Rent Beyond: Two Souls for PS3
view large frontback

Beyond: Two Souls

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

GF Rating
7.9

2328 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I like it :)

posted by spaces (HENRICO, VA) Oct 10, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

24 out of 24 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like Heavy Rain, then you'll like this. it's a like in a lot of ways. The graphics are great, i don't know why anyone would say otherwise. It's an interesting game, I haven't beaten it just yet, but I'm sure I will tonight. Skip the reviews that say this game is 'bad' because it's definitely not!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Enjoyable!

posted by Munkytoe (PAHRUMP, NV) Oct 20, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you enjoyed Heavy Rain, you'll enjoy this. They took everything I didn't like about Heavy Rain, and fixed it. The graphics are wonderful, the story immersive, and the characters are likeable.
This game isn't for people who want non-stop action, as it's mostly story. There are plenty of cut-scenes, lots of back-story, and quite a bit of dialog.
If you play for the story, and enjoy a game that delivers an in-depth storyline and beautifully crafted characters, you'll enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PS3 SIXAXIS CONTROLLER NEEDED

posted by anna_banna (PORT RICHEY, FL) Feb 10, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i just wanted to give a heads up to the people that rent this game you will need a ps3 sixaxis controller or a controller that supports that i on the other hand did not so bummer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by groovesection (OAKLAND, CA) Jan 14, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The best movie based game yet. Loved Heavy Rain and the two player added feature makes this game enjoyable for me and my partner. =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Amazing! Soo deep!

posted by QuirkyGamer (VANCOUVER, WA) Dec 26, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really can't comprehend how anyone can't think this game is perfect. I guess it depends on your personal preferences.
I found it to have everything I wanted; a very deep story full of mystery & twists, extremely developed & deep characters, & very emotional as well.
Finally a game that isn't just mindless shooting, but rather a game where you will wonder, think, feel your character, & remember the experience forever..
If you liked this game play Heavy Rain, Indigo Prophecy, Dreamfall: The Longest Journey, & The Walking Dead by Telltale games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Story Driven Fun

posted by slothy (PALMDALE, CA) Sep 23, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked this game overall. Story is entertaining and the mechanics keep you engaged enough to keep the game interesting. I enjoyed collecting all the trophies for this game, which are fairly easy to acquire.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

more cinematic than challenging play

posted by lovejest71 (CHARLESTON, WV) Sep 23, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Although I found the storyline and cinematics excellent I was nonetheless disappointed in this game. Any game that I complete in less than a day is one that I would be sorry to have purchased. Fortunately I rented it. The gameplay was not at all challenging (difficulty settings are "I frequently play video games" or "I rarely play video games" with only difference being whether fight sequences have directional action arrow shown) and most of the time I spent "playing" I was actually watching cinematics. Characters were likeable but for me to give this a higher rating it would need a better balance between gameplay and cinematics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awsome!

posted by lucki1122 (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) Sep 22, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

That pretty much all I can say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

extremely well done game

posted by pookie99 (SOLVANG, CA) Sep 16, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was phenomenal to say the least. The depth of this story was so great nearly made me cry several times. It's been so long since I played a game with a great story. The graphics are impeccable and the range of choices will have you questioning every decision. If you love long games and quick choice making I implore you to get this game when you can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great story bad gameplay

posted by Johnny805 (KINGSTON, NY) Sep 2, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the story in this is very good even though it jumps around a lot thro different parts of her life but, the game play is very short and there's not much to do, you'll spend most of your time watching instead of playing.
I wouldn't buy it but still a good rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Brilliant and flawed

posted by Skysaw (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Aug 29, 2014

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Amazing concept, beautiful graphics, great story and top-notch acting. The scope of this game is vast and the developers aimed high. If you're not sure about renting, try the free demo first on the PS store. It will tell you if this is a game for you.

This game could have been a 10, but there are a number of problems with it, as detailed below.

TECHNICAL
Several temporary screen freezes, and one permanent one. Missing/invisible objects in at least one scene. Occasional scene glitches (incorrect jump cuts, audio dialogue continuing during paused game, etc.)

INTERFACE
Difficult navigation in some smaller spaces. Some action scenes require directional movement that is unclear. In some scenes, floating button choices are very hard to see. The action dots are sometimes misleading or poorly placed. Camera control is spotty and inconsistent.

IMMERSION
The game does well to help you identify with Jodie as a character, but there is often a sense that very little you do matters to change the course of the game. There isn't the obvious branching and feeling of consequence that I felt in Heavy Rain. There is too much unnecessary hand-holding which leaves out any sense of accomplishment.

That may sound like deeper criticism than would allow a rating of 8/10, but with all its faults, I still loved playing it. There is a lot of variety in tasks and scenarios, and some gripping moments you won't forget. B:TS won't get a replay from me (Heavy Rain got several), but the one time through was a nice ride.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beyond two Souls

posted by killamyke420 (NAPLES, FL) Aug 27, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Beyond is both better and worse than its illustrious predecessor Heavy Rain. It features a more varied gameplay, a better story, talented Hollywood actors and outstanding graphics... but it also lacks something: the ability to make truly decisive choices throughout the adventure. Significant changes you can make story-wise are actually concentrated at the end. However, games of this type and this quality are still too rare to deny yourself the pleasure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Bluetooth (STREET, MD) Aug 26, 2014

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

TO NOT Let this Game slip you by!!!!! This is a great game, Controls take a bit to get use to but once you get the hand of it you will love it, Great story and great voice acting, This game will make you not want to put the controller down and play into the night, trust me Rent or Buy this game, You will love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game rent/buy you'll love it!!

posted by ChrissieLOVE66 (WINDERMERE, FL) Feb 5, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've never posted a review before, but I feel this game deserves it. I'm not too picky when it comes to all the details, but this game in general is awesome, It's like a movie. The story and graphics are great. Kept me more and more interested as I played it. Many opportunities for replay since there are several different endings. If you like games like indigo prophecy you'll enjoy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Was unsure after reading other reviews...

posted by drowkillerz (EVANSVILLE, IN) Jan 19, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was quite unsure what to think after reading all of the other reviews out there; they ranged from 9/10-amazing to 4/10-not worth it. So I decided to give it a shot and I was not disappointed!

This game is a beautiful example of almost a new genre being created in gaming- it abandons traditional gameplay mechanics and embraces incredible storytelling mixed with breathtaking visuals. The digitized actors/voice acting is phenomenal, the storytelling is engaging, and even though the gameplay is not traditional, it is still fun and keep you interested and invested in playing. Wish I had the patience to experience all the endings associated with this game (as there are soo many choices, that in-turn influence the ending you get) but on to the next game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by shakin911 (ALBION, MI) Dec 1, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Awesome game, great story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Art

posted by Geko (NAZARETH, PA) Nov 14, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

a great piece of art/Playboy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game

posted by ThickerAxe (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 22, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I took a risk buying it and was greatly rewarded the graphics were amazing I sat down and played for hours the story was so great I got sucked right in worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Depth, Quality and Emotion

posted by Ailyn_Evensen (GRESHAM, OR) Oct 22, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I may be biased because of my love for QuanticDream's previous game 'Heavy Rain', but Beyond: Two Souls does not disappoint!
Gone are the days of confusing player controls, as its easier to move Jodie by just moving the right directional stick. You can co-op with a friend, one of you as Jodie, the other as Aiden, and if one of you doesn't have a second controller, but an Android device, download the Beyond app and use that as your controller!

The game is very extensive; tiny details will either help or hinder Jodie throughout the game, and I hear there's a total of 23 different endings! If you're an emotionally-charged gamer like myself, have the tissues handy as this game will tug at your heartstrings at any given time. All I can advise is to have an open mind while playing this game, it can really make the experience all the more worthwhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game

posted by meeher (APPLETON, WI) Oct 10, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Great graphic, good gameplay, great story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by blkdragon1007 (WAPPINGERS FALLS, NY) Oct 9, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by weedmunchies (WILMINGTON, NC) Oct 14, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fun with an amazing story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOTY 2

posted by adrian97c (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Oct 12, 2013

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Totally diff from any other game this year, but aside from 'the last of us', this title here is also GOTY worthy. Kindly ignore the other bad reviews & try it for yourselves, I suggest!

Great graphics, gameplay, controls & story...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very little gameplay

posted by SaurusRex (GILBERT, SC) Oct 28, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

More of a directed cinema than a game.. great graphics and story. Just not a style of game that I enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This shoud not be called a game!

posted by cleverock1719 (BRIDGETON, NJ) Dec 7, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is more like an animated book that was read out of order.
The story would be really good if not for the fact that it jumps all over the place. The game play is virtually non resistant. I do not recommend this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse