Rent Blazing Angels 2: Secret Missions of WWII for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Blazing Angels 2: Secret Missions of WWII

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.0

2544 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

You Gotta Love Flying!

posted by xFullMETAL (ROCKFORD, IL) Apr 16, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

20 out of 20 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all, let me start off by saying I love anything that flys, and especially anything in the World War II Era, so this review will be slightly biased. However, I will point out it's flaws and let you know unless you are me, you may just mail this game right back.

Comparing this game to part 1, I would have to say they have done much better! The dialogue has been improved, so no more red neck blairing in your ear. The acting is slightly better so you may actually get into it.

The gameplay is constantly shifted from dogfighting to ground attacks to chasing down V-2 rockets and blowing them out of the sky! Either I got used to part 1 or they improved on letting you know exactly what to do for your mission objectives.

Downside: The mostly fictional craft and weapons. The inability to change your view so you can't see what you're trying to shoot because your plane is in the way half the time. Controller scheme is unchangable in most cases. And, cutscenes that you can't pass up even though you've heard them 4 times before that.

It IS a challenging game trying to protect your allies and watch your back at the same time, so you may die more than you'd like, but as I said, I'm biased and will push and push until I beat it.

Sadly, you may never get to use that Multiplayer selection because nearly no one is playing :(

However if you are a fan of Blazing Angels 1, rent this and have yourself a good time! If you were opposed to it, then obviously, stay away! If you were okay with it, try this one... you may be pleasantly surprised.

I enjoyed this game! (Slightly Biased)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Blazing Angels are back!!

posted by ssjgoku80 (POMPTON LAKES, NJ) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've always been a WWII fanatic and when they announced BA2 i went crazy.

7.5 Presentation
There's a lot of history here, but not much of a story. The forced sense of brotherhood feels ok. The plane selection and customization upgrades are a nice addition from the last title.

8.0 Graphics
The game has a real sense of depth and atmosphere. The sky, the sun, the smoke, it all looks great, but fighting against red brackets instead of enemy planes detracts.

8.5 Sound
Some of the best sound effects on the 360; some of the most annoying voice acting on the 360; a solid cinematic score. You have to have the good with the bad.

7.5 Gameplay
There's bombing, there's torpedoes, there's dogfighting. But whether you are attacking a base or defending a squadron, you're really just shooting down plane after plane after plane. Where do I sign?

7.0 Lasting Appeal
The single-player campaign is average in length. The monotonous gameplay gives you no real reason to go through the campaign again. But then again I am a WWII fanatic so i do it anyway. After the campaign, you'll get a lot of enjoyment from the online modes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than the first, but still not that great

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Sep 25, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

25 out of 26 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I actually played the first Blazing Angels the whole way through and I think I gave it a 4. This game is a major improvement. The graphics are pretty good, the controls are simple and intuitive, and the missions are fun and varied.

Just like the first game, you have your wingmen with you most of the time. Their voices and dialog are better acted and far less annoying than the original. But even better than your stupid A.I. wingmen, you can play this game cooperatively over Xbox Live. That right there earns this game some bonus points. There are also some competitive multiplayer modes like your standard deathmatch and search and destroy. This definitely ups the replayability and value, and it almost makes it worth a rent if you can con your friends into getting it, too.

There's a neat upgrade system also. You earn Prestige Points for shooting down lots of planes and completing secondary objectives. These points can be used to upgrade your planes with things such as extra armor or more powerful bullets. You can even custom paint your craft, though it doesn't give you a whole lot of options in this department.

My biggest gripe about this game, much like the last game, is that you'll end up replaying a lot of stuff that you shouldn't have to. For example, a lot of missions start you off a few miles away from your objectives, and your wingmen just blab at you for a few minutes before the mission really starts. If you die, you have to sit through all that boring cråp all over again, and since it's not a cutscene, you can't skip it. There are checkpoints throughout the levels, but sometimes they are WAY too far apart, and you'll end up replaying a half-hour of what you just did. I found this to be extremely frustrating, and I'm sure most people who play this game would agree.

Bottom line, this is pretty much the only option on the 360 for fans of flying games (except the original BA), and while it's not great, it should satisfy you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mission Impossible

posted by keefter (DAYTON, OH) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was very disappointed with this one.
No complaints about the graphics or the scenarios, but Dam it did they have to make it so hard to complete the missions?
I am a pretty seasoned player, I cant get past the stupid airship on mission 3.
This one gets sent back well before it should because it is simply too frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

There are very few flying games on the 360, which

posted by Tomeeboy (SPRINGBORO, OH) Oct 8, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There are very few flying games on the 360, which makes it a little hard to come up with a comparative review for Blazing Angels 2. Ever since playing Crimson Skies on the original Xbox, I've been waiting for another great arcade flyer. While this doesn't quite stack up to CS, it is still a good flying game.

The game is much better than the first Blazing Angels, so that is a major plus. The graphics are decent, but the framerate can sometimes get choppy when there are lots of enemies and smoke on the screen. More often than not, though, the game is running smooth.

The audio is well done and includes some nice voice acting during cut scenes and in-flight radio chatter. It would have been nice if they had gone the extra step and added voiceovers to the 18 mission breifings, but it's okay the way it is.

Gameplay is generally fun, especially later in the game when you get the firepower to back up your elite flying skills. Various upgrades to your weapons, planes, and even wingmen can be purchased between levels using prestige points; gained from shooting down enemies, completing objectives, and performing stunts. The controls are good, but can seem a bit unreliable when attempting dangerous manuevers. Overall, though, that won't be an issue. There's also enough variation in the missions to keep you from getting bored.

One very unfortunate aspect of the game is the online multiplayer. Not because it's bad, but because nobody seems to play it online. A great deal of replay value is potentially lost here if this doesn't change down the road. If you have friends with the game, then co-op over Xbox Live will probably be one of your favorite features.

In short, this isn't the best flying game ever, but it was surely good enough to play through once and try out the multiplayer. Worth a rent if you crave aeriel combat, and might just be worth owning if more people start playing online. If this is an idication of how the series will improve, I can't wait for BA3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blazing Angels 2

posted by LinusMax (GLEN ROCK, PA) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked this game. The only problem I have with it...if you don't make it all the way through the level and you have to stop for some reason, you have to start that level all over again. The game does allow you to view from the control panel, or outside the plane while you fly which is a nice option. I would have liked an easy, medium, hard option. I tend to go the easier levels until I get the hang of a game. Aside from those issues, I really enjoyed plaing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Blazing Angels 2: Secret Missions of WWII

posted by saintvash (ODESSA, TX) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I will be up front. I only rented this game because the first game was easy to get achievements on (by the way the first game was horrible and had a glitch that prevented you from completing the entire final mission). I downloaded the demo of this game before it launched and was surprised with the updated graphics, a cool weapon upgrade system, and better gameplay. So I had higher hopes for the game. The gameplay is awesome, the game plays smooth, chaos rocks the battlefield, and there is always something to shoot at. That is the only highlight of the gameplay. The story line is horrible. Giant air balloons that take an entire squadron and all their missiles to take it down? Do you remember the Hindenburg? I don't but I watched a mythbusters episode featuring a myth surrounding the explosion. The acting is horrendous. The guy who plays the captain on the "cut scenes" wears three stars (general rank) and four stripes (gunnery sergeant rank). He has long hair and doesn't convince anyone that he has anything to do with top secret military operations. It is almost like the developers said "You know, we should star in the games. Screw hiring real actors, I can act!" Almost as bad as the Tim and Eric Awesome Show Great Job. I think the same actors guild provided these actors. If you enjoy airplane games get Ace Combat. If you have to have a WWI/WWII era airplane game, go for the first Blazing Angels or play Ace Combat on a black and white TV with an RF connection. Online play is non existent. How am I supposed to spend 50 hours online when no one else plays this game online? Searched for a skirmish mode, no players. Totally dissatisfied with these achievement requirements. Total time to conquer the game: 5-6 hours. Total time to unlock offline achievements: 10-12 hours. Total satisfaction level on a scale of 1-3: 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not As Bad As Some Say

posted by wdwyer (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

One of the better Flight Combat games for the 360, to a point.

I love the fact that there is a flying tutorial built into the first level. Then within a flashback, the fun begins, hard and heavy. Levels are of different length and difficulty. Some are straight forward shooting down all planes. Others are more interesting, such as getting a passenger to jump onto a moving train, or saving said passenger by getting them out of Paris while figuring out how to get them back onto your plane.

I also enjoy the fact that there are different things to do during levels. The point is always to shoot up stuff. But you can also find places to perform stunts for bonus points.

A major thing that most Flight Combat games don't get right is the bosses. Most simply have a hard mission or multiple targets. BA2 actually has bosses, big ones. An armored Zeppelin, a mega gun...to just name a few. You need to think to defeat them. I have to admit. I enjoyed taking on the Zeppelin, it's not just point and shoot. Everything needs to be taken into account, from where you are in the skies, to enemies coming up behind you while you make your runs. Your wingmen are very helpful in these situations.

There is somewhat of a story that goes along with the game, but nothing really to worry about. The comic book style stills inbetween missions is not all that impressive. And while they try to make you feel for these characters. Nothing really comes across.

I like the fact there is a checkpoint system, but not as many as you would hope. You will curse this fact during the Egypt level. You will. There is no checkpoint, save for one, that I remember until you reach the Zeppelin. The game can get repetitive quickly, so there is zero replay value, unless you go multiplayer. Once you reach the Egypt level and there on out, prepare to die over and over. Flying through the gorge was very infuriating for me.

On a final note, the game isn't as bad as some say, give it a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Blazing Angles: Re-Mastered...errrr.2

posted by RWallace (MANHEIM, PA) Oct 11, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The first Blazing Angels was a fun but very repetitive. The same seems to happen in BA2. When you begin playing BA2 you'll recognize that it feels completely like the first game. Controls, graphics and missions feel very familiar.

You will again upgrade your planes that you unlock through a "cash" system that you earn by collecting prestige in each mission. The more objectives you complete the more prestige you earn. You can also earn prestige by finding "stunt" icons throughout each level and flying through them at top speed (which can be a little tricky sometimes).

BA2 has online play this time around, but from what I tried it seemed very laggy and not the fun I expected. Oh how I wish for the day a Crimson Skies 2 would come out for online play!

If you liked the original Blazing Angles, then you should definitely rent BA2. If you weren't a fan of the original than stay way clear of this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad but could be better

posted by JawFish (OSGOOD, IN) Oct 2, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The campaign is longer than expected and the graphics are really good but lacks game play. I want to go on bombing runs but this game only offers 1 bombing mission. If you are looking for multi player I could not find but one game being hosted so not too many people are playing this on line. Rent it but do not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutly Horrible

posted by DavidW (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) Apr 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I have never rated a game this low, but this is the worst game I have ever played. Not 1 redeeming quality do I find in this mess.

I spent several days playing this game, and frankly after each mission I was done for the day. The difficulty of the missions are insane, maybe if the plane controls were better designed it would not be so bad. Poor mission objectives, poor controls, cut scenes are comic strips that are poorly done.....I can go on and on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Training Trash it!

posted by KnightLord (AIKEN, SC) Feb 18, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

My son and I fair gamers we believe spent all of our time in that training field, we were never able to master it to play the game.
Like I tell my son this is where Game Fly shines and actually saves gamers like me money. I would never buy this one!

Trash those master this training and master that we want to fly and shoot the rest we will learn from crashing and burning, it's a video game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I don't Like the control setup for any of these

posted by JerryWaggs (MESA, AZ) Feb 10, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Anyone who's been around real ACFT knows that you never have throttle and yaw controls mixed into a single control. this These games have throttle and rudder(yaw) on the right joy stick which makes controlling them independently impossable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

BLAZING ANGELS 2

posted by GUNNYMAN99 (CATONSVILLE, MD) Mar 10, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

I WASNT IMPRESSED.WAISTED A LOT OF TIME IN THE BEGINING OF THE GAME TO ACHIEVE THE EARLY GOALS AFTERWARDS I LOST INTEREST...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Blazing Angels 2

posted by Clare (EAST ORANGE, NJ) Dec 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Do u guys have this game. Whats taking so long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't Waste Your Time

posted by RickDeezNutz (LE ROY, IL) Apr 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I've played alot of WWII fighter games and this is the WORST by far! The campaign is ridiculous and does not give you the option to skip a mission. "Drop a female spy from your plane onto a slowly moving train that is winding through the alpine forests of Germany?" Give me a break! Save your time and your money!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Blazing Angels 2

posted by SUTTON22 (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

this game might be a little more fun if you could customize the controller a little more. For example if you could switch the left and right sticks aiming would be more like a FPS. if that were the case i wouldnt have to relearn how to shoot and fly. It looks ok but game play is pretty terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair

posted by 1010111 (COVINGTON, LA) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

While the basic gameplay is good, it is way too repetitive, and even the best parts get old quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

24 hour return

posted by Mistervice (BIG RAPIDS, MI) Apr 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I played this game hoping to get some fun dog fighting. My mistake. This game is slow tedious and has a difficulty curve which I can only guess assumes that you've played the first game. To say I hated this article I guess would be unfair, it's just not what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Flying Game

posted by Chriscru2 (BABYLON, NY) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Been playing a lot of these Airplane/Sim games as of late. This one has been one of the better ones. Lots of action, airplanes are all over the place and things are always moving!!!

There are some really good walk through's and game play vids on the net to get you by but for the most part if you play it for awhile it all comes right to you!
There are other game titles that are pretty much the same as this one but play them all you will be hooked!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game came out of crimson skies anus

posted by ResSlaveX (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jun 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game came out of crimson skies anus, the game is from the time when they just wanted you to fight stuff without thinking about story because well the story sucks but the worst part is that the gameplay rides parallel with the story. This game is a waste of a rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad

posted by doford (NEW BRAUNFELS, TX) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Sucked as bad as the first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh

posted by anderbrock (CARROLLTON, TX) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

Worthy of a 2-3 day stay before it loses all allure for three core reasons:

- The first mission is one of the most annoying exercises in the history of 360 gaming.

- The between play story production is sub-par (comic strip conversations?) and boresome.

- The dog fights were cake. And I am not a flight gamer. They're easy, redundant and you'll find yourself flying into the gound just to see something different.

It's ranked as a 4 in my books solely because of scenic graphics. Aside from that, if you've played any flight games on the Sega Genesis of similar console, take a brief moment to recollect those memories instead of renting this epic fail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game is not what u think

posted by Garuda1 (MANCHESTER CENTER, VT) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

if u played Ace Combat 6 Fires of Liberation and heard about this game it is not in any way the same and it is not at all very good i do not recommend this game to any players. the controls are not the same nor is the flying experience!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Enjoyable but lacking

posted by cflchamp (CHATSWORTH, CA) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Starting with the better notes, this game had a great believable story, fun integrated plane upgrade system, and the most creative boss battle for a simulator I have yet to do. Have you ever wondered how to shoot down a squadron of planes with firing a single bullet? That's a great part of the game play. On the other hand, game went from fun and enjoyable to disappointing and annoying in a heart beat. The controls were a little too edgy for my taste. Usually, in a simulator, a barrel roll is the most important maneuver at ones disposal. Coming out of the inverted turn was a little too difficult and mainly seemed to waste time. Some levels seemed bugged and were unbeatable. Overall does not meet all my criteria for a good flight simulator. Close but no cigar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse