Rent Black for Xbox
view large frontback

Black

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2
GF Rating
7.5

3456 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure gun porn...old school shooter style

posted by Rob911 (NEW GLOUCESTER, ME) May 4, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

57 out of 62 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying those of you who are looking for a halo 2 type game with a riveting storyline and online play you should not be buying this game. on the other hand those of you who are looking for an action packed adrenaline filled mindless romp through the streets and forests wasting everything in your path, and literally being a god *breathes*....then read on. Let me break this down into pros and cons

pros: the graphics and particle effects in black are absolutely the greatest ever seen on the xbox, black rivals doom 3 in the graphics department. The shooting is 100 percent superb, throughout the entire game you feel exactly like your holding an ak 47 or a sub machine gun. The sheer fun of running through a building full of armed baddies blowing chunks out of the wall and hastily throwing grenades is a great experience, no game has had this much adrenaline filled action since the old duke nukem days. From a technical standpoint this game is also a great masterpiece not once did i see a fps drop which now a days plagues almost every graphically advanced shooter.

cons: this games storyline is probably the worst thing i have ever seen. I had literally no idea what was going on the entire time i was playing, it was still a blast but it would have gotten a 10 if it weren't for this. Also this game does get very repetitive after you beat it a few times, there really just isn't a reason to go back and do it again once you beat it on black ops difficulty. The AI is a disappointment, they do take cover and what not but they just aren't smart (this didn't bother me a whole lot because i didn't really come into this game wanting my face blown off every 30 seconds because the ai is so good :)) The variety of guns could have been fleshed out a little more. alot of the guns almost feel alike.

overall: great game a recommended rent, this game doesn't have enough replay value to go out and buy. but it is certainly worth checking out. HAPPY SHOOTING!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Graphics abound...Story is Weak

posted by Cobalt80 (FLORISSANT, MO) Oct 18, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been playing Black for months now and still find it to be one of the better FPS for the Xbox but far from the best. For the trigger happy kid in you, this game will not disappoint. But if you are looking for an intelligent, emotional, and captivating storyline, you will be sorely disappointed. One of the most outstanding features Black has to offer is the graphics...especially the gun models and the explosions. To be honest, I got more thrill out of blowing things up than killing the enemy. All of this is wonderful but can become very routine and boring over the course of the game. Basically it's the same formula that adopts most FPS's...run around, get guns, blow things up, kill enemy, win the game. The gameplay itself is short and I would have enjoyed more environments to play in. It seems that the level design was fairly linear and gave you little time to explore. I found that to be very annoying and almost made me feel like I had to speed along in the game. Though these shortcomings are bad in the spectrum of serious gamers and critics, I do recommend this title for mindless shoot'em up fun. Graphically and sound speaking, you can't go wrong but don't expect much beyond that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great fps shooter!!!!!!!!

posted by zeldaman94 (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 28, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has many good features to it.
1. Its graphics
2. descent A.I
3. Beautiful level design.
4. Cut scenes are real people
5. The bad guys die pretty funny.
Overall, its one of the best games i ever played for the xbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Black Balled

posted by Jabrone (MANCHESTER, NH) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This game has a cool premise of shooting everything around you, but there was no point beyond that. Shooting windows and walls is fun, while sniping people in the grave yard was the best part. After that the game was dull and a bit redundant.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game kicks big juicy but

posted by pimpmacdad (PORT TOWNSEND, WA) Oct 20, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

ok, so this game is just about the coolest game for xbox besides halo 2. i'm going to buy it for sure and you should too. black is a first-person shooter that kicks big chunky but. if you don't rent black then i will come to your house and make you. get the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Black

posted by InnocentM (NORTH BONNEVILLE, WA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since May 2005

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Black is awesome. the sound and visuals are through the roof. Dolby 5.1 surround completes the game. Although Black did offer outstanding effects, It lacked in mission availability and multiplayer. Overall, there are only 8 missions and no multiplayer. Now add some more missions and Xbox live, and Black 2 will definitely top the charts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet!!!!!!- !!!!!!!

posted by guny1295 (ODENVILLE, AL) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

awsome graphics cool wepoans and finally i get to use a sweet sniper and ak-47.killing people was never so much fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

All the pieces but they just don't fit

posted by Funfactor (Cypress, CA) Apr 11, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Black was the color of my mood after playing this mediocre first person shooter. I mean, take away the graphical fluff and the content is lacking. Check points and areas to save are few and far between compared to almost all genres nowadays, given our fast paced lifestyles where we want to pick up and play for a bit and move on to something else. The selection of weapons is small and you can’t really customize them like most shooter fans are becoming accustomed to. The storyline is intriguing, pulling ideas from almost any thriller/spy movie you can think of, but just as it pulls you in, it fails to keep you in the loop and leaves you confused by the end. Black is an average first person shooter with a few new tricks up its sleeve but not enough to keep me coming back for more. It’s worth a try but probably not a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Black is fun, but totally sucked

posted by IDontKnow (BROOMFIELD, CO) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

had some cool guns and the aiming reticle was pretty acurrate. most of my shots must have bounced off thier helmets cause i was shooting all the fools in the face i swear. i liked the gameplay.
but the story, cutscenes and ending were the worst ever. luckily once you unlock hard you can skip all that bogus junk and get to the mission. its pretty hard but the people come out in the same places so its easy to plan new strategies. once you get black ops opened up you can play all the missions with a mi6 with attached grenade launcher both with unlimited ammo and they have you go through all the missions again not missing any secondary objectives. thats when i sent this back. definatley worth getting if youve already played both the good games that have come out these past few years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Oh....My.....Giddy....Aun- t...

posted by Koriok (WEATHERFORD, TX) Jul 21, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have played some pretty (censored)
shooters....and some very over hyped games...but this is by far my worst experience. Black Starts off with alot of appeal, and seems pretty solid, but after about...7 minutes of play you realize how incredibly boring and run of the mill it really is. they bragged about huge destructible environments and using the environment to your advantage; but really its about as destructive as half-life or red faction 2. The only things you get to blow up are little wooden crates or maybe part of a tree or (oh joy) the occasional fraction
of a tiny cottage; if you were wanting this game for it's "destructive" qualities go play The Hulk.
As far as "using the environment to your advantage" goes, all you get are red explosive barrels...which if you haven't noticed are pretty much part of EVERY FPS GAME on the market...
One last little thing...anytime you run across a door on the game, you can't just open it like a regular person would do, or even knock it down like a member of a s.w.a.t team would; Nope,
you have to be Mr. Billy Bad(censored) and blow it down with your shotgun or a grenade...anyways enough rambling here's an actual review

Story: 6: pretty typical for an FPS.

Sound: 8: wow...the easiest category to score well in.

gameplay: 4: repetitive, bland, cheesy...

control: 7: eh the controls are decent except for the fact you only get a dot instead of a cross hair and can't adjust the thumbstick sensitivity.

replayability: 0: i had enough trouble playing through the first time, i would probably rather take a bullet in the groin than play this game again...

rent or buy?

in my honest opinion...

go slap an executive of E.A in the face for making this pile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Long review but it will persuade your decision

posted by Bengals123 (WARE, MA) May 9, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Ok...first off black has good graphics and its pretty cool how nothing is indestructible. Another thing about this game is that the gun details are amazing. Now for the cons one of the worst things about this game is how much ammo each gun holds the M16 holds 90 rounds in a normal typical 30 round clip. The Mp5 holds around 75 rounds in a 25 round clip. The ak-47 normally a gun that has a max non expandable magazine of 30 rounds has 60 rounds and can go single shot semi or full auto where every one who loves first person shooters knows that the AK cannot go semi or single shot. So overall i gave it a six since the terrain and weapons had good graphics. The live action cut scenes were so dumb and cannot be skipped also ending is horrible. The developers of black need to release black 2 and need to pay attention to how they said they put so much information on the guns they need to go back and redo how much ammo each gun holds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Right trigger button stuck? No problem!!!

posted by DaveHawk (CORYDON, IN) May 3, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Hey, I'll be honest, I love to shoot everything up in video games...that's why those games are made. Even in well done games shooting walls and stuff can be interesting, but seriously!

You could go through this whole game and never find a storyline. I saw a gun club show on tv where at night they went to the range with about 200 guys all using high-velocity machine gatlin guns, blowing up barrels of napalm and gasoline and it reminded me of this game. It's interesting for all of about ten minutes and then you want to change the channel.

Hope this one helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Black is okay

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) May 31, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Yay
-Shoot anything and everything
-Great graphics (bullet holes)
-Easy to pick-up and play (no emotional investment necessary)

Eh
-"Standard" weapon selection (e.g. shotgun, rifle, etc.)
-Level objectives sometimes unclear
-Okay A.I. (it isn't Halo)
-FMV cutscene sequences? What is this, 1996?

Boo
-Short game
-No story
-Mediocre ending

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stupid ending

posted by tarquin232 (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 17, 2006

Member since Oct 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

annoying ending to this game pretty solid shooter but the end bugged me so much i feel in deserved the worst possible rating
these are my rules i make them up!
play it if you want but the end will infuriate and frustrate you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What? No multiplayer?

posted by SDW117 (REEDS SPRING, MO) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

NO MULTIPLAYER?!?!?!?!!!!
Thats the only thing keeping this game from hitting the 10 mark in my book, well that and the save points are waaaay too far apart.. If you like 1st person shooters and love guns then this game is it.. In surround sound at 40dB the sniper rifle rattles my windows & scares the neighbors. The story line isnt as weak as they say, I thought it to be pretty interesting myself. The graphics are superb and the sound it amazing..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Black,...the napoleon dynamite of video games

posted by blahblah (LONG ISLAND CITY, NY) Jun 22, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

WOW really overrated game, i've heard people call this the next Halo BLASPHEMY!!! AI is practically non-existent, there's maybe two different enemy types and the only differences is.... ONES HARDER TO KILL!! it takes three or four shots to the head to take down an enemy which and a complete clip to take them down if your just shooting them, weapons are your typical FPS weapons AK47, Pistol, shotgun uzi, and sniper. the story line is dull and truly doesn't tell you what is exactally going on and its told thru FMV sequences.

the only thing the game does right is the graphics and maybe the sound the rest is garbage i guess it would've been a lot better if it wasn't so hyped up so much, i mean i've heard other games called the next halo, but there usually good games this was just bad in general and all the hype that this game was getting built it up so much and then realizing how bad it is made it seem even worse than it really was, kinda like napoleon dynamite.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BLACK, not overrated

posted by Scorpion (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I believe that anyone with a love of guns, such as myself, shall love this game. Be fore warned that this is not a clever thinking FPS such as a brilliant game we all know, Half-Life 2. For some, it might be even more fun just to sprint around, blowing absolutely everything up. It has also come to my attention that all the enemies repeat their character models. I would love to see different enemy types staring at the tip of my gun. The graphics in this game are excellent, somewhat like a low-caliber Xbox 360 game. It is strange that no tango in this game bleeds, despite its Mature rating, very odd. The enemy’s Artificial Intelligence is good, they take cover when needed; just do not quite expect Halo 2 type brains. The game is also very short, which was somewhat of a plus, so that I had enough motivation to replay it over and over. The game has a sour ending, which leaves everybody hanging in terms of its story. If you are just in it for fun, you probable do not care about its’ clichéd plot of super soldiers and government cover-ups.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I laughed

posted by 1000rr (El Paso, TX) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I went got the game, i played the first stage then the second and returned it! this game is absolutely boring.
Controls great looking around can be a tidious affair as the movement is slow to look up and down.
The guns and the explosions are amazing but you can walk up to something close enough and see exactly how things are going to break.
Nice graphics sound was good but the game was boring. Next

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

black

posted by giammona (WEST EDMESTON, NY) May 4, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The explosions are great & the gun play is good to!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love It!!!!

posted by SanSooJedi (REDLANDS, CA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is simply a great shooter game. I didn't have to learn 50 million control options to play it. Just run and shoot and run and shoot some more.

Just a FUN game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Black: Overhyped Average Shooter

posted by HaloFans (EVANSTON, IL) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Black, Criterion's first shooter that uses the Burnout engine, is actually one big disappointment to this year's supposedly blockbuster hit. It applies the formula of the mad chaotic explosions in shooting of what Burnout did to the speed rush and crashing in racing. However, Black feels much like a very average EA shooter game with very pretty explosions, and that ruins the entire gameplay experience.

This game's fun relies on the explosions that happen in the environment or the fact that you are holding down your gun with 90 bullets a clip to take down enemies. Though it may seem enjoyable at first, it quickly turns sour, boring, and quite tedious as the levels go on. Since you have so much ammo, EA decided to ramp up the shots that each enemy can take. On average, it takes about 10-40 shots to take down an enemy (yes, even headshots don't take enemies down immediately unless they don't "see" you. Once they see you and react, their health bars go up.) This sounds typically like an EA shooter from the 007 games. The AI is very retarded. A lot of times, they walk pass you without firing, and even if they have the advantage of killing you, they just fire a couple shots at you. The fact that this takes place with a one man army just makes the whole experience boring.

Overall, this game leaves a very very bad taste in my mouth. I was one of those people who wanted to play it since it was receiving such negative reviews. I read every single one of them out there (EGM, 1Up, Gamepro, IGN, Gamespot, Metacritic). You name it. Just rent this game if you are really really bored. Taking down one enemy with 30 shots is not worthwhile. Personally, if an enemy requires more than three shots to take down, then a shooter is trash. Black is absolutely grabage. Don't pass up shooters like Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter (X360) or Halo 2. Black is not really worth a rental at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

why isnt this game on xbox360 yet...?

posted by markydsodd (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) May 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

my 1st real shooter game. i was mostly NFS & other car type games before i played BLACK.

i had a PS2 & when my room mate brought this XBOX & this game home, i didnt pick up my PS2 controller until GH came out.

for the shooter snobs, like all snobs, will always find "fault" in something. that is their whole purpose in life. for a gamer that just likes to play games, shoot & kill, destroy things, Black is that...!

my title says this game should be on the 360. why i ask that...? because my room mate gave his xbox to his little brother. so EA, im asking ya man, please put this game on the 360 platform...! or just make one for me man, i know you guys got em out there...!

ok, on to CoD MW2...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

black

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

one of the last great xbox games of the mid 00's to bad it did not have online though that would have been great i hope the make a black 2 for xbox 360 with online gameplay ea make black 2 please

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than Halo, I kid you not

posted by snackdaddy (GLENDALE, AZ) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

This is without question the very best FPS ever, on any console.
The action is nonstop, the A.I. is good, and the storyline is great.
Also, the guns look and "act" realistically, and the sound effects are excellent.This is the game which I measure all shooters by, and have yet to find its equal ( yes, I have played Fallout, GofW,COD's , and GRAW).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Shoot em up

posted by pillbug95 (Des Moines, IA) Dec 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Action is to Black as stealth is to splinter cell. I thouth this game was mediocre, but that's just me. If you like emptying your entire magizine on one enemy get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse