Rent BioShock for PS3
view large frontback

BioShock

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.3

8602 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Please wait... now instaling Bioshock FOREVER

posted by SeiferJ (RACINE, WI) Jul 8, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

I don't know if GameFly burned me with this title or totally saved my butt.
Let me preface by saying I was aware this game had long loading times; but it also got Game of the Year when it came out, so it was given it's due patience.
I was expecting bad loading but not this horrible! I found the game unplayable because there was so much in game lag! Whats even worse, EVERY time you load up the game, to start playing it has to install! And I'm not talking about the mandatory updates... I installed version 1.10 & restarted the system. Then after the studio credits ran it "INSTALLS" again "Please wait... now installing Bioshock " while retro advertisements play. (though I don't believe install is the right term for this, loading seems more appropriate). This then takes like 10 minutes minimum! Once you finally get to the start game screen and get playing your frustration and patience have already maxed out. Then the game play lags too! "Game Over Man, Game Over".
Was the game badly coded, scratched, or an old version, or is how every Bioshock is?!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!

posted by infamous4 (TEMECULA, CA) Oct 26, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game gives you like no guns whatsoever. And this game IS NOT SCARY. I dont think your enemies know whats going on I mean like your right next to them and ''scavaging'' the dead body. Also your powers do NOTHING. The most dumb thing about this game is that your guns dont do any damage. And sometimes your objectives are senseless for example...........Go to the place on the other side of the world to get this power ''Telkenises'', to find an enemy hope they have any grenades, so they can throw one at you,pick it up with your telekieses and throw it at the debris. Overall WORST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by illMATIC (LA MIRADA, CA) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game was really boring, after the first 2 levels i was begging the game to say " the end", game got extremely repetitive and guns became old, the wrench is what is normally used, why? because the guns do no damage and the guns kick alot, so all in all i hated this game, looked promising, the wait was not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game would not load

posted by Mdot1988 (TRENTON, NJ) May 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I can't even give Bioshock the rating that it deserves, once It installed to my system and got to the title screen, It started to install again, and once again it wouldn't load. It stayed on that load screen for about a half hour to a whole hour, so I tried it again and it still did the same thing over. I sent it back, I was frustrated. A note to gamefly: If your going to have games that don't work please dont send them to people, I know it's not you guys fault, but at least try to make a effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Epic Disapointment

posted by DeltaT (ROBERTSDALE, AL) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

This game was an epic disapointment, in my opinion it resembeled a realy sucky PS1 Horror action game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

MEH

posted by Gkopp86 (SPRINGFIELD, OH) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game had a GREAT idea...but the combat and mechanics felt pathetic and tackey. I really couldn't get past the terrible game play. As bad as I wanted to follow the story, I couldn't get into it. Combat was HORRIBLE. Everyone claimed it was revolutionary how you could fire guns or use spells, and things you can do with that combo was unlimited.. There was nothing ground breaking about this at all. I guess those people had never played any of the Darkforces games.

To me. This game was a real big fail in the game play department.
BUT I will give it some credit for the story. I wish I could have suffered through the game so I could know the ending.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What's all the hype about?

posted by MrSverdHed (LOWELL, MA) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

I wanted to like this game, it was visually stunning, after the longest download time in history!

The environment was hugely creepy which is what I was looking forward to... but that's the only good thing I could see with the game... the controls were clunky, I felt like I was walking in circles. Sadly, I lasted 30 minues for download time and 1 hour of actual game time before I became bored and put it back in it's envelope

Darn it and I really wanted to like it... rated a 3 because of environment.

Maybe I am too generous?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bioshock

posted by lpcrierie (DUNKIRK, MD) Jun 18, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I got excited to play this game when I got it in the mail.
It looked very fun and interesting, but guess what?
I was wrong.

Even though it has a very good story and concept behind all the bad stuff, I just couldn't get over how unfair the combat was, and how there was no penalty for dying except the fact that you have to walk back an extra minute away.
No blocking in combat? Couldn't get over that.

+ Very interesting concepts
+ Nice attention-gripping storyline
+ Cool effects and powers
+ Large variety of weapons/tools/powers
+ Gets a bit scary at times; makes a great horror game.

- Combat is obnoxiously lousy
- There is no 'block' button to defend yourself
- No penalty of death
- Gets very frustrating
- Extremely long installation process before you even play.

Overall Rating: 3/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I'm in the minority, but I didn't like it.

posted by JGrizzle (ZEBULON, NC) Aug 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game is exceptionally well-made, and most gamers will thoroughly enjoy it. My problem with it is just that I have never been a fan of the half-eaten, disease-riddled zombie corpses jumping out of the dark and then exploding in a burst of gore when you kill them. I never liked the old Resident Evil games (although the new one was excellent on PS3) or anything like that. This is my personal bias, and I know that this doesn't bother most of the people who will play Bioshock.

On another note, the searching for items and hacking functions become VERY tedious very quickly. The controls could have been a lot easier, too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

pff

posted by SweetGame (BROOKLYN, NY) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

I have to admit that I expected alot more from this game. I have always felt that you dont need top level cutting edge graphics to make a good game, what you do need however is a good storyline! I mean wow, youre on a plane and the plane crashes, and you just randomly walk up on shore and take a transport to the bottom of the ocean. Thats the whole opening! I mean, who would do that! There is no real supporting cast, no real interaction between two people that is intelligent, no real cut scenes, the game just goes on and on and on. It's very repetitave and gets old fast, in fact the only redeaming quality in my opinion is the graphics, but like I said, Graphics are not everything. Hack this safe, hack this machine, hack this turrent, hack this door, over and over and over. Now don't get me wrong, if you loved this game great, this is just how I felt about it. I just don't get all the hype, I love F.P.S. like call of duty, dead space, and so on. but in Bioshock you don't even know why you are there at the bottom of the ocean.

Also the music sucks and load time takes forever. Game is boring. Get confused alot. dont know where to go. Seen better graphics. Kill big daddy and steal his daughter and eat her heart to get adam points. Game has too much in it to be good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dissapointed

posted by aumndragon (FLORENCE, MA) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

I have to admit that I expected alot more from this game. I have always felt that you dont need top level cutting edge graphics to make a good game, what you do need however is a good storyline! I mean wow, youre on a plane and the plane crashes, and you just randomly walk up on shore and take a transport to the bottom of the ocean. Thats the whole opening! I mean, who would do that! There is no real supporting cast, no real interaction between two people that is intelligent, no real cut scenes, the game just goes on and on and on. It's very repetitave and gets old fast, in fact the only redeaming quality in my opinion is the graphics, but like I said, Graphics are not everything. Hack this safe, hack this machine, hack this turrent, hack this door, over and over and over. Now don't get me wrong, if you loved this game great, this is just how I felt about it. I just don't get all the hype, I love F.P.S. like call of duty, dead space, and so on. but in Bioshock you don't even know why you are there at the bottom of the ocean.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

too dark to see anything =/= atmospheric

posted by trav23 (GARLAND, TX) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

I did not enjoy what I played of this. It is way too reliant on the 'you can hear the bad guys but can't tell where they are until they jump up in your face so that's creepy, right?' mechanic, and also the 'turn off the lights right before throwing in a hundred bad guys'. You know why I bought the big spiffy tv and why we all paid for the consoles with the beefy new video chips? Because we want to be able to SEE our games. If your primary mechanics are designed to make it so I can't see anything, it gets annoying. Dead space did the same thing, but I made it through that, I guess because there were enough other mechanics at play.

The story seemed like it had potential, and certainly other people like it since there are a bunch of sequels, but it just wasn't what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

dissapointed

posted by donpatch42 (MUNCY, PA) Apr 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I heard so much about this game that i as ready to buy it. When i got gamefly, this was my first game on my list. After playing it for 1 day, i am sending it back, because even though it does have good gameplay, it is redundant and repeats its self often. The good or evil side in many games is getting old, and the "Spells" als known as plasmids in the game arent that effective

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bioshock

posted by clintoux (WILSON, NC) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Stumble fumble over your action buttons (DEAD!)Back to the begining.Stumble fumble OH NO ot of ammo.... DEAD.... back to the begining!Alot of getting nowhere fast in the game!But if you like alot of gore in your titles this is your game.Although the story line is can't be beat!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dark, gloomy, and lame. BioSHOCK?!

posted by JustSizzle (CLIFTON, NJ) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

Bioshock, Bioshock, Bioshock.... blah blah blah

Let me tell you something, this game is a bunch of jive. I don't see what everyone else is yammering about. The graphics are okay at best. There is no vast landscapes in-game, no beautiful scenic views except maybe in the very beginning, but for the most part, travel is restricted to meaningless hallways to rooms to doors (that have delayed opening to make you think that's not the way for you) and they are all dark in a creepy way.

I will however give the artistic style a thumbs up however. The enemies are original and greatly detailed, and very very VERY annoying might I add. They love to hit you in the back of the head don't they:)

The story was average and below that if I can give my point. It tells of a city and a man surviving. I couldn't understand it. Plus the man muttering and whisper things to you was pointless because not only is it difficult to hear him but why doesn't he come down and help you. Idk, but it was confusing to say the least.

Anyways if you have a PS3 pass this dark game up for something like Resistance2, or even Killzone2 if your a shooter fan. Man even Conan was more fun and less aggravating:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Extremely Overrated

posted by BumpnFD (METHUEN, MA) Dec 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

I guess I bought into all the hype surrounding this game. When it arrived I was anxious to play it. Well I only got to play for two nights because that's how long it took me to beat it. That didn't annoy me that much because not many people will stay up all night to put in some serious gaming hours. The story was meh at best but the most aggravating part of this game was the scarcity of ammo....seriously its so unbelievably annoying. Anyway this game is worth a rent at most and not a buy...I am glad I passed this game up when I saw it at the store...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

all show

posted by RageInDeat (SYLACAUGA, AL) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 16 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

i wanted to like this game,i listened to all the rave reviews,and i was very excited when it finally got ported to ps3,i put the game in and i was amazed,i loved it,two hours later though i realized just how repetitive it was kill the same looking enemies over and over,go find something for someone,get the door open repeat cycle,and i had high hopes for the big daddy fights,everyone was saying how hardcore they were,they are simple to beat,and they do the same stuff over and over,the bosses on contra for the nes were better,i was let down,i sent it back the next day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not knocking the mechanics, but...

posted by DirtHerder (TAMPA, FL) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 24 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I could never get over the settings. The arrogance of the writers to corrupt Any Rand's ideas by inserting some fictional goo that has instantly reduce such a place into a madmens' asylum. It's a bitter taste that has prevented me from plunging far into this game.

Just a side note on the two characters you've seen on the cover, where the mechanize creature is there to protect the child. Why does the writer demand you to destroy it in the first place? Is that child a slave to the whims of the monster? Are you there to 'free' her from it? System Shock was by far the better work by this group.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay

posted by meb730 (HENDERSON, CO) Sep 3, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

I played this and beat it to make sure I was not missing something, but I don't get all the hype. The graphics were averaged at best and the story was interesting, but it was hard to hear the audio tapes. Maybe back in 2008 this was impressive, but playing it in 2013 with other developers using the PS3 to it's max I was just not impressed with the visuals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Uhm what.......

posted by Wildchild7328 (DURANGO, CO) May 14, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

BioShock....hhhmmmm how to put it. Well first I'd like to say that I never beat the game, normally I would beat a game like this but, first way to unrealistic for my taste and in addition either I missed something in the story or this has no beginning and personally I really hate story's that have no beginnings even if the beginning is told some where in the middle I really hate it. Without actually beating the game i cant say much else about it but I can say that playing the first hour of it I didn't like it just like you to keep these things in mind if you get it and if you are like me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not good

posted by Zeddecus (KEYPORT, NJ) Oct 13, 2010

Member since May 2010

The story isn't that great and the game control and play is matching. I'm going to look for a cheat code to see if unlimited ammo helps. WAY TOO MANY BUTTONS FOR ANY REAL CONTROL...ruined game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not What I Thought

posted by sturgill90 (PENNINGTON GAP, VA) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

After reading all the great reviews that this game got, I was pumped to get it in. I played it for a few hours and just got sick of it. The whole game really doesn't make any sense. I am sure it might have got clearer if I had played it longer, but I just couldn't. I was confused as to what was going on, I never got why all the people in the game were mad at me, and I hate games where you have to run all over creation looking for hidden things and you have no clue where to get them or which way to go and this game is like that.

The game makes you feel like your in some kind of sixties horror movie gone bad. I wasn't impressed at all. I guess this game has a love/hate relationship with gamers and I am sorry to say that I was on the hate end of this one. This might be great for some people, but it didn't do it for me. Sorry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not all X-Play hyped it up to be.

posted by October30 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Good game with beautiful graphics, but not my cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I Just Do Not Get It

posted by Bl4ck3n3d (ARMAGH, PA) May 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I rented this because of all of the rave reviews of it and I just don't see it. The gun play is average and the item system is better in Fallout 3. I've been told the story is what it is about in this game but, I got very little from it as the audio tapes were so muffled that at the loudest volume I barely understood what they said. It is innovative and worth a rental if you are bored with stock FPS games because of that but, overall I was not impressed with this game and returned it much sooner than I thought I would.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too high of an expectation

posted by Spoofen (RIDGEFIELD, NJ) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Well I played the game halfway through and found that the game was redundant. The hoards of mutilated thugs got kind of boring. In terms of graphics I'm not sure what all the hoopla was about but I found it was actually kind of sub par compared to other games for the PS3, games like: resistance 2 and Metal Gear were much better.

The game art design is unique but game play was boring.

There are religious undertones which may be offensive to Christians, but it may just be the context of the storyline - "What happens when man turns away from God and plays God," in this respect the game appears to accurately depict the nightmare that unfolds. Although, when this point is verbalized and slide shows repeatedly it is easily translated into mockery.

If you are a PS3 owner I suggest a "pass" there are other games offered on this system that I would rather rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse