Rent BioShock for PS3
view large frontback

BioShock

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.3

8597 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's OK

posted by Monster0 (LISBON, NH) Oct 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I hadn't played Bioshock until it reached my mailbox late last month. I was excited to finally start playing the game a lot of people have raved and raved about. The intro installation screen got me even more excited, I really liked the music and the faux 1950s advertisement posters that cycled across my screen as the game installed.

After that I loaded up a new game, figured out that I WASN'T supposed to sit on the island and wait for rescue, that I was SUPPOSED to enter the creepy looking phallic symbol and enter a pod thing that obviously only went down. The first splicer that tore someone in half right in front of my eyes really added to the scariness. I was really into it at that point.

Unfortunately for me, it went downhill from there. Some random jerk started barking orders at me, who is this guy and why do I have to rescue his famiy? I just survived a FRICKEN PLANE CRASH, all I want is my iPod back. Then there's the splicers. The splicers could be heard WAY before they could be seen, half the time I was taking damage at my back before I realized they were close enough to do damage. Oh, and there's tons of them, they never go away no matter how many times I whack their friends with that pipewrench.

I didn't understand the magic powers. Why should I have to equip my magic powers or my weapons before using them? That extra button push to equip one or the other really got on my nerves.

Environments that were too dark, being forced to search dead bodies or pay at vending machines for ammunition, and a convoluted and lame plot (Adam and Eve, I get it, it's not clever) just added to my frustration with this game.

It was a little scary and the hacking mini game was fun, so it wasn't all bad.

I took the game out of my PS3 over a week ago, hoping that maybe after a little bit of time there would be SOMETHING to persuade me to put the disc back in, I've had no such luck and it goes back in the mail tomorrow and Bioshock 2 will disappear from my GameQ.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bioshock

posted by clintoux (WILSON, NC) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Stumble fumble over your action buttons (DEAD!)Back to the begining.Stumble fumble OH NO ot of ammo.... DEAD.... back to the begining!Alot of getting nowhere fast in the game!But if you like alot of gore in your titles this is your game.Although the story line is can't be beat!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Massively overrated.

posted by uomoprimo (PATERSON, NJ) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

7 out of 25 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

This is an occasionally cute FPS with some nice design, and a story pulled straight out of an Ayn Rand novel gone nightmare.

However, based on the absurd amount of yapping about its brilliance, I expected much more and received little on that end.

Redundant play with some fun/horror house moments, but I don't really need a Bioshock 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not all X-Play hyped it up to be.

posted by October30 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Good game with beautiful graphics, but not my cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Awesome Environment.

posted by Comedian (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 2, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I just finished the game, and it has some of the best environments you'll ever see. Very detailed and cool. It takes place in an underwater city, with art-decco architecture. However, in every corner there's deranged "people" screaming and talking to themselves. That's where the story begins. What makes this game worth playing is the story. You get 4 settings of difficulty to choose. The easiest setting ain't that easy, which is a good thing. Survivor setting will have you emptying your weapons and not doing much damage. Your choice. I'm sure survivor setting is a lot of fun, but I didn't want to spend a whole lot of time.
It has an incredible artificial intelligence. The characters move and act so close to a human.
There's many deranged screams and blood everywhere.
Its extremely violent.
I had to turn off the dialoge most of the time as to not freak out the kids in the house.
Overall its a good game, though violent and scary. Actually, very violent and scary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better then 360 if you have the tv to push it

posted by BlooDleter (OCALA, FL) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

this game looks amazing better lighting better texture frame rate super smooth runs native 1920x1080 unlike the 360 version wish i used to have 1280x720 up converted to 1080p just like every craa ppp box 3 shiiii ty game thank you this game is sick and sony guys make sure you rate this a 10 cause the poor poor 360 hummm pers cant have the new improved version so there going to craaa p on this one even know its higher version of the one that was on xbox360 you have 9 processors at 3.8 gigs each then you have 3 processors at 3.2 gigs each you do the math that why they call it xbox360 3 processors

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but nothing special

posted by GoldGlove2 (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

I think the plot and abilities are what make this game, not necessarily the gameplay. This really is another FPS, and if you're playing for the fun of the gameplay, then go buy Call of Duty 4. Otherwise, this is very well done on graphics and sound, and the world of Rapture is very unique and creepy in it's own way. I did find that you can get a little lost and turned around easy and most areas are narrow corridors. There is room for customization, especially when it comes to sacraficing or saving the little sisters.

Other than that, the game is good, but not good enough for me to play all the way through it. Maybe xbox players loved it because they didn't have as many good games available to them, I don't know, but I don't get what the big buzz is.

It's worth a rental, but not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Waste of my time!!

posted by wordwithin (MCHENRY, MD) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

what the title says and the only really good thing about the game was the visuals..the gameplay was "go and get this and then do this would you kindly" stuff. Voice overs were boring...you could barely hear what they were saying over the radio and tapes scattered through-out...and i wasn't going to sacrifice the sound level of the special effects to hear almost non-errelevant sob-stories of long-dead insane victims of the splicers...enemies got old after a while and the option of being able to pick a difficulty level at any time in the game was stupid because i just ended up putting it on easy and the game became even more worthless...they should just make games with built in difficulties so that every player will be playing at the same level and it won't feel like it's cheating your time, or possibly vary the difficulty through-out the game depending on your actions with corresponding enemy actions...seriously...med- ium was much harder than easy and i mean much when i say it! the boss battle at the end was the only worthy of note battle...good animations there...the story and idea of a city underwater was genius but i'd liked to have explored outside the city at certain points maybe with underwater breathing suit or apparatus. certain effects like sudden black-outs and fast-spreading poison gas were great scare-tactics!! liked to have seen more of them. the ending cinematic was cheap, what was it like one minute of really good animation like they couldn't fit anymore on the disc or something! It made the whole preceding story fall to pieces!!! Amateur, i must say! They should have thought about the player a little bit more! We've seen games that top this quality, don't say that this game is phenomenal, because it's not. It's only the same ol' same old thing and i said it that way for a reason. So go ahead and enjoy the same ol' same old game for the hundred time already! The graphics and location are really the only things that shine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by illMATIC (LA MIRADA, CA) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game was really boring, after the first 2 levels i was begging the game to say " the end", game got extremely repetitive and guns became old, the wrench is what is normally used, why? because the guns do no damage and the guns kick alot, so all in all i hated this game, looked promising, the wait was not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bioshock

posted by lpcrierie (DUNKIRK, MD) Jun 18, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I got excited to play this game when I got it in the mail.
It looked very fun and interesting, but guess what?
I was wrong.

Even though it has a very good story and concept behind all the bad stuff, I just couldn't get over how unfair the combat was, and how there was no penalty for dying except the fact that you have to walk back an extra minute away.
No blocking in combat? Couldn't get over that.

+ Very interesting concepts
+ Nice attention-gripping storyline
+ Cool effects and powers
+ Large variety of weapons/tools/powers
+ Gets a bit scary at times; makes a great horror game.

- Combat is obnoxiously lousy
- There is no 'block' button to defend yourself
- No penalty of death
- Gets very frustrating
- Extremely long installation process before you even play.

Overall Rating: 3/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

MEH

posted by Gkopp86 (SPRINGFIELD, OH) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game had a GREAT idea...but the combat and mechanics felt pathetic and tackey. I really couldn't get past the terrible game play. As bad as I wanted to follow the story, I couldn't get into it. Combat was HORRIBLE. Everyone claimed it was revolutionary how you could fire guns or use spells, and things you can do with that combo was unlimited.. There was nothing ground breaking about this at all. I guess those people had never played any of the Darkforces games.

To me. This game was a real big fail in the game play department.
BUT I will give it some credit for the story. I wish I could have suffered through the game so I could know the ending.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not What I Thought

posted by sturgill90 (PENNINGTON GAP, VA) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

After reading all the great reviews that this game got, I was pumped to get it in. I played it for a few hours and just got sick of it. The whole game really doesn't make any sense. I am sure it might have got clearer if I had played it longer, but I just couldn't. I was confused as to what was going on, I never got why all the people in the game were mad at me, and I hate games where you have to run all over creation looking for hidden things and you have no clue where to get them or which way to go and this game is like that.

The game makes you feel like your in some kind of sixties horror movie gone bad. I wasn't impressed at all. I guess this game has a love/hate relationship with gamers and I am sorry to say that I was on the hate end of this one. This might be great for some people, but it didn't do it for me. Sorry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too high of an expectation

posted by Spoofen (RIDGEFIELD, NJ) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Well I played the game halfway through and found that the game was redundant. The hoards of mutilated thugs got kind of boring. In terms of graphics I'm not sure what all the hoopla was about but I found it was actually kind of sub par compared to other games for the PS3, games like: resistance 2 and Metal Gear were much better.

The game art design is unique but game play was boring.

There are religious undertones which may be offensive to Christians, but it may just be the context of the storyline - "What happens when man turns away from God and plays God," in this respect the game appears to accurately depict the nightmare that unfolds. Although, when this point is verbalized and slide shows repeatedly it is easily translated into mockery.

If you are a PS3 owner I suggest a "pass" there are other games offered on this system that I would rather rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!

posted by infamous4 (TEMECULA, CA) Oct 26, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game gives you like no guns whatsoever. And this game IS NOT SCARY. I dont think your enemies know whats going on I mean like your right next to them and ''scavaging'' the dead body. Also your powers do NOTHING. The most dumb thing about this game is that your guns dont do any damage. And sometimes your objectives are senseless for example...........Go to the place on the other side of the world to get this power ''Telkenises'', to find an enemy hope they have any grenades, so they can throw one at you,pick it up with your telekieses and throw it at the debris. Overall WORST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I'm in the minority, but I didn't like it.

posted by JGrizzle (ZEBULON, NC) Aug 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game is exceptionally well-made, and most gamers will thoroughly enjoy it. My problem with it is just that I have never been a fan of the half-eaten, disease-riddled zombie corpses jumping out of the dark and then exploding in a burst of gore when you kill them. I never liked the old Resident Evil games (although the new one was excellent on PS3) or anything like that. This is my personal bias, and I know that this doesn't bother most of the people who will play Bioshock.

On another note, the searching for items and hacking functions become VERY tedious very quickly. The controls could have been a lot easier, too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dark, gloomy, and lame. BioSHOCK?!

posted by JustSizzle (CLIFTON, NJ) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

Bioshock, Bioshock, Bioshock.... blah blah blah

Let me tell you something, this game is a bunch of jive. I don't see what everyone else is yammering about. The graphics are okay at best. There is no vast landscapes in-game, no beautiful scenic views except maybe in the very beginning, but for the most part, travel is restricted to meaningless hallways to rooms to doors (that have delayed opening to make you think that's not the way for you) and they are all dark in a creepy way.

I will however give the artistic style a thumbs up however. The enemies are original and greatly detailed, and very very VERY annoying might I add. They love to hit you in the back of the head don't they:)

The story was average and below that if I can give my point. It tells of a city and a man surviving. I couldn't understand it. Plus the man muttering and whisper things to you was pointless because not only is it difficult to hear him but why doesn't he come down and help you. Idk, but it was confusing to say the least.

Anyways if you have a PS3 pass this dark game up for something like Resistance2, or even Killzone2 if your a shooter fan. Man even Conan was more fun and less aggravating:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Extremely Overrated

posted by BumpnFD (METHUEN, MA) Dec 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

I guess I bought into all the hype surrounding this game. When it arrived I was anxious to play it. Well I only got to play for two nights because that's how long it took me to beat it. That didn't annoy me that much because not many people will stay up all night to put in some serious gaming hours. The story was meh at best but the most aggravating part of this game was the scarcity of ammo....seriously its so unbelievably annoying. Anyway this game is worth a rent at most and not a buy...I am glad I passed this game up when I saw it at the store...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not knocking the mechanics, but...

posted by DirtHerder (TAMPA, FL) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 24 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I could never get over the settings. The arrogance of the writers to corrupt Any Rand's ideas by inserting some fictional goo that has instantly reduce such a place into a madmens' asylum. It's a bitter taste that has prevented me from plunging far into this game.

Just a side note on the two characters you've seen on the cover, where the mechanize creature is there to protect the child. Why does the writer demand you to destroy it in the first place? Is that child a slave to the whims of the monster? Are you there to 'free' her from it? System Shock was by far the better work by this group.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

all show

posted by RageInDeat (SYLACAUGA, AL) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 16 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

i wanted to like this game,i listened to all the rave reviews,and i was very excited when it finally got ported to ps3,i put the game in and i was amazed,i loved it,two hours later though i realized just how repetitive it was kill the same looking enemies over and over,go find something for someone,get the door open repeat cycle,and i had high hopes for the big daddy fights,everyone was saying how hardcore they were,they are simple to beat,and they do the same stuff over and over,the bosses on contra for the nes were better,i was let down,i sent it back the next day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I Just Do Not Get It

posted by Bl4ck3n3d (ARMAGH, PA) May 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I rented this because of all of the rave reviews of it and I just don't see it. The gun play is average and the item system is better in Fallout 3. I've been told the story is what it is about in this game but, I got very little from it as the audio tapes were so muffled that at the loudest volume I barely understood what they said. It is innovative and worth a rental if you are bored with stock FPS games because of that but, overall I was not impressed with this game and returned it much sooner than I thought I would.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

pff

posted by SweetGame (BROOKLYN, NY) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

I have to admit that I expected alot more from this game. I have always felt that you dont need top level cutting edge graphics to make a good game, what you do need however is a good storyline! I mean wow, youre on a plane and the plane crashes, and you just randomly walk up on shore and take a transport to the bottom of the ocean. Thats the whole opening! I mean, who would do that! There is no real supporting cast, no real interaction between two people that is intelligent, no real cut scenes, the game just goes on and on and on. It's very repetitave and gets old fast, in fact the only redeaming quality in my opinion is the graphics, but like I said, Graphics are not everything. Hack this safe, hack this machine, hack this turrent, hack this door, over and over and over. Now don't get me wrong, if you loved this game great, this is just how I felt about it. I just don't get all the hype, I love F.P.S. like call of duty, dead space, and so on. but in Bioshock you don't even know why you are there at the bottom of the ocean.

Also the music sucks and load time takes forever. Game is boring. Get confused alot. dont know where to go. Seen better graphics. Kill big daddy and steal his daughter and eat her heart to get adam points. Game has too much in it to be good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dissapointed

posted by aumndragon (FLORENCE, MA) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

I have to admit that I expected alot more from this game. I have always felt that you dont need top level cutting edge graphics to make a good game, what you do need however is a good storyline! I mean wow, youre on a plane and the plane crashes, and you just randomly walk up on shore and take a transport to the bottom of the ocean. Thats the whole opening! I mean, who would do that! There is no real supporting cast, no real interaction between two people that is intelligent, no real cut scenes, the game just goes on and on and on. It's very repetitave and gets old fast, in fact the only redeaming quality in my opinion is the graphics, but like I said, Graphics are not everything. Hack this safe, hack this machine, hack this turrent, hack this door, over and over and over. Now don't get me wrong, if you loved this game great, this is just how I felt about it. I just don't get all the hype, I love F.P.S. like call of duty, dead space, and so on. but in Bioshock you don't even know why you are there at the bottom of the ocean.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Epic Disapointment

posted by DeltaT (ROBERTSDALE, AL) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

This game was an epic disapointment, in my opinion it resembeled a realy sucky PS1 Horror action game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

excellent

posted by xthexcoonxx (MARKSVILLE, LA) Apr 8, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

One of my favorite games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay

posted by meb730 (HENDERSON, CO) Sep 3, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

I played this and beat it to make sure I was not missing something, but I don't get all the hype. The graphics were averaged at best and the story was interesting, but it was hard to hear the audio tapes. Maybe back in 2008 this was impressive, but playing it in 2013 with other developers using the PS3 to it's max I was just not impressed with the visuals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse