Rent BlackSite: Area 51 for PS3
view large frontback

BlackSite: Area 51

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.3

1930 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what a let down!!!!!!!!!

posted by seeyouint (HERMISTON, OR) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i had really high hopes for this game. if you liked soldier of fortune then you may like this game. from the moment i started playing i was dissapointed. in my opinon midway must have thought they were making this for the playstaion 2. But it would also suck on that platform too. blacksite area 51 is not worth the time it took me to write this review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Way too short

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Dec 17, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

22 out of 25 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

The gameplay was fun but only lasted about 5 hours or so. The story needs work and the ending was too abrupt. Little replay value. Overall, this game could have been much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Waste of time...

posted by RoodiL (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I will make it short and simple. Even with the lack of PS3 titles, you will have more fun reading bad reviews than playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Welcome to area 51

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Blacksite is a most rent and play game for anyone who likes FPS games, the storyline is good, game play is excellent, the graphics are nice. The replay value is high, give a shot you'll love it. The only problem with this game is the last level of the game, but that shouldn't stop anyone from playing the excellent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Black site Area 51

posted by INLZ08 (FRESNO, CA) Jun 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

The game was really good as far as places and enemies and the story line was good. The one thing I would of changed was weapons, There was not a lot of weapon choices. And it would of been really cool if they let you fly the helicopter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BlackSite: Area 51

posted by l2urik (ELGIN, TX) May 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

yes the game glitches and the loading sucks. but the game is actually really cool, very realistic. the game also makes you play defensively and offensively; it wont let you just rush or take you time. you can take the crosshairs off, and then it seems very realistic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Play Something Else

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Jan 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

In a time where there are a lot of first person shooters on the PS3, this game just seems inadequate. As other reviewers mentioned the control scheme is hard to get used to when you are probably playing a different shooter like COD4 or Resistance. The story line is something to be desired and the graphics are just not what you would expect from a next gen game. I would suggest playing something else!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's ok

posted by Leonitus97 (DERBY, KS) May 27, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Well for one it's pretty good but, it only took me an hour more to beat than Advanced Warfighter 2 (5 hours). But I can hardly stay with the story, like this game has nothing to do with area 51.Is the Reborn Alien? Does the DNA come from space? I don't know because my game kept freezing and loading in the middle of stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

just barely satisfying

posted by blckwolf (MOUNT LAUREL, NJ) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game seems to be poorly put together. Loading in the middle of gunfights or driving. The controls are alright but i get them mixed up alot throwing grenades instead of squad control. Its not really realistic at all taking alot to kill someone or yourself. Overall its a decent play but would not recommend buying it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok

posted by skennedy25 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Dec 18, 2007

Member since Jul 2004

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game wasn't as good as i thought it was going to be. There are edges of the game tht the texture needs to be fixed. The control setup sucks. It is hard to crouch with L3, aim with L2 and fire with R2 at the same time. The Ai is pretty bad. There have been times that i have been in the front and monsters just ran by me and went for everybody else. You really have to get your right sensitivity setting right or it will move really fast. For a game that was delayed, it could have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not near as bad as its rated

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I actually give this game an 8 out of ten, but I rated it a 10 due to the extremely horrible reviews people seem to be leaving.

First off Its a great FPS, Gameplay is great, not perfect but great. The graphics aren't half bad either and the sound is exellent, the destructability of cover objects is great as well.

Lets break the game down into its individual areas
Let me just start by saying I do agree that it was rushed to production. If they would have waited about 3 more months, this game would have been perfect.

Gameplay:
Most of the game runs perfectly smooth no glitches or hangups. The only gameplay problems I noticed was that it freezes for about 10 secs while loading a new level, ie: after jumping down from a ledge to the next area.

Shooting:
The target system and gunplay mechanics are diffenatly perfect, very smooth and accurate. No problems in this area.

Squad Comand and AI:
Not quite as good as say; Ghost Recon or Rainbox Six, but still very good, your teammate do as ordered but are not completly mindless if you order them to take cover and the bairer gets destroyed or they get ambushed they will retreat to safer cover. If you tell them to target a specific enemy they focus all fire on that target, their not affraid to throw a grenade into the swarm either, Squad AI is excellent in this game.

Graphics:
Great in most levels of the game but a few its still not fully pollished, you can tell they ran out of time for finishing a few levels,

Sound:
Excellent, the sound is very spot on. Its easy to tell whats going on around you by just listening to the game.

Enemy AI:
Pretty good for the most part the enemy focuses most of its attention on the weakest or the easiest and most dangerous target. The boss battle are the only problems with enemy AI, most bosses follow you the entire time regardless of who else is attacking it. Its really the only probem I had.

Destruction:
Most objects can be destroyed, but this area was not finis

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

~Stay Away~

posted by kyman856 (GRAND JUNCTION, CO) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Though this game had promising game play, the sloppy controls and constant issues with the sound (it would cut out at random moments) make this a title for gamers to fear.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Seriously Flawed

posted by thejimmeh (BOULDER CREEK, CA) Jan 31, 2008

Member since May 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game has earned it's current 5.2 rating. Combine equal parts boring story, questionable team and enemy AI, completely generic weapons, below average graphics and choppy framerate and you've got the basis for BlackSite. Overall the game feels slow and empty and also has many strangely placed loading points (while your vehicle is in mid-air during a jump, are you serious?) during which the screen freezes for about 3 or 4 seconds. Sure, you've got to have load points in most games, but the placement and style chosen for this title completely remove the player from the moment...if they've managed to get into the moment anyway. Midway has really given a salute to PS3 owners with this title, and clearly it's not a friendly one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

How did this game get released???

posted by Eruiel (EL PASO, TX) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok this is my game-play. It lags, some sound clips are missing like reloading or shooting, also some random sound things while playing, it looks kind of bad, the health system is horrible, when i was receiving a thousand shots at a time i asked myself "am i immortal?" until the screen started getting red, took cover and healed in 2 seconds, and loading spots activate when u least expect it (in the middle of a fight, while driving or just randomly anywhere). I gotta accept, the squad system is pretty cool. But as far as i played this game, the hardest difficulty didn't have any difference from the easiest one. In my opinion this game was not finished, this should be the prototype or something because graphics, sound and loading are all bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

AREA 51 SUCKS BIG TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by WESTCOAST (FEDERAL WAY, WA) Jan 4, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

IM SO PEED OFF BECAUSE THE ORIGINAL IS MY FAVORITE ONLINE SHOOTING GAME SO I HAD HIGH HOPES AND WAITED MONTHS FOR THIS. EVERYBODY INVOLVED IN THIS GAME I TRUELY BELIEVES SHOULD BE HUNG, BURNED ON THE CROSS, OR STONED TO DEATH. NORMALLY U COULDNT PAY ME TO WRITE A REVIEW ABOUT ANYTHING BUT I HAD 2 FOR THIS ONE. MIDWAY, U SUCK!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

UNDER RATED

posted by GOW360 (MORGANVILLE, NJ) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 18 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS SO UNDERRATED ONE OF THE MUST HAVE PS3 GAMES MAYBE THE FRAMERATE IS SLOW BUT ITS STIL A GOOD AL A ROUND GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The only challenge is deciding to keep playing

posted by ChrisRuch (MOUNT JOY, PA) Dec 23, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

With a premise that's been done to death, slow frame rate, poor character modeling & "acting", poor environment design, little action, bad dialog, and zero motivation... it makes me wonder how this game ever got past the chopping block. Absolute junk, yet had the potential to be so much more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as bad as they say

posted by smurf1 (INVERNESS, FL) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was a typical fps, not great but not horrible. Story line was the same as area 51 has always been just a little more in depth. The weapon selection was limited, only about 5 weapons total and the squad command was weak but you could basically just run and gun through the whole thing and win. It was pretty short, worth playing as a rental but I probably wouldn't buy it, tried to play multiplayer but no one was online with it so it was pointless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disgrace to the PS3!!!

posted by Spiderfrek (STUART, FL) Dec 18, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game "Area 51 Blacksite" is a disgrace to the PS3.. I have never been mislead in a game like this before. This game has the worst gameplay,graphics, and story...

Rent it if you like,-but I don't recommend it..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Can you say PS1?

posted by iceman79 (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 20, 2007

Member since May 2005

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I have to tell you, first of all the story line was completely out of whack. One min your fighting in Iraq, next thing you know your fighting aliens and the soldiers are clueless to whats happening. I mean half way thru the game they still think they are fighting Iraq soldiers?? What The Fudge??
2nd the frame work is horrible, did they not test this game? Its slow, load times are slow and the outline of the characters is way off. 3rd the AI is should be call PD (pretty dumb) b/c they go into useless chatter and as they talk to you, they stare into space and if you walk around them they are still facing the wrong way. I call it the googly-eyed syndrome. What was Midway thinking? This game gave my PS3 a sour taste, I hope quality control reviews games like these and stops them on their track. Thank God for gamefly, otherwise I would have spent money on buying this piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Blacksite Area 51 SUCKS!!!

posted by pandima (CHARLOTTE, NC) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

Dont even bother renting this game, it sucks big time! Wasted money and time....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad ):

posted by playstationfan0 (BRADFORD, AR) Dec 8, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

Really wish this game was M instead of teen it destroys the horror in the game and it tries too hard to be call of duty and the acting is worse than any game i've played. I miss the old area 51 if thats what your expecting its not doesnt even follow the original story. Playing this is a chore and no psn trophies makes it a worthless chore i think someone who just learned how to design games could've produced a better game even if it was only one 15min mission just sad )':

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

blacksite area 51

posted by dragonknig (SHARON, PA) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

well lets see
Story was sadly put together.
Music and sound effects were some what good. (Could use a lot of work though.)
Graphics were good but, not the best.
Lacks a real story like what is Char. doing there 3 years ago? What is his mission?

Instead it starts out as 3 years ago without a background like why are they there?

Game play was really bad.
I had to turn all the controls to max to get a better fell for controlling the main Char.
The worst part is how long it takes to load the chapters in the game.
The computer controlled Char.'s who go with the Main Char.( that's you) don't split of for cover they all go to the same location. instead of splitting up and each taking cover they band together for cover. ( Could of asked C.O.D makers for support of the team squad.)

The Ending game was good but could of been better.
The enemy's could of been a lot harder
So my rating for this game would be

graphic's 7 sound 6 A.I's 4
story 2 game play 4
loading time 4

sadly it took me less then a day to beat this game which is sad, would i play this game again nope
would i buy it nope
replay i give it a 2 only cause you will know what is coming up so changing the settings to make it harder or easy wont matter

nice try on making the game

if it was me i would of added a co-op story mode
more monsters and boss fights
more weapons i mean come on area 51 you know they got the greatest weapons
i would of fixed the game loading screens in between chapters. added a way to add our own music if you got bored

and put a tank in too i mean come on a jeep is all you get to drive really that's all you could come up with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Blacksite...something something...shoot aliens...

posted by Solrina (CANDLER, NC) Aug 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Sometimes a game isn't bad, it just isn't memorable. This is certainly one of them. An easily forgettable shooter that at least has some length to it, and you will get to kill some things. That's never a bad thing.

The game starts in the past as you take the role of a squad leader in Iraq. Soon enough, instead of shooting insurgents you are taking on some freaky looking dudes, who are supposed to be merely infected. But we know better, eh? Then you cut to the present in Nevada where a group of militia have taken over a town. Sure they have. We still know better. From there it's time to take down those pesky aliens and save mankind! Or something to that effect.

This is supposedly a squad based game. To be honest I only remember raising heck and letting the computer characters do as they want, since they did that anyway. On the plus side the graphics are solid for the time and the levels are fairly well put together. Controls never seem to be an issue, and there is some good gameplay to be found. Most of the time you use regular guns, but on occasion you get to play with wild prototypes.

I think there is a multiplayer mode, but I can't remember and I never bothered to play it anyway. By now it's servers are probably all closed anyway so it's a moot point.

I'd be lying if I said I remember lots of the game. I only remember a few areas here and there and nearly nothing of the plot. I can't remember the ending even though I beat the game. Yet even though it's not being a memorable experience, this game still provides a bit of entertainment. I wouldn't throw it on top of your GameQ but if you are running low on options, this is worth a look.

6 / 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice game, no opinion on multiplayer.

posted by EvanCD (BERTHOUD, CO) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

This is another in my series of games that I played before I had my PS3 hooked up to the internet. This game is about aliens, as you can see. But it's not the usual space marines kind of stuff. It's about a group of people from the U.S. who were fighting in Iraq when they found out about a terrible secret. That is the first level right there. If you look, you can find a bit of replayability, but not much. The shootings nice, and the storys O.K., with a few epic moments within the endless alien killing, but I don't think this games worth a buy. That's what I think this game is like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse