Rent Beyond Good and Evil for Xbox
view large frontback

Beyond Good and Evil

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, GC

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.5

932 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not compatible with xbox360

posted by Pootzen (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Rented this for the xbox360 after playing the PC version, but it's not compatible - doh!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Catch the conspiracy

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) May 13, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Beyond Good and Evil is one of those games that excelled in many ways and got critical acclaim but didn't produce the sales it deserved. Truthfully, the biggest problem with the game is that it ends so quickly. And it's short length of 10 to 12 hours is such a problem because you will want to spend much more time with this game. After spending the first three hours of the game taking photos, fighting hostile creatures, racing in a hovercraft, sneaking past guards and solving a few puzzles, you'll wish the game could keep going forever. This game has so many elements to enjoy and all of them are done exceptionally well. And the story is a standout. As Jade, you uncover a political conspiracy that threatens the citizenry of your planet Hillys. The graphics and sound design only heighten the atmospheric world of Hillys. Overall, Beyond Good and Evil is surprisingly deep and absorbing. If only there could have been more quests, more gadgets, more races, more story, this would have been an outstanding game in a year of great video games. I only wish it would get enough attention that Ubisoft would consider giving us a sequel, bigger and longer than the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I've Seen The Light

posted by Hardcore (HORNELL, NY) Jul 18, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I played the opening sequence of this game I hung my head and sighed. "Oh boy, this is gonna be great! I just wasted a rental on this cheese!"
10 Minutes later I was without a doubt lost to the world that is Beyond Good and Evil. Throw in one part Pokémon Snap, one part City of Lost Children, a dash of Pod racing and just a pinch of pork and you have an amazingly entertaining game. This is a definite must rent. Do it, do it now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Compatability Fail

posted by Evilpom (LONDON, KY) Aug 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I didn't get to play this game because it is not backwards compatiable with the Xbox 360. I really wanted to play the game, but unless you have a working Xbox don't rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not a bad game

posted by clumsy (OLYMPIA, WA) Apr 15, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

BGE is a really fun game. I have a hard time with most games because my coordination is not so good. The more buttons I have to push for actions the harder it is for me to play so I give up easy. BGE was one of the less complicated games I have played. The only issue I had is that it killed my finger during races because of the trigger. Overall though I would recommend this to anyone even those people who don't like video games much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid game!!

posted by mrrwbrown (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 15, 2006

Member since Mar 2004

This game is one of the best unheard of titles I have ever played. It has good combat, graphics, a decent story, and the mini games are fun too!! I recommend this game to the younger audience, although some big kids may enjoy it too!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »