Rent BioShock for PS3
view large frontback

BioShock

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.3

8574 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I'm not one to finish a game but...

posted by Dusigma (Hollywood, FL) Dec 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This was honestly the first PS3 game that I have ever played to fruition. Amazing. The graphics, the sound, the dialogue, the story, the controls, the replay factor, the creepy-noises all make this game worth the hours it respectfully demands. I loved it.

Oh and, not to toot my own humanity-horn, but I did not harvest any Little Sister; like a little old lady with her 90 cats, I saved them all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RENT THIS

posted by shinyfrog (CEDAR PARK, TX) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Bioshock is (in my opinion)One of the BEST GAMES EVER! It plays smooth, the controls are perfect, the story is unique and keeps your attention. This game even has 2 alternate endings. If you like shooters this will Be one of your favorite games too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I rike dis game

posted by l1legend (Mount Prospect, IL) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Game fun good play I rike time when I shoot big monster and little girl and they died. I use little girl to make money and buy cool thing for my guy. It was fun. I think that guy eat girl and use her nutrients to make adam. Now I feel like eating apples. Good night!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bioshock Review

posted by jtomlinii (OCEANSIDE, CA) Nov 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

This game does many things right, but keep in mind that this is not an intense firefight game. This game uses its story to enthrall the player and keep him/her playing the game. The game does have its scare moments, and those moments are the ones you will remember when you are done with the game. Any decision you make will affect the ending one way or the other. There are two endings, but one has two versions. In many ways, this game is amazing, but, in my opinion, it is overhyped. I was expecting more than it gave. The game is pretty linear with branching rooms, but you will end up in the same place every time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bioshock Review

posted by Danson94 (BRAINTREE, MA) Nov 27, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

Let me start off by saying that this game a pure fun. The graphics are so unique and draw you in. Thee game play is smooth and also unique. The game gives you a lot of options on how to customize your weapons and perks which allow you to mess with the enemy in funny gruesome ways. The down side of this game is you'll consistently get lost in the open city of Rapture going back and forth through missions with enemies that seem to respond out of no where. All in all, this is a great game and if you like first person shooters i strongly suggest you buy it. if you are new to First person shooters, rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the most stunning & original game designs

posted by KllrDave (EDGEWATER, NJ) Nov 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

First, the thing that really steals the show is the design and imagery of the environment and its characters. It's like a mash-up of Alice in Wonderland and 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea...on drugs.

A total original and, frankly, I am eager to see what the sequel or rumored prequel brings us.

The gameplay is solid, although, I have had the game freeze up on me a few times, resulting in my undeserved death and eventual restart.

Personally, I don't LOVE the combat, there's nothing particularly wrong with it; just not my cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game 2008?

posted by AlexD164 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

This game can be game of the year. It is just WOW the game play and the story are so great the game was so well made for those who got it on street date they better be happy I know I was. This game is not a dissapointment. It's nto to hard to get threw either. But the story will have twist and turns and you will just never want it to stop.Play it twice to see both endings!

Now the last fight and the endings may not be the best infact the worst part of the game. But who cares? This game is worth the replay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great game

posted by UncleMao (ANN ARBOR, MI) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I rented this game because several sources consider it to be the best game of 2007. That was pretty much all I knew about Bioshock before it arrived in my mailbox.

This review may be a little premature -- I'm only about three levels in -- but so far I'm delighted with it.

It's creepy, gripping, and it sticks with you when you're not playing it.

I especially enjoy the freedom a player has to find unique ways to beat opponents and complete goals. You get a chance to be creative, and you won't find yourself relying on one specific ammo type to beat baddies. Out of grenades? Lure a foe into a puddle and electrocute the SOB. Out of bullets? Hack the turrets into your favor and let them do the shooting. There are lots of ways to succeed here.

The fright factor in this game is way under rated. You never know when the lights may suddenly go out, only to turn back on to unveil a hook-handed slicer standing immediately in front of you, grinning.

The ambiance is spot-on, and the art deco motif is original and authentic.

No game is perfect. Perhaps the combat will get redundant, and the levels are certainly linear, but there are enough little puzzles (including the rewarding hack system) to keep things interesting.

I'm finding this game to be completely enthralling, and I recommend it whole-heartedly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best fps ever

posted by XPhiles (WATERLOO, IA) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

everything u could ever want is in this game, no game is perfect, but this game has it all....i played in on 360 and prefer it on there but its good on ps3 as well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Will you kindly rent this game now.

posted by Mackle (RICHMOND, VA) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Bioshock is easily one of the best games I have ever played. This is the whole package. It's got a great story, an awesome atmosphere, and the gameplay is unique enough that it doesn't come across as just another FPS.

You owe it to yourself to experience Bioshock.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioshock

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This is a must have game for anyone, bioshock has a high replay value. Everything works, bioshock has a good story with a twist at the end. I own this game on xbox 360, I liked it so much, that I had to get a PS3 copy. Top game of the year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sweet Game!

posted by sinceatari (RANDLEMAN, NC) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

Great Shooter/puzzle game. The hacking gets a little old, but otherwise its a great game. Also, the trailor for Bioshock 2 is the a waste of a bonus.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth it for Newcomers

posted by Artist2mt (BRIGHTWATERS, NY) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

If you haven't played Bioshock on the 360 or a PC, this port is definitely worth your time for the story alone. If you've been lucky enough to avoid spoilers for over a year, the atmosphere and story will draw you in unlike any other FPS game in recent memory. The graphics are great, the framerate is consistent, with a minor drop of two here, and the game plays as great as it did on the other systems. Don't miss an opportunity to enjoy a great game!

Oh, and it's more of a rental than a $60 purchase, but that's why you have Gamefly too, right?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Frightening and Creepy.

posted by Idolpop (BURLINGAME, CA) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I'm not a big fan of first person shooters; the balls to the wall, constant mayhem actually bores me to tears. So why do I love this game? Suspense. The lighting and acoustics in this game are genius. The people of Rapture are terrifying; you can see their shadows on the walls lurking around corners, hear them dragging their pipes on the tile. You might not want to play this game right before bed.

The only problem I have with this game - the "big daddies", whom protect the "little sisters", are way to tough to kill...I mean you have to use all of your ammo just to kill one...and I didn't love the controls...

Rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by Ralphie (WALTHAM, ME) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I heard a lot of hype about this game before even playing it and I must admit this game lived up to the hype and more.
This is one of the most interesting and stylish FPS games I have ever played. The art style and coloring is amazing, unlike any other shooter. The story and premise is very interesting.(an underwater utopia free from the trappings of the modern world). The controls are very smooth. The weapon selection is excellent. Plasmids are something truly original to this game. Plasmids modify your DNA so you can shoot fire, ice or any of the other various plasmids straight from your body. You can save at any point by simply accessing the pause menu. The music of this game is very nostalgic and fits the overall theme perfectly. The graphics are very good as well especially the last boss fight.
Overall, If you are a Fan of FPS shooters definitely check this game out. If FPS games are usually not your thing check this game out as well. Bioshock is One of those few games that I can say just blew me away. A definite must rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bioshock PS3 version

posted by jameson79 (VALLEY PARK, MO) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

Set in 1960, your character is whisked away by a curious set of circumstances to an undersea city that has fallen into ruin. You run around this wasteland using weapons and other items you find to fight your way past some very messed up bad guys (and girls). I did not play this game through to the end, have to move on to other things, you know.

The best part of this game for me is the sound. The use of the 1950's era music and voice overs combined with the sound effects and creepy voices of the bad guys makes for a genuinely scary experience. Far more so than I anticipated. The lighting (or lack thereof) adds to this effect as well. This game is truly a creepy experience, a la Silent Hill or Resident Evil.

The overall game play is smooth, but I found the controls a bit clunky during the big fighting scenes. There are several different types of machines in this game, and your character can 'hack' them for use to your advantage. Every hack though, is a rehash of the old Pipe Dream game - which is fun at first but after awhile it tends to get old.

If you like first person shooters and enjoy the Silent Hill and Resident Evil game series Bioshock is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A game worth its weight in gold

posted by twr5270 (SURPRISE, AZ) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

If you are a fan of good games, than Bioshock is one of those games you need to experience. I got all sorts of feedback about this game advising me to try it and thank god I took their advice, because it was definitely worth my time and I would say its worth yours too. I know there are a lot of good games coming out one after the other, but if you don't at least include this one as one of those must try titles, than you are missing out on a big title. Not only is the storyline solid, but so is everything else (e.g. controls, music, dark feel, etc.) There is plenty to say about it, but you need to get your own feel for the game. I will offer you the advice my friends offered me. "Try it for yourself and get your opinion, but you have to try it!" I guarantee, you will be happy with this pick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A success

posted by bioresistt (NECEDAH, WI) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Bioshock for the ps3 is epic. This game is perfect. The story is amazing that will get about 20 hours of play on the hardest difficulty. The graphics are awesome the water is truly almost close to real and the frame rate barely ever dips. The gameplay is absolutely amazing. It is addicting and fun. There is no multiplayer. Overall this is as good and better than the xbox and pc version because the graphics are a bit better. Go out and buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KCUFING AMAZING!!!

posted by Anarchy (MURRIETA, CA) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

i've always wanted to play this game but i dont have an XBOX 360 (or have ever wanted to own one). this game is a great shooter with an amazing story. the game has an eerie feeling to it thats intense sometimes. and to the idiot who called the city of RAPTURE rhapsody go kill yourself becuz you don't deserve to live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What a stunner!!

posted by OscarQ (CUTLER BAY, FL) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Bioshock for the ps3 is one of those games where you get grabbed on so tight and the last thing you wanna do is have to go to school the next day. Once your start playing you are immediatly put in a world that different than any other game setting puts you in. A scary, confusing world. But at the same time is terribly exciting. You dont know whats going to happen next. Bioshock is a 100% thriller. I havent beat the game just yet, though so far i have been immersed by the story. The farther you go, the more you learn and you dont want to stop learning. You are commited to find out whats going on. And along with the sharp grahpics and the interesting variety of weapons you get throughout the game, it all combines into one heck of an accomplishment for 2k. Which are the creators of the game i think. Anyway rent it, beat it. See if its worth keeping and if you judge so, do so. Have fun Game flyers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Bio Shock

posted by MrWillz (CLAYSBURG, PA) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Bio shock,
games was fun but not for younger audience. It creeps my wife out and what was up with the crates of bibles and smugglers being hung up crucified (not necessary)and Might offend Christian gamers
(like me).

Lil sister are freakish and pos a morale dilemma for players.

Game seems to be a bit limited no multi-player or online but one positive is trophies galore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Still Amazing!

posted by ArtemisCly (TERRE HAUTE, IN) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I got this and Dead Space at the same time, I was really excited about Dead Space but I can't stop playing Bioshock. What an absolutely great game. This is probably within the top 10 games I have ever played. Way creepier than people give it credit for as well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

its ok

posted by ktogg77 (CULPEPER, VA) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2004

i think the game is ok , the graphic are some of the best i every seen but compare to metal gear and call of duty 4 its just another first person game. i was kindy of bored with it after about an hour or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse