Rent Beyond: Two Souls for PS3
view large frontback

Beyond: Two Souls

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $59.99

GF Rating
8.0

1357 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I like it :)

posted by spaces (HENRICO, VA) Oct 10, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like Heavy Rain, then you'll like this. it's a like in a lot of ways. The graphics are great, i don't know why anyone would say otherwise. It's an interesting game, I haven't beaten it just yet, but I'm sure I will tonight. Skip the reviews that say this game is 'bad' because it's definitely not!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game

posted by ThickerAxe (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 22, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I took a risk buying it and was greatly rewarded the graphics were amazing I sat down and played for hours the story was so great I got sucked right in worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Enjoyable!

posted by Munkytoe (PAHRUMP, NV) Oct 20, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you enjoyed Heavy Rain, you'll enjoy this. They took everything I didn't like about Heavy Rain, and fixed it. The graphics are wonderful, the story immersive, and the characters are likeable.
This game isn't for people who want non-stop action, as it's mostly story. There are plenty of cut-scenes, lots of back-story, and quite a bit of dialog.
If you play for the story, and enjoy a game that delivers an in-depth storyline and beautifully crafted characters, you'll enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by groovesection (OAKLAND, CA) Jan 14, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The best movie based game yet. Loved Heavy Rain and the two player added feature makes this game enjoyable for me and my partner. =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by weedmunchies (WILMINGTON, NC) Oct 14, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fun with an amazing story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOTY 2

posted by adrian97c (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Oct 12, 2013

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Totally diff from any other game this year, but aside from 'the last of us', this title here is also GOTY worthy. Kindly ignore the other bad reviews & try it for yourselves, I suggest!

Great graphics, gameplay, controls & story...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by blkdragon1007 (WAPPINGERS FALLS, NY) Oct 9, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PS3 SIXAXIS CONTROLLER NEEDED

posted by anna_banna (PORT RICHEY, FL) Feb 10, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i just wanted to give a heads up to the people that rent this game you will need a ps3 sixaxis controller or a controller that supports that i on the other hand did not so bummer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game rent/buy you'll love it!!

posted by ChrissieLOVE66 (WINDERMERE, FL) Feb 5, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've never posted a review before, but I feel this game deserves it. I'm not too picky when it comes to all the details, but this game in general is awesome, It's like a movie. The story and graphics are great. Kept me more and more interested as I played it. Many opportunities for replay since there are several different endings. If you like games like indigo prophecy you'll enjoy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Was unsure after reading other reviews...

posted by drowkillerz (EVANSVILLE, IN) Jan 19, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was quite unsure what to think after reading all of the other reviews out there; they ranged from 9/10-amazing to 4/10-not worth it. So I decided to give it a shot and I was not disappointed!

This game is a beautiful example of almost a new genre being created in gaming- it abandons traditional gameplay mechanics and embraces incredible storytelling mixed with breathtaking visuals. The digitized actors/voice acting is phenomenal, the storytelling is engaging, and even though the gameplay is not traditional, it is still fun and keep you interested and invested in playing. Wish I had the patience to experience all the endings associated with this game (as there are soo many choices, that in-turn influence the ending you get) but on to the next game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Amazing! Soo deep!

posted by QuirkyGamer (VANCOUVER, WA) Dec 26, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really can't comprehend how anyone can't think this game is perfect. I guess it depends on your personal preferences.
I found it to have everything I wanted; a very deep story full of mystery & twists, extremely developed & deep characters, & very emotional as well.
Finally a game that isn't just mindless shooting, but rather a game where you will wonder, think, feel your character, & remember the experience forever..
If you liked this game play Heavy Rain, Indigo Prophecy, Dreamfall: The Longest Journey, & The Walking Dead by Telltale games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by shakin911 (ALBION, MI) Dec 1, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Awesome game, great story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Art

posted by Geko (NAZARETH, PA) Nov 14, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

a great piece of art/Playboy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Depth, Quality and Emotion

posted by Ailyn_Evensen (GRESHAM, OR) Oct 22, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I may be biased because of my love for QuanticDream's previous game 'Heavy Rain', but Beyond: Two Souls does not disappoint!
Gone are the days of confusing player controls, as its easier to move Jodie by just moving the right directional stick. You can co-op with a friend, one of you as Jodie, the other as Aiden, and if one of you doesn't have a second controller, but an Android device, download the Beyond app and use that as your controller!

The game is very extensive; tiny details will either help or hinder Jodie throughout the game, and I hear there's a total of 23 different endings! If you're an emotionally-charged gamer like myself, have the tissues handy as this game will tug at your heartstrings at any given time. All I can advise is to have an open mind while playing this game, it can really make the experience all the more worthwhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game

posted by meeher (APPLETON, WI) Oct 10, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Great graphic, good gameplay, great story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very little gameplay

posted by SaurusRex (GILBERT, SC) Oct 28, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

More of a directed cinema than a game.. great graphics and story. Just not a style of game that I enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This shoud not be called a game!

posted by cleverock1719 (BRIDGETON, NJ) Dec 7, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is more like an animated book that was read out of order.
The story would be really good if not for the fact that it jumps all over the place. The game play is virtually non resistant. I do not recommend this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just Bed and Bath

posted by societydweller (INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN) Dec 5, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game had me for the few minutes before gameplay began. I loved the story, loved the graphics. I just cant stand the sort gameplay that tells you what to press the entire time. And no I did not like Heavy Rain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

good movie-horrible game

posted by bwood4077 (rochester, NY) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Feb 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

my number one issuse is that the "gameplay" is practically non-existent, 95% of the time it was a cut scene and no gameplay. that said everything else in the title was fantastic, especially the graphics and voice acting; however unless your a fan of the actors/actresses: DO NOT RENT. it's basically cut scenes the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Awful Game, Ok Movie

posted by aCeManning18 (SUFFOLK, VA) Oct 8, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game was not worthy of any prior anticipation, I finished the game in a little under eight hours. The gameplay was very boring and it felt too dragged out in its style. The story was pretty good but the gameplay and graphics really took away from the experience. Barely even considered a video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I really liked it

posted by arebelongtous (CLAYTON, NJ) Apr 15, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Unique story, great graphics.

All I need.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

This is a solid 7 rating btw. That being that I'm a Ellen Page fan as well as William Defoe. That apart from the title itself is only a piece of the cake. With all the video programming that went into Beyond Two Souls, the cast, the story. Solid effort all round. Granted this is not a popular genre. I loved Heavy Rain. This just seemed to fall short on something. I don't know what. There was something special in Heavy Rain. All the while playing Beyond Two Souls it just never gripped me the way Heavy Rain did. So enough ranting. Here it is.

Plot: Original. It is different but, nothing to write home about. The story bounces to much from past to future to past again. I understand it was done to be different or maybe it was just a gimmick, idk, it just got old though.

Graphics: Top notch of course. Just watch the trailer or some of the pics provided you'll agree. Everything is smooth and crisp not clunky. Sharp as a razor. Facial expressions, character movements, the whole title is just beautiful.

Sound fx: Quality. Voice acting (duh), music. i did some background research on the music director/composer. Apparently he died not to long after finishing the game, of cancer. Most unfortunate. The music score is stellar. He also did Heavy Rain which was also amazing. Fyi.

Gameplay: Now this is where Im on the rope. Dont get me wrong. I did enjoy PLAYING Beyond Two Souls. Its just button sequences and reaction timing. Thats it. It gets old but that is the way its suppose to be. Missing a certain button press can be fatal however but, it just has different consequences/turnout to the game so its never the same unless you are perfect over and over. Thats what puts me on the rope. I found myself messing up on purpose just to see what happens.

Overall: Its a movie with good actors, a decent story, and you control the flow of what can or cannot happen. Simple but beautiful. Thanks for your time as always. Game On

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Doesn't install

posted by Bigwill83 (BREMERTON, WA) Apr 11, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

So got this game took a look at the disk no visible scratches on in or finger prints and figured it be smooth sailing but after a lengthy update and pre install went to play and install would not run. Tried cleaning the already clean disk and tried deleting and reinstalling update, still no go. Tried again turning off network with no update still no go and after wasting 2-3 hours gave up. Like some other reviewers said this game is very finicky so I honestly would recommend a digital copy and try that instead of renting if you absolutely have to try this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cant play it

posted by NINJA315 (NORTH CHARLESTON, SC) Apr 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I have tried in vain for 3 hours to get this game to install, and it refuses. ive done everything i can think of, iv cleaned the disc til theres not so much as a speck of dust, ive deleted all the game data ive reinstalledthe data, nothing. it sucks because ive wanted to playthis since itwas announced and when i finally get the chance its impossible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BEYOND 2 SOULS

posted by mutuALGAMER_474 (HINDMAN, KY) Mar 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

this game is AMAZING period!!!
the graphics are so good that you realize ps4 is just a scam! they could have processed ps4 graphics through a ps3 easy! it was just a money scandal for sure! at certain moments of the game i didnt realize the cut scene was through and still waited! but it was already time to grab hold of the controller!

oh and far as the story line it was great!
but as far as difficulty it was poor!
you can pretty much sit and let the game beat itself!

but still recomend this game to everyone because the beatiful scenery! and storyline is outstanding!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse