Rent BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger for Xbox 360
view large frontback

BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS3
GF Rating
6.8

1740 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BlazBlue Review

posted by durpington (BOCA RATON, FL) Jun 30, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first played Soul Calibur IV, I thought it was the best fighting game I had played. Then i happened to stumble upon this golden (but still very unknown) fighting game. The characters are hand drawn, beautiful, and different. The 3-D backgrounds go very well with the 2-D characters. I never really knew the controller was in my hands while I was playing, and that's saying a lot considering it's a fighting game. This a must play for anyone who is a fan of fighters, or just wants to try out something new and unusual.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the better current Fighters

posted by Legacies15 (MOSINEE, WI) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After hearing about Blazblue from friends and seeing it on gaming webcasts, I've wanted to try this game for a long time. I now had the chance and I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed the time I've spent so far with the game. The artistic style of the game are immediate eye candy as the game opens up with an anime-style video; not to mention that the 2D anime-style fighter brings be back to days of SNES, playing Street Fighter and other fighters with similar anime-style characters. The graphics in this game are very unique and bring out every detail flawlessly. Each character's attacks are very interesting and look incredible. Now, for the actual gameplay. The control mechanics in the game are rather simplistic compared to other fighters. Where as you have something like three buttons assigned for three different punches and kicks (reffering to SF4's control scheme), the controls are easy and quick to pick up. Each character has their own individual combinations to pull off special attacks; some are on the easy side to perform, while some are extremely difficult (Easy being the down to forward button, hard being the 720 stick rotation, or easier put spin the stick around twice).

The Fighting is extremely fast pace, so learning your character would definitely help out in competition, especially against other players. The only reason why this game hasn't recieved a 10 from me is because of the fact that Online matching (ranked matches) are extremely uneven; you could be a new player and be matched with a very good player. Also, some characters obviously have strengths and weaknesses to others, but a few of the characters (such as Nu) are extremely over-powered and are in desperate need of an adjustment.

Overall, this game is definitely worth a buy, and playing with your friends is a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One Great 2D fighter

posted by RaxorX (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Dec 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Blazblue is an amazing 2D fighter with characters that can beat all the other characters. I would like to point out that not all characters are equal. Some characters have lower health bars and amazing offensive capabilities and others deal alot of damage in a few hits. I have been playing Blazblue since launch and I can say that the people still playing are really good and if you want to play a ranked match you will need to practice. While the story will confuse many it is probably one of the best for any fighting game to come out within the last year. An if you have problems understanding the story there is always the wikipedia page. The music in the game is top notch. Some of it is rock while one of the songs is more jazz like. The graphics are definitely the best 2D graphics in a fighter to come out with 3D backgrounds that add some spice to the game. Blazblue is one of the best fighters I have played and although flawed in some areas it is by far going to be kept until the sequel comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great 2D fighter!!

posted by KayotixTX (CANYON LAKE, TX) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

25 out of 30 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Great artwork and sound, this fighter is a must for any fan!!

Smooth Online play, Story Mode thats actually pretty good (yeah i cant believe it either) and the fighters are all unique, not just color swaps of eachother.

Pros
+Great Artwork
+Music is good
+Smooth Online
+Easy to Jump into and play
+Story Mode just for the console Versions
+Original Fighters and good voice work (IMO)

Cons....Not anything i can really point out that would make you not want to play this game if your a fan of Fighters. Rent first like always but the game is great and give it a shot!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BlazBlue

posted by xIRNINJAx (MUNDELEIN, IL) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

So far I am very impressed with the smooth gameplay. Combos and juggling link very well together if you have good timing. Online play is smooth and the graphics are pretty good. As a fan of fighting games I would reccomend this one to people

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Extraordinary

posted by Purple (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing, not just that the breed of 2D games is dying out but all the features as great. The game-play is slick and smooth and combos chain perfectly. The characters as unique not as other fighters where they just change the shirt and hair style, each has there own style as well as their fighting . As for online I must say this is one of the bsstyleest multiplayer is great there is virtually no lag, although there are some exceptions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazingly outstanding

posted by Tekyuinaja (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I picked this up from word of mouth. Having been a little burned out on SF4 and being crushed how bad the recent KOF was, I was hoping for this to be at least a decent fighter.

Instead, I was assailed with depth and magnificence, the likes of which I could never have expected and didn't expect from a fighter. This is literally, SO GOOD a fighter that I forsook all else to play it for a month and I am just going to have to buy it now. I could gush all day about how great this is, but nothing will convince you like holding it in your hands, seeing the hi-def animation, feeling the rush of the fight and realizing the depth of the game. I like this so much I'm going to go buy Guilty Gear.

The opening alone was pretty impressive, but the fact that every game more rocks harder than the next and the online modes are, while not quite as friendly or interactive as SF4, they are quite good and the guys on there a a challenge worth greeting.

Try it. Just... TRY IT. Don't listen to me gushing, don't listen to guys pouring gasoline on it. This is something you NEED to experience if you have any taste in 2-D fighters, or fighting games in general.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Fighter

posted by ToiBoi (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

You dont even to be a fan of anime or 2-d fighters to love this. It has a great story for a fight. Thats very rare but FREAKIN AWSOME! Anime nerds though this is a must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A really good 2D fighter

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jul 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Everybody knows about Street Fighter and lots of people know about Soul Calibur, which are both amazing fighting games. This fighting game has it up points. Like the depth of the controls. Learning all the controls in this game if you dont know them already will take you a long time, so just be wary of that. A big down side of this games story mode is that the cut scenes are really long and most of them are god awfully boring. But all you have to do is mash the a button and you can get to some fighting. Maybe one of the biggest up sides about this game is how fun online is. You can play player matches and ranked matches and theyre all very, very fun. So overall if you like fighting games, you shouldnt pass this game up at all, if your new to fighting games aswell you might just want to rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

BlazBlue

posted by Tophat (TACOMA, WA) May 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is crazy cool. The characters are awesome but dare i say it at the risk of getting shot: Slightly annoying. I love TaoKaka but the way she says "Meow" two to three times in every sentence bothers me.

Aside from that if you like to dominate fighting games then give this one a try. because the graphics and moves look great.

My only real disappointment was how lazy the opening was, talking about all this stuff that was completely useless and didn't make sense with major lack of animation. I felt it was just trying to cram the opening credits in there with as little effort as possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

In game fighting

posted by LustofSin (DOUGLAS, WY) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It has a fun arcade fighting style with fairly good graphics and a longer then expected storyline which gives you choices to make along the way. Although the fighting never gets that hard other then the last bosses constint spam of special attacks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you love Guilty Gear....

posted by SolBadNick (NORMAN, OK) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Okay There's not much I can say here except for HOLY CHRIST ON A WHEATBUN! I love this game instead of making Guilty Gear X3 aksys and arc system works brought us this little gem. I bought this game from Game Stop instead of waiting for it here on gamefly mainly because of the fact that I am an avid Guilty Gear fanatic. If your not into 2-D fighters this is a good game to play or to at least get into the genre all together. It has a fairly easy button lay out and the mechanics make it easy for anyone to pick up and play, from button mashers to stratagist anyone can find a place in there heart for this title. I do love the characters in the game albeit they resemble characters from the Guilty Gear franchise but you can tell that this series will be around for awhile, that is if we americans get fact that it's not 3-D and super fun and accually go out and buy this game. The japanese are slowly loose interst in sending us games from Japan mainly due to the fact that too many americans will the anime styled art or the strange title and say no to buying it. We as americans need to start buying more of the games from there so that they will be willing to translate more games and send them here. For all we know there are probly some xbox360 games that won't come here because of the listed reasons above and those games are probably the best games we might ever play in our life time. So please let us all start supporting the japanese game market in america. I'll bake cakes for everyone who does.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Overrated!

posted by Killimajig (TAMPA, FL) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

After reading some reviews, I was excited to play BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger. With 8's and 9's, you'd expect this game to practically revolutionize 2D fighters with a kick to the head.

Sadly, that is definitely not the case. BlazBlue just isn't a very good game. The characters are horrible generic stereotypes, and although well-drawn they are completely uninteresting.

While the Story Mode has actual storylines in it, they are mostly confusing and trite. The static story cutscenes are also significantly longer than the actual battles, which means you'll spend a lot of time skipping over pointless walls of text.

The actual fighting itself is fairly standard for any current 2D fighter; There are a lot of bars and gauges plastering the screen to figure out, and the characters beautifully execute flashy juggles and supermoves.

Ultimately though, the well-drawn characters simply fail to pull this game out of mediocrity. If you absolutely love 2D fighters, and adored Guilty Gear, I'd still recommend BlazBlue only as a rental.

You'll be returning it soon, and cursing the questionable judgment of reviewers who inexplicably scored this a "9".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

How to win at BlazBlue online:

posted by ZServ55 (COLUMBIANA, OH) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Noel Vermillion

Spam the stuffing out of A.

???

profit!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lack Luster

posted by BloodIV (EASTPOINTE, MI) Sep 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game sadly does not deliver on much of anything. Most hits do not register properly. The game is slower then slow. The combo system while amazing seems like it just lacks any sort of a luster. With side fighters like SFIV there you would have thought it would bring some competition to the table but sadly this game just doesn't.

Its only redeeming factor is that the combo system is very interesting but is held back by the games other flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fighterrr

posted by XBOX360GOD (EVERETT, WA) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Unless your a HARDCORE fighter game person and have the will to sit there and memorize combo after combo, I don't recommend...EVERYONE online is insane so prepare for an $!$ woopin'!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Blazblue more like GREATEST FIGHTER EVER!!

posted by Heigou (NEW FAIRFIELD, CT) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Honestly this game is one of the best fighters ive ever touched if not the best tied with maybe guilty gear.

Gameplay 10/10
Graphics 8/10
Story 7/10
Characters 10/10

Honestly this game is beautiful the only things that it lacks are slight balance in the top 2 characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Overrated

posted by JohnAweso (WILMINGTON, DE) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

8 out of 29 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

I rented this game because it was getting great press from a large number of reviewers. They must see something that I do not. The game is a visually impressive game; however, the game play falls short of comparables. The story mode is painfully slow and non-rewarding. Basically it's still pictures followed by spoken or read words. When you lose a fight you have to start back from your last save and push the next button until you get into another fight.
Speaking of the actual fighting, it's slow and repetitive. The game engine felt very choppy. While the graphics were good, I felt the rest of this game fell very flat. The character selection is very small (10 characters with 2 unlockable). I played the game about one hour and was very bored with it. I will be sending this game back tomorrow. It got a one-day rent out of me and I've seen enough.

I would not recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bland and unappealing

posted by DemonDave (LAFAYETTE, CO) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

Unless you are a hard core Japanophile or are nostalgic for Neo-Geo 2D fighters from the 90's give this one a pass.

Story mode is awful. Long, long, long exposition into some of the most inane characters ever made. Poorly translated.

Silly characters

Cheap animations. Seriously... 10 keys a second or so

Flat, ugly, jarring backgrounds actively obscure the action

Hard to tell when and where attacks land

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont put your arrow anywhere near the rent button.

posted by Hataki (CHATSWORTH, GA) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger.....

I have played a very wide variety of fighting games ranging from Street Fighter to Tekken and Mortal Kombat to Dead or Alive and more but this has got to be one of the worst. The graphics are good as far as story cut scenes go (and thats all they are,cut scenes....as in pictures,no motion whats so ever just one picture for about 20 seconds of the story text) but when it comes to the actual fighting,the characters look 16-bit even on my 1080i HDTV.

The actual fighting isn't that great either,the controls are clunky and repetitive as far as combos go. each character has only about 10 moves and maybe just maybe 5 combos which gets old fast....very fast.

I know its a fighting game and isn't supposed to revolve around story line but you'd figure this game would have at least one thing good to offer,right? WRONG!!! You can only play about 40-50% of each character before having to do something else to unlock the other 50-60% which isn't worth playing.

And with only 10 characters in story mode and 12 in Arcade and Versus, playing a friend or the Comp. can get boring only after just several matches.

Also,if you want achievements, stay away from this game,i played it nonstop for a week and got maybe 100g...not because i suck at it its just so boring to get them and not worth the time......worst week ever...

I gave this game a 1 out of 10 only bcuz its not possible to give it a 0,this game got a lucky break.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Whats w/ all the hype?

posted by ERICnSTEPH (MIDLOTHIAN, IL) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I don't know why this game is so hyped up. Maybe cuz so many fanboys wrote reviews. This game is more of the same... I was bored in minutes and when i jumped online to play everyone uses V-13. I'd rather play guilty gear or even better, Street Fighter 4.

This game is average at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Some things never change...

posted by CQCMARINE (GREELEY, CO) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

Some things never change... I was never into these types of games. Thought I would buy some time before tekken 6 came to me. But I have played all the marvel vs capcom games which are good 2D fighting games. But all these Japanese character based games are lame. The fighters all move too slow, all vocabulary is always written, and the moves are boring. Unless you know the "ultra" combo your pushing buttons. Even the special "Ultra" moves arent that exciting and overall its just .... Well... I'd like the 15 minutes of my life back. Im just sayin. Not hating. Everyone is different and we all enjoy different fighting games. Im a Tekken fan. So if you are too... Dont bother with Calamity Trigger.. You may want to use your own on yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Seriously

posted by xXSupermanXxLC (ELK GROVE, CA) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

not good enough to be reviewed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very awesome underrated fighting game

posted by Ninja75621 (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Sep 20, 2011

Member since May 2007

this is the best 2D fighting game ever made, i own only the 2nd one but i have played the 1st one before check this game out!.

pros
-unique & charming characters with different types of fighting styles
-dramatic and very appealing story
-addicting music
-nice replay theater (and i though Black ops only had it)

cons
-can be hard at times

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Arduous

posted by Palhinuk (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) May 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

Let me preface this little review by saying that I really wanted to like this game. Being a fan of the Guilty Gear series, I was eager to play its spiritual successor. I've played it before on a friend's PS3 and I loved it, so I thought I'd try it for the 360, since I don't own a PS3 myself. The controls just do not work for the 360. Maybe its because my controllers are worn, but it's almost impossible to get the prescision needed for most special attacks down. I continuously waggle and rotate my joysticks to get response from Ragna or Carl Clover, and I get nothing but my butt handed to me on a silver platter. The characters are all varied and interesting, and the story is interesting, though I question its delivery occasionally, but the annoying control issues just kill this version for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse