Rent Blazing Angels 2: Secret Missions of WWII for PS3
view large frontback

Blazing Angels 2: Secret Missions of WWII

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.7

1657 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad

posted by Arioch (BUNNELL, FL) Dec 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Not fun bad everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Nice!

posted by Lordoftheshadow (MOUNT SHASTA, CA) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

This game is pretty awesome but theres not much of a story just some psyco scientist out to make some super weapon. i like this one beeter then the first one because there is WAY more jets plus you can give your plane a coustom paint job i didint play online because no one was on but coop is AMAZING just dont play it with a friend who likes to kamakazi in to things its possable to have a air to air collision if your flying the horten ho 229 good game Ubisoft,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Only a Slight Improvement to the Original

posted by Riotcraft (FRIENDSWOOD, TX) Mar 3, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This game really doesn't bring much new to the table in the series. The controls are a bit tighter, but still extremely awkward having all possible flight controls mapped to the thumbsticks, including the right thumbstick sharing both acceleration and deceleration as well as rudder controls, (moving left and right) which is beyond frustrating. Most flight games use either L1 & R1 or L2 & R2 for rudder controls. This will bother you for the entire game, often decelerating because you decided to shift right when you want to continue accelerating.

For a game that's all about secret and prototype planes of WW2 with a jet engine aircraft on the cover, they sure don't give you enough opportunities to use these planes. In fact, most of the ones they do give you are in fact propeller based plans that function no different from the standard propeller planes you use for half of the campaign anyways. There are most certainly not enough missions that give you jet engine aircraft to use and some of the missions which do give the option are not suitable to be using a jet engine fighter like say on a bombing focused mission. It's very disappointing in that regard.

The story is pretty abysmal, with fictional missions and comic book style cutscene panels with people who are clearly developers dressed up for still images and with ear-grating voice actors to go along with them.

The missions are pretty standard and don't differ much from the original. In that respect, the missions are still the best part of the game and the missions are much improved over the original, too. You won't have any annoying "fly through a sandstorm using the radio to locate a base" missions or "fly through a narrow canyon sideways while engaging enemy fighters and dodging obstacles at the same time" missions. Though there is a canyon mission, it's much more wide open and bearable than the original.

All told, it's a below average arcade flight game, but there's still enjoyment to be had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Controls nearly ruin it, still a good game.

posted by C4pta1n1 (LIBERTYVILLE, IL) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

This is an overall fun game that I would recommend if you enjoy the dog fighting genre. That said, the controls truly feel as if they were designated by someone who never actually played using the controls.

The main problem is that the R3 stick is your speed control (up = faster, down = brake, not like a throttle) as well as your rudder control.

Unfortunately there are intense sequences where you may want to use the rudder and brake which is very difficult as you have to find the perfect diagonal position to brake and rudder-turn simultaneously. You get used to it over time, but it's rather infuriating.

What's more infuriating is they waste the perfect rudder buttons (R1 and L1) on extra lock on and weapon buttons! (R2 and L2 are primary weapon and lock-on target, respectively, R1 and L1 are secondary weapon and lock on objective, respectively.)

Other than that it's a fun game with plane customization, intense dog-fighting, and a plethora of almost painfully corny dialog. All in all, worth a rent, I'd probably buy it if I saw it for less than $10 in a used games bin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very nice!

posted by AlphaDog1977 (CULLMAN, AL) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Didn't have many pf the WWII planes I was hoping for but what it does have was very fun to fly. Great attempt at a WWII flying sim. Needs to be built on though. If they'll work on it and improve it with new and different planes this would be an excellent sim.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

ghastly

posted by dwebb (OAKLAND, CA) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

this game is a complete and utter failure by Ubisoft. the planes fly like hovering go-carts. the physics are non existent, and the story in dull.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Blazing Angel

posted by catfan (LEDBETTER, KY) Jul 30, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Did not care for this game. Found it monotonous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The game is well worth renting...

posted by racemy442 (DUBLIN, GA) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

...but I wouldn't want to own it. The rockets in the game more times than not are the better choice than self-guided missles. The reason I say I wouldn't own the game is because it's pretty evident in the multi-player role this game is being hacked by hackers. If I was a betting man, I would say that Steam is "suppose" to be the "punk buster" to stop the hacking. I have encounted games before where Steam is suppose to stop the hacking and does nothing at all except makes excuses to justify themselves in doing nothing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blazing Angels 2: Secret Missions of WWII

posted by Hagar25 (DERIDDER, LA) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Good game, enjoyed playing it. Nice game-play, graphics, missions, and story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Were R the jet based fighting sims 4 the PS3?

posted by bric6102 (PECKVILLE, PA) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Unless you like flying sims.Don't waste your time with this one. Yet a nother ww2 game with no cockpit views,no use of airalans and as allways, a awful targting system like the other flying games for the PS3. Why are there no jet based sims?No Ace Combat,or anything like it.Why only WW2 sims?If you have a good v.card a good amount of memory for your PC get Combat Flight Sim 3. Best WW2 flight sim ever,just make sure u have a good j.stick like the Side Winder Precision 2. Or something like it.The game has a nice amount of planes from the U.S,U.K and Germen .With some jets, good online play,You can be a fighter or bomber(or gunner,doesn't matter you can change at will) and there's websites were you can download tons of different planes,missions, and a great site were you can build you own plane.You can comand a battleship and drve it or shoot any of the guns.You can download a tigertank or jeep with .50 cal m.gun(care full,go to fast and you will take off) and do some ground work.Just make sure you have a good PC cuz the game is huge,and target rich.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!

posted by MartyrMake (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2005

you know those gamefly tv commercials, where everyone is raging uncontrollably cuz they bought a game they hate: this is that game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FUn game

posted by timeshare (KISSIMMEE, FL) Nov 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

This game is a blast but gets super hard the farther you go. And I know thats the point... but your talking about restarting checkpoints like 24-7 to get anywhere. But worth the rental none the less.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Addicting and fun, but not the best.

posted by pepsidp (WALTHAM, MA) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

This game reminded me alot about the old star wars shooter games. It was repetative at times, but overall fun and addicting, especially after a stressful day of work. An hour of game play turned into three hours very easily. Flying was a little tricky since the rolling and acceleration controls were the same. The turret controls for some of the missions were extremely difficult to use while shooting. The cutscenes were a little too comic book-like, but who really watches them in detail when you're anxious to get to the next mission?

With the exception of those things, it's an enjoyable game. Unlike most flight simulators, you didn't have to worry about the small stuff (stalling, flaps, etc) which made the game overall easier and the gameplay graphics were smooth. Definately something to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Poor Controls!

posted by BifMcGee (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a 2 because the controls were so bad and ruined the gameplay. I spent half the time with my plane upsidedown trying to line up enemy planes. It just doesn't roll like a simulator should. And the rudder is difficult to contol, being on the same stick as the throttle. It is very hard to slow down behind a target and use the rudder at the same time, because if you use rudder, your plane will speed way up.

It's a shame, because if the controls were on par with other flight sims out there, I think this could have been a really good game. As it is, I sent the game back the very next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not my style

posted by pucker (ESCONDIDO, CA) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I gave this game a try. Perhaps I'm just really spoiled with Flight Simulator, but the game just didn't catch on for me.

I felt that the storyline interludes were a bit chessy. The really positive thing I found was once you get the all the planes, there are sooo many of them. Made the game a bit more interesting and enjoyable.

I wouldn't buy it...thats why you gotta love gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Other Game Developers Should Learn From This Game.

posted by rico08 (PLEASANT HILL, IA) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I believe I have said it all in the intro. Blazing Angels, a game that no one made a big fuzz about when it came out, and slowly and surely became to be a classic. This game has great graphics, great game plot and great pace. Must I need to say anything else? I gave this game a six because the developers went beyond the call of duty and completed a great game to fill it's purpose which entertain. I will continue to rent this series of games and would recommend that you rent the game also. Thanks for reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good WII flight game

posted by tank879 (MACUNGIE, PA) May 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

I though the game was great the graphics were alright they weren't truly what I expected but the game play reminded me of ACE Combat 4 at the end if anyone remembers the end of that game. I like it though I recommend renting this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST FLYING GAME EVER

posted by NEMO77 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2004

This is the best flying game for a console that I've ever seen. Usually if u want to play a good flying game you must stick to the pc. This game proves that wrong. If your looking for a good flying game for your PS3 this is it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

decent

posted by laser1901 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Nov 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I'm a fan of flight games, realistic or not. and this game let me down because the controls simply did not feel intuitive. The things that kept me from having fun is the fact that the controls were unwieldily. games like ace combat are second nature. besides that the graphics were nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game was terrible!~~

posted by cdicapo (SAINT MICHAEL, MN) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

terrible!~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good

posted by jboughto70 (VACAVILLE, CA) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This is one of the few flight simulators for the PS3 but it has its flaws. I've played better flight sims on the pc over 10 years ago! It's fun to fly but it gets irritating as the planes tend to roll for no reason and many times it is very delicate situations that you can't recover from. When you come out of a loop the planes automatically try to roll to become level, but if you are trying to roll to the right to come out of it but the computer tries to roll you to the left, then there is an unacceptable delay to your actions and BLAM - you've run into the canyon wall or the ground! It is also frustrating that you have to complete a whole chapter (usually many missions) before the game will save. Along the way you reach checkpoints that you can restart from, but only as long as you don't quit the game! There is no save option! Several times I had to play 2 hours to get back to the checkpoint I had already been to! Overall its a fun game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Multiplayer Only

posted by gr2007 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

If not for the optional multiplayer mode, this game would be completely worthless. The training mission is absolutely pointless, and much like the first blazing angels, the accomplishments are much too hard. It is just plain bad in many aspects. The graphics (although decent) are subpar for next gen, the controls are awkward (you have to go in and change them before playing), and there is a ridiculously limited amount of planes to choose from. The only reason why this game received a 5 is because multiplayer is so fun. When I first heard this game was coming out I was really excited to play it. Unfortunately, Ubisoft made limited, if any, improvements AND THERE IS STILL NO LEVEL SETTING OPTION! What is the purpose of making a game that is designed to be this difficult? Nice try Ubisoft, but as usual you have again dropped the ball.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by jafo15 (ALTOONA, PA) Sep 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I really liked the game I like the last level because the game made me think I hope that the come out with more Blazing Angels series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NICCCCCCCCCE!

posted by Sactown916 (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I liked this game. I enjoyed the graphics and the realism of the different cities and towns. The only thing I would like to have seen is some video cinema during certain dialog between the characters. Overall, very enjoyable game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Blazing Angel 2

posted by 19751975 (PORTLAND, OR) Aug 29, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So, the game is alright from the standpoint that it is a run of the mill 3d sim. Sure it is beautiful, especially on a 40 inch hd tv. However, it has serious control problems. For example, because the roll signals are on the right analog stick as well as the speed selection it is extremely likly that speeding up will cause your plane to roll and become very confusing to orient correctly, which caused me to wreck alot. Also the cut scenes are lame in a quasi film noir in color style and make very little sense even if you care to watch them. Overall I say it is worth playing through once and then giving it back to whereever you got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse