Rent Blazing Angels 2: Secret Missions of WWII for PS3
view large frontback

Blazing Angels 2: Secret Missions of WWII

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.7

1659 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Blazing Angel

posted by catfan (LEDBETTER, KY) Jul 30, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Did not care for this game. Found it monotonous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!

posted by MartyrMake (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2005

you know those gamefly tv commercials, where everyone is raging uncontrollably cuz they bought a game they hate: this is that game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game was terrible!~~

posted by cdicapo (SAINT MICHAEL, MN) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

terrible!~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a simulator

posted by paisano (SPRING, TX) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

If you are interested in a real flying experience this is not the game, the planes do not react or are handled at all like the real thing, it's more like driving a car in the air or something like that, very bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

ghastly

posted by dwebb (OAKLAND, CA) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

this game is a complete and utter failure by Ubisoft. the planes fly like hovering go-carts. the physics are non existent, and the story in dull.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Poor Controls!

posted by BifMcGee (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a 2 because the controls were so bad and ruined the gameplay. I spent half the time with my plane upsidedown trying to line up enemy planes. It just doesn't roll like a simulator should. And the rudder is difficult to contol, being on the same stick as the throttle. It is very hard to slow down behind a target and use the rudder at the same time, because if you use rudder, your plane will speed way up.

It's a shame, because if the controls were on par with other flight sims out there, I think this could have been a really good game. As it is, I sent the game back the very next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Overall poor

posted by algaidaman (NEWARK, DE) Apr 2, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I was expecting to see some really great graphics with this game on the PS3 after having played (and enjoyed) the first one on the 360.

I'm a big fan of game play, so if the graphics aren't all that good, I'll be happy if the game were fun.

Well, I'm sorry to report that this game is neither fun, nor graphically pleasing . . . sorry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Were R the jet based fighting sims 4 the PS3?

posted by bric6102 (PECKVILLE, PA) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Unless you like flying sims.Don't waste your time with this one. Yet a nother ww2 game with no cockpit views,no use of airalans and as allways, a awful targting system like the other flying games for the PS3. Why are there no jet based sims?No Ace Combat,or anything like it.Why only WW2 sims?If you have a good v.card a good amount of memory for your PC get Combat Flight Sim 3. Best WW2 flight sim ever,just make sure u have a good j.stick like the Side Winder Precision 2. Or something like it.The game has a nice amount of planes from the U.S,U.K and Germen .With some jets, good online play,You can be a fighter or bomber(or gunner,doesn't matter you can change at will) and there's websites were you can download tons of different planes,missions, and a great site were you can build you own plane.You can comand a battleship and drve it or shoot any of the guns.You can download a tigertank or jeep with .50 cal m.gun(care full,go to fast and you will take off) and do some ground work.Just make sure you have a good PC cuz the game is huge,and target rich.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Blazing Angel 2

posted by 19751975 (PORTLAND, OR) Aug 29, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So, the game is alright from the standpoint that it is a run of the mill 3d sim. Sure it is beautiful, especially on a 40 inch hd tv. However, it has serious control problems. For example, because the roll signals are on the right analog stick as well as the speed selection it is extremely likly that speeding up will cause your plane to roll and become very confusing to orient correctly, which caused me to wreck alot. Also the cut scenes are lame in a quasi film noir in color style and make very little sense even if you care to watch them. Overall I say it is worth playing through once and then giving it back to whereever you got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

How bout a real flyer

posted by Foxxbatt (EASTSOUND, WA) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This game reminds me of early PS2 games. I was excited to see a WWII flying game for PS3, but am very disapointed in all aspects of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad

posted by Arioch (BUNNELL, FL) Dec 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Not fun bad everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor

posted by Stevenblog (NEWARK, DE) Feb 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I played this and shut it down. Seemed like I was playing the same scene over and over. For a PS3 game the graphics were poor. Once you pop it in you say to yourself, sure this isn't PS2? Just not up to par with the other games on PS3. Kind of like going from broadband speed back to dial up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BA2 Takes Boredom To New Heights

posted by REVJR1 (ROANOKE, VA) Jan 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately, BA2 has a lot in common with its predecessor. The shallow, washed-out graphics, hollow-sounding weapons, and interminably idiotic chatter all return in the sequel (my favorite features: the "rubber boat in the bathtub" appearance of enemy vessels and the treetops your plane can fly "through"). So why did I play it? I have no idea. Maybe out of sentimental value since BA1 was the first game I rented on PS3. Maybe because I thought Ubisoft would have corrected the many shortcomings from the original instead of reproducing them down to the last detail. Maybe because I'm off my meds, you tell me.

The sad truth is that BA2 is just plain dull. Certainly, the game offers a broad assortment of mission locales (as did BA1), and can't be faulted for length. I don't have any complaints with the control schematics, either. But there's simply no punch to the game, no adrenaline rush, no scenes that make you jump in your seat. You move on to the next mission out of mild curiosity but not from eager anticipation. The screen is always cluttered with icons, hints, instructions, etc (yes, you can adjust these to an extent). Your squadmates, in addition to their inane babbling which sounds like it's being read right off the page, do little good for you, either.

It feels like a rushed title. What those of us need who are still waiting for the perfect WWII fighter game is for an Ace Combat-esque producer to lend some style, flair, and truly PS3-worthy graphics to the effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Only a Slight Improvement to the Original

posted by Riotcraft (FRIENDSWOOD, TX) Mar 3, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This game really doesn't bring much new to the table in the series. The controls are a bit tighter, but still extremely awkward having all possible flight controls mapped to the thumbsticks, including the right thumbstick sharing both acceleration and deceleration as well as rudder controls, (moving left and right) which is beyond frustrating. Most flight games use either L1 & R1 or L2 & R2 for rudder controls. This will bother you for the entire game, often decelerating because you decided to shift right when you want to continue accelerating.

For a game that's all about secret and prototype planes of WW2 with a jet engine aircraft on the cover, they sure don't give you enough opportunities to use these planes. In fact, most of the ones they do give you are in fact propeller based plans that function no different from the standard propeller planes you use for half of the campaign anyways. There are most certainly not enough missions that give you jet engine aircraft to use and some of the missions which do give the option are not suitable to be using a jet engine fighter like say on a bombing focused mission. It's very disappointing in that regard.

The story is pretty abysmal, with fictional missions and comic book style cutscene panels with people who are clearly developers dressed up for still images and with ear-grating voice actors to go along with them.

The missions are pretty standard and don't differ much from the original. In that respect, the missions are still the best part of the game and the missions are much improved over the original, too. You won't have any annoying "fly through a sandstorm using the radio to locate a base" missions or "fly through a narrow canyon sideways while engaging enemy fighters and dodging obstacles at the same time" missions. Though there is a canyon mission, it's much more wide open and bearable than the original.

All told, it's a below average arcade flight game, but there's still enjoyment to be had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not my style

posted by pucker (ESCONDIDO, CA) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I gave this game a try. Perhaps I'm just really spoiled with Flight Simulator, but the game just didn't catch on for me.

I felt that the storyline interludes were a bit chessy. The really positive thing I found was once you get the all the planes, there are sooo many of them. Made the game a bit more interesting and enjoyable.

I wouldn't buy it...thats why you gotta love gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

decent

posted by laser1901 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Nov 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I'm a fan of flight games, realistic or not. and this game let me down because the controls simply did not feel intuitive. The things that kept me from having fun is the fact that the controls were unwieldily. games like ace combat are second nature. besides that the graphics were nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Multiplayer Only

posted by gr2007 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

If not for the optional multiplayer mode, this game would be completely worthless. The training mission is absolutely pointless, and much like the first blazing angels, the accomplishments are much too hard. It is just plain bad in many aspects. The graphics (although decent) are subpar for next gen, the controls are awkward (you have to go in and change them before playing), and there is a ridiculously limited amount of planes to choose from. The only reason why this game received a 5 is because multiplayer is so fun. When I first heard this game was coming out I was really excited to play it. Unfortunately, Ubisoft made limited, if any, improvements AND THERE IS STILL NO LEVEL SETTING OPTION! What is the purpose of making a game that is designed to be this difficult? Nice try Ubisoft, but as usual you have again dropped the ball.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

same as part one

posted by McSquire56 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 29, 2007

Member since May 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

fun game but i played the first one on PS3 and there is really no improvement from that first blazing angels. took me a day to get through it and i sent it back. if you like flying games give this one a try but dont buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Other Game Developers Should Learn From This Game.

posted by rico08 (PLEASANT HILL, IA) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I believe I have said it all in the intro. Blazing Angels, a game that no one made a big fuzz about when it came out, and slowly and surely became to be a classic. This game has great graphics, great game plot and great pace. Must I need to say anything else? I gave this game a six because the developers went beyond the call of duty and completed a great game to fill it's purpose which entertain. I will continue to rent this series of games and would recommend that you rent the game also. Thanks for reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better Than the First

posted by sturgill90 (PENNINGTON GAP, VA) May 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is better than the first Blazing Angels. You now have jets rather than the older planes in the first one. It is a very long game though. But all in all, I'd reccommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, but I didn't like it.

posted by Deafguy (MIAMI, FL) May 6, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Well, game looks like fun, but it kinda sucks, at least to me. On the bright side, I see at least one Ubisoft title that has subtitles/closed captions, the graphics are awesome, the way the planes move are extremely realistic , I give high praise for all that. Now for the downside...

First off, the controls are hard to master, I tried several configurations and just couldn't quite master them. I never got past the first part where you have to do 10 stunts - I got as far as 7 done, but it's just too difficult to get it right, and if you crash you go back to the very beginning of the stunt set and have to do it over again.. after 15 attempts I got frustrated and gave up. If they would have a checkpoint after each accomplishment maybe that would be better, so I could try again on the last stunt from the last point.. but otherwise when the tutorial stage is just downright frustrating and I just cannot master it, it is time to ship the game back.

They don't have a difficulty level setting so, it's all the same difficulty, which also sucks.

So, overall I give it a 6 - I give it a perfect 10 for graphics and visual, and the fact it has subtitles, but I end up giving it a 6 because the game play sucks, at least for me..

I could not see exactly where my flight path was going (maybe I should have tried it in first person view, I dunno, I was in third person camera) and the plane did not respond well enough to my reaction times, so I ended up crashing a lot, and then have to start all over to do the same 10 stunts all over again, which was just entirely too frustrating.

Oh well. I think the game would be awesome if you can master the controls, but otherwise, if you have a hard time with precision on controls (I.E. if you only play FPS games on the easy or beginner level) , You probably wont get the hang of this one either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mind Candy for those that like Flyers

posted by Darwin67 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Apr 29, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

Don't expect WWII accuracy. Don't expect realistic flying conditions. Don't expect superb PS3 graphics. Don't expect excellent sound.

What can you expect? A flying game that provides unique planes, missions, and flying conditions. They've scaled back from the first game in that the plot is lame, the chatter even MORE annoying (I didn't think that possible!), and the graphics are not as good. With all that said, it's not as bad as it may sound. It's a good filler game to play as you wait on something truly exceptional. I enjoy pushing the planes to their limit, and the added bonus buy on's are pretty cool as well.

Not worth buying, but certainly worth a peek.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Almost

posted by Juhasz (BOISE, ID) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Graphics were not as good as they should be. Unrealistic battles. This game is more for a 12 year old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Controls nearly ruin it, still a good game.

posted by C4pta1n1 (LIBERTYVILLE, IL) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

This is an overall fun game that I would recommend if you enjoy the dog fighting genre. That said, the controls truly feel as if they were designated by someone who never actually played using the controls.

The main problem is that the R3 stick is your speed control (up = faster, down = brake, not like a throttle) as well as your rudder control.

Unfortunately there are intense sequences where you may want to use the rudder and brake which is very difficult as you have to find the perfect diagonal position to brake and rudder-turn simultaneously. You get used to it over time, but it's rather infuriating.

What's more infuriating is they waste the perfect rudder buttons (R1 and L1) on extra lock on and weapon buttons! (R2 and L2 are primary weapon and lock-on target, respectively, R1 and L1 are secondary weapon and lock on objective, respectively.)

Other than that it's a fun game with plane customization, intense dog-fighting, and a plethora of almost painfully corny dialog. All in all, worth a rent, I'd probably buy it if I saw it for less than $10 in a used games bin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The game is well worth renting...

posted by racemy442 (DUBLIN, GA) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

...but I wouldn't want to own it. The rockets in the game more times than not are the better choice than self-guided missles. The reason I say I wouldn't own the game is because it's pretty evident in the multi-player role this game is being hacked by hackers. If I was a betting man, I would say that Steam is "suppose" to be the "punk buster" to stop the hacking. I have encounted games before where Steam is suppose to stop the hacking and does nothing at all except makes excuses to justify themselves in doing nothing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse