Rent Blast Works: Build, Trade, Destroy for Wii
view large frontback

Blast Works: Build, Trade, Destroy

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.0

873 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Almost everything Hardcore Wii Owners want

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Jun 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

20 out of 23 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

This game has been accepted in a pretty harsh way. Blast Works has a ton of features, including downloadable content, level editors, and co-op play up to 2 players in campaign, and 4 players arcade. The major downside is that it's a narrow genre. People who enjoy classic games like Gradius, the new WiiWare title StarSolider R, and any side scrolling shooter-score game will love Blast Works

The game's presentation is pretty simple. Start up, you have your options of campaign, arcade, online, editors, options and etc. You can create your own profile that tracks all of your stats including shotting accuracy, planes created, and shared levels.

The gameplay it self is just like any other side scrolling shooter, except you can pick up enemy aircrafts and add them to your plan collection as you travel through the level. This is good, and bad, and a key point in the gameplay. Its difficult, but not 'broken' difficult. You won't be able to fly through the levels as you gather these extra parts that help you destroy, but rather balance it so you can use it to the most effectiveness. This isn't an easy task and creates more gameplay hours and enjoyment, at least IMO.

The flaws in the games are that all these features come in a narrow genre. It's great for fans, but the game may not be the biggest draw to new players to this type of game. Secondly, to use downloadable content, you must visit their site, set up a queue, then download it to your Wii, a bit of a pain, but very similar to IGN's Smash Bros website to access users levels. Also, the campaign mode can be rather difficult, even on 'rookie'. There are no continues in this mode, and if you die, you start completely over from mission 1 of the campaign. That was the biggest frustration for me.

Overall, great game, great features, and worth a rent. The 40 dollar price tag IS a little steep, and I would have liked to see this on WiiWare. But it's a step forward for Wii in general, even if it will most likely overlooked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Give it a chance!

posted by Squabbler (WEST ISLIP, NY) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

The problem with most gamers these days is that they are so focused on graphics and making things go boom that innovation is a lost cause. Blast Works is a game full of innovation, as well as beginner steps for game development. I find it amazing that you can go online and download other players' ideas and creations. For the average gamer, looking for instant gratification, this "build it yourself" tool may seem dull. Most players don't want to be bothered by a process that will take a while to perfect. But for those who take the time to actually dive into, and understand, the developing process the game becomes even greater.
First off let's get the graphics out of the way. Yes they aren't the most amazing graphics developed by mankind but last time I checked games such as Diablo and Final Fantasy 7 don't contain graphics that wow people either. These games stand the test of time because of the game play and the innovation.
Blast Works contains a strangely Contra like gameplay (if Contra could fly that is). Sure all you do is hold down one button to shoot, but the placement of fallen enemies onto your ship can mean the difference between life and death later on. For those of you who say that Blast Works is an old looking game that is boring to play, I say play it for more than five minutes.
Blast Works offers not only a fun single player or co-op player campaign but an amazing development system. You can build insanely creative ships to use in your game, and share them with people all over the world. This is one of those games that tries to bring something new to the table but is being rejected by people who are so used to the graphics of Halo 3 and Oblivion. Sure great graphics help games out tremendously...but so does innovation and plain old fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Side Scrolling Shooter with Twist

posted by Platypi (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Most side scrollers these days try to throw in some sort of twist to the gameplay mechanic to attract people into the genre. Blastworks throws in a visually interesting, and surprisingly at times: challenging game mechanic.

The gameplay mechanic is pretty simple. When you destroy an enemy ship or a part of an ememy ship you can add it to your ship to shoot like they previously did. There is no limit to how much you can add on to your ship, kind of giving a Katamari Damaci feel to trying to make a huge powerhouse of a ship that is one big tangled mess.

It adds challenge in that you can recall your jumble into your ship at any time. This is important since your pieces can be shot down and you can lose some really awesome fire power. However, I will admit I was disappointed that since bosses spew out so much stuff all over the screen it is practically impossible to hold onto anything during boss fights.

While I found the graphics kind of cute I could imagine a lot of people finding them lacking since they are blocky/cartoony instead of realistic.

What is perhaps the most interesting thing about this game is the potential for more: the game has a level/ship/enemy/etc. editor. Online capability also adds a lot of potential in this same area.

I like the twists and all, but other shooters have twists that are perhaps better fitted. Still a good game and if you like the genre you shouldn't be disappointed. Course, if you do not like side scrollers I would suggest to pass up this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very misunderstood

posted by MrPiggin (SPRING, TX) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well first of i'm not a man of graphics(though it helps)I'm a man of gameplay. wich this game has loads of in the first plase but people who rate this game bad didn't want to be creative they want to be destructive. I say rent this Quik so reading this and add it to youre game Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

"Blastworks": for sidescrolling shooter fans only

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 16, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Blastworks: Build, Trade, Destroy is a sidescrolling shooter and simulation.
In the shooting segment, up to four players blast their way though several levels filled with vehicles such as planes, guns, tanks and boats. At the end of each level they take on a boss (one large chunk of machinery.)
But instead of getting power ups, each player gets more firepower by attaching defeated enemies onto his/her ship. Doing so will either add firepower or armor. Before long, the player's ship looks like a huge mess of metal that's haphazardly and flimsily put together.
It's fun to see how goofy my plane looks with all those attached vehicles to it, and it's a great feature very few other shooters have.
In the simulation segment, the player designs their own side scrolling shooting levels. And when I say design, I mean design.
Everything - from the looks of the back drop and vehicles to the pattern and rate of fire of all vehicles to where those vehicles pop in on the level - is in the hands of the user. They can modify pre-existing vehicles from the arcade version or they can make their very own from scratch. They can share their newly created levels on line.
Some players will cackle with glee at the almost limitless possibilities the design features offer.
Problem is, Blastworks: Build, Trade, Destroy can get redundant very quickly and it won't win over anyone not interested in sidescrolling shooters. This is one tough sell.
Blastworks: Build, Trade, Destroy is something to rent to see if you like it before you buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

"BlastWorks" not worthy of Console Game title

posted by Mster24 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Aug 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

"Blast Works: Build, Trade, and Destroy" is based on some japanese freeware PC game. After playing for about five seconds, I could clearly see that relationship-and, also, that the PC game must have been like those awful books you read in school that, for some ridiculous reason, have won multiple awards. What desperate company would create a console game out of something like this? Oh-Majesco. First of all, the graphics look like those wireframe PC games from the 80's, but I knew that before I played, and thought that might be part of the game's charm. I was wrong. The graphics were ugly, and the game's main and in-game menus looked like something out of a lame Flash game. And as for the game itself-wow. So bad. After piloting your ship and collecting add-ons from enemies you destroy (which, by the way, do nothing but add more stuff for your enemies to shoot) for about twenty seconds, you die. That's it. And the editors. Yeah. As the game as promoted, I thought the entire game focused on them. I was wrong, or didn't use them right. No intuitive rotation or zoom tools make them a hassle to use. And all the things you edit are made up of POLYGONS! Cubes, spheres, cones. What? WHAT? I'm sure the PC game would be better. As a console game resembling a Flash one wayyyyy too much with lame gameplay and awful graphics, this receives a mediocre 2. Oh, and one last note-how does this game fall into the category of "Strategy/Sim"? Just wondering.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dumb Game

posted by bigWiiNer (GIBSONIA, PA) Sep 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was dumb and boring. I returned it after 2 days. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't fall for it!

posted by sonicfox (FAIR OAKS, CA) Sep 1, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dear Reader.
If you are reading this you are considering getting Blast works. DONT GET IT! Now i know that the idea of making your own ships sounds fun and playing with them against friends sounds frivolous..but its not! The graphics are bad and they hardly vary from level to level. You die extremely easy and multiplayer isn't fun when your fighting hordes alone while your friend has to fume at the stupid one-hit kills. And making ships is complicated and boring. Once you do make a ship fighting gets monotonous and your friends ask "so this is it"? All and all its not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Concept; Failed Execution; No Need to Rent!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jun 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First off the graphics looks like a N64; and this plays like a beta that still needs 6 months of work. The interface is terrible, and you can't build and after you start playing you die. There is no point in renting (AVOID); I put it back after 15min!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth renting

posted by zoomdedoo (Ellensburg, WA) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Games have to catch our interest and be easy to play within a few minutes these days. This one - we didn't get it at all and it was really boring. We gave up after 5 minutes because we kept dying. I love shooter games and grew up with this model, but blah to this one. Definitely not worth the rental or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i expected more from this game!

posted by rjhoney (SALEM, OR) Jun 19, 2008

Member since May 2006

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

i thought this game would be much better. see thaat gamefly rating up there? should be much lower! srry majesco but this game SUCKS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste of time and money!

posted by jordan0717 (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Aug 16, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

After playing blast works for 5 minutes I knew it was going to be a horrible game. Its like an old atari game but worse. I thought the wifi would make the game better but if you don't like the regular game you won't like battling someone else either. You'd be better off saving your money because you will be taking the game back anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Build, Trade, Destroy...and RETURN.

posted by VegasRiv (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Side scrolling shooter with graphics right out of 1985. What could have been an interesting concept became ruined by lack of features, poor sounds, menu screens that look like a flash beta game.

The basic premise is to shoot down enemies and use the remains of their wreckage to "build" your ship. The trouble is, You have zero control of where the pieces go, they simply stick to your ship when you run into them.

The pieces land where they want, most don't do ANYthing at all, and ALL of them fall right back off of your ship in a hail of non-stop gunfire from a screen full of enemies.

Use your rental for something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont get game!!!!!

posted by Armtdawg57 (VISALIA, CA) Jul 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

1. the game is boring because everytime you destroy an enemy you absorb it and get super huge and easy to hit.

2. the editors are really hard to use to make anything due to going to edit an object and instead selecting the object behind it.

3. due to above reasons, waste of money.

4. not creative.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

thanx for the 10 seconds of fun

posted by loganator3198 (OCEANSIDE, NY) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

the title says it all this game lasted maby like 5 minutes before it got stupid u cant help but collect every peice but it always get u killed. i had it on the easist setting and it was still impossible to beat the first boss. by the way dont die u have three lives b4 being sent back to first level no continues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No

posted by hopinpopinC (Saint Peters, MO) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hard to believe this was made in 2008

posted by RobetH (HERNDON, VA) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

This game would have been ok, 25 years ago.

Pass on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

very entertaining

posted by metaspiral (ASHEVILLE, NC) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

first of all, ignore all these bad member reviews. the writers either hate shooters like r-type and graduis (which i love) or didn't play for more than 5 minutes. for a game that costs less than $15 it's got a lot to offer.
if you enjoy scrolling shooters that fill the screen with tons of bullets to dodge and massive bosses, you will definitely enjoy this game. the stages are a lot of fun and the mechanic that allows you to collect enemies and add them to your ship really does add an element of strategy that you wouldn't have otherwise. add to this a great editor system that lets you create ships, enemies, and levels and you've got a real winner. furthermore you can share your creations online and download other people's creations to play with. the possibilities are pretty much endless. the addition of extra game modes brings another dimension to the game. if you thought the main game was a challenge, try these on the harder settings... total arcade madness.
there are some definite down sides, though. there are only 5 or 6 main game levels, which limits an otherwise great main mission mode. still, try completing just these few levels on hard mode... it'll keep you busy. also the graphics are stylized and have a "building block" look, which is fine by me, but clearly doesn't satisfy everyone. the editor could certainly be easier to use, as well. my only other gripe is that the sound is pretty mediocre.
even with these imperfections, this is a good title. certainly worth the rent and probably worth the $15 or less it costs to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good

posted by Gregster (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This is one of the worst games i have ever played all u do is shoot and collect u dont get anywhere i would rate it .000000000000000000000000- 0000000000000000000000000- 0000000000000000000000000- 0000000000000000000000000- 0000000000000000000000000- 00000001
the one just because it gives u an excuse from cleaning sometime...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Katimari it ain't

posted by Panther82 (RALEIGH, NC) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

OK it seems like in the world of games there is always a game that does great, then there are games the try to improve on great. This is one of them. this game tries to to re-capture the audience the love Katamari and bring it to the shooters of America. The only problem is they left the fun parts out. I am not saying it is a terrible game, just that its a game aimed for a specific audience. It's like combining peanut butter and tuna, I am sure there are people that love it but there are also people who will be tore up after eating it. Well i've been in the bathroom for a few hours now and i still don't feel good. if your looking for a shooter on the wii, go for it but there are but there are better ones out there. but who knows you may be one of the few that has finally found that flavor you are looking for. just don't share the recipe!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I don`t reccomend this game.

posted by wiiwb3000 (Springfield, MO) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Graphics= flat 2D
Controls= You can only move up and down, forward and back.
Gameplay= hard, but you can destroy and build on to your ship

Overall I did not like this game. Probably because I rented it on october 3rd and I don`t get internet until october 28th, so I did not get to use the internet features. but campaign mode was weak. I got sick of it before the first level was over. I only played it for a total of a half hour before I sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Sleeper Hit... Buy Don't Rent!

posted by MrMartinL (TAHOE CITY, CA) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

I bought this game at full price the day it was released, and I'm still playing it months later. I'm pushing it to anyone who will listen...

This is not a flashy graphics game. It's a scrolling shooter with so many features it's a steal now to buy it for under $20.

The game includes 15 levels that show off its new "sticky" mechanic, and by playing these you unlock small PC games by Kenta Cho, which are all worth the price of admission by themselves. The real value in Blast Works is in the suprisingly powerful editor and creation tools: with time and patience Blast Works will let you create almost anything you want in the shooter genre! On top of that, you can share your creations and try others' creations at the Blast Works Depot for nearly endless enjoyment and new treats. There are some truly impressive creations there already...

That's why I'd recommend buying this game if you have any interest in it. For the price of a month's rental, you can enjoy the game for as long as the Depot provides new creations and well beyond. It's more of an investment of time, really, and if you're willing to learn to use the tools offered, it's more than worth what you put into it.

This is a surprisingly innovative game for the Wii; anyone complaining about graphics or difficulty has simply missed the point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Its like a flashback to the 80's, minus the fun

posted by kirkland (NORTH BEND, WA) Oct 1, 2008

Member since May 2008

This is one of those games where the developers took one concept, which was pretty good, and milked it for all it was worth until it became a hinderance to gameplay. If they toned it down where your plane inherited the weapon pieces of the enemies instead of their entire craft, it might have been more reasonable. Once you started strapping on the bigger planes, gameplay got rediculous. I actually tried it for more than a day, but I just couldnt get into it. Sorry guys.

The editor would have compensated for the lackluster gameplay if it wasnt so tedious.

As far as the downloadable content, I never got to see it because I really wasnt motivited enough to create yet another account on the internet just to see new stuff for a mediocre game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This Game Could Have Used Some More Work

posted by Iamnobody (AMHERST, MA) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Blast Works is a 2D side-scrolling shooter where the parts from enemy ships can be attached onto your own ship. Eventually you may have a ship shooting off 500 lasers per second and bigger than some of the bosses. While it sounds great, several issues are present when you start the game up.

At first, putting that ship together is fun - until you realize you can't see anything. Your ship will quickly take up most of the screen, making it nearly impossible to see enemy ships or lasers. You could retract your ship with Z, but what's the point of building it up then? Normally this isn't much of a problem, you usually only lose a part or two from the crash. However, if anything hits your main aircraft, you and your ship are blown into oblivion. This means that if one of the blurry lasers makes it past the hundreds of other lasers and ships on the screen and hits your ship - boom. You have to start all over again. This is especially frustrating against bosses, when there are few opportunities to rebuild. This doesn't mean that the campaign and arcade modes aren't fun, just that Blast Works is not a good game to play if you are trying to relax.

The other problem is the huge size of the level builder. Sure, it's great to build your own levels, but I have 8 blocks of space open on my Wii. I would have to transfer enough data onto my SD card to make room for 120 blocks. That much space is acceptable for a great game like Super Smash Bros., but it is simply too much for a mediocre experience like Blast Works.

My final complaint isn't a major problem with the game, but it did annoy me. Everywhere in the game, but mostly in the menus, the graphics are extremely blurry. It makes some text difficult to read, and my eyes hurt from looking at it after about an hour.

Blast Works is an average game all around. If you are looking for something to spend the afternoon with, Blast Works will do the job, but there are better and worse choices.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Learning Curve

posted by TXGnome (SPRING, TX) Sep 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Ok, so maybe I could learn this one with a tutorial or at least a learning speed. I cannot learn it at Rookie speed, it is way to frustrating. Next time remember to start slower. The game does seem like it would be fun but each time I tried I was frustrated with the speed, so am sending it back after 2 days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse