Rent BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger for PS3
view large frontback

BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

1315 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

1080p 2d fighting, YES PLEASE!

posted by HotJohnny (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2005

24 out of 28 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

It's a great time to be a fighting game fan.

I heard about this game about the day before it was released, and once it was released i broke my usual trend and i just went to the store and bought it. I usually rent. I can tell you that i am not disappointed at all. It's got a gorgeous cast of unique characters, a wonderful interface, and plenty of storylines to keep you busy for a long time. It's got well polished controls and an easy to use control scheme.

This game seems fair and balanced, for the most part. I have found some unfair match-ups, but that is the nature of any good fighting game.

I do have a few complaints about this game. I wish there was a better delivery of the story mode. Showing two characters pictures while scrolling text underneath them doesn't really do it for me anymore. That might be passable on the DSi, but this is a full priced game on a PS3 for goodness sake. I often say i don't care about story modes on games, and in the end i don't, but i think it would have added to the charm of this title if it had better interaction.

Also, I think there should be more characters. I love the characters they have, but i think there is only 12 of them. I love variety, especially in my fighting games and in fighting games more fighters = more variety, especially for online playing, and even though it is the first entry in what will hopefully be an ongoing epic, 12 fighters just seems a little bit skimpy.

My last complaint is that it should have some sort of tag team system, but i think that is the truth for every fighting game.

You pretty much already know if you want this game. If you a fan of 2d fighting games this is a must own. If you are a fan of quirky anime(esk) characters, this surely won't disappoint. If you hate reading for story modes, you mights want to pass this one by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Console Friendly

posted by TigerD (ALEXANDRIA, LA) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Blazblue has a 4 button set up instead of a six button one. This is extremely helpful for the 99% of console owners who play the game with game pads. You rarely have to reach for the more awkward L2 and R2 buttons. Additionally you can flick the right analog stick to do special moves, which is a great feature if you want to use an unfamiliar character. It's simply the most comfortable fighting game to play.

To date, these are the prettiest 2-d graphics the world has ever seen in a video game. The English dub was fantastic, and that only happens once in a blue moon.

Gameplay wise, it would have been nice to have a button for dashing. Also the unlockable audio interview tracks (and there are quite a few) are only in Japanese. They could at least have put in a text translation of these interviews.

The story mode could be a lot better than it is, simply by making it clear what you have to do to get %100. I don't see how anyone could complete story mode with every character without consulting a guide. It's that vague. Plus, it's difficult to keep track of what you've done and what you haven't.

Online mode is nice. It's about as technically sound as it can possibly be.

Overall this is a great game with some archaic tendencies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Stunning, Beautiful Game

posted by THEMISSING (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Completely balanced, effortlessly controlled and beautiful to look at. Blazblue takes what was great about the Guilty Gear series (over the top 2D characters, dynamic gameplay) and redefines it. Online play is smooth as silk and the new characters are all unique and fun to play with. Excellent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesom Fighter

posted by VNDKTR (EDINBURG, TX) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

This is a uniquely awesome game. Graphics/Visuals are the best in any 2D fighter around. Gameplay, although advanced, is fun. This is an excellent start to a new series of fighters. Online play has been, for me, lag free....unlike Street Fighter IV. If you like a bit of a challenge, I recommend this game. It is highly enjoyable. I had to buy it. You will see why!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Fighter In Years

posted by new2hies (ROCKTON, IL) Sep 25, 2009

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is definitely something everyone should play. The story's complex, the visuals are amazing, the characters are unique, and all fight differently, and it controls pretty well. The only complaint I have is it only has 12 characters. In short, this is the best fighter since Marvel Vs. Capcom 2, hands down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger

posted by leftB3HIND (WILMINGTON, NC) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game reeled me in with the initial stunning anime graphics. I don't feel enough fighting games go in that direction. I waited for it in anticipation hoping for a game that rivaled Tekken.

Ultimately I was disappointed I tried playing the Arcade mode first. It was extremely choppy. I realized then that this was a game my friends could not pick up and just play with me. The flow to the fighting sequence was unavailable for the casual gamer. It occured to me that I might just be garbage so I went to do a little Training. I picked a couple different characters till I found one that worked for me. So I went to Story and tried my luck, but to my dismay I had to sit through roughly 10 minutes of story line before getting to my 1st single round battle. Another 5 minute interlude, before another battle occured, also just a single round. I got to the fourth battle before I lost and it just kicked me out to the story select. After the 30 minutes that was my BlazBlue story mode experience I was not thrilled about running back to it.

I cautiously moved the cursor to Online mode hoping for a different experience. Which is where i found something nice to say about this game. The Lag that is so much a problem for other fighters (tekken, ufc, soul calibur,etc) didn't seem to be a problem here. It doesn't mean it was fun. My first match up was against at lvl70 opponent ??!?. I seriously got PWNd by this opponent. I was not allowed to move He hit me once and pounded into the ground, letting me get up once before finishing me with and all to easy to use super combo which can performed by pressing down the R3 stick.
The next round didn't go well either because he used the same move over and over and... well u get the idea. I joined another room that was filled with a bunch of japanese kids. Where the didn't even allow me to play. Unfortunately they were the only one's on.

So I placed the disc in it's packaging and shipped it off. Very similiar to CapcomVMarvel, but CVM ruled

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good for friends, not so for single player

posted by provalone (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to a new 2-D fighter made by the Guilty Gear designers. I was hoping for the same subtle interweaving of a story and diverse combat that made Guilty Gear (hear onward refered to as GG) a legend in the genre. This was not what I got.

What I got was a fighter that shoveled overly thick plot down my throat at every turn and a cast of charaters that smacked of de ja vu. in the storymode, the walls of text that pass for cut-scenes make me dread losing a round for having to sit through them a second time more than anything else. As I tried every one of the characters out one at a time in the arcade mode, it felt like I was playing a game composed of copycats and hybrids. Some of the characters even used nearly identical attack animations and combat themes. All that was missing was my favorite characters from GGXX as retasked clones, a not-Eddie, not-Slayer, and, of course, a not-Baiken.

There is a bit of a bright spot to this whole thing, though. The new, and completely original, characters that are in the game are a load of fun to play as and have intresting abilities (such as chain combos and lightning traps) that break up the usual not-Ky vs not-Sol matches. The stages are well designed and aside from a few instances the AI is functional and challenging. The best use of this game in my opinion is the multiplayer, though if the story manages to grab you more than it did me, you should love the ability to save progress mid story, making replaying to reach the different character endings far simpler than in GG games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Rough Start

posted by Pewter (ASTORIA, NY) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

Rather imbalanced, there are some characters that are downright useless against smart players (Haku-Men), and some characters you'd be stupid not to use if you really really wanna win (Nu, Arakune).

Game feels slow, a little too punctuated. Punishes you for button mashing, which is good, but the button configurations are unfriendly to anyone who doesn't own a stick. It feels a little not right, too floaty.

Online play is wonderful. Soundtrack's a mixed bag. Visuals are stunning -- but that doesn't make a fighter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Solid fighter but thank you for the sequel!

posted by MrDude (BURTCHVILLE, MI) Aug 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

This game works really well in many ways with fast paced combat that forces players on the offense all the time but as said by many, the balance issues causes certain favorites in character selection. So I say for the new revamped Continuum Shift, thank you Aksys!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh.

posted by anon68 (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 2, 2010

Member since May 2010

The game itself looks really good. What killed it for me was the story mode and slow fighting.

In the story mode all the show are pictures of the characters and their voices talking, but no movement what-so-ever except for their mouths when they speak. The dialogue can be pretty long and boring since they don't do anything.

The fighting is pretty slow. Slower than Street Fighter IV and SFIV was at a decent pace, but I was expecting the speed to be faster since it was just 2D anime. This is what really killed the experience for me and I returned it as soon as I got a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Blu BLaz Calamity Trigger

posted by YongBlood6 (GLENDALE, AZ) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This game is horrible. THe story is probably the only thing good about it,other than that the controls are are slow and combos are hard to pull off. Story mode has way too much talking, i dont see why they just dont put video instead. 2 Thumbs Down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Remember Guilty Gear?

posted by Leeman (PAPILLION, NE) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

So once you pop the disc into your system, the first thing that will come to your mind is Guilty Gear. If you liked that game, chances are, you are going to like this game. Here's the skinny:

Pros: Incredibly stylish, very pretty game in 1080p, excellent controls and gameplay, wide variety of difficulty, extremely intricate training mode, multiple story lines, and plenty of unlockables.

Cons: The story is REALLY out there and can be difficult to follow as well as connect to the other story lines, skipping the dialogue can be a bit tedious when going through the different types of story outcomes, and the characters are difficult to identify with especially with such a small collection

One extra con that I didn't include above, has to deal with the connection to Guilty Gear. If you played that series, you expect a certain, "pizazz" when using a finisher that is missing from this game. Maybe it was the lack of gore or how tame the finishers seemed, it just felt lacking when i used some of the finishers. I think I was just expecting too much though, so many may not feel the same.

Bottom line: This is a fantastic game for those that love fighting. It is both gorgeous and entertaining. The shortcomings are few and far between and shouldn't make you shy away. While I probably would not buy this game, it's definitely worth renting. So, whether you're familiar with the Guilty Gear series or not, take this game for a test drive, I can guarantee you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

BlazeBlue Review

posted by KidSonic (BOWIE, MD) Apr 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

The game is very fun, although story mode is lacking creativity. Its basically you fighting every character in the game for some random encounter. The gameplay is nice and smooth, except mthis game can suffer from spamming issues, as players can keep doing the same move to beat computer. Online is fun, but it can be hard to enter a room at times. Overall this is probably one of the best 2-D fightrers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

LATENCY

posted by sabintz (MOUNTAIN HOME, NC) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

one could only hope that their console is not too much inferior to the arcade box, although blazblue makes it seem a viable hypothesis.

a delightfully spriteful animated world full of mysticism and vivid fantasy characters turns out to be something to watch and not to play.

it seemed like a second would pass between my punching in a combo and the characters' reaction. i felt more as through i was commanding an animation to sequence rather than controlling these characters with my hands. very unresponsive.

they must develop a turbo mode, or transplant the world/chars of blazblue into a more robust fighting program.

shame.
sb

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Fighting Game This Gen!!!

posted by Carvega (ATLANTA, GA) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I'm not sure how this game has been rated so lowly! This game is better than Street Fighter! I regret that I hadn't checked it out sooner. From the presentation to the combat controls... it's easy to pick up and yet deep at the same time. This gen has been short on top tier fighters, but this is clearly the best one to come out so far!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good 2D Fighter

posted by DemonFang (MANHATTAN, MT) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

First off, ill warn you if your playing a game for the thrills and not a story dont play this your not going to have a good time. After you get past that this game rivals many good 2D fighters. They went so far as too even make the characters say special things too each other during the fights making them seem more like a real fight then fighter type A versus fighter type B. The story is also very long, which i had a good time with because it was done so well i started wondering if it was a tv show or was going to be a tv show. All the characters are done well and have very unique fighting styles to an extreme point. You cant just copy and paste your tricks to another fighter.

I do have one other warning, unless you are very good at online fighters i wouldnt suggest you take this one online. You may think this game is horrible thanks too its online but its just really that you are not very good at it, (no offense) and that is not your fault. The reason is because the people playing it online are from japan were this kind of game is played like shooters for people in america. If you do try it get ready to be rocked by a guy you cant even understand because thats whats going to happen...a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than I expected

posted by HybridChyl (MUNCIE, IN) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

We rented this game expecting it to be another 2-d fighting game with lackluster features. What we recieved was (in short) one of the most beautiful and intersting fighting games we have ever played. With hidden features like the Unlimited mode, a side story in the tutorial section of the story mode, and an ever unfolding story, we knew this was a must have for our collection.
If you are looking for straight up combat then you will find little to enjy in this game other than it's beautiful animation, and HD graphics. Sure, the fighting is smoothe and fun, but the true greatness of the game lies in the story mode. You have to play through all characters to get the full story of Blazblue, but it is well worth it. From the serious and deep philosophies of Rachel Alucard to the hilarious stupidity of Taokaka (with her friends "White Guy" and "Booby Lady") this game is more than just your typical fighting game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Blaz Thumbs

posted by Terrents (CARLSBAD, CA) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Blaz Blue: Calamity Trigger is a very serious game that isn’t afraid to beat you into the ground with its hard difficultly. And yet at the same time it seems to not take itself very seriously when it gets into the story using a lot of self aware humor. If I had to describe it. I would say it was Devil May Cry meets Final Fantasy as an arcade fighter. The game gets rather hard however. It seems to keep a good difficulty for most of the game. That is until you have to fight any bosses. And the difficulty curve changes dramatically as soon as one of the two bosses steps onto the stage. Most of the characters are fun to use and easy to button smash and create nice combos that feels very satisfying. The buttons are made up of weak attacks, medium attacks, strong attacks, and then dash attacks. All of which is easy to understand so using many different characters is easy. It is hard however to run. Having to tap the desired direction twice and then holding feels a bit awkward when all you want to do is get to your opponent so you can smash your weapon into his face. Mostly cause all characters walk very leisurely and then when they run they are across the screen within a matter of seconds. Which also doesn’t help when some attacks have an extremely short range. When others swipe across a good range across the screen. So you will find yourself swiping at air a lot of the time unless you learn most of your moves. The game makes no attempt at making the move list easy on you. Listing buttons as things like W. and S. making me not care to memorize each characters move list.
Recovering after being hit is nice and easy to do keeping combat quick and fast pace. Being able to recover and land on your feet in mid air gives it a nice anime combat feel. And somehow the game keeps every fight intense and always sitting on the edge of your seat. (Sorry but I cant add anymore to this review if you really want to read more find my review on Giant Bomb com

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Easy Trophies

posted by Drinkamon (EASTON, PA) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

I played this game for about 5 hours and got 1/2 of the trophies (3 online the rest offline). The game looks pretty but it's not the best fighting game I've ever played. If you are a trophy hunter like me tho, this is quick and not too bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ugh! How did a game like this get produced?

posted by Techboy96 (PLAINVIEW, NY) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

I hope this is a tribute to all the bad 2D fighter games because it does an excellent job at that. I had no fun at all with the "weapon" fighting styles. Everything about this game just feels outdated. It's like someone took all the bad elements from old 2D fighting games and mashed into this thing! Ugh! Don't waste your time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DONT GET THIS GAME

posted by malinko (RINGGOLD, VA) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I always start every game with the story mode. but i didn't even get past the bad dial log and the pictures( no graphics just pictures) subtitles, and about 30 min of pictures, subtitles, and bad dial log. this is the first game that i have ever got in my life that i just sent back. i didn't even get to the match up's, i just opened it looked at the pictures red the bad subtitles, and listen to the bad dial log for about 30 min. took it out wrapped it up and sent it back. if you like bad PS1 games for a ps3 than this game is for you otherwise DON'T GET THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not the best

posted by Lsadiner (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I had heard so many good things about this game, people even saying it was better than street fighter 4 and that it was the greatest 2d fighting game, so l put it on my waiting list to give it a chance, and, no... it is not better than SF4... the graphics are "Ok" but the game itself is not good... once again, just an opinion... anyway after a few fights, l put it back on the envelope and is ready to be sent back...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not fun

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Oct 31, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

I played for 30 minutes and that included 1 fight and alot of reading. Not my ideaa of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love this game but cant wait to see it balanced.

posted by Heigou (NEW FAIRFIELD, CT) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

I cant wait to see the next version tbqh. Seeing as i always seem to grow fond of the lower tier characters aka Tager/Bang/Haku and highest being mid tier Ragna.

People will argue tier dont matter its just about how well u do. Well in high enough level of player arakune can beat anyone but Nu by keeping em in a corner pinned with bugs and recursing or a c loop so is this fair?

But even so i give this game a 8 back when i first got it i wouldve been giving it a 10 or 9 but thats before i improved a bunch then started fighting better and better players then finding that all these tier lists mattered more in this game then almost any other fighter.

for any fighting game fan this is a must have or was a must have the next one is on the horizon and will be far better most likely in the balance department.

pro- Fun
creative characters
nice story
replay value is high

cons-
balance is terrible compared to most fighters
alot of characters feel like less complex versions of there old selves aka ragna= sol bad guy or arakune= eddie and testaments mentally challenged baby.

Id say pick it up for 30 if not just wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Eh

posted by zargot (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 23, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

Well I only kept this game for one day. The game play was old and nothing really stood out for me. The story was pretty funny, and with all the anime that really stood out for me but as a game that stands the test of time I would say no. Oh and a side note the online play often was sluggish or delayed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse