Rent BioShock for PS3
view large frontback

BioShock

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.3

8606 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

excellent

posted by xthexcoonxx (MARKSVILLE, LA) Apr 8, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

One of my favorite games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PLAY UNTIL THE END!

posted by timinator5 (EL DORADO HILLS, CA) Jun 11, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

this game is fun but the story has no beginning and is kinda slow but trust me it takes off and you will know it when it does and any idiot that started playing it and stoped IS AN IDIOT this game is my favorite buit if you dont play to the end you completely ruin the game becasue it all builds up to something thats like going to see a movie like the Dark Knight and leaving half way through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game of It's Kind

posted by SteelyMcBeam (MARIANNA, PA) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Bioshock's gameplay is great! The only bad things about it is hacking and vending machines. The hacking is incredibly hard without a auto-hack tool and the vending machine prices are way to high. If you don't like close quarters combat don't worry because I don't but it's actually pretty roomy. Unlike most reviews i've read the guns do a lot of damage if you use them right. Finnaly, the storyline is amazing every second from beginning to end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Exceeded All Expectations

posted by ModernAlchemist (CARLSBAD, CA) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

There are 3 things I look for in a game: consistently engaging setting/narrative, fun gameplay that doesn't feel repetitive, and a great soundtrack that drives it.

In these categories, Bioshock exceeded all of my expectations. The early to mid 20th century jazz perfectly complemented the tormented sunken city. It wove the narrative together with a dynamism you rarely find in any art medium. I gave this game a 10 out of 10, not because it is better than every other game, but because it succeeded at everything it attempted and more.

We all know the drill when it comes to FPS games, but Bioshock gives you a fantastic, new experience that will stay with you long after you complete it.

Welcome to Rapture!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by joker2thend (MONROE, NY) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

this game is awesome it action action action this is the best game i've ever play you should really get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Gamerdude2021 (CORNELIUS, OR) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Just i have no words to describe how great this game is,The little sisters are creepy but cute not much from my mind is to be said badly about this game.I have always heard things about this game and never got a chance to play it until now,And i'm grateful i did get a chance to play it.I highly sugjest this game to you all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best FPS know to man

posted by SilentHillSF (JANESVILLE, WI) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

this game set the bar the FPS's for years to come....the game's addictive...artistic....and beautifully technically rendered all at the same time.....the amount of freedom or options for your play style are all there and the weapons and plasmids all of them are fun to use and all the enemies are just downright fun to annihilate..especially Big Daddies....Rapture is fun to explore and is just amazingly detailed.....Rapture is so detailed that it could feel real....even though to odds of it existing or ever existing are extremely rare and the story is just awe-struckingly written.....this game is one of the only shooters out there that story is king....absolutely the best thing about the game...no....everything is king is this game......everything in this game comes together in one big fashion and there the right amount of everything and even with no multiplayer......plenty of replay value...just rent of buy this game......NOW!!!!!! MY FAVORITE GAME OF ALL....TIME!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best shooter, period.

posted by gbpiranha (LEXINGTON, KY) Jun 20, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game picks up Modern Warfare 3 and punts it away. This game simply stomps all the competition. Every aspect is flawless from an amazing story to powerful guns, every FPS lover should have this game, if you don't have it you cannot call yourself a gamer, period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

greatest game i have ever played. period.

posted by octuplex (WATERLOO, NY) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

theres a lot of people that throw that title around like it was a frisbee, but i am deadly serious. this is THE greatest game i have EVER played. i have played a LOT of games, too. the graphics style is amazing, the gameplay is amazing, the atmosphere is amazing, the varied environments are amazing, and above all else, the story. is. AMAZING. while not strictly a horror game, it still had me on edge. this is worth your money, and well worth your rental. cant wait for infinite to come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

"Look Mr. Bubbles, it's an angel"

posted by krazytaco Nov 22, 2011

Bioshock is by far the best game I have ever played. It has a deep, enthralling story. You really get to know and have feelings for the characters, even for your enemies as they cry in agony when you shoot them.Bioshock is a blast to play and will keep you busy for a while with the long campaign. One of the best things about this game is that you can kill your enemies how you want and when you want. You can light someone on fire and then shoot him with an exploding buck from the shotgun if you want. If you want a completely different FPS experience, get Bioshock now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect

posted by luckyberry (BARBOURSVILLE, WV) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

I don't know where to begin, but Bioshock is definatley my favorite game. The combat never bores with amazing gunplay and awsome special powers such as freezing and lighting your enemyies. Rapture is a huge place with tons of places to explore. The game has several endings witch prompt a second or third playthrough. The graphics are great the sound and voice cast is amazing. The story is superb, with vivid characters to keep it moving along. A great plot twist at the end brings an end to one of the greatest games of al time

Story 10/10
Sound 10/10
Graphics 10/10
Gameplay 10/10
Overall 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wickidly wickedly wicked

posted by DMC (EDMOND, OK) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

this is probably the no THE coolest game for PS3 in my opinion
weapons: tommy gun, revolver, launcher, and last but not least el shoty
powers: boltsof lighting, FIRE!!!, the FORCE!!, and other stuff too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioshock

posted by NestorSB (SANTA BARBARA, CA) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I don't know why this game is not ranked higher, I love the game. The story is awesome and after you play though once it is nice to go and pay hardcore difficulty. If you do I say "would you kindly" listen to all the recorded massages. This is what makes the game so good in my opinion not just a shoot, shoot, shoot, shoot mindlessly I like to be motivated.
At time of release
Graphics: 9/10 (surpassed by Killzone 2)
Level Design: 10/10
Sound:10/10
Story: 10/10
Replay value is definitively there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Unique and refreshing

posted by Agelesslin (BUNKIE, LA) Jan 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

I come from the military fps gaming and have gotten gamefly to play more single player games. call of duty was just getting stale. this game totally revives my interest in gaming overall. the story is superb and the world is immersive. the greatest part of the story to me is the relationship between the little sisters and the big daddies. its a very cool game. definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING GAME

posted by SirCharles (FAIRMONT, WV) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

This Game Was Amazing From Start to Finish. It Took Awhile To Complete but Over All An Exellent Game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better late than never...what a fun ride

posted by TornPr1nc3 (BLAIRSTOWN, NJ) Sep 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

Nearly two years after its release, I am finally sitting down to play a game I've heard many good things about. Upon installation, I knew I was in for a treat when I saw the 50's style - Fallout 3'esque loading screens. For the first time ever I also decided to immediately try a game of this genre/type on "hard" difficulty. After only four levels or so, I can already say that it is easy to see why so many people have given this game the positive reviews it has received.

The graphics and sound are executed with brilliance and even though the controls took some getting used to, I can now say I understand why they chose the layout they did and use it expertly now. The storyline has been fantastic and the first time I had to fight a BIG DADDY, on hard nontheless, it took me almost a dozen tries and a TON of ammunition but when it fell, you would have thought I had just won a moonman award or something by my reaction.

I have the second Bioshock at the ready having purchased it after playing this one for five hours straight without stopping my first session.

An excellent rental, especially at this time of year, and is more than deserving of a "keep" press. I know I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game : D

posted by offhand (THOMASVILLE, GA) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

when i first played bioshock in 07 on 360 i was very scared lol but as soon i got past that i found the gamplay very fun and the story the best story i have ever seen in a video game about 3 years later i playing it again on ps3 and its just as i remember erie and still fun 2 play and i forgot most of the story so it is a good refresher

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Video games don't get any better

posted by Sugadaddy (HILLIARD, OH) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The only bad thing I can say about this game is that it had to end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

In The top 5 games on my list!

posted by FleaGamer (CLEVELAND, OH) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Wow Bioshock. It Is One of my favie games ever. There is soo much to do. Lots of different Weapons. The first hour of playing this i was already adding the second one which i havent got yet but i cant wait. I would soooooo recomend this to anyone who like dark, shooting games. just to say the first time i saw Big Daddy & the little girl i almost peed myself. & I Creeped my sister out. haha. This game is fantastic. :) - Flea

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SWEEET

posted by nickynick3 (LAKE WORTH, FL) May 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

AWSOME IM LOOKING FORWARD TO PLAYING BIOSHOK 2 ITS NEXT ON MY GAME Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My first PS3 game and I don't regret it.

posted by Archangy (ALLSTON, MA) Mar 26, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I'm late on buying a PS3. I finally have and the first game to play on it is this one. I wasn't too into first person shooters until I got my hands on the controllers for Bioshock. Man the visuals of the game were mind blowing, the concept is so original, and the game play... awsomeness! When seening the trailers I thought changing from guns to plamids would be difficult but its actually pretty easy gameplay. The eneimes however are annoying and a little more challenging as you continue but pretty darn creepy hearing them talk and their movements. The Little Sisters and Big Daddies are not to be under estimated is all I can say they were the coolest characters I think. One of my favorite things is hacking almost all the devices and making them turn on the bad guys! Couldn't stop thinking about the game for sometime and am looking forward to playing the sequal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great!

posted by EZE96770 (HARRODSBURG, KY) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This is a really fun and creative game. One of the best I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bioshock

posted by geeksword2 (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

oh, my god bioshock is the most amazing game ever invented by 2k games its sooooooooooooooooooooo fun like i reccommend this game for everyone who likes a shooter and a good story not only the game play is amazing the script is "death by script" material

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

kinda scary but alot fo fun

posted by shogun89 (MABLETON, GA) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

the game is really good also cause its based in the 60s witch i like but that's just me anyway the graphics are good and game play is exellent its confusing but you will learn anyway i didnt get to beat the game but i got far and i enjoyed it unless i got stuck but if you like shooters i strongly recommend that you rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG!

posted by yhaoooooo (FRANKFORT, KY) Dec 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

this game is awesome.buy it or i'll come out of ur closet and kill you : )!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse