/planes along with you to help you out. They can either attack their own targets or attack the enemies that are attacking you. They actually do really help you out alot.
Good targeting. With Blazing Angels, what you have in your targeting reticle, is what you hit. I felt in Crimson Skies you always had to shoot slightly in front of the plane to hit it when shooting at an angle.
"Enemy Camera": Hit the left trigger and it shows you your next target, but as the camera turns to show you, make sure you keep steering the plane. Very useful when you're not sure where your next enemy is coming from. And extremely useful in dogfights

Weaknesses:
Short. The game is pretty short I felt. A skilled gamer could knock this game out in two or three days tops.
Planes. The only problem I had with the actual planes was that it seemed they needed wide berths to turn around in to make another pass at a target. But then again these were WWII planes, so that may just be me.
"Enemy camera": This wasn't really a weakness for me, but others may have trouble getting used to using this feature. It's alittle disorienting at first but once you get used to it, it's invaluable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Might Have Been A Great Game

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Nov 1, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

It might have been a great game but the Progrmaers Messed it up. The Controls really stink the camera is a Joke why not let me fly the planes from the veiw of the Pilot? Because the Programers Are Idiots This is One game that Needs to be taken back and destroyed because It needed to be Play tested Before they put it out for Play and Obvisouly this game wasent I give it a 1 the Idea is Great But the Programers Messed the game up with Poor Programing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Game

posted by slevel (FORT SMITH, AR) Oct 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

This was by far the best flying game that I have played in years. The controls are a little confusing at first, but once I got the hang of it, I was well on my way to destroying everything in sight. I wish more games were this fun to re-play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT

posted by Gaz351 (TAYLORS, SC) Sep 7, 2007

Member since May 2007

This is really awesome!!!! the graphics are awesome, but the Japanese and Germans sound bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the ace of games

posted by gamerelite (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jul 21, 2007

Member since May 2007

Blazing Angles:squadrons
of:ww2 is simply great. Every thing in this game is great, weaponry, planes, combat, I recommend this game for everyone out there. And for those e&e10+ gamers this is perfect for you. All it has is violence and language, no blood or anything bad in it. Therese no bad game play just fighting flying aces and bombing ships this is one of the best games I've played before and you should rent it and play it trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't You Love Flying

posted by TheBauc1 (MOBILE, AL) Jul 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

Blazing Angels is a lot of things, I'll start with the good. It tells an interesting true to life story of a squad of flyboys in WWII. There are a decent amount of missions and the graphics are great. The game is historically correct, and the squad based gameplay is fun. There are some fun unlockables and a ton of planes. The only problems were that a few levels weren't all that fun, like flying in a sandstorm and flying through a narrow glacier. The controls could have been better too. Overall it's a good game. I give it an 8, out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HOW GREAT CAN IT BE!

posted by serb70 (BLAINE, WA) Jul 6, 2007

Member since Mar 2004

It is a very good game!It Makes you feel like you are flying missions during world war two!I think this game is good for aviation lovers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun but boring fast

posted by NoMercy346 (COLDWATER, MI) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

this game is great and i don't know what those other guys are talkin about but i liked the controls and were easy to use as soon as i played. the only controls i had problems with were bombing things but caught on quick and sometimes could be diffelcult when you looked at your target and the camera wasn't looking ahed and you had to fly. but it is very relistic much better then say Crimson skys or any other flying game fore that matter onestly the best flying game ever but not worth a 10 close to a 9. but like i said i only had it a week and got bored with it oh there is a cheat to unlock every thing you hold L and R then press(X,White,Black,Y,Y, black,White,X)so good luck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WWII Flying

posted by sandollor (APO, AE) Jun 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

GAMEPLAY: 8
GRAPHICS: 8

A fun game with a little history. If you are going to play games might as well learn a little something. The gameplay here is really fun and immersive. The story keeps you involved and interested and the graphics push the envelope for the Xbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

b.lazing angles

posted by majpain (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 14, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

great game full of action

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The new Ace in air combat games.

posted by BeckerBoy (MANHATTAN, KS) Oct 22, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

Blazing Angels is by far the best air combat game I have ever played. Compared to games such as Wings of War, Secret Weapons over Normandy, and Crimson Skies, Blazing Angels gives you a more real feel and an over all better appeal.

Graphics: The environments, down to details of the the cities you fly over and the terrain you drop Nazis upon, make the game a joy to play, rather than the less detailed, almost cartoony aspects of other piloting games on X-Box. Realism and accruacy of the aircrafts is also apprecieated, especially by anyone who know a thing or two about the planes, or in the case of the missions, the war itself.

Game Aspects: There is a enemy locking system that allows you to fly while you continue to watch your target. While it does help you keep track of the opposing pilots, flying without hitting obstacles (ex. the Eiffel Tower, mountains, and well, the ground) can be difficult at first.

The missions themselves are both interesting and diverse. No two missions have you doing the exact same thing. This keeps the game exciting and challenges not only your combat skill but your piloting ability.

Playability: This game isn't overy difficult. It offers up a challenge in most missions. A few seem easier than others. One thing I found frustrating was certain missions where checkpooints didn't come as often as you hoped. Having to comtinually repeart portions of the game became boresome, but only occured in one or two missions.

Cons: Taunting from both German and Japanese pilots is both repetitive, stereotypical and annoying. The first 5 missions you won't notice this so much. By the time you reach the final missions you will be muting the television and turning on the radio. Besides that, nothing really hit me hard as a negative strike towards this game.

Overall: The game is fun, very much worth renting. Those who like games accurate to real events will enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but not Great

posted by SnwBrdr (EAGLE, ID) Oct 7, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

A good game but not all it's cracked up to be. I like most flyer games and I play as many as I can. But this one didn't appeal to me as much as I thought it would. When I got this game I jumped right online and started playing this against the real world. I was impressed by the online mode but not the most impressed. The aiming feature where you could hold the L button and keep them in target is confusing until you get it down.

As far as the campaign mode goes it was good but not the best. As I'm reviewing this game I see myself saying that alot about this game, it was good but it didn't really impress me. I think I was expecting more from it.

Overall a good game but not one that I would recommend buying, maybe renting once and playing for a while but you'll most likely get bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

HOW BAD CAN IT BE?

posted by brokenjeep (GRAND CANYON, AZ) Oct 2, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

Yup this game bites like a fat chick on a fork. This game is horrible. Good news, the graphics are really good. If only they'd put as much effort into the controls. Feels like you have no control what so ever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very nice game

posted by Pelican (PITTSBURGH, PA) May 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2003

I LOVED this game. The graphics are stunning (although they sometimes cause the Xbox to pause and think for a bit), the missions are varied and interesting, the planes are easy to control, which leaves you time to focus on combat. And there's a lot of combat. Some missions are rather slow and easy, but others have you shooting from the moment you take off!

Also, the AI is pretty good. Enemy bombers will try to shake you, while I've gotten into several close fights with other fighters. Your AI wingmen are also easy to command, so you can change your formation's orders from all-out attack to defense in about a second. The lock-on camera is a nice addition that works, although you have to be careful to switch targets once you shoot the one you're locked on to or you'll just keep looking at it.

The missions take you through some of the more widely-known battles in both the European and Pacific theaters, and some of the later missions can be challenging without being frustrating as well. The standalone modes also fare pretty well, in case you need a break from the missions and are just looking to shoot stuff with no real objective other than being the last plane in the air. Overall, a game that's well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Another Let Down

posted by Viperchief (GLENDALE, AZ) May 7, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

This is the second WWII fighter I eagerly looked forward to and the second that left me completely disappointed. The gameplay didn't hold my attention at all and the constant, grating dialogue drained what little fun I had with it away after just a few minutes. The ridiculous stereotypes are bearable for a split second before they become a constant test of my will power to continue playing the so-so gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Blazing Angels: squadrons of world war two

posted by captbossk (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 5, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

This game is cool! There is something about that awsome feeling you get when you first get into the air that makes you feel...good. The controls are easy to get the hang of and the combat is really fun. The Music kept me going too.

the game lets you fight through many battles of the war from the battle of britain to berlin 1945. The planes are historical and fun to fly. The graphics are really good to.

The game has many good points but i noticed some flaws. The size of the battlefields can be small, i got sick of constantly flying out of bounds and having to be guided back on auto pilot.Also the game gets kinda boring if you get stuck on a level, there are very few extra features to keep you going.

The split sceen is kinda cool there are lots of planes and about 6 game modes to choose from. That can cool you down if you are stuck on a campaign level.

i reccommend renting this game to anyone but especially peaple who liked the ace combat series or ww2 games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its a flying game

posted by curdhead (TUJUNGA, CA) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

Its fun for a flying game but after playing it for a long time it gets sort of repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »