Rent BioShock for PS3
view large frontback

BioShock

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.3

8574 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME THIS YEAR (so far)

posted by Frequency7 (GILLESPIE, IL) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The best Game THIS YEAR so far this game is so awsome can't wait till second one comes out loved this game so much gave it to all my friends for birthdays. THIS GAME IS ASWOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A must have for any system.

posted by hangman806 (BRONX, NY) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Whether or not you are a 360 fan or PS3 fan [raises hand] this game is grade A video game. The story line is great and unpredictable enough (unless you read the hidden trophies list) to keep you beating Slicers and Big Daddies till you finish.

What I liked the most about this game was they really did put their minds to work during the development. The characters are great first of all. (Cohen FTW!!) The feel to the game is also equally comparable. The way they balanced the game being ominous and retro without making it cheesy is art.

All I can really say is, I can only imagine what BIOSHOCK 2 will be like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!!!

posted by Kaotik1 (TEMECULA, CA) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Have played alot of shooters and this is prolly the best Ive played in awhile. Awesome story! Phenominal grafics and gameplay! I bought this game it was so good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by bshannon (SOUTH GLENS FALLS, NY) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved playing this game... My laptop couldn't keep up with the PC version of this game, but it's no match for the PS3. The environment is beautiful and intriguing, a wonderful art-deco themed underwater city that is so unbelievably detailed it leaves you breathless.

I'm pretty good at shooters, so I usually pick "hard" difficulty level right away, but I had to kick it down after about an hours worth of playing.

There are two different endings, so it's worth playing at least twice.

My only complaints are that the controls were a bit difficult to get used to, and it's easy to spend your currency on "plasmids" (genetic upgrades) that are a waste of $, and you don't know it until later on. (there are 100s of ways to upgrade your powers in the game). It'd nice if there were more of a variety of enemies (or at least different voices) They are freaky and disturbing, but get old on you quickly.

This game was well worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Action, Adventure, Shooter and RPG. AWESOME! A++

posted by NWDigit (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Bioshock was AWESOME on the Xbox 360, I played through the game 3 times. Even when I had new games to play, I would find myself lured back into Rhapsody! I've played the PS3 Bioshock demo... i've been waiting for Gamefly to send me the full PS3 game...(even though I'm on a three game plan I've been waiting for a couple weeks for any 3rd game to arrive ... grrr) BIOSHOCK: Visually awesome, incredible story line and so many things to do. From the very beginning of the game I was amazed at the graphics. I showed several of my friends the opening and each one of the without exception were amazed when I had to tell them it was time to play, it wasn't the cut scene anymore. If your like me, you'll love exploring around Rhapsody looking for new items, powers and weapons. (and using them to take care of all the nasties looking to kill you) Other people who don't enjoy that as much can play through the game like a shooter. They even give you choices during the game that changes the ending depending on what you do. There are different difficulty settings so you can play where your comfortable. BIOSHOCK has become my all time favorite game. I will gladly buy it and play it all over again on the PS3. I recommend this game to everyone who enjoys a great story line, lots of weapons and powers to choose from, fun game play, awesome visuals plus interesting powers and weapons to use. I can't say enough about this action/adventure, shooter and RPG mixed all in one. GO GET IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!!!

posted by JGiachetti (LEXINGTON, TN) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is a Must Play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You're the Fishy in the Bowl Now

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Jul 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

INCREDIBLE graphics, AMAZING gameplay, and UNIQUE weapons. The upgrades for the weapons help me a lot and the weapons are sweet. Freeze then burn. Burn then freeze. It has a great story actually unbelievable. Buy this game. Or Big Daddy will come for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worthy of Praise

posted by tackett (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

They really took their sweet time porting this to PS3, and I really didn't think I'd ever bother to play it. I thought:"What can they really do with an abandoned underwater city? Pleh." Take Two humbled me big time.

FREAKIN' AWESOME! I stumbled around at work because I played when I should have been sleeping. I skipped meals. I crossed my legs for an hour because I didn't want to stop long enough to go! Yeah, it's that good. I can't wait for Ocean of Dreams.

The story itself has a rich, colorful plot. I really enjoyed the delivery through the medium of "Atlas" through a two-way radio you carry around. Every time you have to choose whether to Rescue or Harvest a Little Sister, you really think about it! Take Two shows genuine gratitude through the eyes and tinkley voice of every one that you Rescue.

The enemies get a little redundant, but it's easily forgivable. The various methods of whacking splicers keeps it fresh enough. Just don't let yourself get bogged down to only using the pistol, shotgun, and Electroshock plasmid.

Speaking of plasmids, here are a couple of tips:
-Best Plasmids: Electroshock, Telekenesis, Frozen whatever-it-was-I-don't-remember-but-it-rocked

-Worst: Hypnotize Big Daddy, Some-windy-garbage-that-stinks, Insect Swarm.

Get lost in Rapture. You'll enjoy the trip.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by HappClown (LONE GROVE, OK) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome but you have to have alot and i mean alot of patience
and i love the ending very nice i give it a 10 all around!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game would not load

posted by Mdot1988 (TRENTON, NJ) May 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I can't even give Bioshock the rating that it deserves, once It installed to my system and got to the title screen, It started to install again, and once again it wouldn't load. It stayed on that load screen for about a half hour to a whole hour, so I tried it again and it still did the same thing over. I sent it back, I was frustrated. A note to gamefly: If your going to have games that don't work please dont send them to people, I know it's not you guys fault, but at least try to make a effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Amazing!

posted by TheEnigma (BAYSHORE, NY) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I hardly ever say a game has truly amazed me. I never really write reviews for any game but obviously Bioshock has forced me to do both...in a good way. I know what you're thinking when you look at the cover, "Big machine with a drill, Little girl with glowing eyes., Bioshock...What could they possibly have in common?". Well although I have fully beaten the game, I still don't understand the term "Bioshock," however it really is a wonderful game. The powers are excellent and always help out when you need them. Whether you need to light someone on fire while you're reloading, shock someone with electricity when they're standing in some water, or even stop running enemies in their tracks with a cold Winter's Blast. Aside from the helpful powers, you have a full arsenal of weapons like the pistol, grenade launcher, and the always handy shotgun. All of which can be upgraded to ensure you get the most out of each of them. The alternate ammunition that effects certain enemies more than others allows you to still take down even the biggest of enemies with your pistol which keeps every weapon significant in case your power-house weapons are a little low on ammo. The classic 50's-60's music conflicts with the sometimes scary and creepy feel of Rapture, thus putting you on more of an edge. After all, who would expect a crazed, machine gun carrying psychopath charging at you while listening to Bobby Darin's Beyond the Sea? The storyline may seem like an average shooter; boring and not at all significant but I assure you that the twists and turns of Bioshock's storyline will have you dropping your precious PS3 controller. One more key feature to Bioshock is its character growth. Throughout the game you will have to decide how to treat the citizens of Rapture. Should you kill anyone who crosses your path to ensure your survival or attempt to save these lost souls? The choice is yours...

"We all make choices in life, but in the end our choices make us." - Andrew Ryan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BIOSHOCKED!!!

posted by SirPsycho (TOWNSEND, MA) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok First Off, if you have never played this game, try it out NOW!

now lets look at the pro's and cons.

pro's:
+ Beautiful gameplay!
+/- Graphics Great...for its time...original xbox release time..
+ Water effects are amazing.
+ A.I. actually knows how to react to every possible situation.
+ everywhere is accessible, except for when debris is in the way :\
+/- story is great (yet confusing and sometimes hard to follow)
+ so many options.
+ upgrades, upgrades, UPGRADES!
+ plasmids! (genetic mutations)
+ LONG, EPIC, STORY!
+ hard mode is actually HARD!
+ hundreds of hours of things to do.

cons:

- some parts confusing on how to get past.
- have to pay attention or you will spend hours upon hours to complete ONE PART.
- easy mode too easy.. yea..
- no incite to anything... until bioshock 2

no real glitches or bugs in this game. it is a masterpiece!

by far one of the best games ever created. if your into a shooter with hundreds upon hundreds of possible weapon customizations and shooting bees out your hand or lighting your enemys on fire with the snap of your finger then this is the game for you. even if not, GET THIS GAME! i promise you wont be disappointed.
-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ARE YOU KIDDING ME THIS JUST TOO AMAZING..

posted by CALLMEDUTY (GLENDALE, CA) May 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

FIRST WHEN I GOT THE GAME BEFOR PLAYING I WAS HOPING IT WILL BE AS GOOD AS FALL OUT OR LITTLE BAD,BUT NO THIS IS 10000000 TIMES BETTER THAN FALL OUT3 WHICH WAS MY FAVORITE THIS TYPE OF GAME,BUT THIS JUST TOO FUN,SCARY,EXCITING U CANT WAIT WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN,JUST THINK ABOUT IN GAME Y HACK COMPUTERS,SAFES AND MUCH MORE,U CAN FREAKING MAKE UR OWN WEAPON INVENT UR OWN WEAPON ARE U KIDDING ME.NOTHING IN THIS GAME SAME THING OR REPEATING ITS NEW THINGS EVER STEP,U MAKE UR DECISIONS,JUST PERFECT.just check it out u get powers u get gun u get everything ,

WARNING
ONE THING I HATE ABOUT THIS GAME IT HAS ONE BIG MISTAKE

U CANT FREAKING STOP PLAYING THIS GAME ITS LIKE ADDICTION, I SWEAR I PLAY HOURS AT NIGHTS,I CANT PLAY IN A MORNING I PLAY ALL NIGHT,IM TIRED AND SLEEPY ,BUT THIS GAME IS GOD OF GAME AS ITS TYPE ITS WORTH IT TO LOSE UR JOB OR UR GF LOL
JUST KIDDING

THANK U FOR MAKING THIS MAGIC GAME...SO GET UR OWN GAME,DONT RENT FOR 7 DAYS,ITS GOING TO TAKE U WEEKS TOO PLAY OR MAYBE YEARS IF U WONT STOP PLAYING OVER AND OVER AGAIN UNTIL SECOND ONE COMES OUT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is freakin amazing !

posted by bekimtba (LEXINGTON, KY) May 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

buy it dont rent it !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GAME!A++ BIO SHOCKKKKKKKKKK!

posted by ezdamenace (OAKLAND, CA) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All i got to say is that is a great game,overall a very good game.A++++,HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BUY THIS GAME! NOW!

posted by DrMarten (SAYLORSBURG, PA) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love Bioshock. This game is amazing. I've been playing this game since it became available for the PS3, and still love it. I don't want to say too much, because this game should be experienced without any outside interference. You will love "Rapture", the underwater world where the game takes place. There is much to do, and many decisions to be made,(which will affect the outcome)...You have an excellent arsenal, and many "abilities."
There is AWESOME downloadable content for this game as well.
Play it. Love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One to Remember

posted by OkanBS1987 (NEWARK, DE) Oct 31, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This FPS is one-of-a-kind. Now the plasmids are not beyond belief, but they add a great twist to the overall gameplay.

But it is the story of Bioshock that will amaze you. The voice acting is great and the characters are really unique.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Spooky Shooter

posted by Tarquin (DANVILLE, VA) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is an all around great FPS. Level design is a little linear, but not a major issue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It keeps you guessing.

posted by Flowper (HAVERHILL, MA) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is unlike any I have ever played before. From the time the game begins it keeps you guessing. You never know whats going to be around each corner.

The classical music adds to the creepy atmosphere of the game, and the graphics are really amazing.

Your main goal is to get the heck out of Rapture. Without Gene Tonics and Plasmids you wont stand a chance against the citizens of rapture, and most of all the Big Daddy. But fear not, where there's a will there's a way. Choose your actions carefully and you may not even have to fight all alone.

Be ready for anything is this action packed game. Play your cards right and you may even survive long enough to discover something about yourself. A spine tingling twist.

Now if you would kindly heed my last bit of advice.. Don't trust ANYONE.

Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME

posted by popyseed11 (WESTFIELD, MA) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is an AWESOME game, i suggest Renting/Buying it, it is pretty short, but it is well worth it. This game acts more like an RPG so its kind of like Fallout3 and Dead Space made a baby.This game is creepy at some points and the Big Daddys and Little Sisters around every corner add to the effect. I felt as if it really was real, The graphics are great for it's time (late '08) I am REALLY looking forward to Bioshock 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of better games I have ever played

posted by fanforlife (MORGANTOWN, WV) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After reading all of the hype on this game I had to give it a try. I can honestly say this is one of the few games to actually live up to all the praise it has been given.The amazing game play is backed up by an equally amazing story. I would highly recommend taking your time with this one and try to explore as much as you can. The main storyline is great, but I have had a lot of fun just exploring the city. This is a must play for anyone with even a small interest in gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

not SUPER scary but still fun

posted by gamerbeast (NEW CASTLE, IN) Apr 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

super fun and cool game play + good story=bioshock! When i first played this game i was really scared but its not that bad if you want something scary play f.e.a.r that scary as walking in on your parents making you a little sibling!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioshock!

posted by irock101 (PORT RICHEY, FL) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Man, Bioshock is freakin awsome.You should play it 4 ps3 or 360.There is so much to do with some funny stuff.If anyone has a ps3 add me...my account name is irock101.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Story Driven, somewhat lacking

posted by SkinnyJr (DEERFIELD, IL) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 20 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

I found myself very bored after playing for about 2 hours. The gameplay is decidedly average with the exception of your special abilities (shooting fire, ice, electricity and more from your hand). The most tense moment so far has been fighting a 'big Daddy' (the guy on the cover) and even that moment didn't feel as rewarding as I had hoped. Maybe Ive just heard so many great things about this that I expected too much. The plot keeps this game alive and I dont want to give anything away so Ill say this- They lure you in with just enough to keep you curious and push through the next level. Twists and turns everywhere. I dont want this to sound like I dont like the game- I bought it :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just didn't feel it

posted by Captain (FORT MYERS, FL) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 19 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

I'm usually into shooters ad this game was receiving great reviews so i had to give it a try. I only played this game for a few hours and just couldn't get into it. The graphics were great and it had smooth controls but I felt like i was hacking into machines every minute and it got annoying seeing the same hack puzzle so much. I didn't feel like i was getting anywhere and it failed to hold my attention, also. It's worth a rent but not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse