Rent BioShock for PS3
view large frontback

BioShock

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.3

8615 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

loved it.good puzzles.needs replayability.

posted by madeline (SUTTON, WV) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

i wanted to keep my powers and weapons with me onto the next levels of replay and the next time around, the end is just the end, whats up with that.. good imagination in creation of the world, "i" needed to hold more ammo,money and power,and the ability to keep going.if there is no replay-ability why pay money just for them to take your hard earned powers away.wheres part two? i hope it ends better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

"Bubbles" with a Capital Mr. B

posted by Gf1fr3ak (MIDLAND CITY, AL) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This has to be up there with one of the best single person games out there in my opinion. I could not get enough, I found it hard to put down untill I had completed it. Trophies galore, weapons galore, and special abilities that are out of this world stunning, all with upgrades that will just blow you away. Oh and not to mention the story line, Loved it! don't want to say to much for spoiler purposes to those who have not played it. Let's put it this way, It left me wanting more, I am looking so forward to Bioshock 2. I'm no expert at game ratings, but I would give this a 9.8 out of 10. Just my opinion, and I hope everyone else that plays this game enjoys it as much as I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

what i like about bioshock

posted by chase60713 (IRVING, TX) Mar 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

bioshock is a good action thriller this is not a game for people who get scared easyly also i like it because it has reily good grafix

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!!

posted by UdipShres (ARLINGTON, TX) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

This game is totally different than any other first person shooter. I love games like Resistance and Call of duty so I rented this one too, but it is totally different than other First person shooter games. This game totally rocks and developers has used their imagination very well in this game. I would recommend all FPS lovers to try this game at least once. I can't wait for Bioshock 2 to be released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PLAY THIS GAME!!!!

posted by jco333 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

All i have to say is play the game anyone who dosent think it has potiential you are a huge hater-play the game-then play the NEW bioshock: SEA OF DREAMS!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Perfect Game

posted by jsnmckl (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I am 32, and have been playing video games since 1982- this is the best game of all time. I have played it through 5 times, and the PS3 add-ons make replay value even better. Perfect hybrid 1st person & RPG with an eerie art-deco backdrop & complex storyline. Upgradeable weapons, hackable machinery & intense gameplay. Can't wait for the sequel & movie. A+!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!

posted by mgsfan10 (PEORIA, AZ) Feb 22, 2009

Member since May 2008

This game was awesome. It was also good because you constantly looked behind your back because you heard noises or saw shadows. You were always looking for ammo or health kits too. I think this game deserves a 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

bio-shocked

posted by sonsjon (ELIZABETH CITY, NC) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

this game is actually better than i had though that it would be. i assumed (wrongly) that this was just a port of an xbox worshippers dream. it turns out that this game is as good as any game of this style that i have played. it is unique and creative in story, and while it is zombie-esque and macabre, it isn't unnecessarily gruesome, and it certainly had the potential to be. i am about to play it again and do things in an opposite fashion to see the alternate outcome.

the bottom line is, play this game, borrow a system if you must, but play it. this will be a game by which others of this genre and style will be compared and measured.
i can't wait for bioshock 2.
i never thought i would say that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

another crate of gold

posted by hazzard (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

A must have in your playstation collection. This game deserves to sit next to gta4, uncharted & lots more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!

posted by concem01 (LEESBURG, VA) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

The game is very exciting to play. However, there were instances where frame rate lags due to the explosions and the action at hand. Other than that, it's an awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely one of the best games EVER.

posted by mikeTV (MEMPHIS, NY) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I am an avid gamer and I will put this up in the ranks of best game I've ever had the privilege to play. 007 GoldenEye, Mario World, Zelda, God of War and now BioShock. You can't go wrong with this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Easily my favorite game of 2008.

posted by cottleb (ELLINGTON, CT) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2005

Bioshock. Heck, was it great. The shooting was good.. it's pretty hard to mess up shooting. The game shines in it's creativity though. The plasmids added a new dimension of game play. Lay a trap and knock an enemy into the air. Or, lay that trap and knock him into trip wires, or mines or rockets. Everything could be used as a weapon and plasmids and weapons and tonics could be combined to create very different kinds of attacks. The Big Daddies were also a big plus for this game. The lumbering peaceful giants you had to destroy to survive. The adrenaline rush (Especially on survivor mode. Heheh.)you get from downing one of the beasts was fantastic. I gave this game a 9 only because if you so choose to participate in Survivor mode, well.. the difficulty is EXTREME. I felt like this could detract for some players who don't like such an intense gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioshock

posted by KYChief (HENDERSON, KY) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

well i have a HDTV so that may change the graphics, the story is kinda boring but this game is fun to play. i turn up my surround sound up and BOOM!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WHAT A GAME!

posted by Karim33 (PENSACOLA, FL) Jan 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Let me just start off by saying wow! This game was great; it was the best game I have played in a long time. From start to finish I was hooked. You have to get this game I can’t wait to play Bioshock 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good not Great

posted by MDC314 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

Short and to the point. Great concept, poorly executed. I am not the worlds greatest shooter player, but this game could be much better with less delay from the controls and a bit better camera angle. It takes too long to switch from plasmid to gun. I felt like I was 3 feet tall the entire time I was playing the game. The city is so cool but you don't really feel like you get to see much of it because you are at ground level the whole time. The tubes are really cool but there are very few of them. I liked it, but I guess I like 3 person shooters like Dead Space better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A True First Person SHOCK!!!!

posted by PRFAN1013 (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

As a gamer that is only interested in just certain genres (RPG'S, Horror, Action Adventure, Etc...), Shooters have never been appealing to me. I played Bioshock in its debut release on the Xbox 360 just for an hour or two... I was immediately Hooked. The story, graphics, design, interface, music... EVERYTHING about this game crawls under your skin and just keeps you engage. I finally played it on PS3 and my review seems justified. This IS clearly one of the best games ever created. I seriously cant wait for 2K's next under the sea adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bioshock Review

posted by kidhero99 (LAUDERDALE LAKES, FL) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

It's tough to review a game like BioShock simply because its been in production for so long (the game was first revealed way back in 2004) and heavily hyped as the greatest thing since sliced bread from the very beginning. There are always going to be some people who complain when they see a positive review of such a product. "Oh sure," they might exclaim, "they were so pumped to finally play the final game that any flaws are glossed over." However, in this case the hype is indeed justified. While it is not perfect, 2K Boston/Australia's (formerly Irrational Games) latest release is their best game they have developed and since this is the same team that created terrific Game of the Year titles like System Shock 2 and the Freedom Force titles, that's saying something.

The credit to how good BioShock is has to be put on Ken Levine, the creative director for the dev studio. Levine' main talent is knowing that gameplay design and graphics have to be great but that storyline, characters and originality also have to come into play. So many games are released that are well made but are basically just updates to previous games we have played before. BioShock is unlike any game ever released from a major company. It's a first person shooter, but it melds in elements of role playing and adventure games so well that people who don't care for those genres won't realize it. They will just know that BioShock is an entertaining game to play from start to finish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bioshock is shockingly fun

posted by blazer8487 (JONESTOWN, PA) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

bioshock. what can i say. depending on your preferences you will either love this game or you will hate it. its a first person shooter.....sorta. you can enhance your character to your liking, you can pickup and upgrade many weapons. the hacking games get old quick but are plentiful. the big daddies are tough as heck and every confrontation with them is tense. the graphics are what you'd expect for a next gen system. plus on ps3 we get all the downloadable content on the disc for free. the game will take you about 12 hours to beat if you take your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Deserved Game of the year award

posted by Stanfo (CHESTNUT HILL, MA) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Bioshock has really deserved game of the year. It has a great story to go with the violence. The action is really great on this. You might get lost on some arts but still a really good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really cool shooter but kinda creepy

posted by dbp2005 (GREENACRES, FL) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

I had no idea what this game was about before I started playing. The story was really interesting and was cool how it unfolds as you play through the game. I haven't really been into shooters too much lately but it was cool with the use of plasmids. The only thing was that it creeped me out that the people were like old-fashioned but sick and twisted because of what happened to them. Trying not to give anything away, but it kinda kept me on the edge whenever I went into a new room cuz I didn't know what was coming next. I think my favorite part was the final boss fight, even though it was kinda easy it was pretty cool. I was surprised to see the teaser trailer for Bioshock 2 after I beat the game too. I kinda can't wait for that to come out now. Definitely check this game out, it's interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I was stunned after playing this

posted by Arthaltank (POINT OF ROCKS, MD) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Just get it
---------------------- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
The Good
everything.
this game has almost everything in it. you walk in a room and say "how can i kill all these things". it basically makes it so whatever you can think up you can do. you wanna set trip wires go for it. hack turrets and cameras...go for it. set somebody on fire, then once they run into water electrocute them...go for it. it even has waltz of the flowers playing in the background while in one of the weirdest parts(my favorite part of the whole game).
---------------------- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
The bad
it ended.
---------------------- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
i recommend this game to all people with a creative personality. if you just go in guns a blazing its still good, but what is the fun in that when you can set up elaborate traps

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Spirit John Galt Lives On

posted by BestJaxx (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

Bioshock is in my top ten games ever list. It is one of few games that I think everybody should play in his life. The combat is very well balanced, the pacing is near perfect, and the game really immerses you and makes you feel like part of the story, but where Bioshock earns the ten is in the narration.

Allow me to quote a few lines from Bioshock's narration.

"The parasite hates three things: free markets, free will and free men."

"Altruism is the root of all wickedness."

"We must have standards! Even in troubled times!"

"If you can't come in from the cold, then you gotta grow ice over your heart."

"With genetic modifications, beauty is no longer a goal, or even a virtue. It is a moral obligation. Do we force the healthy to live with the contagious? Do we mix the criminal with the law-abiding? Then why are the plain allowed to mingle with the fair?"

The game forces you to think. I don't necessarily agree with those statements, and neither do the developers. The thought and atmosphere borrows greatly from Ayn Rand's novel, Atlas Shrugged. The view points are controversial, and possibly crazy, but they force you to think. Bioshock is the greatest anyone could ever come to recreating that atmosphere, and that is what sets it aside from everyone else.

If you just want to be entertained, Bioshock is great. It is fun all the way to the end and the story sucks you in. If you are looking for art in the media of video games then you have no reason not to buy Bioshock. Let's be honest, you don't really have many choices to begin with, and when Bioshock delivers so well it deserves nothing less than a day on the calendar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Welcome to Rapture....

posted by pyseas (BUENA PARK, CA) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

First off let me say I loathe FPS's (first person shooters for those of you not in the know), but yet there was something about Bioshock that not only drew me in, but also kept me playing. The game essentially starts you off stranded in the ocean, near the entrance to the underwater city known as Rapture...Rapture is an utopian society that is everything but, well, utopian....Set in a pseudo-alternate-quasi reality of the 1960's Bioshock ventures into the realm of what if all those crazy futuristic predictions came true (hence the underwater city)...Upon entering the city, and gathering your bearings you'll be introduce to Andrew Ryan the city's founder, and Atlas, Ryan's nemesis and your guide via radio....Along the way you'll meet all sort of colorful characters like the former inhabitants of Rapture (horrifically evolved), Big Daddies, and Little Sisters....You'll learn what brought the city to it's knees, and in doing so delve into the deeper combat system by utilizing mutagens to develop extraordinary abilities like pyrokinesis (my personal favorite), and manipulate the environment to your advantage....The game also introduces a number of guns, ammo, and the unavoidable curing items that can be purchased from vending machines you can hack to lower the price, or expand the inventory....The true star of the game however is the engrossing story, that continues to unfold throughout the game, and I hope your in for the long haul because it's a lengthy one at that....Keep in mind too that you'll want to play through more than once to see the multiple branches the game has to offer....Overall I can't recommend the game more, it is definitely one of my top ten if not the best game I've played in 08!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bioshock!

posted by Roligamerx (BUCKEYE, AZ) Dec 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

I beat this game in two days. thats how long i had it for. but i would have to say i beat it in 10-12 hours. it was a little short except for the last two missions.i just wish it was a little longer.the graphics and gameplay were really good.Bioshock is a fun game.kinda like a rpg shooter almost adventure. it was a fun game. but like i said the only bad part not as long as i wished. but if anyone is considering on getting this game they should. it is a good game =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow!! A fun game to play!

posted by QB9411 (CANOGA PARK, CA) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Wow, this game rocks!! I’m almost 3/4 done with the game and I am so sorry it’s about to end. I’m trying to forestall the end by going thru every room, every nook and cranny that I still have not discovered in Rapture (where the story takes place).

I’ve become addicted to this game and really recommend it to anyone who wants to play a challenging, visually appealing game.

It’s also a coincidence that I’m currently reading Ayn Rand’s “Atlas Shrugged” which is what the game is mostly based on. This was not intentional.

I wanted to read the book because in college I had a crush on this cute girl who keeps asking me: “Who is John Galt?” I guess I’ll find out after reading this book :-)

This game is amazing!! I’m actually thinking of buying it from Gamefly after playing it so I can play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse