Rent Biggest Loser for Wii
view large frontback

Biggest Loser

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
6.1

539 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

I'm buying this one!

posted by MiniDriver (SOMERVILLE, MA) May 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've done a lot of exercise videos and games. This is by far the best. There's a good variety of exercise so it doesn't get too boring. The pacing is excellent. It's challenging without being too hard. And you get the personalities of Bob and Jillian to work with. It's great to have an avatar that's approximately my size.

I have a few small nits to pick.
There's no way to pause or go back (much like a live exercise class!)
The warm-up should stream more seamlessly into the day's workout. I've accidentally hit warm-up again after the warm-up and had to do it again because there isn't a go-back feature.

When you're doing exercises that may interfere with your ability to the screen, there's no clear indication of when that exercise is done and it's time to switch to another. And when you're in a repeated cycle, there isn't much telling you what to do. That's fine if you can see the screen, but if you're doing a yoga pose or situps you can't always see the screen to know what to do.

Sometimes it's not clear why a certain activity is "graded" better or worse than the last time I did it. I think there may be some problems with picking up movements from the remote or the balance board. But that may be a problem with my equipment/setup rather than with the game itself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Good but not Perfect

posted by Lightlike (RALEIGH, NC) Oct 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

32 out of 35 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

The exercises are tough but not too hard on my knees/joints(a problem I had with both EA Active and My Fitness Coach). I really like how smooth the circuits are without having to use extra thigh straps/bands. I like this much better than EA Active. I found the game to be mostly responsive, sometimes it did take me a few tries to figure out the speed and correct placements for an exercise but overall it works very well you just have to perfect your form/pace(which is not easy, but most things worth doing aren't exactly easy). I think that is true with any exercise/workout. I found the game to be easy to use, not too complicated(you can change your exercise schedule by clicking unlock schedule and moving the workouts to different days, and I figured that out without reading the instructions) I think there is a bit of room for improvement(like some of the recipes don't tell you how many servings they make--example: Quick Rice Pudding" in desserts and some of the options seem to be liking in as far as knowing how long most workouts are, or being able to remove an exercise from a workout) but overall it's a very motivating/beneficial game to me, it definitely feels like it is going to be the help I need to push me past a hard plateau I've been on for several weeks. I think the eliminations, etc are extremely motivating because competition helps me push harder.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best workout game on wii

posted by emachines (WATERTOWN, NY) Oct 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

36 out of 40 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I have a hard time thinking you can get a good excersie on the WII so i just rented the game on gamefly and say what the heck. I put it in and wow just the first time i played It blew me away just was the best work out at home ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Biggest Loser

posted by lst4165 (BURBANK, CA) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game! My issue is that there is not enough verbal "coaching," so you have to keep your eye on the tv screen, which is not always easy when you're trying to do the exercises. It's not as user friendly as it could be...takes some time to figure out how to effectively use, especially when you don't have the full instruction manual (when renting). The exercises are definitely effective, so that is a big plus, I was just bothered by the fact that it wasn't always clearly indicated via sound when it was time to transition from one activity to another. I also felt that there should have been more form "pointers" available, especially in cases where it was "rating" you lower than perfect form. Often, I felt like my form was perfect, but the game clearly did not agree...and I was not able to determine why.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what I expected

posted by carajasmin (SACRAMENTO, CA) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to receiving this game and was so disapointed. Yes it does give you a workout but it gets old very quickly and not enough variety in excersises. Another thing that was annoying was the fact that I was working out really hard and the controls just don't synchronize well with the game...all my actions are so delayed. I stood still for about 1 min and my character was still working out lol...I think any games made by Nintendo themselves are better when it comes to synchronization.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Biggest Looser

posted by daydreamin (GILBERT, AZ) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I was really excited for the biggest looser and loved it at first but once I really started playing around with all the features I began to get annoyed with the game. I never found a pause button and if I clicked on the wrong section there was no back button once you started a workout. I also disliked the fact that with the custom workout the game would suddenly go really slow in between work outs. I also did not think there was a lot of variety in the workouts. Hopefully next time they create this game these sort of issues will be resolved

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Biggest Loser, not too accurate.

posted by DavidM (CHANNAHON, IL) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

The game requires too much time to set up and it is very inaccurate, if it were to be better acquitted to the motions i believe it could be a decent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great workout

posted by rlwyld1 (MADISON, AL) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I admit I am in pretty bad shape. While my weight is not as bad as some of the men on finale night my medical condition is not much better than many of the folks starting out on the ranch. First thing I learned you bout need a gym to do some of the exercises Jillian really puts you through the paces and you need some room to move around. Day Two I could barely move even with it set on easy. I did not have the balance board which did limit the quality of some of the exercises, but I really felt the burn. I agree with what I have seen said that they do not give enough detail on how to do the events pretty much watch and follow. Similar to a class over 1on1 training. Once I get a balance board I want to give it another go to really see the difference, but as is it is pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Biggest Loser

posted by Genie51 (PONTIAC, MI) Jun 10, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I loved the game. Excellant exercises and motivation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent

posted by bbutler (SAINT CLOUD, FL) May 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Loved the workout....Big plus that Jillian and Bob were in it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

thought it was good

posted by rworth (HOLLYWOOD, SC) May 3, 2010

Member since May 2010

With me being a beginner and out of shape, I got a really good workout. I don't know how it would be with someone who isn't but if you are a beginner I think this is a good starting point. .

I like the way you can keep track of your calorie intake and the amount of calories that you burn.
As others have said I can see the exercises getting old real fast but if you variety go to a personal trainer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hard

posted by mego1977 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Hi, I just sent this back! It is hard. If you are ready to get all into it this is a great game. I did intermediate. It will not let you stop in the middle of a session and the sessions are long. So I guess this is good. I get bored after you do 10 sets of the same thing and have to do more sets? I had to shut it off and I didnt try it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »