Rent Birds of Steel for PS3
view large frontback

Birds of Steel

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.8

265 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best console flight sim ever!

posted by MikeOckizard (KALAMAZOO, MI) Apr 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I realize there isn't much of a market for hardcore flight sims anymore, but if you are a fan like myself, there is none better out there. Anyone who has played the excellent PC sims IL-2 or Pacific Fighters will feel right at home, as this game is basically a console version of those two games combined.

Graphics:
The visuals are quite good imo, so no complaints there. I have seen people complaining about the ground textures, but for the most part, they look very nice. The plane models and lighting are unmatched, and the water is quite good as well. The best part though are the effects. Watching tracers and rockets shooting across the sky as dozens of planes dance around is truly a thing of beauty. The explosions are great, and the damage modeling is the best I have ever seen in a flight game. You will see wings ripped off, bullet holes and oil leaks, ailerons shredded, and even planes cut in half. Really immersive stuff!

Sound:
The sound is very well done as well. The music does the job, but the effects are the important thing here, and don't disappoint. Everything from flak shells exploding around your plane to the sound of the wind buffeting and tires squawking during landing is top notch.

Gameplay:
Obviously the most important area, and also the area where BIS excels the most. The combination of graphics, amazing physics, and realistic flight model make this a joy to play. The difficulties ramp up quickly though, so most will want to play on easy to avoid the frustration. On sim difficulty, just keeping your plane in air can be a chore, much less taking down an opponent. However, once you get good enough to master it, nothing matches the feeling of scoring a tough kill or nailing a carrier landing on sim difficulty. There are also an insane amount of planes 100+, and they unlock very slowly, so it keeps you playing for a while.

Overall:
Easily the best flight sims on consoles. If you have any interest at all in the genre, go g

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best flight simulator... realistic Physics

posted by goldfinger (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 6, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this is the best flight simulator for PS3. It is very accurate & realistic. If you like flight simulators with all the extra buttons, this game is for you. I am impressed by all the extras this game has. Co-Op is great... Multiplayer online is smooth, and you can even play the Co-Op missions alone or edit missions and fly them with any plane. I think this game is awesome. This game is the sequel to "IL-2 Sturmovik"... (this game is the new improved version)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome

posted by Gamernatki (CHANDLER, AZ) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is good becuase when you are flying the planes it feels like you are in a real world war 2 plane so buy this game and you can bomb ships you crash land and takeof the runway dont rent it buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Fun ....Wish it was MORE

posted by Selectfew (MONTICELLO, FL) Aug 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A Pretty Fun simulation to play as you Bomb , Torpedo , and Dogfight in WW2. The planes are great , and Skies are open , however the BIG detractor is Missions in Campaign mode are seriously short numbered. You can beat it in less than 5 Hours. Even upgrading and buying new aircraft ...none of which you really get to use much , because it is PRE Determined where you can fly them , and where you cant. After All , why bother buying them if you dont really get to use them? Fun Rental Not a Keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Birds of Steel: Lacking

posted by Ncristella (MERIDIAN, ID) Jun 28, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The idea of the game is good and some of the emulation is nice, but with the cinema and historical information they put in to the game, the game lacks severely. It doesn't meet the production value through the gameplay. Battleship bombings are stale, missions often incomplete, and the online gaming is missing players.

The idea of campaign mode was promising in the demo but shortly after playing the game misses action and growth. Accrued air-crafts are not won but simply given out miscellaneously through each mission. Its such a promising game but it simply lacks the basis and the idea of dog fighting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One Of My Favorite PS3 Games!!

posted by Pilot_Sully (JEFFERSON, GA) Jan 11, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

As a commercial pilot, I am always looking for fun games either on my mac, iPad, PS3 or Wii that allow me to fly virtually. Until recently I have been stuck with very costly flight simulators for Mac, but those are only everyday flying, not any sort of role playing games or mission type games. I have been very disappointed with some of the other selections available for game platforms other than Mac or PC. Either they are way off base and completely unrealistic or they are just plain out no fun. Like I said, until recently! That is because I ran across Birds of Steel. Unlike my great-grandfather and grandfather, I was not a fighter pilot in the WWII and Korea era, I can still appreciate the history and the story line in this game. To my surprise, you actually get to do everything from take-off and landing on land and sea and it even goes as far as to be so realistic that when you run out of fuel and ammo, you have to return to the air field to re-fuel and reload. The action in this game is great. It provides the right amount of difficultly and action to make it enjoyable. There is nothing I hate more when playing action games that are unrealistically too hard that it completely takes the fun and challenge out of it. All in all, I give it a 10.

I only have one very minor issue with the game. Whenever you switch between difficulties, you have to go through the entire introductory tutorial all over again. The other issue is that when you do the tutorial, you have to use the default controls and if you've already been playing and customized any of the controls, it can get very confusing trying to remember which control is what.

Other than those two things it is at the top of my list of all time favorite PS3 games. Maybe for some it might not be as exciting, but for me, given my background as a commercial pilot and my great-grandfather and grandfather being fighter pilots in many combat situations, I can really appreciate the history and intensity of the missions

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good sim

posted by charlito0927 (MANCHESTER, NH) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Good Simulator for WWII plane battles, a litle to hard to pilot the planes on realistic and simulator. to complicated to get the other planes in the hangar. Accurate plane selection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

disapointed

posted by vandal (MODESTO, CA) Jun 10, 2012

Member since Jun 2006

i love ww2 games and love ww2 planes .i even have a p38 tatoo on my arm.so iwas mad when on like the 10 level i could not get passed .i tried 4 three hours so the rest of the game is locked up to me. exept online .if you can get passed it good luck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad Game

posted by SoloAssaszin (DUNNELLON, FL) Jun 7, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

We will some this game up in a few words, Old style out dated not worth a RENT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »