Rent Bionicle Heroes for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Bionicle Heroes

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, GBA, Wii, DS, GC
GF Rating
4.9

975 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Achievment Hunters Be Ware!!!!!!! EASY 960 points

posted by snooguns (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, I really just rented this game to get some easy points. However, to my surprise, I actually enjoyed going through the game and blowing stuff up. Let me first say, there is no story whatsoever. I mean, Super Mario Brothers the original had more of a plot than this. HOWEVER, there is something satisfying about blowing a bunch of Legos up and collecting little lego parts. When I first popped in the game I was like "Oh my God what is this." However, after finishing the first level, buying a couple of armor upgrades, and just realizing that I don't have time to play something super long (even though I LOVE RPG'S), I came to the conclusion that this game is actually quite satisfying in small chunks. I would not recommend playing this game day and night, however, a couple hours of blowing up things and collecting powerups is just what the doctor ordered.

Do yourself a favor, rent this game NOT expecting it to blow the world away and you will have a lot of fun with these crazy legos. Believe it or not, there is a little bit of humor in the game :) I laughed a little each time the stupid enemy robots did some ridiculous stunt and ended up hurt.

Pros:
BLOW STUFF UP.
EASY ACHIEVEMENTS
LINEAR FOR PEOPLE THAT DON'T HAVE 30 HOURS PER GAME
MILDLY HUMOROUS

Cons:
NO story
Linear if you like games that you get totally lost in
Not enough powerups
Only three basic types of enemies (excluding bosses)
Last achievement (100% of the game) is EXTREMELY ANNOYING

If you need something to break up your time with Halo, RockBand, Resident Evil 5, or any other game that EVERYONE and their momma and daddy and grandmother are playing, you should check this out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A pretty fun game

posted by FaithsDad (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Jun 16, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is by no means difficult, and is pretty good for only passing the time a little and getting achievement points. I have played through most of the game now, and have enjoyed it to the point of probably purchasing this game. It is good for mindless fun. This is definately a good game to rent when you are tired of the thinkers like tomb raider and splinter cell, or the bloody shooters like Graw or Gears of War. I hope this helps. Gamertag: Bitis1078 Happy gaming!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

FOR KIDS ONLY..

posted by TURBOGN (CARROLLTON, TX) Feb 17, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I played this game for 5 mins and was done.. But my son loves it and played with his little buddies for hours. They had a blast and think it's great. In my opinion, for kids only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game by Lego Star Wars II Creators

posted by Cletus (CANTON, GA) Dec 26, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Bionicle Heroes is an exciting adventure. You will wear 6 different masks during the game, and each mask will give you special weapons and abilities. The game is 25 levels long, and all of the levels are fantastic. Your travels will take you through volcanoes, across mountains, and into jungles, just to name a few.
There are strong similarities between this game and Lego Star WarsII, such as lego pieces( vs. studs), a hero meter that you fill( vs. a jedi meter), canisters that you find( vs. minikits), and , like lego star wars2, your health is represented by little hearts.
This game has many interesting features. One of these is a camera view that features your character off to the side of the screen. This view seems strange at first, but you get used to it quickly.
"Bionicle: Heroes" is a fun adventure game. Yes, it has many legostarwars2 parallels, but that isn't a bad thing. I recommend this to fans of Adventure/shooter games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Slightly above average

posted by GoodAtMath (WILMINGTON, DE) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Game - If there was a picture of an 'average game' in the dictionary, the cover art of Bionicles Heroes would be it. The controls and graphics are passable, and even the gameplay is pretty fun for a while. The problem is that about 10 levels in, you see that there is almost no difference between each level except the color of the landscape (red for fire, white for ice). I don't have kids yet, but I would also say that although it is by no means a 'dark' game, I think it may be a bit too dark for youngsters who you expect to be the target audience of this game. You will struggle to finish the game due to its repetitiveness, but the first few levels you play are decent enough to keep your interest for a little while.

Achievements - Easy 960/1000. Most are enemy kill and level completion based. One playthrough and a night of overnight rubberbanding should get you a chunk of the points in 10 hours or so (+ the overnight), for all 1k, you will have to replay all the levels after completing the game, which I couldn't do after I finished it, so I'll rent it a few months from now to try and complete that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another Lego Star Wars - sort of.. .

posted by RedShoe (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Nov 21, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

If you enjoyed playing Lego Star Wars then give this game a try. The first thing I noticed is that the game doesn't look impressive from a visual/graphics standpoint. HUGE difference from Lego Star Wars is that you have acutal control of the camera - whereas the camera was fixed in Lego Star Wars. It's fun - though not a "10".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BIONICLE HEROES: A SURPRISINGLY GOOD GAME

posted by CHIPS007 (APO, AE) Feb 6, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am a first person shooter guy, with gore and dead bodies. Legos can be just as fun. I believe that this is a third person shooter, with the ability to switch between different Bionicles with different abilities. Throughout the levels you have t use your smarts to cross ravines and open fences. The graphics are really good and gameplay runs smoothly. The extras are fun, so it is wise to collect as many studs as possible, so you can buy all the upgrades and extras at the shop. The levels are usually fun and aren't that repetitive. This a perfect game for all ages 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Overall, not bad.

posted by Argus99 (WASHOUGAL, WA) Oct 10, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This title is not bad for what it is. This is not intended to be the game of games, but instead is intended to be a fun and fairly easy game for younger audiences. To that end consider the goal achieved. With that being said, the game is not perfect. I have encountered several bugs in the game. While most are minor, a few have caused serious issues with the game. One aspect of the game I feel should have been changed is the control. The lack of dual-stick mobility is a nuisance at times and down right infuriating at others. It is very easy to feel trapped within the confines of the controls, and leaves you wishing for more freedom. Aside from the bugs and control issues, the game itself is fun and easy to get involved in. Very reminiscent of Lego: Star Wars and does a good job of bringing humor into the in-game movies. They are always good for a smile, or at least a 'he couldn't have...' Another nice feature is the details provided about the different characters that you encounter throughout your trek. A solid effort, but a little more development time could have enhanced the game play significantly. A game I would, and do, recommend and enjoy playing myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ok for young kids and achievement mongers

posted by ReverendDangles (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not much to offer in the quality category. Very little dialogue except after you get the 100% game completion achievement. Fun for blowing stuff up mindlessly. I played to increase my gamerscore and it's easy but time consuming. So for someone wanting a game for their little bro/sis to play this is a good option.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Clunky an awkward...

posted by JesterCGI (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 14, 2008

Member since Apr 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's just clunky and awkward... sorta like a baby horse trying to stand for the first time. On top of that, it just seems pretty pointless.

Perhaps it was made for really young kids. Even then, you would think they could create a better camera system (or use one of the hundreds already out there).

Amazing what some will ship these days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

a good shoot um up...

posted by DankMojo (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Oct 24, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You can tell this was made for kids... I mean, other than the apparent Lego Sponsorship.

Basically, I just rented it since I figured it would be an easy way to get some Achievement points..
and how right I was.

You could play this game drunk and blindfolded and still come out of it ahead... This game is your typical run around shoot everything, find the boss and end the level.

Hint : UpGrade the special powers first then move on to their weapons and armor... this will save you from having to redo a ton of levels since you need their special powers to access secret parts of the map.

All In all a fun game when you want something different than the norm.

My GF said that this was a good game to play when you were depressed... it's just so easy, it really makes you feel better about yourself. You collect everything you see and at times it makes you feel like you're really doing good... when you're just playing.

Great kids game... or a game to get achievement points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a kid friendly shooter

posted by kevinwpbfl (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Oct 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a fun game espically for kids. my 8 year old loves it, not too hard for him but not too easy either.
it is decent looking game graphically. it is a shooter where you are looking over the shoulder of the character. and the bionicles are rendered fairly good.
i dont really care for the sound though, during the cut scenes there is no dialogue, and the music during the missions gets repetitive. it also seems louder than most games.
controls are decent. only using a few buttons. it has an auto-aim feature(that can not be turned off) this feature works well for the most part. however it can lock on to an enemy that you are not wanting to aim at(one far away as opposed to one closer that is doing the damage to you) the auto lock does help my son play the game though.
the levels are long and you are not able to save in the middle of one without losing progress, which is disappointing.
achievements are fairly easy to get, except to get them it requires playing each level twice and then the game play becomes really boring and really monotonous.
but playing the game once and for kids its a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by GameDaddy (MENIFEE, CA) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. It is funniest game I ever played. Sure you can't control the camera but it is funny.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Get a Life

posted by Mikeg2007 (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Sep 5, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

You have got to be kidding, even if i was a kid i would not have liked this game. Granted that i did finish the game with all the achievements, i also fell asleep 6 different times while playing the game. laaaaaaame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its ok. Not great but ok.

posted by Desdecardo (Paso Robles, CA) Jun 13, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is really for Kids or for those who want easy achievement points.

The game play is really easy. Controls are easy. Graphics are not that great.

The only reason why I bought this was to get the achievement points.

It can be fun except you have to get past beating the same enemies the same way on long levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

crappiest game ever

posted by NateMan (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Jan 1, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

This game is pure stink! totaly in the trash bag is where it goes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Um, achievement please?

posted by ssjwesker (UNIONTOWN, PA) Aug 15, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I LOVE this game, but I've done everything and haven't gotten the 100% achievement, which really annoys me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My 7 year old loved this game!

posted by Huntress (ALISO VIEJO, CA) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

It was easy for him to play and he had a lot of fun being the different bioncles.

I loved it to since he did t need any help and could actually defeat all the bosses. If you have kids this age, I am sure they to will enjoy it.

Wish there were more games like this for kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good shooter game

posted by megan0423 (SUMMERFIELD, NC) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

unlimeted amo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible game

posted by darkdude90 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jul 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The controls in this game are the worst. You do all your moving on one joy stick you dont turn with two so it makes it hard to aim where you need to. Also the targeting system is terrible its so hard to aim where you need it to when there are multiple targets. Even the game play is unrewarding I would recomend staying away from this game. Wasted 30 mins of my life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrid game. Simple achievements.

posted by Mareus (PENSACOLA, FL) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

PROS:
Simple achievements.
Horribly easy game.
I'm borrowing it from a friend and didn't have to pay.

CONS:
Just about everything about the gameplay.
1. The graphics are really bad.
2. The game is extremely tedious.
3. Audio is garbage; looping music tracks ftw...
4. 100% game completion forces you to play this horrendous game more than once.

If you're 10 years old, you'll probably enjoy the game. Otherwise, it's a piece of garbage only good for achievements, and you have to be dedicated to get the full 1000G.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Building Blocks of Disappointment

posted by Phenomenon (CANTERBURY, CT) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

When I rented Bionicle Heroes, I wasn't expecting much, and this is exactly what I recieved. I did prepare myself for a blockbuster experience and began the game with limited expectations. In many cases, I have been pleasantly surprised by games. This was not the case.

In terms of achievement points, it is not impossible to get the full 1000/1000. It is just a tedious and repetitive process of playing the same levels again and again with different characters to find everything. It is one thing to play levels repeatedly if there is some component of fun thrown in, it is another thing to do the same boring objectives wishing the game was over every second. Playing the game over and over when it is not fun can be agonizing. I would recommend only fans of Bionicle and achievement collectors play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

UM not so much

posted by dabudha (CRESTVIEW, FL) Feb 15, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

This is a game i feel that you would have to be desperate for achievements points to play. And i know, since that is the only reason i played it. The aiming system was horribly done. Trying to shoot something would sometimes leave you with a headache. There is absolutely no challenge or story line to this game. And even though the only reason i was playing it was for the achievement points, i could still barely stand to finish it. I would recommend this game to no one. And yes, it was that bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This Game gets really Repetitive Fast!

posted by VideoGames (RAMONA, CA) Jun 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

I Haven't played that many Games like this one before but what i can say about this Game is that it doesn't offer a good view of what your Fighting and can get really boring as you fight through each and every long Mission doing the same thing over and over but what i can see is that this game is mostly intended for Kids so all i can Guarantee is that your Kid might love this Game if he's in to Bionicle Lego Action Figures

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than I Expected

posted by Theohuxtab (LUTHERVILLE TIMONIUM, MD) Jun 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

alot of people were saying that if you liked lego starwars you'll like this game. Well, I didnt like Lego Star Wars and i thought this game was alot better then it. Sure, its a kids game, but that doesnt mean it cant be fun for adults. I liked earning lego money and upgrading the different weapons and armor. Controls are a little weird. like FPS for kids. other then that it was fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse