Rent Big Beach Sports for Wii
view large frontback

Big Beach Sports

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.3

489 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

"Big Beach Sport": Big bland mess

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Big Beach Sports has six - count them six - games for $30; a bad deal for the buyer of this collection of games. Here's the games:
Volleyball is an exercise of you swatting your Wiimote up and down. You have no control where your characters go or where the ball goes; all you can do is hope the AI can't handle your spikes. If not, the game gets boring real fast.
Football is the same is Volleyball; you just wave the Wiimote up and down. Defense is a joke; the only way to win is to score more touchdowns than your opponent.
Soccer is a little better than Volleyball in that you can select who to pass the ball to. But you have no control where any of your players go, and games end up you blindly shooting at the net hoping the AI's goalkeeper won't block your shot.
Cricket has the feel of Wii Sports baseball; the controls are fine. But just like Football, defense is nonexistent; scoring runs came far too easy.
Bocce is one of the better games; it takes some skill to place your large ball nearest the small white ball.
And I liked Frisbee Golf the best; the controls felt the most natural.
However, the biggest flaw of the game shows up almost immediately; the presentation. No matter what game I played, I got bored of that game after giving it a few goes. I could get skill point, win trophies and unlock new characters, but why?
Besides, the graphics are awful. Every character looks like the programmers put an adult head on a toddler's body. Man, that's nauseating. And the courts these games are played on look terrible.
They try to make another good sports game to match up with Wii Sports, but this isn't it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by tictac (SCHENECTADY, NY) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you like wii sports, you'll probably like this game. Compared to the rash of sport related games that have recently been released, like Mario vs. Sonic Olympics, this game is better. The controls are simple and are also more accurate than a lot of the other wii games out there right now. It's not the best game in the world, but it definetly a step up and in the right direction for the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good wii game

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jul 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Big Beach Sports looks like another one of those really bad games that were made in a half a year. Well i dont really think it is because it actually has some fun things in it. I really liked fisbee golf which is pretty fun and all the other games are pretty good too. I think the controls on wii games still need some tweeking because you might not do anything and accidently do something. But overall this is a very good game. Also its very cheap so if you really like this game which can easily happen, it wont be to hard to get it. This wii game is a must try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great for kids!

posted by seabeemax (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game is definitely more for kids, but is really fun!! Some reviewers forget that kids need to be able to play too. We all had fun playing the volleyball, with 4 players. A great work out! That is the other good thing is that you CAN play with the whole family. You can also make your own person, which is always fun. So in general, it is a great game that the whole family can play together and have a variety of games. I bought it as well, and a good value for 12$.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good for relaxing

posted by gracelin (MONTICELLO, IN) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

My husband and I really enjoyed parts of this game the Frisbee golf and volleyball were fun and the bocca ball. didn't try the soccer but if you are looking to not have to do a lot of moving this game is the one. yet it is still entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not so sure

posted by NisaShawn (LAVALETTE, WV) Feb 21, 2009

Member since May 2008

We haven't played this one too much. Actually, we had forgotten we had it! It just seems awkward and slow. It doesn't make a lot of sense.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Commercial in game

posted by holydiver (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

Every screen is a geico commercial. I get enough of that in media I don't pay for. Games are to simple easily mastered.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by Friedrich (LLANO, TX) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game might be good for smaller childern. Every game on this is very simple.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So So

posted by OrthoRep67 (NEW KENSINGTON, PA) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

Football stinks, Soccer is OK, Volleyball is fun, Frisbee Golf is pretty cool. Overall, only a 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Big Beach Sports

posted by thaxnjr (DELAWARE, OH) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This game was a little boring to me. It would be a great game for kids as the skill level is not that difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

unplayable!

posted by jordan0717 (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Aug 14, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Big beach sports is one of the worst games ever made for the wii. Even if you rent the game you get ripped off. It is almost impossible to play any of the games other than cricket. When you play football the computer does half the stuff so its like your not even playing, and all the other games were just as bad. The game is not worth any price and is a waste of time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not so good

posted by bigWiiNer (GIBSONIA, PA) Jul 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Cricket is fun but the rest of the games are weak!!!!! Soccer stinks! Football is a waste. Rent this for sure. Never buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Big Beach Sports

posted by wiisux (BULLOCK, NC) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This is a good game for kids 10 and under. Very simple controls. Not like Wii Sports and nowhere near as fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I'd rather receive paper cuts on my eye lids.

posted by Thrillho (SAN MARCOS, TX) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Apr 2004

I rented this one because it is the only Wii game to feature disc golf, and I read a review that said the disc golf was the best thing about Big Beach Sports. It's not. All events in this game are equally repulsive. If someone gave me this game for my birthday, I would throw it in their face, and then make them play it until they died of exposure to lameness. This is the suckiest suck that ever sucked.

Just look at the stupid cover. Look at those stupidly designed characters. Now ask yourself, do you really think this is going to be good? You know it won't. Don't rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »