Rent Beyond: Two Souls for PS3
view large frontback

Beyond: Two Souls

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $19.99

GF Rating
8.0

2092 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I like it :)

posted by spaces (HENRICO, VA) Oct 10, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

20 out of 20 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like Heavy Rain, then you'll like this. it's a like in a lot of ways. The graphics are great, i don't know why anyone would say otherwise. It's an interesting game, I haven't beaten it just yet, but I'm sure I will tonight. Skip the reviews that say this game is 'bad' because it's definitely not!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Enjoyable!

posted by Munkytoe (PAHRUMP, NV) Oct 20, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you enjoyed Heavy Rain, you'll enjoy this. They took everything I didn't like about Heavy Rain, and fixed it. The graphics are wonderful, the story immersive, and the characters are likeable.
This game isn't for people who want non-stop action, as it's mostly story. There are plenty of cut-scenes, lots of back-story, and quite a bit of dialog.
If you play for the story, and enjoy a game that delivers an in-depth storyline and beautifully crafted characters, you'll enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PS3 SIXAXIS CONTROLLER NEEDED

posted by anna_banna (PORT RICHEY, FL) Feb 10, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i just wanted to give a heads up to the people that rent this game you will need a ps3 sixaxis controller or a controller that supports that i on the other hand did not so bummer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by groovesection (OAKLAND, CA) Jan 14, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The best movie based game yet. Loved Heavy Rain and the two player added feature makes this game enjoyable for me and my partner. =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Amazing! Soo deep!

posted by QuirkyGamer (VANCOUVER, WA) Dec 26, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really can't comprehend how anyone can't think this game is perfect. I guess it depends on your personal preferences.
I found it to have everything I wanted; a very deep story full of mystery & twists, extremely developed & deep characters, & very emotional as well.
Finally a game that isn't just mindless shooting, but rather a game where you will wonder, think, feel your character, & remember the experience forever..
If you liked this game play Heavy Rain, Indigo Prophecy, Dreamfall: The Longest Journey, & The Walking Dead by Telltale games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game rent/buy you'll love it!!

posted by ChrissieLOVE66 (WINDERMERE, FL) Feb 5, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've never posted a review before, but I feel this game deserves it. I'm not too picky when it comes to all the details, but this game in general is awesome, It's like a movie. The story and graphics are great. Kept me more and more interested as I played it. Many opportunities for replay since there are several different endings. If you like games like indigo prophecy you'll enjoy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Was unsure after reading other reviews...

posted by drowkillerz (EVANSVILLE, IN) Jan 19, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was quite unsure what to think after reading all of the other reviews out there; they ranged from 9/10-amazing to 4/10-not worth it. So I decided to give it a shot and I was not disappointed!

This game is a beautiful example of almost a new genre being created in gaming- it abandons traditional gameplay mechanics and embraces incredible storytelling mixed with breathtaking visuals. The digitized actors/voice acting is phenomenal, the storytelling is engaging, and even though the gameplay is not traditional, it is still fun and keep you interested and invested in playing. Wish I had the patience to experience all the endings associated with this game (as there are soo many choices, that in-turn influence the ending you get) but on to the next game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by shakin911 (ALBION, MI) Dec 1, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Awesome game, great story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Art

posted by Geko (NAZARETH, PA) Nov 14, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

a great piece of art/Playboy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game

posted by ThickerAxe (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 22, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I took a risk buying it and was greatly rewarded the graphics were amazing I sat down and played for hours the story was so great I got sucked right in worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Depth, Quality and Emotion

posted by Ailyn_Evensen (GRESHAM, OR) Oct 22, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I may be biased because of my love for QuanticDream's previous game 'Heavy Rain', but Beyond: Two Souls does not disappoint!
Gone are the days of confusing player controls, as its easier to move Jodie by just moving the right directional stick. You can co-op with a friend, one of you as Jodie, the other as Aiden, and if one of you doesn't have a second controller, but an Android device, download the Beyond app and use that as your controller!

The game is very extensive; tiny details will either help or hinder Jodie throughout the game, and I hear there's a total of 23 different endings! If you're an emotionally-charged gamer like myself, have the tissues handy as this game will tug at your heartstrings at any given time. All I can advise is to have an open mind while playing this game, it can really make the experience all the more worthwhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game

posted by meeher (APPLETON, WI) Oct 10, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Great graphic, good gameplay, great story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by blkdragon1007 (WAPPINGERS FALLS, NY) Oct 9, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by weedmunchies (WILMINGTON, NC) Oct 14, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fun with an amazing story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOTY 2

posted by adrian97c (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Oct 12, 2013

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Totally diff from any other game this year, but aside from 'the last of us', this title here is also GOTY worthy. Kindly ignore the other bad reviews & try it for yourselves, I suggest!

Great graphics, gameplay, controls & story...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very little gameplay

posted by SaurusRex (GILBERT, SC) Oct 28, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

More of a directed cinema than a game.. great graphics and story. Just not a style of game that I enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This shoud not be called a game!

posted by cleverock1719 (BRIDGETON, NJ) Dec 7, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is more like an animated book that was read out of order.
The story would be really good if not for the fact that it jumps all over the place. The game play is virtually non resistant. I do not recommend this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just Bed and Bath

posted by societydweller (INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN) Dec 5, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game had me for the few minutes before gameplay began. I loved the story, loved the graphics. I just cant stand the sort gameplay that tells you what to press the entire time. And no I did not like Heavy Rain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

good movie-horrible game

posted by bwood4077 (rochester, NY) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Feb 2003

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

my number one issuse is that the "gameplay" is practically non-existent, 95% of the time it was a cut scene and no gameplay. that said everything else in the title was fantastic, especially the graphics and voice acting; however unless your a fan of the actors/actresses: DO NOT RENT. it's basically cut scenes the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Really wanted to like this game

posted by TRex188882 (HOMEWOOD, IL) Oct 11, 2013

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I'm a big Ellen Page fan, and was looking forward to this game, or interactive movie, to be more accurate. It plays out as one long QTE. Not really a game. And I really hate QTE in games. So I really could not enjoy this game at all. The plot is all over the place. For every good scene there were several nonsensical or just plain stupid scenes. Overall it was a huge disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Awful Game, Ok Movie

posted by aCeManning18 (SUFFOLK, VA) Oct 8, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

This game was not worthy of any prior anticipation, I finished the game in a little under eight hours. The gameplay was very boring and it felt too dragged out in its style. The story was pretty good but the gameplay and graphics really took away from the experience. Barely even considered a video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply amazing

posted by datblckdude (CAPE CORAL, FL) Aug 19, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

Great story, great game play and Ellen Page is as great as ever. I love this game so much i had to write a review just stating how good it is. I don't ever write reviews but this one deserves all the best. I wouldn't suggest buying it considering it's a 10 hour game not hug eon replay but it's story is phenomenal i ditched friends for this game 10/10 will probably play again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Amazing

posted by Maddhatter420 (CAZENOVIA, NY) Aug 19, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

the review title states it all. amazing game WOW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved the storyline!

posted by 3stooges (BOCA RATON, FL) Aug 14, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

I was surprised that I ended playing the whole game. At first I thought this was going to be a boring game, but once you get into the game and into the characters then it becomes an A+ experience. For me if the storyline is great and the characters are superb then it is very enjoyable no matter what the genre is. I highly recommend you play this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bravo! [clap clap]

posted by RevPete (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) Aug 14, 2014

Member since Dec 2007

Have you ever applauded at the end of a movie in a theater? That's how you'll feel at the end of this game.

The video gaming crowd isn't necessarily known for their cerebral, spiritual prowess, but if you're looking for a game that will grip you and give you a different outlook on life, this might be the one.

Better than any book I ever read, this game will take you into a story and make it yours. The game play feels a little forced at times, but you're never disconnected or bored. The acting is top notch - Ellen Page, Willem Defoe, and Kadeem Hardison all shine brightly in bringing the story to life.

But unlike a book or most video games, you play a key role in bringing the story to life too. As the majority of gamers are male, this will also be a new experience. This is not like playing Lara Croft. As Jodie, you will help shape her as a person as she grows from a young child to a seasoned adult. You decide how she feels about the other characters, who she falls in love with, who she distrusts, how she handles a potential unwanted advance from a guy in a bar, and ultimately whether she chooses life or death (more than once).

It's a rare game that gives you this kind of intensity, without you dying and re-spawning repeatedly. You could play this from start to finish and feel like you lived it.

My rating of 9 is just because there are some annoyances. If you play with Y axis inverted, you'll need to set it every time you start, it doesn't remember. Load times are prohibitive. Cut scenes are plentiful (although, very well integrated). And some of the movement control of Jodie is annoying (you'll find yourself itching to play as Aiden, the "other soul", who has much more freedom and intuitive movement).

But it's hard to knock this game. It's masterful. And I just bought my rental copy so that I can explore it again. Next time, my mood may make me change my decisions, and I may find a whole new universe to be inspired by...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse