Rent BlazBlue: Continuum Shift for PS3
view large frontback

BlazBlue: Continuum Shift

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.9

562 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Wheel of Fate is favorable to this fighter

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Aug 1, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Aksys's newest fighting game is excellent for both newcomers to the genre as well as veteran fighters. "BlazBlue: Continuum Shift" is the follow-up to "Calamity Trigger" and expands on what was done in that game. Again the roster is small but memorable, with each fighter utilizing a different style in combat, making them all unique to play. There are some new additions to the roster this time, as well as a couple of new modes to play around, like Legion, where you take an army of fighters through a stage against enemy forces. Strategy becomes necessary in this mode to progress as you need to figure out which fighter to use, and which defeated enemy to recruit that will serve your own forces well. Also in this game is a Beginner mode, which enables newcomers to pull off incredible moves. Of course there is a Training Mode to help hone your skills, and a Challenge Mode to put them to the test. The graphics are bright and done in an anime style, and the controls work smoothly. This is definitely a game fans of the fighting genre should play, and those not predisposed to playing fighters should give it a try as well. The Wheel of Fate is turning, and it turns quite favorably indeed for the universe of "BlazBlue". Enter, and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Blazblue

posted by ndragoon (COLUMBUS, GA) Mar 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

At first, I thought this game would be a lot like any Mortal Kombat game, but it is completely different from that. The people fell more alive and their stories can tell you a lot about them. The characters and gamefly are great for anyone who is an expert at any street fighter game and other mortal kombat games. If you played games like dragonball z and naruto, the game is a 2D fighting style, but it makes up for it with vibrant fighters, detailed and colorful moves, combos that leave you shocked and proud of yourself for doing and moments that leave you speechless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sub Par

posted by poacher (MORGANTOWN, WV) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I rented this game and played it for about 20 min. Although the music in the game is incredible the game play is kinda slow and not fun. I think guilty gear x2 was way better and I'm disappointed I rented this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

its ok.

posted by jake12 (OWENSBORO, KY) Dec 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

the thing about this game is, the gameplay and characters are pretty good, in my opinion, but the online is not so good. i guess to actually win is to memorize the fricken combos!!
this game made me rage VERY fast. but its a ok game. i do recemend this game if you like fighting games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No Thanks.

posted by Nurasake (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I had this game out on Gamefly at the same time I rented Marvel v Capcom 3 from blockbuster. Let me tell you: if you want a 2d fighter, definitely go for MvC3.

My sister and I played BlazBlueCS for about 20 minutes. We were disturbed by the characters, first of all, for two reasons: 1) they were actually distracting to the point where they were more entertaining to look at than to fight with; and 2) we could pick out characters from Guilty Gear and GGX2 that these characters were very similar too. It was no where nearly as fun as Guilty Gear though.

The fighting was entirely too complicated. I couldn't make heads or tails of the controls, and I like to just pick up games and go. And after coming off of the high of Marvel v Capcom, it was just not fun at all to play BlazBlue. The simplicity of other fighters is nowhere to be found here.

The rendering of the characters and the backgrounds was excellent. The orchestral scores for this game are absolutely immaculate as well. But you are not playing this game for those aspects alone. This game would make a better anime, in my opinion.

We went through the entire character wheel, and immediately repackaged BlazBlue and got ready to ship it off. After that we popped in MvC3, at which point we played it for the next two and a half hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Fighter. Beginner-friendly.

posted by genospark (BRONX, NY) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

BlazBlue: Continuum Shift (BB:CS), is a direct sequel to Aksys previous game, BB: Calamity Trigger. It is a direct sequel with regard to the storyline only. For those who did not play the first game, the story mode of CS does a fine job reviewing the previous storyline.

The game features a comprehensive “Tutorial” mode for newcomers to the BlazBlue series as well as fighting games in general. There is a Basic level that explains the basics of fighting games, an Intermediate level that explains basic specific mechanics of BlazBlue, and an Advanced level that explains the more advanced techniques for interested players. For those interested in jumping straight into the action, CS features a unique “Beginner” control scheme that simplifies the controls and combos to repeated pushes of buttons. Complex strings of combinations are simplified for the players’ enjoyment. There is also a “Challenge” mode for more advanced players whereby the player will be challenged to perform combos ranging from the simpler strings to more complex strings. This mode also serves as a tutorial for advanced players with regards to combos high level play.

The main fighting modes are "Arcade", "Legion" (a clear-the-map style of play), "Score Attack" (a much harder version of Arcade mode), "Story", and local and online head-to-head play.

My main complaint with game is the difficulty unlocking the powered-up (Unlimited) characters and some the gallery artwork. These require the completion the Score Attack and Challenge modes, which are difficult for the average player to complete, even with the Beginner mode in place. These unlockables are not needed for competitive play, and the remaining are straightforward to attain. I did not play online mode, but if it is anything like the previous game, it should be fluid and relatively lag-free.

Overall the game is very good. The characters, backgrounds, and music are varied. And the game is simple to pick up, especially with the care to beginners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

uh not so much

posted by izzoman85 (FORT PIERCE, FL) Dec 22, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I have played a lot of video games but this one just missed the mark for me. Another user said that the game play was hard but i found it to be very simplistic. After about five min i training i jumped online and was able to perform a massive combo by pressing three buttons and down,forward,triangle ... ? I love 2-d fighting games but this one was no fun. I say if your looking to rent a 2-d fighting game find another. i felt like i wasted my time waiting for this game and was disappointed when i got it. SSF4 is a great choice or wait for Marvel vs Capcom 3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Enough for a new game?

posted by Takaze (OVIEDO, FL) Dec 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

If you enjoyed the original BlazBlue, you should Enjoy Continuum Shift.
While I disagree that there is enough new content to warrant a completely new game. They changed up the mechanics a little, gave everyone a few extra moves, and added a few new characters (A few accessible only through DLC), as well as a few new game modes (such as challenge and legion).

If you enjoyed the original, and don't mind throwing down some cash, or never bought the original, it is a good buy.

If you are unfamiliar with 2-D fighters, it isn't a bad game to start on. Continuum Shift has a Tutorial mode which does a good job of explaining some basic to advanced skills/tactics that can be used in any 2-D fighter, as well as character specific information and combos.
Also there is a beginners mode which makes performing lengthy combos by button presses.

Again, it is a good game, I mostly mark it down because I find that it doesn't offer enough to warrant a new purchase if you are buying a game. Also I strongly dislike having characters that you have to pay for.
Other then that it is a good game if you are looking to rent something and enjoy fighting games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Different But Creative For the fighting fan

posted by Konflict (ATLANTIC BEACH, FL) Oct 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

If you play street fighter marvel vs capcom 2 or even guilty gear this game is for you. This is an arcade and some type of small story for every body which i like. THe gameplay i love but it is not beginner friendly if your not used to the street fighter controls.

Graphics are good but the voice overs are a little corny.

the game modes i think are the strong point of the game, theres variety with a tutorial, challenge mode that will get you better, legion mode were you face different teams and build your own and face off in a team based mode. and an active online mode which is the best part in my opinion.

if you was a guilty gear fan i Strongly suggest this 2 you. but if your also just a fighting gamer this game is also for you. BE PATIENT with it, it is a little tricky to pick up but when you get it its so fun.

i suggest a buy for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Complicated

posted by Hwoarang (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 14, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

The graphics on this game is unbelievable! Cell shaded eye candy! However, this is not a pick up and play fighting game. You will need plenty of practice to even begin to start winning.

Overall, I'll stick to simpler fighting games like street fighter IV!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not for me.

posted by Robitussun (ALEXANDRIA, IN) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

This game received strong critical reviews so I checked it out. I would say I enjoy 2-D fighters, even some obscure titles. This title did have excellent graphics and audio effects. The training mode did give me an opportunity to learn the game mechanics. The title did suffer from some extreme load times, even during minor screen changes. I did not feel that the fighting was very balanced. The strong attack was too strong and I could usually just hack that button until I won. The characters seemed very childish. For some reason, the game designers must of thought that carrying a big sword makes a character believable. I found it to be very close to a Pokemon handler carrying a sword around. The story line made little sense, but in fairness I have not been a part of BlazBlue since the onset. The English voice work was very good. Overall, it just fell flat in the 2-D fighting market.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What a 2D fighting game should be.....

posted by AdamWest (PROSPECT HEIGHTS, IL) Sep 3, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

If you love the Marvel vs. Capcom series fighting action like I do then you will really enjoy this game. A good fighting game starts with controls, and this game defiantly has that. It doesn’t matter if the graphics aren’t awesome if you don’t have solid controls you don’t have anything. You can’t just mash buttons together, or keep doing same cheap move and over and over again and expect to win. If you want to do that then play one of those terrible newer “Mortal Combat” games. Each character is well balanced and has its strengths and weaknesses. It’s hard to find your favorite character because there all so evenly matched. Every Character has a counter balance that really makes the game interesting. I have no idea who these characters are in the game, but that didn’t even matter because the characters are perfectly balanced, and controls are some of the best I’ve seen in a fighting game. I hope that all 2D games in the future take notes, and learn from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I wisht

posted by biglsuka (CRESTVIEW, FL) Aug 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

First off i wana say that I never played the first one I am a hardcore animation fighting gamer and love the street fighters SAMURAI SHOWDOWNS during their cartoon looking days but when i got a taste of this game I about my pants when I saw how much the gameplay graphics look just like an anime it was crazy.... Yes the characters are a bit lackluster Im more into the samurai and real warrior looking fighters not really a fan of the futureistic looking anime characters but this game was pretty good with the fighting mechanics and the way it handled......I just beg for someone to please drop a SAMURAI SHODOWN in the next generation anime graphics i think that I would pay full price just for a demo of something like that but for all the 2d fighting game lovers out there scoop this one up word is bond

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »