Rent BioShock for PS3
view large frontback

BioShock

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.3

8615 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

shot guns and splicers

posted by Dhaze420 (LAYTON, UT) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

19 out of 19 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

WOW. I have recently switched systems from 360 to PS3, and Bioshock was the first game I got from gamefly of it.But of course like most of my reviews, i seem to come up late on most games. Bioshock blew my mind. I never really cared much for the story aspect of games but Bioshock sucked me into this underwater world of bliss. The plot was down right fantastic, I can't stress that enough. Also the controls were rock solid, most combat left you adrenaline ridden from a long lived battle of splicers. The game itself is a masterpiece including the story line, controls, and vivid imagination considering its placed in the early 40's. I highly, highly, highly recommend this game to anybody who hasn't played it already. man I'm psyched for bioshock 2, can't wait to see what rapture of Ryan industries has in store next.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Oh freaking WOW

posted by IamDiesel (AMES, IA) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Sep 2003

59 out of 66 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I wont disclose any particulars of the game for those who haven't played it to keep their experience "pure".

I have wanted to play this game since I first heard of it. I had contemplated many times getting a xbox 360 and giving more $ to Micro$oft just to play the game. I had even gone as far as to not hear any more or read anything about the game shortly after it was released. That way when I went to play it everything was new and exciting. OMG was that a fantastic first time experience! This game grabs you from the moment you select New Game all the way to the credit roll. Words cannot describe 2 things about this game. 1 how beautiful and unique this game is and the attention to detail of the environments. 2 how big this game is. I have a problem with huge sandbox style games cause of their size and the lack of linear game play. With every door opening or turn of a corridor causes your gob to drop again and again.

A few rules were broken and other stretched of the first person shooter. Everyone has heard of the Big Daddys and Little Sisters by now. They are essentially a boss battle a couple of times per level. They allow you to approach a map a couple of different ways. There is no 1 way to solve a level. Some maps you can almost go through the whole thing without firing a bullet if you want to or you can put your head down and go destroying all in your way. The gamut of gameplay is bigger than anything seen so far.

This is just not a game it is a experience. Like riding the Tower of Terror for the first time or seeing the sun set behind mountains for the first time. Grab this game and let it wisk you away to a world of shattered dreams and destroyed ambitions. A retro world where technology has taken a drastic different path. A world that is disturbing on many levels.

You will NOT regret this game at all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bioshock review(my take on it)

posted by Dan2fast (REYNOLDSBURG, OH) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

well let me first start by saying it has superb graphics and alot of strategy to how to defeat foe with the different combination of weapons and plasmids, also the story line is quite interesting and drives you to keep going forward and collecting diary tape to understand some of the people and things you kill, also it does a great job of giving every bady a unique feel to how they act. Now what bad about the game is be honest not much, i say the only things is there was like a few issues with frame rate when there is alot of flying bots and you use plasmids but other than that the game holds up just fine. In end i felt like it was an awesome game if anything that could made it better would it to be a open world RPG like fallout or oblivion in a under water in a city. 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

New to Shooters? ...this is the game for you!

posted by porters821 (FARMINGTON, MI) Aug 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I'm a big fan of RPG and Action/Adventure games, so I'm still getting used to this whole Shooter-craze that is sweeping the game market right now. In fact, I'm a little intimidated by Shooters. But Bioshock may have just changed my perspective on Shooters. The feel of the game is unlike any other Shooter that I've played ...in this game, it is very comfortable playing from the 1st person point of view (which is the only reason I don't really like Shooters, I prefer 3rd person point of view). The graphics and game play are amazing, but my favorite thing about the game would have to be how the story advances and the dialogue that goes with it. The story is very easy to get caught up in and soon you will feel like you're ACTUALLY in Rapture.

I already have Bioshock 2 on my Q ...I can't imagine how Take Two is going to it better than the first one though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Highly Recomended

posted by Schism555 (TUPELO, MS) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great graphics and story line. I am playing it for a second time its that addicting. In fact, clear your calendar before you put it in because you won't be able to put it down. This time I'm choosing to rescue all the little sisters and I'm taking more pictures for research which has given me some pretty cool tonics that I didn't have the first time through like being invisible when standing still. I will say this, when you get to the last level, be sure to do a manual save so you can go back and explore more once you have beaten it as the autosave only takes you to the last battle to win the game. I didn't think to do this the first time and was bummed that I had to start a whole new game when it would have been easier to just load the manual save and still have all my plasmids and tonics. All is good though because knowing what I know now about the story, it's changed my strategy and feels like a new game all over again. I can't wait for Bioshock 2!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of those really really really good games

posted by thunder42 (Chico, CA) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Before posting anything i read approximately 40 reviews of bioshock starting with the lowest ratings. When you write a review of a game it is probably a good idea if you actually play through the game. Maybe then some of your questions about why your in the bottom of the ocean will be answered and you may like the game alot more.

Bioshock is one of those games that you can actually get into and feel like you are literally in the game. The graphics are sharp and detailed, and character movements smooth and flawless. The storyline is amazing with numerous twists. The story does start out confusing, but you only know what your character knows in the game. Hacking everything did become a bit tedious, but if you use your tonics correctly, it is easily done. Though by the end of the game i had become very quick at doing them. But sometimes when you try to hack something the alarms and overheat tiles were aligned so it was literally impossible to complete. The controls are simple and easy to get used to, and the weapons and plasmids are awesome. This is a great game to play through once (maybe twice to harvest the little sisters instead), but should definitely be played through entirely. EVERYONE should play this game because games this good are rare. Happy Gaming :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Me Exception to the Rule

posted by Seek618 (WILLIS WHARF, VA) May 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I, for the most part, don't play FPS games. I also, for the most part, don't play survival/horror games. Neither one are really enjoyable to me, even at their best. I was recently disappointed by games like Riddick and Fallout 3, not because they weren't awesome games, but they just didn't "do it" for me. Call me stubborn, but I just can't get into FPS and I just don't enjoy survival/horror.

That being said, I had always heard how great Bioshock was, and now after it's been released a good long while, I give it a try. The first hour, I was wondering if I'd made a smart choice, it looked amazing and seemed interesting, but it was still and FPS and a survival/horror-ish game. After the first hour though, I was hooked and I completely forgot about my aversion to the two genres. i loved every part of this game, from the guns to the powers to the story line to the environment it was unbelievable. I especially loved the weapon upgrade system that made all of your weapons take on a SteamPunk look. I could usually care less about the guns involved in a game, however I have developed a gleeful love of my upgraded shotgun with rotating gears in the chamber and gas powered accelerators on the side (a SteamPunk's dream). It's a perfect 10 anyway I look at it, and I simply cannot wait for Bioshock 2 later this year. I never thought I'd be looking forward to an FPS so much, but it's now a day one for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The makings of a great movie.....

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Dec 7, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One thing I have to say about this game is that I have never played anything with such an immersing storyline. Clearly, the writers of Bioshock have done their homework. The atmosphere, music, and level design make for one terrific looking game. I must admit I was taken back by how wonderful this game looked. My only gripe with Bioshock was the way weapons and AI worked. Limiting the amount of weapons you can carry would have saved much frustration in having to cycle through your entire inventory, just to pull out the crossbow. The controller layout works good and I have a blast using the number of superpowers you can find. The enemies mindlessly ran around while attacking so aiming is a bit tricky and there is no cover system or way to defend yourself other than run around. This can be a bit problematic when you faced a 3 or more enemies. Once you learn certain powers and combining them with certain weapons makes combat a bit more tolerable, but when exploited, it takes away the challenge even on hard mode. Also, a mini map in the bottom corner would have been helpful rather than having to press select each time to see it. You do get the added help of an arrow to point the way, but that is only for certain situations. All in all, what really pulls you in is the story and after an hour or so with the controls you get used to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best shooter, period.

posted by gbpiranha (LEXINGTON, KY) Jun 20, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game picks up Modern Warfare 3 and punts it away. This game simply stomps all the competition. Every aspect is flawless from an amazing story to powerful guns, every FPS lover should have this game, if you don't have it you cannot call yourself a gamer, period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Video games don't get any better

posted by Sugadaddy (HILLIARD, OH) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The only bad thing I can say about this game is that it had to end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by hbknight (MARINA, CA) May 9, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was definitely great. It was creepy at first and got the player very involved in the game and then it hits you with this incredible story line.

besides the story, I liked the over all setting of the game. it was creepy and beautiful at the same time.

on the downside, there could have been less hacking. it was ok at first, but when you had to do it 3 or 4 times every time you walked into a new room, it just got repetitive and dull. It really took away from the actual game play. switching between plasmid and weapons was also a bit of a pain in the butt. the developers were creative as far as setting up the map to create multiple possibilities to rid rapture of its junkie inhabitants, but the system of switching back and forth was annoying. so i just stuck with guns most of the time.

I liked this game, but with the city of Rapture being so interesting, I would love to have seen what it was like before it was driven into madness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Challenging

posted by Squeegie (BELLINGHAM, WA) Jan 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a great game!! Very challenging. The graphics were great and there was lots of action & blood. The game walkthrough was very helpful, so be sure and read it. The boss fights were challenging. You will not be bored playing this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

bioshock

posted by homer8800 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i think bioshock is a good game because it make's you think when ur doing puzzle's. can't wait for bioshock 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bioshock

posted by geeksword2 (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

oh, my god bioshock is the most amazing game ever invented by 2k games its sooooooooooooooooooooo fun like i reccommend this game for everyone who likes a shooter and a good story not only the game play is amazing the script is "death by script" material

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bioshock is an overall great shooter

posted by TheKLowN (COMMERCE TOWNSHIP, MI) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Im going to put this plain and simple

Pros:

-Good graphics for a fairly old game
-Interesting and twisted storyline keeps you interested for hours at a time.
-Its your choice to be a savior of the little sister or to harvest her for your pleasure to add more personalization options to your character.
-Diverse enemies
-Many fun places and powers to play around with

Cons:
-Somewhat repetitive
-People always demanding you do these little tasks that get annoying.
-You have to always be looking and ready to destroy or hack machines or cameras.

i give this game a fair 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellant

posted by SWASTIKILL (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Love the storyline,gameplay. Could,nt wait to see what happened next. Can't wait to play the next one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!

posted by gahaya (Mililani, HI) Oct 20, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was an amazing game. all the gameplay and depth of the storyline was just adding to the fact that every moment you are playing you are playing one of the best games over the last decade. the controls are natural and easy and the diversity of all your weapons are outstanding! this is an incredible game and i highly recomend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioshock for PS3

posted by ssx3combat (ANACORTES, WA) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Bioshock is one of the greatest games I have ever had the delightful opportunity to enjoy. It was well developed and written.

The story is gripping compeling and quite the journey. With twists and turns it unwinds to become one of the greatest stories represented throguh a videogame.

The tophies are tricky and fun and leave an excellent gaming resume for all your friends and fellow gamers to peruse.

With DLC purchasable through the Playstaion Network this game only gets better. A must buy game for any and all gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioshock is Freekn sweet!

posted by s4sutler (OXNARD, CA) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics are stunning, the plot is thickening.
And there are a lot of trophies to get.
Also buy the expansion pack on the PlayStation store Adds three new modes to the game you cant get on the XBOX 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A must have near perfect game

posted by BioBen (HANFORD, CA) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

first things first... wow this game rocked, my friend got it with his ps3 and let me borrow it so i have something to play while waiting for my g-fly games to come and i love it, its so different from other shooters. I wouldnt even call it a shooter even though it did have guns, i enjoyed my wrench and plasmids the most. the plasmids were an amazing addition to a game and created a diverse gameplay. It was an exp bar short of an rpg in my opinion. i only have a very few amount of problems with it.

First of all it seemed very short to me and was very dark sometimes hard to see things.

Second only like 7 plasmids, it was a little disapointing outside of the elemental ones

Third not enough diversity amongst the badguys, 2 big daddys, 6 splicers and 3 turrets. and they all always seemed to come in small groups so it wasnt really a challenge

Fourth despite what everyone said and all tips said the final boss was extremely easy

Now for my pros

First wow it was a pretty scary game, a nice thriller

Second chemical thrower...enough said

Third the camera, the research thing was awesome although it made things to easy in the end especially with turrets a simple freeze and square button press and boom it was yours

Fourth all the tonics and weapons and ammo made a mix and match strategy which allowed for multiple playthroughs

FIfth an extremely interesting story line that kept me on the edge of my seat for the whole game

Its a near perfect game and i already got the sequal in my Q i hope to see more variety in splicers and daddys also more ammo types and a longer game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesomeness!!

posted by Greatness1 (PASCO, WA) May 18, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Totally great! cool graphics awesome sounds and very awesome game mechanics that allow for improv!!

This game is like an awesome mix of Dead Space with a Fallout 3 vibes to it so if you really liked either, you will love this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Believe what you hear

posted by BigScrilla (DOWNERS GROVE, IL) May 12, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was incredible. Great gameplay, great story, great graphics, great game. I would definitely recommend playing this.

Now, with all the praise comes the bad stuff. The game was not overly difficult. There are some challenges, but nothing that took more than one time to figure out. Also, the game gets repetitive. You mainly see the same types of bad guys the entire game. This is not a problem early as the enemies are well made, but towards the end of the game it started to get a little boring and I found myself not wanting to fight any more.

That was very picky. This is one of the best games I have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Unique and Very Well Done

posted by ChazinPA (BLOSSBURG, PA) May 5, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a unique take on the first person shooter... Both the story and the weapon system were unique, the Plasmid concept is creative and fun to play with, as the combinations of kills in this game are near endless.

The graphics are excellent, cartoonish yes, but the textures, lighting and color are so well done that the world you are immersed in has its own life. The music is another cool addition which fits the theme of game, but still adds a cool vibe to the game.

Overall I had to play this one a few times through to get my fill, so clearly I'm one to reccomend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the new crysis

posted by owengamer (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome and so is rapture the game is the new crysis in my opinion with stellear graphics,and intense action you will never find a game like this except cryisis.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gritty from start to (almost) finish

posted by dasilodavi (WATERTOWN, MA) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As I'm reviewing this, Bioshock 2 is on the way, so this review is perhaps too late. Still, I wanted to give my 2 cents.

In short, I loved this game. The whole time I played I was enthralled by the story, the outlandish characters, the pieces of plot literally scooped up between gunfights (recordings give you sound bytes of Rapture City's troubled society). The game is gorgeous, and the sound and music keep you immersed in a world of sadness and terror.

The game could've been more difficult. At many points I found myself loaded to the brim with ammo, health, EVE (MP for the RPGers), and cash. The game does offer difficulty adjustments midstream, and the ability to turn off re-spawning by Vita-chamber, so if you truly want the challenge, it's there.

The ending is something of a letdown. The final fight is a breeze if you've been paying attention the rest of the game. Still, everything up to it is amazing. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse