Rent Bionic Commando for PS3
view large frontback

Bionic Commando

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.9

2367 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just Couldn't Get Into It

posted by HMalone (BINGHAMTON, NY) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Bionic Commando is an okay game. It was fun to swing around with the arm, but that's all that it really has going for it. I didn't even finish the game because some parts are just really annoying. For instance, when you die they make you start at checkpoints further away from where you die. So that means you have to redo a bunch of parts before you get back to where you were before you die. It just gets annoying and frustrating and it doesn't make me really want to go back and do things all over again. It's worth checking out for a few days though, but a waste of time trying to finish it. There are a lot better games out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's OK, just not my style of game

posted by SlickJC (MOREHEAD CITY, NC) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played the original Bionic Commando and it was always cool. With this new and improved version, love the look of it, but gameplay isn't the best to me. Little things bugged me, like not being able to grapple anything at anytime, when I know the arm could reach what I was trying to grapple. And the lack of ammo given is ridiculous. I gave up on the board where you had to get to the crash recon site and everything is pretty much underwater. You had to go halfway across the board, trying to avoid sniper fire, JUST to get a sniper rifle. Then once you do, you had to fight one of those biotech robots on a broken highway surrounded my water. NO WAY!!!! When I fought the first two on that one area, I needed all that space to maneuver to get behind them to attack. Threw the game back in the envelope and shipped out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Repetitive

posted by DejLao (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics aren't that bad, it was what you come to expect from the BC franchise actually. But the excessive swinging around on the same level over and over again is VERY annoying, to say the least.
If you ever do get to the end of the game, it just locks up anyways, so why bother. Yea, I'm a true believer if you start a game and get past the first 3-5 levels, then why not just finish it. Obviously could not finish the game because of the lock up when ya do get to the end.
As everyone else points out though, this game WAS a great game on the NES, til it came to the next-gen system's that is.
To be honest I do not think the majority of the people that gave this a bad rating, actually played the game, otherwise those people would have seen the actual playability of it. Every game on the market has its bad points, wether ya wish to admit it or not. It is just those games that you loved as a child that you expect to be better on the next-gen system's. Had high hopes on this one myself, hopefully another gaming company gets ahold of the game franchise and actually makes a second to this game, a BETTER BC instead of this crud.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bionic Commando

posted by BigDubb (CUMMING, GA) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As someone who played the original Bionic Commando on the NES I can say wholeheartedly that this game does it justice on the next gen consoles. Initially it was pretty difficult to get the swing/release motion down just right but after a couple hours it became pretty much second nature. The graphics are fantastic, the environments well lit/populated. I would really like to have had some tougher major bosses to beat but overall I really enjoyed the rental. I would have been bummed had I actually purchased the game but it's definitely a must have rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Give it a try

posted by dashmister (RANGER, TX) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At first we were not too shure about it, but as we perfected our skill we came to love it. Dont judge the game on the training area. It isnt an easy game. It is very challenging and fast paced. Its hard to perfect the grapple hook.After a while you can really get into the hang of it. It will be hard getting used to a new FPS without it. There are some really hard points in the game that take alot of patience to get through. Graphics are great. Weapons are cool. It has enough gore to keep me interested. It has the death quiver game glitch that we have come to love. YOU DONT WONT TO MISS THIS GAME. IT TAKES YOU IN A NEW DIRECTION FROM YOUR ORDINARY FIRST PERSON SHOOTERS. THE ONLY THING WE DIDNT LIKE ABOUT IT WAS THE SAVES ARE TOO FAR APART.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Tedious Imitator

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Jan 12, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was a huge fan of the original Bionic Commando, if only because there was such freedom and momentum from swinging all over the place without having to worry about tactics. That freedom is revoked in this game; you have the power to swing from any object, but enemies are placed to ensure that you don't exercise this freedom, at least not without dying. Lethal, unmarked radiation zones strictly enforce a linear mission area, as well as the fact that your super-soldier will drown in two feet of water. Granted, flinging cars into people is a great game mechanic, but after three levels of grinding through completely one-directional missions and some of the most utterly tedious boss fights I've ever seen, I'm sending this fecal water slide back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Stick with ReArmed

posted by MondoMole (FULTON, NY) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Want a Bionic Commando game? Stick with the remake of the old NES title, ReArmed, or just play the old NES game itself. This new installment is sub-par at best and atrocious at worst.

The story is intriguing at least, but the shoddy gameplay mechanics make playing through this title a chore. You're Nathan "Radd" Spencer, hero from the first game. After you rescued Super Joe and defeated the Imperials you were imprisons not made instantly clear. The world hates bionics like Spencer, but as soon as the stuff hits the fan guess what they do? That's right! They call on him to save the day.

The best part of the previous game is the swinging mechanics. In this version you'll either get the hang of it and deal with it or get instantly frustrated. There's a definite timing to swinging and it can be hard to aim where you're jumping. If you don't release the button at the exact right time you'll get next to no momentum in your swing, meaning you'll plunge to your doom. The game looks like it's got an open world, but this is a trick. There is basically one path and every other route is blocked with invisible walls of irradiated doom.

The game taunts you by showing you lots of cool moves in the opening tutorial, but none of these are unlocked until later in the game. The beginning of the game drags since you have little offense and only one or two ways to attack the multiple opponents that will ambush you.

Overall, the swinging mechanic is clumsy, the world is restrictive, combat is unsatisfying until later in the game and the only redeeming aspect is the story. By all means, go with the remake if you want a good Bionic Commando game.

Skip this.

Good
+Story
+Solid voice acting

Bad
-Clumsy swinging
-Poor combat
-Restrictive world
-Some bugs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good!

posted by icemike12 (DERBY, KS) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought it was challenging, fun and interesting. I am very picky about the games that I will spend my time on and this one kept me entertained and engaged.

The biggest set back was that it had to load each time you died. I have noticed other games that you instantly start over without loading, such as "Infamous" and because this is such a challenging game, most players will spend more time on loading screens than they would like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bionic Commando

posted by daho78 (Pine Grove, PA) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This rental was all about nostalgia, and I found the game to be sorely lacking. The game itself is pretty, and from what I did the storyline was soso at best. The nail in the coffin is that they took a great concept and overcomplicated it. This game was basically Spiderman 3 put into a different package with almost no replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game if you give it a chance

posted by wrencrest (TAMPA, FL) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I heard all the bad reviews of this game, but gave it a chance. I really enjoyed the game after getting used to the controls of the swing mechanic. It isn't a very hard game, but can be challenging. I found the verticality of the levels awesome and the graphics were pretty good considering the field of vision.

This game will not appeal to everyone, but if you enjoy a solid game and dont expect anything earth shattering you will get plenty of fun out of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Gets old fast

posted by hamadas (AKRON, OH) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At first I loved this game and was telling everyone it was worth a rent, but only after a week I was just playing just to beat it. Storyline does not really keep you involved and lack of action with small amounts of enemies in every level leaves one bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Frustration at its Finest

posted by jeryst (FALLS CREEK, PA) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game, but unfortunately, I just couldn't. Playing it seemed more like a chore than fun, and no matter how much I tried, I just couldn't get into it. The swinging action is not intuitive, and you constantly wind up missing your target, and you don't have fine control of your zipline. You can zip up so far, but then you just hang there until you do a jump, which sometimes puts you right in the danger zone. Also, the radioactive areas are a real pain. They are very hard to spot, and as soon as you stumble into one, you only have a few seconds to get back out before you die. Unfortunately, you usually stumble into one trying to escape from enemies, so it is a no-win situation. Either you go back towards your enemies, and get blasted, or the radiation kills you. You can travel vertically, which is pretty cool, but sometimes, you are just not allowed to go any further up, which is also a pain. If you are goingt o be allowed to travel vertically, then it should be unrestricted, like in InFamous. Another thing that bothered mw, is that when you die, sometimes the checkpoints are quite far apart, so you have to redo quite a bit of what you already just went through. This game had me sreaming in frustration, and after a couple of hours, I just packed it up and sent it back because I just couldnt take it any more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lower Your Expectations

posted by VILAKH (BELLINGHAM, MA) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Before you read this whole review, please know that I did not finish this game. It was even in my slightest interest to complete this god-awful mess of a video game.

Let me just say, I had high hopes for this game. I'm a big fan of the original and the remake, Bionic Commando: Rearmed, had me really psyched for the release of this franchise reboot. When I found out that one of my favorite musicians, Mike Patton, was supplying the voice for the protagonist, my anticipation for BC went ever skyward, where dreams are wont to never be fully realized.

Such is fate. This game has come into my life, and in a few short hours has all but turned me off to all things Bionic Commando. This game is not horrible, mind you, it's just so... mediocre. Boring, boring, boring.

The swinging mechanic, which is the lynchpin of the game, is frustrating and unreliable. Many times I found myself falling into a death trap because the bionic arm would not lock onto the next available grab point.

The enemies are few and far between, and when you do run into them, they're bland. As are the level environments. You spend most of your time in a bombed-out city where everything looks the same. The weapons lack any appeal to them. They get the job done, but you never really feel like you're a one man, death-bringing war machine. You do get to do some cool combat stuff with the bionic arm, but it's not enough to make the whole game fun.

Mike Patton, much to my chagrin, sounds like garbage as the main character Nathan Spencer. Most of the time, he comes across as someone who's constantly sneering in disgust as he speaks, which gets old real fast. The music is good at times, I like the updated versions of the NES classics' songs, but after a while they get repetitive.

I would advise everyone to just stay away from this game. Don't waste your time, your money or your rental on this mundane game. If for no other reason than to send a message to the creators: DO BETTER NEXT TIME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What the...!?

posted by Stromp (Webster, TX) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Weird game. The premise is very good, the idea I mean.

But first off...why can't these companies do the graphics right? I mean the PS3 is a powerful machine, and plenty of developers have showed us the power (SCEA with God of War III for instance looks completely sick) and we know what Hideo Kojima did with 50GB of space on MGS4.

The arm is cool, the controls also pretty cool, although not intuitive. The control is simplistic enough, it's the environment that kills you.

It's way too hard to control your swings correctly, they should have used something from the Spiderman games where swinging is easy enough to not frustrate the heck out of you.

I actually like the side goals, like kill 10 grunts, or do 3 swings in a row, but it gets way too difficult to complete some of them.

The environment is especially taxing because your swinging seems completely un-elegant, more like drunken stupporing around. And that's because any little bump completely throws you off.

I didn't even finish the game, I just got completely uninterested in playing further.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by myxbox360 (CANTON, MS) May 29, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very good,it's a good rent&the online is sota cool,but you'll get bored with online,It has a somewhat good storyline,gameply is great&it's fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't Waste Your Time

posted by SikWitIT (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this was going to be a good game but it was not it reminded me of the spiderman games and I don't like those as well I really tried to play this and like it but I just could not there are a lot more better game to be playing out there overall it is just a boring game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just what you'd Expext for BIONIC commando.

posted by RobertO (Saint Petersburg, FL) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The Bad: It's short, after 4 hours or so my save was ~70% clear. Movement is restricted a little to much by radiation instead of inaccessibility, when I can swing around a building but radiation stops me from going on the roof it's silly.

The OK: I need more Guns! - It gives you a standard assortment (Shotgun, MG, Rifle, grenade and rocket launchers) but something unique to BC would have been nice. Ammo is a little too rare for the special weapons so you can't have much overkill fun.

The Good: The soundtrack- People who never played NES games do not know what they are missing and can't comprehend how much you can do with 8bit sound, those people need to go listen to the original BC, Castlevania, Bubble Bobble, and the thousand other NES soundtracks that make most current game music sound like it's composed by idiot DJ's that can't write or read music.
That being said, I still like the original tracks better but I'll take an tasteful homage to them over a DMC-like soundtrack where everytime you fight the exact same song starts over and you hear the first 30 seconds a thousand times.

Swinging Mechanics are exactly as they should be I don't see what people are crying about. You aim and grab whatever your aiming at flawlessly, if you have inertia you swing, if you don't you stay still.
Sorry if it doesn't aim at what your not aiming at or magically save your life (a feature that helped ruin the Prince of Persia remake, No risk=No satisfaction of reward when did people forget this?)

Combat- Though not remotely hard, its easier to die than in many recent games that allow you to avoid all hits by constantly rolling. Bullets act like bullets in this game also, the farther away the more it veers so no accurate 100meter pistol/mg shots.

If your looking for an Fps, get an FPS. If your looking for a good but short, third person shooter with a Romper Stomper of a bionic arm get this. Would I buy it? No, but for me only massively replayed game on ps3 is Warhawk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots O' Negative Reviews

posted by CoiceGF (EAST NEWARK, NJ) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

24 out of 32 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is definitely a must queue game. I really think that you will either love it or hate it. I for one, loved it (I like this game more than infamous). Besides isn't that why you have gamefly, to save yourself from the 'I bought a bad game' syndrome?

I've seen a lot of complaints about running out of ammo, and yes, ammo is in short supply in this game. Keep in mind though, this isn't a FPS, if you want to shoot stuff up, get COD or something similar. Make sure you rely on your BIONIC arm, not your finite weapons. (TIP: Collect all ammo on that level, hack relay (which causes the game to autosave), die on purpose then collect all the ammo again and continue playing).

I've seen a lot of complaints about not being able to swing like spiderman. Again, this isn't spiderman (he uses two hands to swing). I've never seen spiderman run around with a machine gun.

There isn't a single enemy in this game that you cannot dispatch with using solely your bionic arm. After a while of swinging and getting used to the gameplay mechanics (throw is your friend) you'll be able to run circles around your enemies and even 'COMMANDO' mode is trivial at best.

I've given this game an eight for a few reasons, one is, the loading time, another because it's much too short. I was able to clear commando difficulty in two sit downs, and was able to achieve my platinum trophy on a third normal difficulty run.

Don't let the bad reviews scare you away, give this one a try if you're on the fence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why? Whats wrong with you people?

posted by Sloth1991 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I don't see why there is so much hate for this game. It was great! It can be clunky at first but if you put more than 20 minutes into the game you'll start to really get a hang of it. I started playing this "God awful" game on the multi-player demo, talk about a cold start. That was all hitting the ground running full speed.

The cut scenes in the game were solid and made me really enjoy the game tenfold.

the gameplay was hard at first but if you just quit pointing out all the mess up's and enjoy the game, it really became great, picking up foes and tossing them over a cliff or into a flying robot was just plain fun. I'm guessing that most of you got stuck in the start of the game and freaked out, or didn't play the "how-to" section in the menu. You can take the greatest game ever (Zelda ocrania of time, or wind waker) and ruin it at a hard core rate if you don't know what your doing and or where your going. All you have to do is scream and shout about how he won't spin when you want him or how you have to travel to much and to slowly and it will trash the whole game. Good job, you ruined the greatest game ever.

The graphics in the game were fantastic, and I rest my case.

Now one of the most enjoyable things I liked about the game was the hidden jokes and reference's towards other games. Grin was a great company and it was people that don't know how to play games or care for taking their time to learn one that doomed this company in the first place. Everyone asks for something "New" and more "Interesting in terms of gameplay" yet when you get it, you just yell at it and bash it into the ground.

I rated this game a 9 outta 10 due to the greatness I saw in it as well as trying to push the score higher cuz you guys know nothing about rating a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Simply Horrible

posted by dateshuu (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

3 words will sum this review up quite nicely.

1. Worst
2. Game
3. Ever

I've never played something so infuriating in my entire life, and I've been playing video games every day for the better part of 25 years.

I'd honestly rather pull my old Mattel Intellivision out of the closet, fix the cold solder joint between the motherboard and the cart reader, and play Circus Games all day long than spend one more abyssmal minute with Bionic Commando.

How can Capcom devs sleep at night knowing they ruined such a good IP?

Every bit of this game reeks of last gen. It would have been PS2's killer app... 4 years ago. These days, there's no excuse for producing such an awful game.

Graphics are really good, but that counts for absolutely nothing when the rest of the game is so terrible.

So the numbers are as follows:

Graphics: 8
Control: 4
Fun Factor: -10

Score Average: 0.67

Since gamefly doesn't allow scores that low, I gave it a 1, but I'd like to go on record saying that it doesn't deserve such a high score.

RENT AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ehh, not the worse game ever...

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Jun 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Everyone's views on here seem wrong.
COMPLAINT ONE: THE MOVEMENT. The movement and swing system is exactly how 3D Bionic Commando should be. You have to literally look where you want to grab, and you have to plan out your path. Makes sense, as it's like the original.

COMPLAINT TWO: WEAPONS. The weapons are weak and uneventful, but so where the originals. Again, makes sense.

COMPLAINT THREE: NOT A SANDBOX. The game is very linear, but again, so was the original.

So why do I not like this game... Because what is NOT like the original are the levels, or should I say level, cause that's what this game is, one giant level.

You don't pick your area to land, you don't accomplish a goal, kill a boss and move to something new looking. You get a new toy you can use in a area previous, no, you just repeat the same area over and over, with increasing harder enemies. Sure there's a cave, and factory, but then it's back to the boring streets of Ascension City all over again.

The design the good, the character moves right, but the level system is a failure, way to go Capcom another dud.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One of the worst games ever!

posted by kuromaru (DES PLAINES, IL) Jul 11, 2009

Member since May 2009

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

First off its obvious the developers are just cashing in on a classic big name title. I was a huge fan of the classic NES version of this game so I had high hopes for this one. Unfortunately I was very disappointed. Here is why.

For me the story is 1/3 of the experience. I love a great story. Now I know this isn't a rpg but the game doesn't have to be an RPG to have a great story, look at Resistance its a FPS and it has a great story or another example God of War. This game has one of the dumbest and most boring stories I seen/heard.

Ammo is in very short supply. Unless you are 3 feet from the guy you miss half the time with the exception if you are using a shotgun, sniper rifle or rocket launcher. The combat with the bionic arm isn't nearly half as fun as it could have been. I also understand this isn't a shooter game so when you run out of ammo you can either do the lame bionic arm attacks or the same 3 punches over and over. I love how they ripped off the appearances you use in multiplayer from the spartans in halo. It really shows the developers creativity level.

They could have done a lot better job with the swinging I had more fun swinging around in spider man 2 for ps2 then i did with this game.
Your exploring is restricted more by the radiation then inaccessibility. Its rediculous when i can swing around the whole outside wall but die when i go on the roof because of radiation. Listening to spencer talk to either himself or his boss every 30 secs was annoying.

What is up with advertisements being in the game? NVIDIA and PEPSI are a couple of them. I am not spending money and using up my time playing a video game to see advertisements here.

OH and if you are trying to get all the items and challenges you better get it ALL your first time through, because the ones you get during replay don't save, so if you complete the game with only 50% of the stuff and you want to get the rest well you either have to restart the ENTIRE game or your sol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Soul Crushing Let-down

posted by Dracon2727 (MORGANTOWN, WV) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The worst part about how bad this game turned out is that you can see and feel the potential that was left completely untapped.

The controls are not even close to smooth in any way, shape, or form. The story and cutscenes are half-hearted at best. My personal favorite is the terrible and completely unpredicable bionic arm targeting system. You never know what it's going to pick to grab onto. This leads to regularly getting the claw and cable tangled around multiple objects making completely impossible to do anything but let go and try again.

The weapons targeting on the other hand was pretty decent and the in-game graphics were really spectacular. The environments seemed like they could have been bigger and more interesting, but all in all were acceptable.

It's really too bad that they didn't put the polish and spit-shine into this game, it could have been pretty awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Somewhere between 'meh' and 'ok'

posted by demonbane (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Jan 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'll keep this short and sweet. The game is fun. If you've got nothing else to do, you could do worse than to play this. I played through it, finished it, and had no desire to play it anymore. That's not to say it was bad, it just wasn't great. Once it was over I didn't really feel the need to have any more of it. If you've got nothing in your queue that you're really really really looking forward to, this is a good safe bet to keep you entertained for a day or two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing.

posted by EtherCore (MUSKOGEE, OK) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

As a fan of the original. I expected more out of this game. However, this wound up being one of the worst games I've played this generation.

I had downloaded the remake of the original, which unlocked the original uniform in this next gen version. So, one of the first thigs I did was activate that feature. I was excited as I first saw the hi-res version of this classic character in motion. That is, until I noticed clipping going on with his hair in the first cut scene. C'mon, clipping?! In his hair?! That's terrible.

As if that wasn't bad enough, the game finally gets to the gameplay. Most of the running and gunning is pretty straightforward and intuitive. Until you start to use the Bionic arm to grapple onto ledges and such. The controls are completely wonky here, and the camera is shoddy at best. It's like trying to drive a hundred miles per hour on ice. It sucks. Not to mention the game loads every five minutes, and I'm not exaggerrating. Why have a partial install before you start the game if its just going to load all the time? Have they not heard of background loading?

Last but not least, I get 30 min. into the game and it freezes up on me. My PS3 slim is only a week old, so I know its not a hardware issue. Its strictly the software's fault here. As long as games are in development these days, you'd figure they'd work out some of these bugs. Especially when they're so prevelant. And, apparently it didn't sell well enough to warrant a patch to fix them. Yet, they created a patch for trophy support. Go figure. I recommend you pass on this one. Even if you're a hardcore fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse