Rent Blades of Time for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Blades of Time

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.8

321 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth the time

posted by aydinsparents (COLUMBIA, KY) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game but couldn't. The voice acting is the worst I've encountered in years. The gameplay is choppy and the story is ok. I liked the demo but it seemed more polished than the actual game. I wasnt expecting greatness but atleast playable. My wife and I love the "button masher" games like this that I call all of them God of War knock offs. And we usually can play through any of them. I barely made it past the 1st act and was like F this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not that good

posted by 81artmonk (YUCAIPA, CA) Apr 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Again another game with really awful dialogue. It's as if a 3rd grader wrote the script. My main issue with this game is the button scheme for the characters powers/spells. They often times do not work, and at others are so awkward it requires you to button mash across other buttons which end up not working in the end. You may be in a critical fight wanting to use your powers and hitting the required button combo just will not work. There were also levels in the game where serious glitches affected the game play. Enemies would get stuck in walls or rocks and you wouldn't be able to kill them, thus not be able to progress to the next level. The game would lag and not allow you to dodge in coming fire thus getting killed. The other main problem was boss battles. trying to use your time rewind power is fine, but it's iffy at best. Then trying to get into the right position to take down the boss had such a small window of opportunity that I found myself spending way too much time doing it over and over again. I have played games for decades, and this game design was so bad that it made this game so frustratingly difficult to progress through that I had to quit and take a break in order to not throw my controller into the tv! The game design on a whole is the worst I have played by far. Too bad because the graphics and locals are kinda pretty to look at, however game play completely ruined that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WHY!?

posted by xeromage (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The story was laughable... (Dragonland? LOL!) but I was along for the ride. I turned off my brain and dug in for some watered down Soul Reaver type action... and then? The first boss. Died a few times and had to sit through his whole diatribe in order to take another shot at 'em. By my fifth attempt, I was done with this game. I thought this type of thing would be covered on day one of game design school... Is your game going to have cut-scenes? Then they need to be skip-able or else you might as well not even make the game at all. Such a little thing but so annoying! Konami, you should know better.

Don't even waste a rental on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Alright

posted by jenicka25 (TUCSON, AZ) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Good fight controls good graphics and fun to a point, rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not total garbage, but not great either

posted by HTownBalla (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 14, 2012

Member since May 2010

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Title explains it all. I gave it a 4. Worth a rent to kill time but nothing else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I can't even get past the beginning.

posted by Zerocrash (SHREVEPORT, LA) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong, this game has amazing graphics and a somewhat decent fighting system to others such as DVC, but the hellish voice acting... that will kill the game! If he voice acting wasn't so terrible, meh I may have made it past the beginning. No gamer should ever go through an intro like that again. XD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

haha

posted by prototype888 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 38 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

there is not to much to say about this. Waste of a rent because this is not the game for anyway. pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome game with cool moves and awesome weapons

posted by Digitaljake1 (FARMINGTON, MO) Mar 25, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I give this game a solid 8 I really like this game the combat is awesome. You get to chain attacks together to do really cool special moves. Great graphics and gameplay rocks. You should definitely give it a shot before you decide not to play it. I have played every game there is to play on xbox 360. This game rocks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Maybe I'm just a Glutton for Punishment.

posted by dustinw (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Oct 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I'm nearing the end of this game, and remembered some of the other reviews I read before this game arrived from GameFly. First thing is the I'll say for those skimming reviews, is that you CAN skip the cutscenes. Back button on the Xbox. I'm assuming it would be the Select button on PS3.

Now, on to the rest of my take on this game. I felt I should post on it's behalf. First things first, is this a great game? Probably not? Is it unbearably bad? No. I'm enjoying it for what it is. The dialogue and story, at times, can be a bit laughable. But, it doesn't take away from the gameplay, which can be pretty fun. The power upgrades and combat have kept me entertained. I'd say give it a shot, everyone has different tastes, and maybe I'm just a little more lenient than everyone else. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lots of fun, few flaws.

posted by REGIS_mk5 (DALTON, PA) Sep 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my time spent with this game. The time rewind mechanic allows for a bunch of interesting puzzles as well as enjoyable enemy take downs. The included Outbreak mini-game Moba style, like Dota or League of Legends and is still enjoyable even if I couldn't find anyone online to play with. Don't let the low score fool you, this game is worth a play through if you even remotely enjoy action / platformers. The only things I could say against this game is sometimes animation gets a little choppy and the lip-syncing can be glaringly off at times. The way the main character draws and sheathes her swords irks me, but it doesn't effect the game in any way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Worth It

posted by jrflax1 (PIKESVILLE, MD) Aug 10, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

The voice acting was terrible. The incessant internal monolog was so awful that I turned the sound off. The controls are terrible and unresponsive. The story made no sense. The graphics were unpolished.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid but underwhelming

posted by Shidara (CAROL STREAM, IL) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2005

Blades of Time is a solid - if rather mundane and by-the-books - Japanese beat-em-up. However, there is one HUGE downside:

The voice acting is awful.

I mean, really, really BAD. Ayumi's voice actor sounds like she is attempting a British accent for the first time while reading the lines for the first time. It's so bad it's distracting. It's so bad that it actually hurts the game. It would have been better had they simply not had voice acting. It's that bad.

Aside from that, the action is good, controls are responsive, and the combat system is acceptably accessible.

But all I really remember about the game is the terrible voice acting. And that speaks volumes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What story?

posted by Treymen (RENTON, WA) Jun 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

The game starts and you have no idea why or what your doing. Never explains WHY your doing what your doing. Decent graphics, ok controls but has bad camera angles. The main character talks too much and the puzzles are really annoying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »