Rent Bladestorm: The Hundred Years' War for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Bladestorm: The Hundred Years' War

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.6

2368 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

This game resembles a tide, deep and shallow

posted by GoBrannen (SAVANNAH, GA) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To start off, I was pleasantly surprised in the break from KOEI's Dynasty Warrior game-play in Bladestorm.
In it's place is game-play that is more representative of tactical choices then brute strength. Instead of being a one-man wrecking machine, you must choose a group of soldiers to tag along and battle with (you can fight alone, but it never ends well). The battles aren't exactly huge, but you can tell that each unit is actually fighting and not standing around waiting to be killed, I frequently found myself having to run away or being killed by groups of overpowering enemies. To become more powerful, you must level up different weapons styles (swords/horses/bows) by fighting alongside those groups in battles.
The graphics are not that impressive, and there is significant screen-lag when too many units are on screen or you engage special attacks that are way too animated. The environments are pretty bland no matter what battle you are taking part in.
Overall, it isn't something that is particularly memorable, but it definitely soaks up 20+ hours of game-play that isn't boring or repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Fantastic

posted by Kuppykake (CEDAR CREEK, TX) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

44 out of 50 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I feel that this game was simply perfect.
I have waited for several years for something of this sort to come out, sure you've got Kingdom underfire, but thats like... Repetitive.
Yes, this game is repetitive. But each time you can choose an easy battle, or a hard battle.
Spanning you to high levels of engagement.
You feel as if you're an actual mercenary fighting and fighting.
The battlefields are gigantic, giving you a wide variety of things to do, the timer system works out nicely with the nonstop onslaught, just to give your thumbs a rest.
The controls are simple.
I can't put this game down, if you like kingdom underfire and Dynasty Warriors mixed together, this is the game to get.
I liked it so much, even though i've only played it for several days, that I bought it.
Yes, I bought it.
If you're like me, The taking over base after base, killing squad after squad either with your own squad or by yourself, this is the game to have sitting around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Dynasty Warriors

posted by War0979 (PICKERINGTON, OH) Sep 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I added this game, I thought I would be playing a medieval version of Dynasty Warriors. This game is nothing like Dynasty Warriors. When I first started playing I hated it but once I got past that it wasn't just a one man hack and slash game, I really got into it. The story is little lack luster but the customization throughout the game makes up for that and just playing through the battles and coming up with a strategy make up for it. It'll take over 30 hours to beat and even then you can continue to play through.

If I had one compliant I'd say it's with the last two "secret" achievements. I had to look around to figure out what the two were that I was missing and now that I know, I don't know why I'm missing them.

Overall, I would recommend this game to Dynasty Warrior fans who are looking for something new and hope that Koei will make a sequel or at least another game like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Bladestorm: The Hundred Years' War

posted by Zeldaion (CELINA, OH) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a good game but after about and hour of play it starts to get repetitive. The fighting and command of your squad is very good overall 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Game play

posted by Nomad59 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall this is a very well made game although... sometimes the game play can be quite repetitive. Every mission is take control of a squad and attack an enemy base. There is a bit of strategy involved you can pick where to attack based on the strength of your squad against an enemy squad based on what level they are and what type of unit it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by GridIronDM (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought this game thinking it would be the one to play when Im bored with all the others. Wrong. This game focuses on your character yet shows other stories. You gain fame and prestige and fight under Joan of Arc and Edward the Black Prince. Another thing is when your finished with one mission you choose the next and the tavern. This part of the game is very in depth. You talk to people, buy things, and hear the latest gossip about upcoming battles. This game does not only scratch the surface but picks away to the core of it. Very good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I cant put it down

posted by gerbopyl (CANAL WINCHESTER, OH) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

24 out of 28 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Ive been playing it non-stop for 4 days now. Its a very simple game but has a decent amount of depth too it. With all the different units each battle turns into rock paper scissors. You see what your enemy is controlling then grab what its weak against or you can hire mercenaries that you can summon at any point during battle. After each battle you can upgrade your units, weapons, and armor. You can also use pennons during battle which cause a variety of different things to happen to your squad or your enemies (i.e. raise your defense, lower their mobility, cause them to panic). My only real complaint is the sometimes A.I. From time to time they will stand within viewing distance of an enemy but will do nothing to help you defeat them.

Anyone that likes the dynasty warrior games but tires of the button mashing should love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great mix of old and new

posted by VaporKid (PLYMOUTH, MI) Dec 26, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Keoi loves hack 'n slashes. Seeing that they have been making money hand over foot with their Warrior series, slowly and slowly they have been perfecting the mindless hack-a-thons, that they are known for.
But enter Bladestorm: THYW, seemingly different, yet feels the same. This time you do not unlock 50+ characters, you focus on one. You make what he or she looks like, sounds like etc... and the game play is more of a command system then smashing X 10,000 times. You control a certain type of group (swords, knights, archers...etc...) and slowly level up in each type of unit. Plus you get to chose what stages you want to play, pretty open ended for this type of game.
Very fun, very hectic. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dynasty warriors commander

posted by HandSolo (TAYLORSVILLE, KY) Nov 14, 2007

Member since May 2006

43 out of 57 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Let me preface my review by saying I had high hopes for this game, being from the Romance Saga team I was hoping for that level of depth in the game.

In this game you play the vital role of mercenary on the battlefield as you run across an unbelievably large map and take over troop types to help win the war for whatever side pays the most coin. Unfortunately, the game spans the full 113 years of the war between the French and English, and the gameplay feels like you repeat yourselves that many times. The game is simple for any strategy buff but you can't beat the feeling of deja vu... every single time. The objectives are easy and you earn more money than you can possibly spend. There isn't enough options to give you the feeling that this is a game you should keep playing, instead you realize that you have played a game similiar to this before. That would be Dynasty Warriors, only..and this is extremely sad to say...Dynasty Warriors has much more depth.

Unless you love Japanese strategy games, leave this game off your Q

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for a while

posted by Martyr (ARLINGTON, VA) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

When i first started playing this game i thought it was a lot of fun; however, after one night of playing. The gameplay just got boring and repetitive. Good game to rent but don't buy not much replay value

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Medevil Game

posted by Capone (CLEVELAND, OH) Jun 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Bladestorm: The Hundred Years War brings to life the intensity and drama of a war-torn Medieval Europe featuring a rich tapestry of legendary characters including Joan of Arc and Prince Edward, the Black Prince.

Utilizing a next-generation game engine, the game's armies collide on the battlefield at an unprecedented scale. Countless numbers of men consumed with ferocious intensity converge on screen, where tactics and cunning combine with valor and might to determine who is left standing at the end of the day. The game puts players in the role of a rogue commander and gives them direct control of mercenary units in fierce clashes with English and French forces. You must adjust strategies as skirmishes evolve, and then deploy the unit best-suited to handle the challenge. Game progression is wholly dependent on a player's decisions and accomplishments on the battlefield.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Suprised

posted by DeathAK (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was good, not great but I saw the potential for so much more out of it. The premise is outstanding, and the feeling you get smashing a frenchman is like no other! In all seriousness though this is a rental only the character selection is extrememly limited and judging by the initial cut scene I wanted much more out of the graphics. There is just something about it though that wont let you put it down, and being a fan of real history it kind of gives you that real flavor. With a mix of insane fantasy lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Simpler version of Total War series

posted by RussianSch (BOISE, ID) Apr 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I first played this game as a demo and got hooked on it. I like to play squad based games but wasn't really good in total war (most to do with that i am not really all that patient). Basically it is point and hold the action button that is much is you can do in that game. Lets you choose form a variety of different units with advantages and disadvantages between them. You play as a mercenary during the 100 year war between England and French (and they call French pansys lol) you chosse for witch side to fight mostly do to how much will pay. takes a long time to progress (a good thing for some people) but gets repetitive (although i already put in 25 hr within 3 days, lol) overall it is good game to kill time with and the graphics are pretty inpresiive a good game to try out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just Hours of Fun!

posted by Scooter13 (GLENDALE, AZ) Feb 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I like this game a lot. It's not the most difficult game in the world, it doesn't require too much skill, but sending in one unit or 20 soldiers to kick the snot out of 100 soldiers is always fun. I have always been partial to these games by Koei, so if you liked their past games, you'll like this one too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

SO SO game

posted by mrmathewsp (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Jan 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Just amusing enough to keep me occupied until my next game arrives. Decent game play, but it becomes repetitve quickly. Graphics could have been much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pure RTS...

posted by theozzman (CHESHIRE, CT) Dec 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Seeing an RTS, (i.e: Real Time Strategy) anywhere but a PC is rare and for good reason. How ever Blade Storm may good far in counter acting this perception. It's quite a solid battle field smash and slash with plenty o tactical distractions, tons of gear, units and strategies to master. On to the bad bits, it's not super pretty to look at and the music is Eh, the voice action is laughable. Still if you like RTSs and your a fan of massive chaotic war zone games you may wish to give it a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dynasty Warriors meets obscure history lesson

posted by Fuzzzy88 (SANFORD, FL) Dec 16, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really have a lot of fun playing this game. I love medeival themed games. I love any game where I can beat the snot out of the French at any given time. And I love world domination games, even though this is just mainly France...

What I dont like are games that skim the surface on being reality. For some reason it really grates on my nerves to have an entire European army clad in Japanese armor. Come on...at least make a lil effort Koei.

I gave this game a 9, like I said, I really have fun beating the snot out of the French. I dont think the average gamer would be so forgiving. Its more repetative than Tim Burton and certainly MUCH less creative. Working with the computer on the battle field is difficult to say the least. Very few times will you be working with the other squads. There really should have been an added feature where you command a few squads, just thier location on the map. Or at least before each battle, give squads pre-destinations. They all just kind of jumble around each other at a bridge, cross it...and the day is over. Very lame AI control/manipulation.

However, you do have total control over your own squad. If your like me, you will spend your entire time with either A) Cavalry or B) Heavy Armored Halberds. These are the only 2 squads which can do anything while you wait for the rest of the army to catch up with you.

Another gripe I have, sorry, you read it. They talk about all this "reknown" you are to achieve for taking over key points by yourself. Well, I try to do this every time. I always go ahead of the army or I always flank and take the location before anyone else. Capturing locations are the best way for getting it they say and suggest and pound into your head. Well, you get more reknown for just staying in the fray and beating the snot out of people none stop.

After writing this, I need to change my rating to 8. I really hope Koei one day, goes back to the glory of Gemfire.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh...don't spend too much on it

posted by HippyVock (SEATTLE, WA) Nov 16, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game really needs a justification to exist. It's easy to get into. It's fairly easy to play (until the computer wants you to lose), but then nothing happens. Koei likes a randomness to its games (rewards, items, people, encounters, missions, etc.) that doesn't fit here because there is really nothing else to do in the game except try and...well...that's the problem. There's not much to do.

Not that what it does is bad, just that attacking a base or defending a base without all the hassle of aiming, skill, or anything else besides holding down one button is all the game consists of. Koei tries to bring to life some of the real figures from the time period with a cut scene here or there, but due to any lack of control on the battlefield of any unit except your own, it's nearly impossible to do anything off the beaten path.

The draw in rate was fairly poor and I encountered slow-mo fairly often anytime there was more than two large squads in combat. Don't necessarily skip it, but nothing makes it a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

decent...if youre into those kind of games

posted by KingTreybo (CLEVELAND, TX) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Im not much into games like these, however, this one did manage to hold my interest for about an hour... I thought the gameplay was somewhat repetitive. Lead a group into battle. Regroup. Lead a group into battle. Regroup. I only played a couple of missions, but judging from what i did play, thats all the game is. There are no real objectives other than to lead your group into battle and take out the leader. It has good graphics and decent sound, but the gameplay is what ruined this one for me. Its a good game i suppose if youre into games like these, but im not, so it gets a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Gets Old REAL Quick

posted by hervzilla (KEOSAUQUA, IA) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

its not really that bad of a game at first. I mean there were a variaty of classes to choose from and learn about. You capture the bases and find your favorite units, maybe throw in an odd favor here and there but c'mon. i'm a fan of the good old hack and slash games like Dynasty Warriors, but even I'M getting bored with it. It doesn't help that the enviroments look the same no matter where your at. The maps are huge and you can literally spend days taking town after town and still get nowhere. The story isn't really that great. The voice acting is sub par at best. You get achievements by finding completely "random" books to unlock other units. I played forever and still never found 2 books. What the F!?! But the game works great for the most part. So if you are overly comfortable with constincincy and love chopping up AI to bits then i think this game will be great for you.
6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cool Game

posted by dsys24 (LONG BRANCH, NJ) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Awesome gameplay
many missions
cool equips
10 out of 10 in my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good

posted by unobased (DAHLONEGA, GA) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if you want achievements, this is a great game. I got 600 points in one day.

S

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent...

posted by PhantomT (NATICK, MA) May 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Good game, but a bit repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tasteful

posted by Noahxix (MADISON, AL) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game itself is one of those games that you have to have taste for.
Like you 100% like it or you hate it kind of games.
I myself just downloaded the demo and spent 2 and a half hours just replaying the demo LOVED IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just rent Braveheart....

posted by BeingDS (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Nov 24, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Bladestorm: The Hundred Years' War is not a video game. It is a movie that you have to work to watch. You can rent it if you want (DON'T BUY), but I'll save you the time. Here's the game. Run. Stop. Hold RB. Run more. Stop again. Hold RB. Run. Stop. Hold RB.... rinse and repeat. Like I said. You spend all your time holding down one button and watching a bunch of guys mill around on screen. No cool graphics, no blood, no real sense of what's going on. Just a big medieval moshpit with numbers floating out of it. Dynasty Warriors was better. I'd rather button mash than button hold. This game is a waste of time. Just another half-baked game crapped out the back door by Koei.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse