Rent Blades of Time for PS3
view large frontback

Blades of Time

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.9

269 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Sucks but still better than Ninja Gaiden 3

posted by mcnerderson (AUSTIN, TX) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Yeah, it feels very choppy and under funded. The difficulty out weighs your abilities. It's just not good. But I enjoyed it far more than the trash Team Ninja just puked onto the game scene.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Mar 13, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I must say this game is very good- I did not think it would be- Has alot of upgrades cool magic powers guns work good- Nice boss fights kind of like heavenly sword game maybe its her sister she looks very nice- Anyhow at 39 bucks price tag its worth that great rent game. thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ok game, but far from good

posted by CaliGamer (SANTA MONICA, CA) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2006

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Blades of Time is very much along the lines of other games like Heavenly Blades and the God of War series. You control your hero(ine) and you kick butts. Except like the other two games mentioned Blades of Time just isn't nearly as good.

The graphics are ok, but not great by today's standards. The main characters model is lacking in detail and looks very plastic. It has none of the high definition texturing you see in games like Batman : Arkham City.

The voice acting again is ok, but not great. What really makes it bad though is the dialect itself seems very poorly written. The main character does a lot of speaking which is nice but with dull dialect is loses a lot of it's effect.

The action itself is it's strong suit if you like to do a few button mashes and then dodge and rinse and repeat. I found it got boring after a couple hours of play as it's very repetitive. Fun boss fights though I'll definitely give it that.

Over all I gave it a 4 out of 10. It has a nice concept but low quality voice dialect and behind the times graphics and a repetitive combat system prevent it from gaining a higher score from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh...

posted by Anubis833 (OWENSBORO, KY) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

This game couold have probably been so much better than it was. There were a few good things...The magic powers were cool, especially the time clone thing. That was about it though. The main character talks to herself just about the whole game and they make her sound like a complete idiot, kinda like what they did to Samus in Other M. It got annoying...fast. You know each game has that one enemy you cant stand?....well thats all the enemies in this game. You don't really een get the full story of whats going on. And oh my god the desert level...I forced myself to finish the game once to get all the trophies I could.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Idea- Bad Result

posted by Billy1234744 (SAMSON, AL) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

First of all, let me please say I returned this game without finishing it. When I started this game I thought this was going to be a game that was eye candy, for more reasons than one. The use of colors and the scenery was spectacular, but I began to wonder about this game practically from the beginning it had no easy setting, only normal and hard. as I played I began to wonder if I could complete it, as I progressed, every time I turned around I fond myself in a battle as if it was the end of the game. which is why I finally gave up on it. Now I admit, I am not as fast or good at playing these games as some people, but still I thought they went a little too far with this one. Also and this is a big also, what hurt the rating from me a lot on this one is you could not skip the cinematic when you had to do a part over, I got so tired of watching the same cinematic over and over until I completed that part. One other thing I thought the developers made weapontry and the spell casting too difficult, who could remember all those different button combinations and so on, plus there was no automatic rejuvenation with the health aspect, who,s got time to push the button in middle of combat or keep an eye on it and the enemy too. Anyway this is a good reason why I joined Game-Fly to begin with, I can rent without shelling out,the whole price of the game, unless I decide to buy. Thanks and See-Ya, Billy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

to Play or not to Play...

posted by Ianc420 (ANTES FORT, PA) Feb 11, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Blades of time is a decent game. The visuals are pleasing to the eye and a female lead which isn't seen enough in gaming is a fresh breath of air. Unfortunately the game has a number of flaws that are difficult to overlook. Targeting problems, annoying voice acting, and overall lack of captivating story are among the top of the flaws' list. If you are solely interested in the title for trophies the game is an okay choice for that. If you want to play a better game with a female lead play Heavenly Sword. Much better in my personal opinion, although it doesn't have choices. Overall I'd give Blades of Time a 4 of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Unremarkable in a genre full of awesome.

posted by Dorkadia (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 6, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Scantily clad babe adventures in a weird steampunk world where machine guns, swords, and magic all exists side by side. That's about all you need to know about this game. Ayumi self-narrates her adventure through Dragonland guided by her friendly dragon spirit along the dragon warrior path to find the hidden treasure in the dragon temple.

Sure, there's a plot someplace, but it's not good. The voice acting isn't actually bad, but it's too frequent and poorly scripted. The visuals are sub-par for a game on today's consoles.

The most engaging part of the game is using the time rewind ability to help solve puzzles or to create an army of clones for tough fights.

There is a secondary game mode called Outbreak, but it's just an attempt to create a MOBA, but with only two players. If you want to play that kind of game, there are far better ones around.

Do yourself a favor and find something else to play if you're a fan of this genre and are just looking for something fresh and interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

blades of time

posted by curiousgeorge42 (KERRVILLE, TX) Oct 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

this game blowsssssss, colors are dull, too easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A very short, but awesome button masher.

posted by Riser (AURORA, IL) Sep 6, 2012

Member since May 2011

I wanted more :(

The environment of each level is visually eye-grabbing, many pretty colors and elements. What I found funny is that Ayumi, (the main character) has such polished smooth skin, perfect body figure, etc. Zero looks rough like concrete and hard mud, and Michelle is all elongated and plain lol.

The online is decent and simple, but not very strong. It is fun once you find someone though, which I'm quite surprised that I did upon 1st search.

The voice acting is so-so, but good. It has its focused lines...sometimes unneeded sentences, stale tones....and a few "duh" moments.

Gameplay is pretty fast paced, and you'll never get bored of the repeating moves. The Time Rewind /Clone feature is fun and useful, and it makes Ayumi very overpowering to her enemies and bosses. There are a variety of guns, weapons, accessories and powerups to search and choose from across Normal and Hard playthroughs.

The trophies are not challenging to obtain at all.

Much fun :]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible!

posted by djthaiboxe (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Sep 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

I was hoping this game would be a good mix in between Heavenly Sword and GOW, but omg, this game is garbage.

I was going to suffer through it as the gameplay was not entirely terrible, but the aggravating narration/voice over made this game EJECT from my ps3 faster than anything else lately. Dont bother!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh..

posted by jeffbindel (ARLINGTON, TX) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I hated the way it made you watch the cutscenes over and over again if you died. The ending absolutely sucked. Gameplay was difficult at times. The only thing I enjoyed was the fighting style. The chaining system reminded me of God of War.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not too shabby.

posted by Undeadwarri0r (CHATSWORTH, GA) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Quick run through. You are a Treasure hunter, Ayumi, who has 2 swords to hack-and-slash her way to reach her desired treasure on this mysterious planet. As soon as it started off i thought to myself, "Man this game is EXACTLY like X-Blades with the flying "soul/energy' you collect from killing enemies, duel wielding swords, how she jumps, and the way the character is dressed." well I'm not sure if Blades of Time is a cheap rip-off of X-Blades, but come on...Using pretty much same character (minor differences) and giving her the same name? Isn't this a violation of copyrights?

Pros
Skimpy outfit
Very tough gameplay with some puzzles
multiple abilities and weapons that boost your abilities
Ability to REWIND time and make multiples of yourself! =D

Cons
Not great gameplay nor graphics
WAY too much like X-Blades
You dont BUY abilities with gathered spirits spheres...you just select 2 each time you get to an alter.
Not much of combo moves
repetitive kinda quickly
Story isn't that great.
Not much customization on anything..just simple selection.
Voice acting is quite HORRID.
At times it does get quite frustrating when trying to beat several enemies at one time

Ok so this game does have a lot more cons than pros for me but isn't too too bad. I would MORE recommend playing X-Blades, it's a lot better IMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Way to hard

posted by armadazero (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 21, 2012

Member since May 2012

Oh My god this game is to hard for its own good. Its not fun because it only has 2 difficulty settings and to unlock hard u must first beat normal. But normal is way to difficult in its own right. Not to mention trying to remember all the different buttons. Difficulty is this games major weakness. It made me lose interest and walk away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »