Rent Big Brain Academy: Wii Degree for Wii
view large frontback

Big Brain Academy: Wii Degree

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.5

3957 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Is it worth a purchase?.....

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jun 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

41 out of 45 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Gameplay: Fun (can get repetive)
Difficulty: Medium
Graphics: Good
Audio: Good
Controls: Good
Camera: Good
Length of Play: 10hrs
Replay Value: Moderate

This title translated well to the Wii. It is fun and challenging; however with only 15 ways it gets old fast. When you think about it is a game for the brain; like Koroinpa {Is a Must Buy). I would buy it but I would trade it for a next version.

They should make more versions "elementary, middle, high and college levels in every subject"!

I suggest a rental first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for family fun

posted by neoslick (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game to play with the family. There are a variety of games that challenge you're brain on multiple different spectrums. It's fun to have each family member take the test and see where everyone ranks in brain smarts.

Some of the multiplayer modes are alot of fun as well. There is a mind sprint game that has two teams compete against each other in a baton passing type of race. The other game we really enjoyed was mind quiz, which resembles a Jeopardy type of approach.

The only complaint I have about the game is that there are really only about 25 mini games total. So after awhile it seems like you're just doing the same thing. The games do get progressively harder as you play them though, so they do a good job at keeping you interested.

Overall this game was alot of fun for my entire family and is a definite rental for any parents who want a game they can actually compete with their kids on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth a rent

posted by L33T360 (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Feb 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fun for the whole family. I have to say it isn't as good as the other big brain games, but it is still good. I played this game with my son and we both had a lot of fun. (and hes a teenager) I would not recommend you buy this, but I would give it a try. The gameplay is not that hard, so you should breeze through it. That is why I rate this game a 9...because it is very good, but not superb!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good fun!

posted by JawJackinF (ROSEVILLE, CA) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was fun. I loved the school hall setup and my other Miis walking around. The challenges were challenging but not frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots of fun and it feels good to use my head!

posted by youngpoe79 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Oct 23, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, so when i first got this game i was wondering what it would be like and i will say, it is a lot of fun. i think it has a lot of replay value, because of the fact that when you add human players to it, it always makes it more exciting. the game goes over different areas of your brain and it is your job to do yor best. it has fun two player modes and practice modes to sharpen your skills. all in all a well made game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great game.

posted by twister782 (LINDEN, TN) Oct 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Educating your brain hasn't been so much fun. This game brings a lot of potential to the Wii as a series. Can't wait for the sequel. Like using the Mii characters in the game. There is only small flaw:

-I enjoy it being up to 8 players...but why didn't they let you use up to 4 Wii remotes instead of sharing 1 or 2?

Besides that small flaw, it's a great family game. For the teen/adult players, don't let some of the childish features scare you away from playing it. It can be very challenging. Having a game like this balances the use of the Wii console. While the Wii does give you a physical feel for it, this game brings the mental brain challenge. It's a great buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Party Game got Brains?

posted by NvizioN (SANDY, UT) Sep 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first rented this game, I expected it to just be simple mind puzzles, and that would be all.
But after playing this game for a couple days with the whole family, it felt more like a partyish kind of game, like WarioWare, while at the same time, helping your thought processes.
At first, I was reluctant to renting this game, but after playing, I would surely recommend this game to anyone who liked any part of WarioWare, or any other party games like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Much anticipated after Wario, kind of a let down

posted by Ventric (KITTERY, ME) Sep 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was quite looking forward to this game after I played Wario. After I started playing the game, it became quite monotonous. Boring and quite on the level of a child -- but not in the way that Wario was -- that was actually fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth a rent....

posted by tvwebguy (Mentone, CA) Jun 16, 2007

Member since May 2007

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This is a decent game that is initially very fun. However, as previously mentioned, the tasks can become mundane after a while. I like the scoring system and I really like the premise of the game.

As for the controls, I'm a little disappointed in the use of the Wii remote features. For example, on the Wack-a-Mole game, you click to wack the mole. I think you should swing the remote to wack the mole. Also, one more annoying thing, the Big Brain host talks way to much.

On the plus side, I like the integration of the Mii characters and the ability to send your info and stats to your friends.

Overall, this is a great game for the kids to play this summer. We'll see what they think of it. They'll decide if we buy it or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Learning is fun. Sort of, anyway.

posted by RKDynamic (PLANO, IL) Jul 12, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I had really high hopes for Big Brain Academy: Wii Degree (BBA:WD). I was hoping that I'd have fun with it (obviously), but I was also hoping that my wife would take a liking to it as well. She is a casual gamer (almost a non-gamer), and I was thinking that this would be something fun to use together.

Turns out that it was fun to watch each other work through the 5 categories to get a new brain weight. And multiplayer was almost fun... the person with the best hand eye coordination really has the advantage here still, so it was less fun than I'd hoped for the wife. Multiplayer feels very limited with only a few modes to choose from.

Overall, it was very fun to rent, but I don't think I'd be returning often enough or practicing enough to justify owning it. Thanks again Gamefly for helping me make another good decision on games purchases... this is one that I most likely would have purchased right away without trying if it weren't for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Keeper

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Pros
- the migration to Wii is implemented well
- addictive and competitive gameplay
- Single and multiplayer fun
- Can send 'ghost' scores to friends online to compete against
- Mii integration

Cons
- not much, wish there was actual online play
- could use a 4 player head to head
- the mascot guy talks too much
- would be nice to know the benchmarks to get certain medals

Remember to press A+B in the beginning to skip through the professors welcome speeches

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is a lot of fun!!

posted by scoer54 (Parker, CO) Sep 5, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

My family and I have been enjoying this game... we ended up buying it after renting it on gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Big Brain Academy for Wii

posted by Andrew12 (JACKSON, NJ) Jan 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Big Brain Academy: Wii Degree is an excellent sequel to the DS original. The games are fast paced and really get your mind thinking. It is a great game for families and is fit for everyone. Just like the DS version, you have to solve a number of faced paced, mind-bending, minigames as fast as you can. It may not be as good as the original but, it is still a great game for the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for a while

posted by Tracey (MIAMI, FL) Jan 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this, but the repetitious nature of it means that I don't want to KEEP playing it. Worth a rental but not a purchase. The biggest downside is the annoying and lengthy "lectures" by host character, Dr. Lobe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game but repetitive

posted by jdsampson (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Sep 17, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a very fun game for about the first 10 hours then after that it starts to get boring because very repetitive Just not enough games to keep you coming back. It does have strong qualities in that it makes you use your brain. I honestly felt like my brain hurt after playing this for an hour. The other thing that I liked was that it incorporated the miis into the game play, although I wish there wasn't such a small number of people who can enroll in the school. Great game to rent or buy after it shows up in the discount bin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love the cheese!!

posted by defacto (BALTIMORE, MD) Sep 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Fun game for everyone. Gets you thinking. I did the "cheese-ball" graphics!!

ROCK ON!!

-Vince-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

big brain

posted by GameDonkey (THORNTON, CO) May 8, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

i'm sure the game is fun but the disc for the WII system was not reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good for the elders

posted by Biggins_9 (LAKE STEVENS, WA) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Enjoyed so much it gives you a chance to improve you mind

From great-grandma G

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Novelty Game

posted by rms923 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Sep 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I hope that the tests improve the functionality of the desired areas but I firmly believe that it becomes a test of how well can you do the game as opposed to skill gathering.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Didn't really care for it!!!

posted by annie63123 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

The game is ok, however when you play multiplayer, I don't think that it scores fairly. You might get lucky and hit a double bonus round, but if you don't and you only hit on the hard blocks, then you are probably gonna lose. Would be fun for teenagers or young adults, but I don't recommed under the age of 9 unless they are playing alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Single player gets boring fast.

posted by tiloho (IRON RIVER, MI) May 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2005

If you're playing by yourself you replay the same 15 mini games with the only change being the skill level. There aren't even any games to unlock. It's okay if you just want to keep your brain limber or improve it slightly but as far as fun goes, look elsewhere. The multiplayer has a few more options and 5 extra mini games but not much else to recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

would have given a 10 buuuuut.........

posted by xeniah (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jul 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I would have given this game a 9 or 10 but if you get one question wrong there is a long cycle everytime of seeing the dude talk and talk and talk before you can start over and play again. There is no way to fast forward on these. This is soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo annoying when all you want to do is play the game. MAJOR flaw in the game design for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Big Brain Academy: Wii Degree

posted by edgrod467 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Love the game. It really keeps my family on their toes. It help you focus and makes to so much fun. this game is perfect for the competitive household or just to help keep your mind sharp. It has options for single mini games all the way to various combinations of play. from team competion to coop play i think this game is great for game night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My Brain is big and it hurts.

posted by Robofish (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Big Brain Wii Degree is the Wii version of the DS game that rose to popularity after touring the world with it's number one hit "My Brain is exploding"

It all started when Professor Lobe decided to start a small academy to train the brains of students like me. After my enrollment in the academy I learned that his portable academy was better. There are 3 games per section of the brain graph. ( I'm calling it that cause I can't remember what it's called ). Compared to the DS version where you stuck with one activity per section this switches it up and uses 3 different game type each time. The downfall to this is that since there are ONLY 3 different game types per section you have experienced just about everything the single player game has to offer with one test. The practice mode is there and so is the multi player. That's where this one is a little bit different. You get a friend to join in and play in a variety of modes. However if you have DS version this one really isn't worth it unless you are the world's #1 fan of Big Brain Academy.
It's fun and it has some fun games. But really this is a better game for the portable DS considering how short it is.

Verdict: Rent this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ready to feel Challenged?

posted by china52780 (WORCESTER, MA) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Games were challenging and fun...but it seemed as though there was a lot of talking coming from the "teacher" (blobby brain).
My suggestion is to keep on hitting the A button to skip his drawn out explanations and whitty banter. Overall I would recommend to game to anyone who has a competitive side.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse