Rent BioShock for PS3
view large frontback

BioShock

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.3

8606 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

excellent

posted by xthexcoonxx (MARKSVILLE, LA) Apr 8, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

One of my favorite games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay

posted by meb730 (HENDERSON, CO) Sep 3, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

I played this and beat it to make sure I was not missing something, but I don't get all the hype. The graphics were averaged at best and the story was interesting, but it was hard to hear the audio tapes. Maybe back in 2008 this was impressive, but playing it in 2013 with other developers using the PS3 to it's max I was just not impressed with the visuals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Please wait... now instaling Bioshock FOREVER

posted by SeiferJ (RACINE, WI) Jul 8, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

I don't know if GameFly burned me with this title or totally saved my butt.
Let me preface by saying I was aware this game had long loading times; but it also got Game of the Year when it came out, so it was given it's due patience.
I was expecting bad loading but not this horrible! I found the game unplayable because there was so much in game lag! Whats even worse, EVERY time you load up the game, to start playing it has to install! And I'm not talking about the mandatory updates... I installed version 1.10 & restarted the system. Then after the studio credits ran it "INSTALLS" again "Please wait... now installing Bioshock " while retro advertisements play. (though I don't believe install is the right term for this, loading seems more appropriate). This then takes like 10 minutes minimum! Once you finally get to the start game screen and get playing your frustration and patience have already maxed out. Then the game play lags too! "Game Over Man, Game Over".
Was the game badly coded, scratched, or an old version, or is how every Bioshock is?!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Jun 26, 2013

Member since Sep 2010

I never used to like FPS games but as of late they have really stepped up and made me want to play them. This had some great things in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PLAY UNTIL THE END!

posted by timinator5 (EL DORADO HILLS, CA) Jun 11, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

this game is fun but the story has no beginning and is kinda slow but trust me it takes off and you will know it when it does and any idiot that started playing it and stoped IS AN IDIOT this game is my favorite buit if you dont play to the end you completely ruin the game becasue it all builds up to something thats like going to see a movie like the Dark Knight and leaving half way through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Uhm what.......

posted by Wildchild7328 (DURANGO, CO) May 14, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

BioShock....hhhmmmm how to put it. Well first I'd like to say that I never beat the game, normally I would beat a game like this but, first way to unrealistic for my taste and in addition either I missed something in the story or this has no beginning and personally I really hate story's that have no beginnings even if the beginning is told some where in the middle I really hate it. Without actually beating the game i cant say much else about it but I can say that playing the first hour of it I didn't like it just like you to keep these things in mind if you get it and if you are like me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game of It's Kind

posted by SteelyMcBeam (MARIANNA, PA) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Bioshock's gameplay is great! The only bad things about it is hacking and vending machines. The hacking is incredibly hard without a auto-hack tool and the vending machine prices are way to high. If you don't like close quarters combat don't worry because I don't but it's actually pretty roomy. Unlike most reviews i've read the guns do a lot of damage if you use them right. Finnaly, the storyline is amazing every second from beginning to end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ehh

posted by Tu_tio_flaco (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 20, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

The game is alright i don't understand what all the hype was about its eh.. okay. Well the game play wasn't all that great it was just a mediocre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Exceeded All Expectations

posted by ModernAlchemist (CARLSBAD, CA) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

There are 3 things I look for in a game: consistently engaging setting/narrative, fun gameplay that doesn't feel repetitive, and a great soundtrack that drives it.

In these categories, Bioshock exceeded all of my expectations. The early to mid 20th century jazz perfectly complemented the tormented sunken city. It wove the narrative together with a dynamism you rarely find in any art medium. I gave this game a 10 out of 10, not because it is better than every other game, but because it succeeded at everything it attempted and more.

We all know the drill when it comes to FPS games, but Bioshock gives you a fantastic, new experience that will stay with you long after you complete it.

Welcome to Rapture!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by joker2thend (MONROE, NY) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

this game is awesome it action action action this is the best game i've ever play you should really get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nerve wrecking!!!

posted by sapperdaddy787 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

This game is just full of suspense and insanity. It keeps you hyper vigilant the whole time. Pretty cool story and gameplay. I've never been so paranoid playing any other game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not that impressed

posted by gallagher2201 (SNOHOMISH, WA) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I don't know if it's because I played Borderlands before Bioshock but I simply was not impressed with this game. I know it received rave reviews but I simply couldn't get into it. The gameplay was rough and the graphics weren't that impressive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great game

posted by jasonpm (LILBURN, GA) Sep 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

good game nice grphicss hope bioshock 2 is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game

posted by STi2011 (HINSDALE, MA) Sep 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I wouldn't give it a 10 because it was a bit too repetitive. Great if you like to try and find every little thing, and there a lot of little things to find that are pretty neat and good for the story, which is also very good. Usually in a game of this type there is a fear of getting killed by something, but in this game there isn't a huge dread of it. It's almost too easy because of this since you can die just to reset the bad guys and go back and try again and again. Fighting is good too but a bit too easy with certain weapons and impossible with others. Over all I gave it a 9, but I'm being a bit generous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love it, This game is alot of fun!

posted by cs_ma_mj (BRUNSON, SC) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I love Bioshock, it is very fun! I wish it was longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Gamerdude2021 (CORNELIUS, OR) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Just i have no words to describe how great this game is,The little sisters are creepy but cute not much from my mind is to be said badly about this game.I have always heard things about this game and never got a chance to play it until now,And i'm grateful i did get a chance to play it.I highly sugjest this game to you all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best FPS know to man

posted by SilentHillSF (JANESVILLE, WI) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

this game set the bar the FPS's for years to come....the game's addictive...artistic....and beautifully technically rendered all at the same time.....the amount of freedom or options for your play style are all there and the weapons and plasmids all of them are fun to use and all the enemies are just downright fun to annihilate..especially Big Daddies....Rapture is fun to explore and is just amazingly detailed.....Rapture is so detailed that it could feel real....even though to odds of it existing or ever existing are extremely rare and the story is just awe-struckingly written.....this game is one of the only shooters out there that story is king....absolutely the best thing about the game...no....everything is king is this game......everything in this game comes together in one big fashion and there the right amount of everything and even with no multiplayer......plenty of replay value...just rent of buy this game......NOW!!!!!! MY FAVORITE GAME OF ALL....TIME!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A (HAVE TO PLAY) Game

posted by Bossplayer21 (PLANO, TX) Jul 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This Game Was the game to play, and the storyline was excellent i like how you choose alot on the options like G.O.W (Gears Of War). The game has a pretty big selection of guns, and alot of cool upgrades. The best thing i have to go with though is the Plasmids! The wide awesome selection of Plasmids. The Plasmids are like superpowers on one hand like, Fire, Electric, hands that shoot Fire, and electricity! Theres more Plasmids, but im not a spoiler. This Game Should be played by everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

what are you waiting for? hit the rent button now!

posted by parthornax (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

this is a game that you must play amazing story with great sound effects and you get to be good or evil SO STOP READING THIS REVIEW AND GET THIS GAME RIGHT NOW!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bioshock is atmospheric and overall fantastic.

posted by PSN_Jay_Cash (TOPEKA, KS) Jul 4, 2012

Member since May 2012

If you've somehow avoided playing Bioshock, do yourself a favor and play it. The story is amazing, the characters are well-crafted, and the atmosphere is deliciously dark. It took me a little time to get into it, but once I got the hang of everything, I was completely immersed into it.

For a game that came out about 4 or 5 years ago, it still looks and plays very well. The primary problem with Bioshock is the fact that it ends. It is however a lengthy 10-15 hours to complete the game. It stands out from other shooters due to the awesome powers called Plasmids. Also, it's not completely linear as there are plenty of opportunities to explore levels. More powers and weapons become available as the game progresses, which almost gives it an RPG-like feeling as well.

In short, Bioshock is an incredible game that should not be missed by anyone with an interest in shooters and games with an engrossing story and immersive atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best shooter, period.

posted by gbpiranha (LEXINGTON, KY) Jun 20, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game picks up Modern Warfare 3 and punts it away. This game simply stomps all the competition. Every aspect is flawless from an amazing story to powerful guns, every FPS lover should have this game, if you don't have it you cannot call yourself a gamer, period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

greatest game i have ever played. period.

posted by octuplex (WATERLOO, NY) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

theres a lot of people that throw that title around like it was a frisbee, but i am deadly serious. this is THE greatest game i have EVER played. i have played a LOT of games, too. the graphics style is amazing, the gameplay is amazing, the atmosphere is amazing, the varied environments are amazing, and above all else, the story. is. AMAZING. while not strictly a horror game, it still had me on edge. this is worth your money, and well worth your rental. cant wait for infinite to come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but had some problems

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2004

This is a Fun game to play Involving story and good controls for the Most part. I do have to say I dont enjoy games that give the enemy unlimited ammo and the player is given a very limited supply of the same. Even when you have all the Ammo you can carry you will run out very soon and have to find more either laying around or buy it. Which i had to take a point from the rating because of. I also had a Problem with the way the Hacking was done even with Skills for hacking maxed many of the things to hack were so hard that I would give up because you not only have to place the correct pipes in the right place but before you can do that you have to uncover the pieces and the more pieces you have to uncover the Faster the time goes by That Makes it not fun to do especially when you get damaged for not doing it and once you start you have to continue with it either you succede or you get hurt badly. That also lost points from me which is why i gave the game a 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

too dark to see anything =/= atmospheric

posted by trav23 (GARLAND, TX) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

I did not enjoy what I played of this. It is way too reliant on the 'you can hear the bad guys but can't tell where they are until they jump up in your face so that's creepy, right?' mechanic, and also the 'turn off the lights right before throwing in a hundred bad guys'. You know why I bought the big spiffy tv and why we all paid for the consoles with the beefy new video chips? Because we want to be able to SEE our games. If your primary mechanics are designed to make it so I can't see anything, it gets annoying. Dead space did the same thing, but I made it through that, I guess because there were enough other mechanics at play.

The story seemed like it had potential, and certainly other people like it since there are a bunch of sequels, but it just wasn't what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good.

posted by 0_pos (UTICA, MS) Dec 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

While it is lacking in gameplay some , it by far makes up for it in story, plot, scripted events and cut-scenes. The games weapons and "powers" are a bit cumbersome and take time to adapt to. Making it slightly difficult even on easy-mode. But the story based loosely on Ayn Rand's "Atlas shrugged" written some 50 or so years ago , is killer. It has multiple endings and is pretty fun all-in-all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse