Rent BioShock 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

BioShock 2

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.1

21099 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bioshock 2, Changing the Way we View the Bad Guys

posted by Jay22yaj (HUGO, MN) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

74 out of 77 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Bioshock 2 takes place in Rapture 10 years after the death of the protagonist from Bioshock 2. Though this time the story has been changed drastically. You are no longer a human, but a Big Daddy on a quest to reunite with his lost little sister. The obstacles you are forced to hurtle truly test the bonds between a little sister and her "daddy".

After playing Bioshock 1, I was extremely excited to play the sequel. Upon completing the game, it was clear that I had not been let down. With a Big Daddy as the main character, a lot has changed from Bioshock 1. For instance, the wrench is a weapon of the past. Who needs it anyway when you are equipped with a drill that can rip apart an enemy from the inside? Also, new weapons and enemies have been introduced. With the strength of a Big Daddy, normal splicers are now less of an opponent and more of a hassle. I found the only time they were a threat were when they were in a large group. One of my favorite additions, was a new enemy called the Big Sister. This ruthless enemy travels rapture attempting to maintain the balance of Rapture. These enemies are tougher than Big Daddies, and emit a shrill screech whenever they draw near. I don't know about you, but I quickly feared that piercing noise.

Although the game was relatively short in length, it redeemed itself with the new features of gameplay. It seemed that all of the worst parts of the first were fixed or modified in the second. For example, you no longer have to switch between plasmids and your main weapon. Both attacks are at your disposal, which allowed me to integrate different combos in my combat. The voice acting was incredible too. Not only were the characters interesting, but I found myself caring about most of them. With the situations you are put in, tough choices are to be made. Will you spare the life of an innocent, or kill for selfish reasons?

In my opinion Bioshock exeeded my expectations, and I highly recommend playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not What I expected, in the best way possible

posted by captainkyka (CAPE CORAL, FL) Mar 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I absolutely loved the first game. I admit that when I saw they were making a Bioshock 2 I was disappointed. I felt like they were just trying to milk the first game for all it was worth.
I could not have been more wrong. This game completely stands alone from the first. The base game play is the same and this game is obviously set in the Bioshock world but that is where the similarities end. The story line is completely different than the first. Playing as a big daddy is not nearly as cheesy as I thought it would be either. You also have new weapons, plasmids, and enemies. Every one of which is thrilling. I enjoyed rediscovering Rapture. There were many new areas to explore. There are even more moral decisions to make and all of the characters interact with you in different ways as well. A big daddy will not attack unless you attack first, for example.
Just as the first, the game is gorgeous. The visuals, the sounds and voice acting were spot on. The controls were actually improved. Though, I do wish they would give us a sprint button.
All in all, this immersive and impressive experience is one you owe yourself. You will not be disappointed.

(I did not play the multiplayer so I can not judge that. This review is on the single player game only)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Back to Rapture

posted by stinger67 (OWATONNA, MN) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

26 out of 29 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I was like most people when i got this game i was thinking could this game be as good as the first or will it ruin my memories of the first time in rapture. I must say they did a pretty good job on this one, if you played the first one yea your back but it looks different like its been years later it shows with it being run down looking leaks everywhere,believeable.. the graphics are still top notch, controls are smooth and the story was a good one also, the new charaters keep it going, all in all a real good sequel to a fantastic first game. If you played the first or if you didnt you gotta rent this game you wont be dissapointed.. A far as the multiplayer goes i play multiplayer a lot (mw2, cod waw,bf) but i couldnt get into the multiplayer on this one, i think some games shouldnt have multiplayer because of the original 1player story is so good it seems a shame to add it, just my opinoin.Feels like they were just doing what everybody else was doing with multiplayer nowadays, the campagian could have stood on its own and still sell a bunch... RENT...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Rent / MAYBE buy...

posted by gopreds303 (ANTIOCH, TN) Jun 18, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'd first like to say, this game is far from perfect and definitely a game that non-bioshock players may find frustrating. please read this whole review... Because this is an excellent game, but you as a player need to learn the control schemes, the importance of setting up traps, and some good cash flow and adam management. To someone who's never played any of the bioshock games, this is an 'older 50's sytle SCI FI shooter'. Your task and situation is a bit different than the first, rather than a lone wolf, in the first, you're a famed or rather INFAMOUS 'big daddy' as pictured on the front of the cover. That means that everyone is gunning for you, as they know you normally carry copious amounts of ADAM. Personally for me, this game-style is really addictive. This game utilizes the 'save anywhere, anytime, any reason function' ... USE THIS OFTEN ... doing so will net you 25G for not using a 'vita chamber' i.e. checkpoint; so DON'T DIE and continue, load a past checkpoint. Personally I saved before every 'triggered encounter' ... protecting little sister, big daddy fight, big sister fight, or otherwise 'tough' part. As a shooter it's ok, as a sci-fi action game, its great, as a strategy game, it's fun. 2k has done an excellent job getting you into the 'mood' of the game. Overall though this is a spectacular game, with graphics that are good, the challenge is good and fair. I will say that the ending (at least for me) wasn't super climactic. I hope this helps you decide to put this in your Q because this STILL plays great to this day.

Oh side technical note, if you have some HDD space, install this game to your HDD to get some faster load times... it REALLY helps. There aren't a LOT of load screens, but if you're saving as much as I did... it's worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Return to Rapture

posted by Carbine (COLTON, CA) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

78 out of 97 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Absolutly amazing is the only way to describe the Bioshock franchise. Although number 2 does lack a lot of the mystique brought on by the first game as we already know Rapture well by now, It does however improve upon nearly all of the core concepts.
Now you have the ability to wield both plasmids and weapons at the same time and you will need it as the fighting is more intense this time around. New splicers, big sisters (they make big daddies look like a joke), and better AI add to the fun of combat. Speaking of combat the upgrade system to both the weapons and plasmids has been modified this time around to really get you into the upgrade process. No longer do these things just increase in damage but rather increase in form all around. The swarm plasmid for example which was near useless in the first game can now attack at level one as normal, at level 2 they will form two groups of bees, and at level 3 they will infest corpses and attack any who draw near creating major crowd control chaos that can last for the duration of any fight if done right. New plasmids, weapons, and tonics have been added as well with the scout plasmid (your spirit leaves your body and can travel unharmed and unnoticed while using plasmids still) and harpoon gun being noted favorites. The way you interact with the little sisters has been changed slightly too. You can either harvest or adopt the little sisters now which the later will result in watching them harvest Adam while you defend them. These defense situations were some of the funnest sequences in the game which I'm more then happy about as I figured it would be one of the weaker points.
The graphics are still great, the music is awesome, and the immersion is still fantastic late at night with the sound turned way up. Definatly worth a rent to anyone who owns a 360.

Multiplayer - Wayyyyyy better then you would have ever expected it to be. plays like single player with a level system like CoD, its own story, and great game modes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioshock 2

posted by SexyGamer (STOCKBRIDGE, GA) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

As many people know the greatness that is known as Bioshock 1 comes the sequel Bioshock 2. In this sequel you play as the firstly made big daddy and as a prototype you are able to use Plasmids, let alone the powerful big daddy drill, and Rivet gun, and tons of other unique weapons including a Hacking gun, and the ever so popular shot gun.

I loved the visual effects in Bioshock 1, and the scenary in the ocean as you stared around at other parts of rapture. In Bioshock 2 the game lets you have the full fill in for a Big Daddy as the Graphics are greatly improved, and it even gives you a chance to walk around the peaceful environments of the sea, though you don't get a very long feel to it, but hey something you can enjoy for the time being.

I am sure most people have wondered what exactly a Big daddy is, and well why are they so upsessed with protecting the "Little Sister", well this game puts you in all of it, it explains alot of why the big daddy is the way he is, and even gives you a chance to adopt a little sister.

The story behind this game is unique, I have grown very fond of it, and think anyone could love it. Even if they have not even touched the first game. All in all I find this game fun for all of our FPS fans, and recommend you guys to go out and pick this title up, and give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well done, but more of the same

posted by TheCrog (NORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Fans of the first game will notice that all of the things that made the first game so good are still here. The graphics are amazing, and the attention to detail is impressive. Sounds, voices, and lighting still give that creepy, dystopian-retro experience that we loved in the original. The controls are tight and work well. Following the story is fairly interesting and the voice actors do a wonderful job with their dialogue, as before.

All that being said, the problem is that this feels as though the developers simply extended the first game, rather than creating a whole new one; the experience feels repetitive. I already experienced the graphics, environments, plasmids, splicers, Big Daddy fights (etc) in the first game, so what does playing through the sequel accomplish? If you're in it for the story, then you can just burn through the game on easy mode, but there's little motivation to go beyond that (unless you just like the challenge).

Hacking has been simplified: you can launch "Hacking Darts" from a distance, rather than having to run up to cameras or turrets. And the actual hacking sequence is a fairly easy quick-time event, rather than the plumbing puzzle. The drawback is that you're still under attack while hacking, so you have to either keep moving or hide to finish. Even on normal difficulty, the hacked drones and turrets seemed overpowered; I could sit back and let them wipe out the enemies for me.

There's an abundance of ammo and power-ups, so I never needed to use the vending machines. Also, you can still respawn at the Vita-Chamber for no penalty, so I ended up using melee most of the time, even though the drill runs out of fuel way too quickly. As I said, though, there's plenty of fuel laying around, so it won't hinder you.

All in all, it's a very good game, but if you've played the first then you've played this one. Worth at least a rental for the story alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bioshock 2: Be a Big Daddy

posted by UberBoob (CLARKSTON, MI) Feb 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

In short, play this one.

Bioshock 2 takes the first Bioshock game and imporoves most aspects, but loses something in the process.

You now fill the shoes of a giant "Big Daddy" named Delta who loses his "daughter", a genetically altered girl that drains bodies of blood, in the underwater city of Rapture. The mystery is missing from the first Bioshock. You've been here before and you know that there are freaks here that will eventually need to be dealt with. But this doesn't stop you from plowing forward in this one though.

The game looks great with awesome detail in every room and corridor in Rapture. The sounds and creepy dystopian atmosphere add to the overall feel of a rundown, city on the verge of collapse. The story has some twists and turns and even some added "moral choices" that are interesting.

The dual-wielded weapons and plasmids (super powers) have been tweaked from Bioshock 1 and are fun to combine together for some awesome and sometimes hilarious ways of wrecking bad guys. If there is one bad thing, it's that there are too many powers and you'll usually stick to a few that work well (like Bioshock 1).

It has multiplayer. Nothing special here. Why bother.

Bioshock2 is at least worth a rent if not a purchase (I know, there are so many to budget right now).

+ Visuals and audio create an eerie atmosphere that feels real
+ Weapons and plasmids are fun to play around with
+ Well structured story
+ Pretty much all the complaints from Bioshock 1 were addressed (lame hacking minigame, interface, etc...)
+ You're a Big Daddy badass!

- The "normal" characters look a little off with bad animation and voice
- Feels like a sequel (been there done that)
- Linear story/level progression. There's no going back.
- Lots of powers, no incentive to try them all

I had a lot of fun with this one. I liked Bioshock 1 more than Bioshock 2, but it was great getting more Rapture in my veins.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioshock delivers!

posted by hifructose (ATASCADERO, CA) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

45 out of 68 gamers (66%) found this review helpful

Pros:
Incredible graphics, beautiful storyline that will blow your mind, sweet arsenal of weaponry, and a whole motherload more. Multiplayer shakes things up a bit, and its a jolly good time using the big daddy suit and upgrading plasmids, so on so forth. Also being able to set traps, use plasmids AND guns at the same time, is a relief. Oh, and let's not forget the unstoppable drill as your built-in cohort in combat!

Cons: well there's the......umm.........no ironsights? I'm not sure there is a whole lot of issues other than that.

Needless to say, whether or not you're a Bioshock fanatic already, you will be with this stunning and magnificent masterpiece that 2k has slaved away on. Certainly worth a buy, with the online and all.

The Tally:
Graphics- 12/10 simply superb
Combat- 10/10
Story- numbers simply aren't worthy :p
Online- 9/10
Puzzles- 9/10

OVERALL- 10/10

Go get it kiddies!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good Game, Not Great

posted by Pooisfun (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Welcome to Rapture....again. The second tour through the underwater labyrinth is a familiar one, which isn't a bad thing. The graphics are polished with great detail and Bioshock still has a soundtrack that puts other games to shame. Bioshock 2 plays exactly like the first Bioshock, but without the constant suprises that Bioshock 1 gave you. It leaves that game feeling fun but more of a Bioshock 1.5 instead of a true sequel.

One of the most anticipated changes with the new installment is playing as a Big Daddy and all the glorious weapons that come with the character. The drill was a personal bit of excitement for myself, but after actually using the weapon, it felt more like a glorified wrench that one second can rip a slicer to shreds to a toy hammer used for whack-a-mole once it runs out of gas. In general, you feel much lighter and weaker than you would expect a Big Daddy to handle. I realize that being weak at the beginning is part of the adventure to become stronger but when a single splicer with a pistol can out shot you while wielding a rivet gun, it's a bit disconcerting.

The multiplayer was a welcome surprise. It well balanced, and a solid shooter experience with the fun weapons from the single play that actually works in a multi player setting.

All in all, Bioshock 2 is a very good game that is definitely worth the rent and I dare say I would spend the $60, but you can tell the developers definitely played it safe with this installment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i don't know why people say this game sucks.

posted by adiosalma (RIO RICO, AZ) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

i loved this one as much as the first one.i do think this one was slightly harder then the last one but nothing you cant get through it was also shorter but it was fun and it didn't disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game overall

posted by Deadpool (POWELL, OH) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2005

20 out of 33 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

There have been some big changes from the 1st one. The biggest one i have noticed it the difficulty level. Even on medium, the game is alot harder than Bioshock 1 on hard. You have alot less health, and the enemies take more hits to kill them. Graphics are way better, and you play as a big daddy.

The multiplayer is the civil war that happened to rapture. You are either Team Ryans, or Team Atlas. There is alot of customization in it. You pick your character design, and you pick your load out. As you level up, you get more plasmids and guns. At later levels, you unlock tonics. The game online is incredibly balanced, and has great game modes, like capture the little sister, ffa, tdm, and territory like game mode.

All and all, this game is well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well Done

posted by Force07 (OLIVE BRANCH, MS) Mar 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Sequels are always a difficult task when the preceding game is a hit. However, this title is a pretty good follow up. It isn't the completely different take on the whole Rapture City story like I thought it would be, seeing that you are a big daddy this time around; but it does enough different to provide a new experience. Not much has changed by way of plasmids or graphics which was a little dissapointing, but both are easy to get over in the first hour or so. You are clearly stronger than the first games leading guy, but I just didn't feel as menacing as my idea of the big daddies from the first entry. None-the less the game is solid. I wanted this game to be a nine or ten, but it never left the 7 or 8 platform. You can't go wrong renting this one. Buying is up to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioshock 2, illuminating yet hauntingly similiar

posted by beeronasti (ODESSA, TX) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Please ladies and gentlemen, I implore you this game deserves a 10 on passion alone, because by the end of this game i promise you that you will feel for the lives involved and be emotionally devoted to your task. As you empathize with the characters and are drawn into their world and what they have gone through. Put yourself in their world and embrace their ordeal and it will lead to one of the greatest entrancing video games experiences if you only allow it the opportunity.

Leave behind your preconceptions of a fuzzy world recently gone insane. 10 years have passed since our first foyer into the eerie and beautiful world of rapture and things have gotten much worse since then. The degradation of rapture is all around you and feel it in the pace of your adventures as it gives rise to an entire new level of insistence to your plight. Your mysterious past must be tortuously discovered nugget by nugget as you strain through all the clues to solve the puzzle of what happened.

On paper this game doesn't seem as good as the first, with the elemental allure of the unknown no longer beckoning, but you can clearly tell that everything in the second has been polished, from the plasmids to the weapons it all seems well thought out to give you a plethora of options for any numerous strategies you might wish to employ. You employ gene tonics to alter your game play as to create even more complex and intricate strategies. Where the first had me slowly taking everything in with eyes full of wonder, the second had me charging through, unable to put down the controller, as you feel drawn in to a whirlwind finish that is as climatic as a game can expect to be.

Deceptively deep and forced to see the world as a hole in a fence this game delights and teases but never disappoints, a delightful trip that any fan of the first absolutely must take, as well as anyone who considers themselves a true gamer.

Hold onto your seats ladies and gentlemen, the ride is about to begin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game!

posted by sTc027 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Awesome FPS! I was a bit skeptical at first because I thought the first game was just ok. This one is way better. The campaign is phenominal. I like being able to use plasmids and weapons at the same time now. Achievements are fairly easy to get all of them. The only negative about this game is the multiplayer. It's not very fun, gets laggy, and it occassionally freezes my xbox. You are forced to play this since there are achievements for it. It's fun at first, but gets old. Anyway, play this game! You'll like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BIOSHOCK 2

posted by Jmaster67 (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

23 out of 43 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This time around you play as the fearsome big daddy rather than Jack. This Big Daddy have no memory of what happened to it, and he searches for answers and the little sister that he was paired with.



Unlike other big daddies, this one gets to use plasmids other than just his drill and brute force. Also, beware of the new character, the BIG sister!



Also, this game has a very interesting multiplayer addition to it. If you haven't played the first one, play that before you play this! If you're a Bioshock veteran, then you're bound to love this game!



Thank you 2K games. My rating 9.25/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LSB1222 REVIEW - BIOSHOCK 2

posted by lsb1222 (NEWNAN, GA) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I absolutely fell in love with the first Bioshock game and all of its features. Therefore, I knew that Bioshock 2 would have to be a huge step above its predecessor in order for me to be excited about its gameplay. I am happy to say that Bioshock 2 blew my expectations away, creating a game that I would recommend to every single gamer out there! One of, if not, the best game that will come out in 2010. I would even challenge to say that this game could give Halo: Reach a run for its money when it comes out later this year.

The gameplay is amazing and the graphics have improved drastically since the first game. The storyline allowed us to be able to keep all of the same great plasmids, weapons, & enemies of the first game, while at the same time introducing us to a brand new set of amazing characters with a great story to go with it. Unlike the first game, where saving Little Sisters and escaping Rapture were your only concerns, you get the choice of saving or killing real people. All the while, your actions will ultimately help to shape the future of your own Little Sister, as she watches your every move throughout the game. The best new part to this game is the Hack feature. Unlike Bioshock 1, where you had to stop the game to do the Hack, Bioshock 2 allows for long-distance hacking, as well as hacking that takes place in real time, allowing for the game to run more smoothly.

The sights and sounds still give off that same spooky vibe. The greatest addition is the Big Sister: a faster, swifter and more cunning version of the Big Daddy, equipped with all of your same weapons and plasmids with one goal in mind, to kill you! The high pitch screeching you hear as they approach your area always makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up, even after the 4th or 5th time it happens. Just amazing realism that makes this a must-own game.

I pray and hope that 2k continues to run with this series, as it is a real pleasure to play every time! A MUST-HAVE!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bio Shock 2

posted by jackson37 (BUCKSPORT, ME) Apr 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok this game was very decent. The controls and game play are the same as the first one. Actually, this game is basically the same as the first one minus the story line and weapons. I think they could have done a lot more with this game and changed it up a bit. Ending is good but not as good as the first one. Few new enemies introduced to the game (i.e. big sisters). Online gaming is very straight forward and you can customize some what. All around game is fairly decent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

all you need

posted by 2mellow (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

everything you need in a game, excellent graphics,inventive ways to kill, and lots of variety in upgrades. i think its my favorite all time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BioShockingly Great.

posted by CoreyKei (OAK CREEK, WI) May 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Bioshock 2 brings back the greatness of the first and adds on a great story and great game play.

Graphics: 10/10
The graphics only get better. The realistic look of Rapture is amazing, plus watching enemies run around screaming when you light them on fire is pretty fun.

Sound: 9/10
The sound track is like the first. None the less it's still mood building and amazing.

Story: 10/10
It's amazing, from the beginning to the end you stay attached to the story.

Multiplayer: 8/10
It's pretty fun, but at the same time you die in a snap and sometimes you spawn right next to enemies and it gets so boring.

All in All: 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for a weekend

posted by freeman148 (PEABODY, MA) Apr 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the first Bioshock was a stellar gaming experience on the Xbox 360 and is one of my favorites. Bioshock 2 is a great game but, doesnt live up to the first. There aren't many graphical changes in the game and the gameplay is still the same with the exception of duel wielding plasmids and a weapon. Since you are a Big Daddy, more enemies will attack you which is more intense and exciting but, if not planned out correctly could and most likely will result in death on the higher difficulties. Multiplayer is forgetful and brings nothing fun or exciting. Simple deathmatch and capture the flag modes are lame. i suggest renting it for its great singleplayer fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An Excellent sequel!

posted by Circus15 (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I would definitley recommend Bioshock 2 to anyone because it truly is a powerful follow up to the first. Even though, the story line is completely different from the first. the added additions are great and harvesting new girls one at a time is agood way to get better upgrades. I highly recommend this!!! Go get it immediately.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Reset Rapture

posted by Alchemist0 (OSSINING, NY) Mar 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You start out as the original Bioshock, alone in a strange part of Rapture, only this time you arrive as "Delta", one of the original Big Daddy prototypes. You discover that your Little Sister was kidnapped by the antagonist of this Rapture redux, Sophia Lamb, and it's up to you to smash, shoot and shock your way past splicers, Big Daddies & Big Sisters to save her and stop Lamb.

Right away, players of Bioshock 1, myself included, were most likely bored by the fact that it starts out as tame as the first installment did with nothing but your trusty drill fist to beat back the splicers. I think this may have started the lackluster reviews because we of the original Bioshock know what to expect and we expect to be thrust right into the action. We know Electro Bolt to a pool of water shocks all, no need to baby it along. And those who have never played Bioshock 1 probably would have a greater understanding of the storyline if they played the original first.

Aside from the slow start to a much hyped sequel, the weapons have been upgraded and the plasmids have additional powers as you upgrade. You are also lead through Rapture by a new leading man named "Sinclair" (those who played the original probably remember another smooth talking man guiding us through Rapture and how well that turned out for us). Another addition is the ability to gather ADAM by adopting Little Sisters from your defeated Big Daddies.

Plot: 9 - Nice to have a better plot than the first Bioshock. That one was just kill kill kill (not a bad plot either)

Controls: 8 - Same as before

Weapons: 9 - Changes abound! Plasmids as well

Playthrough: 6 - Despite exploring new areas of Rapture, it seemed the same as the first.

Overall: 7 - Veterans of Bioshock would do well to play it once through but it doesn't have the allure to play it again. Those who haven't played Bioshock 1, play the original first. It makes the second seem less confusing and explains much of what you'll need to know for #2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Bioshock 2

posted by Madathlon (LAKEHEAD, CA) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Please understand this is my first review.

Great gameplay, Easy to learn and very exciting. But there is a downside, this game has to be played on a Hi-Def TV, on older set you can not read any of the notes or messages and tips you get during the game. making it extremely hard to review them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good single player/ TERRIBLE MULTIPLAYER

posted by brendanb (OAK PARK, IL) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

rapture is a great world to have a game in. i loved that about the first one, and still loved it about this one. that said, i really didn't feel this game very much.

i don't know if it's because i held the first game in such high esteem, but this game was a bit of a letdown. i think it's probably because i just came out of mw2, which was super awesome.

and multiplayer is the absolute worst. i'm sure you've read about all the lag, and freezing consoles. if you haven't tried it, trust me, it's terrible.

my friends and i sorta compete to see who can get more achievements out of a game, but i'm throwing in the towel on this one. it's not worth it.

my console freezes after every 3 matches. i have to get up and hard reboot it. so lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse