Rent BioShock for Xbox 360
view large frontback

BioShock

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.7

33721 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautifully twisted, wonderfully unique.

posted by VonNapalm (MANOR, TX) Aug 21, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

237 out of 258 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

From the moment you step foot into Rapture, you are enthralled. A city created for a free thinking society by a man disgusted with government pity. As quickly as you are mesmerized by the art deco styling and grandeur of this once was utopia, you delve deeper into it's bowels and see first hand the nightmarish cityscape it has become.

"Splicers" roam the corridors of the city looking for their next fix of ADAM. They are what is left of the people. Freakishly mutated by the ADAM. And ADAM is what it is all about. It is the substance that is in all of the inhabitants. It is what you must obtain to alter your DNA and become a walking genetic weapon.

Then there are the Little Sisters. Children of Rapture that, through experimentation, are imbued with a parasite that urges them to harvest ADAM from the corpses littered throughout the city. They are protected by the Big Daddies. Behemoths in antique dive suits. They are the muscle in Rapture and will guard the Little Sisters to the death. Most often, yours.

This game is stunning in EVERY respect. The attention to detail is second to none. From the amazing lighting that will have you jumping as it gives you the slightest peeks at the macabre setting, to the sounds that you will hear toying with your hearing. You will wonder if you heard a Splicer sneaking through the shadows, or your cat in the kitchen.

This game is an experience to be savored. A shooter like nothing else ever made. In the world of gaming we deal with devs that are aiming for safe market appeal and a solid revenue. Bioshock focuses on immersion. A story that will have you caring what happens. Innovation in gameplay that forces you to think about how to defeat situations. Also, the intangible, the thing that games all aspire to create, but seldom do to this level of perfection; atmosphere.

Get this game. Period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Ultimate Experience

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Sep 28, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

217 out of 237 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Wow. Words do not justice to how amazing this game is. Your plane crashes in the middle of the ocean and, amazingly, you end up at the entrance to Andrew Ryan's utopia under the sea, Rapture. How you crashed here, how to get out of here, and what the heck happened at Rapture are all major things that one must contend with in the game and the storyline is really quite intelligent and deep.

In the game, Ryan discovered the magic of genetic modifications, which primarily consist of the plasmids, which allow you to throw insect swarms, lightning bolts, fire, ice, etc at your foes. You get traditional weaponry in the game as well, but the plasmids are key in really getting into the meat of the title.

The most widely viewed part of the game are the Big Daddies, which come in the varieties of Rosie (who lobs grenades at you and shoots at you relentlessly) and the Bouncer (who will bull rush you and beat the ever-living snot out of you). These are some of the best enemies designed for a game in a year. They --- and this is actually pretty good design --- will only bother you if you attack them or scare the Little Sisters, who are the Gatherers of Eve and, in a new trend in gaming, are little girls no older than 8 years old or so. After defeating a Daddy, you are given the moral choice of saving the Sister, or killing them to gain all of the Adam they gained to provide you more power and more abilities.

Rapture is a marvel to look at. It is extremely retro and the visuals are amongst the best I've ever seen. Games have a ridiculous tendency to use water effects when not needed --- but this game uses them perfectly. I mean, you are underwater and all. The city was thought of in detail and everything just makes sense.

This game is a work of art. It mixes everything perfectly and the lack of multiplayer is hardly a knock on it. It warrants a purchase by all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioshock: One of The Best of Next-Gen!!!

posted by Rapture (EDINBURGH, IN) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

With top-notch sound, graphics, gameplay, and voice acting, "Bioshock" is a superbly crafted first-person shooter strewn with elements of a role-playing game. The storyline of "Bioshock" follows a young man airborne over the Atlantic Ocean. When the plane crashes, his only hope for survival is a lighthouse. The story then plunges you deep down to the bottom of the ocean to a city called Rapture, a living, breathing, underwater utopia built in the late 1940s by a man named Andrew Ryan. What the player soon discovers upon entering Rapture is that whatever Ryan originally set out to do had failed. The city is now infested with a plague of violently insane human beings relentlessly determined to put you down. This is where the combat comes into play. You will have a choice between seven conventional weapons. You will also have the ability to use plasmids(biological modifiers which grant you extraordinary powers). The only real flaw with "Bioshock" is the hacking. Although hacking something such as a vending machine will permit a lower cost and better availability of items, the hacking process itself begins to get tiring and rather frustrating after a while. Nevertheless, "Bioshock" is a truly enjoyable experience, which not only pits the player against numerous challenges and dilemmas, but also influences the player to uncover the secrets behind Rapture's demise. It is a brilliant mix of story and combat set in an immersive environment where you can be the hero you want to be. "Bioshock" is one of the most creative and original first-person shooters of the decade!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bioshock is awesome!!

posted by Giansanity (LEMOORE, CA) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great story with good plot twists, graphics are awesome if you enable high framerate from the options menu, achievements are fun and completely doable, ending of game varies based off of game play, highly addictive so be careful!! My complaints are small and have to do with control related issues:(having your plasmids and the ability to hack objects on the same button causes unwanted EVE dumping) and no ability to sprint. The fact that you could not skip cinema events that you have already seen can be a drag when replaying the game for those missed out achievements. If you have never played this game then you are missing out. You will see why it has won so many game of the year awards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!!!

posted by g3020284 (FORT SILL, OK) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Everything about this game is awesome. The graphics are great, the story is well played out and interesting, and to top it off the controls are easy to master. When the game originally came out, I was unsure about renting or let alone buying it. The big daddy on the cover had me confused about the game all together. Was this a shooter or an RPG. Either way I had no intention of giving it another look. However, after subscribing to game fly I thought to myself, why not try the games I never thought about trying in the past. So, I gave it a shot and I kick myself now for waiting so long to play this game. The graphics in this game are so stunning I found myself stopping periodically through the first play through just to marvel at the scenery. Once I starting playing it the first time I did not put it down. I mean literally, I paused only to manage the most human of needs; eat and drink. I am on my second play though now in order to see one of the other three endings and I am as equally sucked in as though it was my first time.
Bottom lines if you have not played this game, then you are behind on what a real game should be composed of. Rent this game now and if you enjoy it as much as I have then it will be a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game Kept me playing for hours!!

posted by sean7787 (REIDSVILLE, NC) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best shooters of all time. From beginning to end every moment of this game kept me wanting more.

The guns in this game are simply awesome and the level design is superb. The only flaw with this game would be the sheer shortness of this. I recieved the game on a Wednesday and beat it on Friday. I cannot wait for the second installment of the series to come out. Hopefully, they will make it more extensive. Regardless I cannot wait to see what the graphics will look like. Cause this game was produced in 2007 and the graphics are as good, if not better than some games in 2009! Overall this game gets 9 from me. The only thing hindering it from getting a perfect 10 is the length of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wonderful-Gorgious-Snetimental

posted by PenArmo (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2002

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Finally, a game that touches one's nerve and has the capacity to make one feel things (other then an adrenalin rush from having blown up something-which is always welcomed).

THEMES
The themes in this game are uncommon for a video game. Explored in it are economic theories, corruption and brain washing of the masses, death (alone or hopefully surrounded by loved ones), and the value of a child. Kindness and cruelty are yours to dispense. So consider what you are doing before you commit to pressing the X or Y button.

DIARIES
Besides its amazing game play, smart AI, awesome weapons and powers (already covered in great detail in other reviews), the game also contains lots of audio diary files which you want to collect and listen to. Each tells a brief story of someone who was or is still alive. These make Rapture a more enticing place to explore.

VISUALS
The visuals are BREATHTAKING. The architecture, interior design choices, and costumes are GORGEOUS. I found myself wondering around after finishing off enemies in a particular area just to get a glimpse of the paintings, the furniture and other design choices that are in this game.

SOUND
The voice acting is the best and so are the instrumentals/music. In fact, the quality of acting is better then most of the films produced by Hollywood in any given year.

Get this game and play it. You will be immersed into this world and love every minute of it. And, if you are lucky, it will visit you at night in your dreams.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game is Spectacular

posted by Xmann1 (CAPE CORAL, FL) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When this game first came out in 2007, I strickly judged this book by it's cover. I thought it was a game that I wouldn't enjoy and therefore passed up. However when I finally rented it and played it, it was a game that was amazingly stunning.

I am very, to the extreme, picky about the games I rent or buy. When I finally played this game, it not only met but exceeded my expectations. The graphics are like none I've ever seen, the story line is exceptional and I love the way you have the ability to determine the outcome of each scene and ultimatley the game itself.

I've never played a game that intrigued me and literally had me jumping out of my seat. Playing this game with a full surround sound system is a must. It is rare that I buy a game and enjoy playing it over and over and over again.

This game is a must have and for those who poorly rated this game, you obviously don't have any idea what in the world you are talking about. It's obvious that BioShock is not your genre of gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A gaming masterpiece

posted by Reducer (MIAMI, FL) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Bioshock is a gaming masterpiece. It's gonna be hard to review without doing any spoilers, but i will overcome! First off, let's start with the story, which has more plot twists then Watchmen had subplots. While on a plane, suddenly it crashes and your stranded in the middle of the ocean. Luckily there's an island nearby, which you swim to and find out that it's really an elevator to the underwater world Rapture, an underwater utopia that had now been infested with horrible monsters. And this is only the first 10 minutes.

The controls are solid, and every moment you know that you are much weaker then the denizens of Rapture. The graphics are stunning and the music is always a refresher because it makes you feel safe, which you never are. Also, stalking the buildings of Rapture are creatures called Big Daddies, which are robots that, if not cautious enough, can kill you in an instant. These are used in opt-in boss battles, which feels great because it never breaks the flow. Also you have a wide array of weapons and special powers to take down foes, and it's always fun to experiment.

Last but not least, here's the breakdown

Story: 10/10 (the story is always intriguing, especially when your finding radio transmitters to fill in the back story)

Entertainment: 10/10 (you'll always be on the edge of your seat, knowing that ambushes are always likely)

Music: 9/10 (the music will always feel refreshing, but all the music are from the 1960's, which will sometimes make you wish for something more)

Graphics: 10/10 (stunning, beautiful, creepy, detailed make everything really stand out)

Playability 9/10 (great controls, but why is it that sometimes hacking has a 0% success rate?)

Overall, this game gets a 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow!

posted by RichardMxx (ROCKVILLE, MD) Aug 6, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this may be one of the best games ive played EVER! good story line, good GAME period! Its so interesting i can almost promise you will never lose focus! WOW! cant wait for Bioshock 2!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mind blowing

posted by YessaMassa (BUFORD, GA) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the greatest games ive played in a long time. its a totally new style and it keeps you interested.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An Awsome Game

posted by Djreed456 (GREENSBORO, NC) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What a great game. I am a fan of FPS games and this is one of the best I have ever played. The graphics are great, the story is easy to get sucked into, I could not stop playing like a good book you can not put down. One of the best XBOX 360 games I have played, put the rest to shame. I think games and game designers like the ones of the F.E.A.R franchise should take note, this is what a FPS should be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioshock greatest rpg if you know how to play

posted by Bakeriscoo (CLOVIS, CA) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Some people are just so dumb saying the gameplay suckd and the weapons, you are all nubs if you dont know how to play the game.But anyways if you know what your doing and listening to the recordings and going to the map everyonce in a while it is atuchally easier and more fun (: i highly reccomend this game to rent or buy, If your not a nub like most of the people that rated it low.You just have to listen to the storie while its going on and it will sure dearly help you out,Makes the game alot easier. And stop whinning about the game being to short, usually when its short they make a series. So yeah rent it,play it,love it. (:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game is BEAST

posted by Wesker2009 (WARRENVILLE, IL) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think this game is overall very good, once you get the first gun. Before that, it's very slow and hardly any enemies it seems like, although that's almost a good thing since you only have a wrench and lightening balls to kill people with. The game does have slow loading and saving which keeps from getting to the killing and asylum-like setting and mood.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great First Person Shooter

posted by JRock8 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) May 4, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not much into first person shooters, but I kept hearing great things about this game, so I gave in and tried it out. WOW! WOW! WOW! Not only was the game fun, it has a great story line as well. It's refreshing to play a game with such originality. Can't wait for number 2. Check Bioshock out if you haven't already.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GOTY.

posted by DRKR3V (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Aug 31, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

27 out of 31 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

First Off, I was not in the group of people who hyped up this game. I was just looking to rent this game but my best friend finally told me to buy this game and I did. If you played the demo then you would know that the water and environment effects are simply amazing good. The opening scene I thought it was still CGI until I hit the controller with my leg. The games overall feel is wonderful and they kept the plasmids and shooting the same unlike other games out there, where one is better then the other. They put 120% into SP this time around and I will have to say it really paid off, the storyline has wonderful twist and turns that made me want to see this as a movie.

The Big Daddy's and Little Sisters played one great role in this game, and unlike most battles they were quite fun and never the same. I walked around just thinking all Big Daddy's were going to be the same but they had the Bouncer types, the Rosie types and then the Elite forms. In the end result with them having put forth so much effort into just building a story and character background this game deserves the 10 and possibly Game of The Year.

Audio: Big Daddy noises where awesome, splicer's grinding across the floor was simply amazing. (9.5)
Gameplay: The game play was a masterpiece.(10)
Graphics: Quite surprising.(9.0)
Longevity: Without Co-Op or MP you could be done after a few runs through.(8.7)
Innovation: Groundbreaking. Raising the Bar for SP games.(9.7)

Overall: 9.8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Happy Camper!

posted by alyssahts (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All I need to say is buy this game!
You will have fun, guaranteed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great, but not Perfect.

posted by Jyokdar (KILN, MS) May 1, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I had first heard of Bioshock, I became intrigued by the storyline. I wanted to know what a Big Daddy was, what Adam was, and what and where Rapture was. I have to say, the storyline did not disappoint. The context didn't either, as I felt an emotion from the very beginning that I have never felt while gaming before, fear. The playability of this game is great, as I soon forgot about the hunk of plastic I was holding in my hands. The integration of Plasmids into gameplay was flawless. However, resource management soon steps into the forefront of gameplay. "Should I spend my last ten dollars on another health pack or six more pistol rounds?" "Should I check out this room or not?" For those who are used to being a gaming BA, prepare to wait an hour or so before feeling the experience. This is forgiveable. What is not forgivable is what I call the,"carrot-on-a-stick" concept. Your quest-giver tells you that the bad guy just on the next level for aboutfive levels. Whenever you feel like mais king a major accomplishment in the storyline, someone or something sets the final goal farther down road. Eventually, you just stop caring about the long term goals and start merely looking at the mundane, short-term ones. For example, why you are trying to kill the three guys doesn't matter, all that matters is that "kill the three guys" shows up on your quest goals. Eventually, the "fetch this item" and "find this guy" missions become stale. I even got so tired of the repetitive,"the main goal is right here" and then when you go to where "here" is, you have to jump through an hour's worth of hoops going to said "here" position Eventually, plowing through the story just feels like work, not play. At this point, you are probably thinking, "Man, this guy hated this game". Don't get me wrong, this was a great game. The gameplay was excellent and the story was a one-of-a-kind. However, the bait-and-switch method swaps rewarding goal accomplishment with more missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game I have ever played

posted by BioShock2 (GLENDALE, AZ) Sep 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

27 out of 32 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

The second you start the game, you know it is going to be a great one. The game grows on to you the more you play it as it has spectacular gameplay, awesome graphics, and great fun. You will never want to put down the game for a minute as for some reason, you want to play more of it. When you beat it, you feel awesome and sad at the same time depending on your ending and because the game has ended. So I recommend you to rent it as it is going to best game you will ever rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioshock Best action rpg ever

posted by david10139 (WEST COVINA, CA) Aug 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

39 out of 47 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I've played through the whole game and I like the game because of the different powers called "Plasmids" which can be upgraded you can also power up your weapons with more clip size and more powerful shots. The boss battles are amazing and the A.I is smart if you use a power like incinerate on a enemy the enemy will try to put the flame out by jumping into water where you can zap the water with electricity. The emotional connection between the Big daddy and little sister is something that made me sympathetic towards the two. this is the best action rpg I have ever played. Anyone with a 360 should play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioshock great game

posted by Capthowdy (TRENTON, OH) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This has to be one of the best games iv played on the xbox 360 some nice twist and a very good plot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, too short, too easy: take your time.

posted by trystero (OAKLAND, CA) Sep 4, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The environment, the premise and the story of Bioshock are second to none. But the game is not very long and is relatively easy. To fully enjoy the game you should take your time. Some Suggestions:
1. Play on Hard. Hard on Bioshock is easier than medium on Gears of War. Plus you can save anytime and re-spawn without losing progress.
2. Only Save when you are not under attack. It's easier than a Halo/Gears style checkpoint system. but doesn't sacrifice the tension of combat by saving after every good shot.
3. Don't use the re-vitalization chamber to beat your enemies. When you re-spawn, Your enemies don't regain their health. This makes it possible to beat them by repeatedly rushing at them, guns blazing. Don't do this. You can beat the bad guys using strategy and health packs instead. Much more fun. If you die, re-load and try again from scratch.
4. Don't buy Health upgrades. Spend your Adam on Plasmids and Tonics which are more fun. You can get higher Max Health and Eve with research photos of Little Sisters. If you really need more, you can buy it late in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bioshock! Now this is nextgen!

posted by ChankenHSW (BIG RIVER, CA) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

They were making Bioshock before the 360 even came out!! Man dose it show! This game at it's fullest will give movies like Seven and Signs a run for there money! The story is freaky, shocking, and thrilling. If your the type of gamer who plays for just playing it and don't care much for keeping up with the story Bioshock is not for you. But if your a gamer who likes to read every letter and listen to every messege then you must play Bioshock.. The graphics are great on it. The warter effects will drop your jaw. The controlls are great and simpler to use then I 1st thought. They did a great job on puting RT RB for Guns and LT, LB for the Plasmas. The gameplay is fast and fun! It also made it to were you can hack things useing a system like I saw on Perfect Dark Zero. It's fun but for me it slowed things down. Whats bad about the game? Well for one I think it barrows to much from FEAR. The tape messages, the scare tatics (It will make you jump)! That isn't a bad thing mind you, but more cut scenes would have been nice. The AI could have used more work also. People who can set traps and cameras dosen't know how to hide when there getting shot at? But it is so much fun to set them on fire waite till they dump themselfs in warter then eletricute them. That never gets old and neaither dose the missions. I wanted to keep the best thing for last and that is the envirements. It's dark with old music playing in the background. You hear people talking to themself about what they lost in a mental manner. It is Awsome, and it's really what sets this game apart from other FPS's. It makes FEAR look like a vacation. Don't bother with online play. There isn't any! And for a game like this thats not a bad thing.. Bioshock is the start of true nextgen FPS's and is well worth cheaking out. It took me bout 20 hours to play it. Plus there are 2 endings. Thats based on the little sisters. Cause if you......well your'll see yourself :) I give Bioshock a 9.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Late to review, but please read!

posted by juicebeast (SEATTLE, WA) May 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I know I'm late to the table in reviewing this game, and probably no one will read it, but I'm so frustrated about all the "Perfect Game" and "10" reviews for GTA IV that I have to praise something actually deserving a near-perfect score to cool off.

The only reason it's not a "10" is the lack of multiplayer! I love this game so much, and this kind of FPS is the PERFECT kind of game to adapt to online deathmatch mayhem, or even LAN multi!

The graphics set a standard for this console, the script and delivery are second to none, and the unique attitude of the game shoot it far beyond most games before or since, including (and tonight, especially) GTA IV.

Yay, 2K!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Awesome

posted by SPODIE (SEATAC, WA) Mar 2, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Many layers of cool with this game. I really appreciate the Art Deco, Ayn Randian underwater world.

The final boss battle could've been a little harder, but great game otherwise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse