Rent Beyond Good and Evil for PS2
view large frontback

Beyond Good and Evil

Not Rentable
Also on:GC, Xbox

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.2

1057 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is a keeper

posted by donoho (NEW YORK, NY) May 24, 2006

Member since Feb 2003

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the first things I noticed about this game was the main character. The detail in her movements is awesome. Attention to detail in the characteristics that make characters really interactive seems to be an ongoing theme in this game.

Taking pictures to earn money while on your quest was actually a fun part of the game. The story was engaging and entertaining and the pace seemed just right. From hand to hand combat to car chases to stealth maneuvering, the controls felt right and never took me out of the game. I don't criticize games for being short if the time with them felt well spent.

This will definitely be an eBay purchase, since it's about the only way you can get it now. I would love to see more from this developer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why didn't I hear about this?

posted by Andydrew42 (NEW HYDE PARK, NY) Jun 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There are few games I've played which have blown me away so completely that i have only one question to ask: why the heck didn't I hear about this game before? kinda like good will hunting..... But anyway! the graphics are superb, the photography and rewards systems are amazing, and most of all the voice acting is some of the best i've ever heard, ever. Pey'j, your pig-man uncle, has one of the most engaging relationships with your character that i've ever seen in a game. When your character loses contact with him, you really feel like you've lost someone you loved. The cut scenes are amazing, with incredible motion capturing and just a little absurdity, the water effects are great, and the combat is simple, yet surprisingly satisfying and effective. I give this game a perfect score because it is one of the few games i've ever played which i am actually angry that i didn't ever hear of before. Brilliant, brilliant, and more brilliant, please play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pleasantly Surprised, Definitely a Must-Play

posted by Skullery (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Like other reviewers, I was a little skeptical of this game when it arrived. It had such high ratings but the story seemed... well... stupid. And honestly, the story is stupid. Maybe I wouldn't care so much if the title wasn't "Beyond Good and Evil", which suggests a complex story with moral ambiguity. You'll see none of that. I'm not sure where the "beyond" was, because the good guys were purely good and the bad guys were purely bad. It's about as simplistic a story as you can get.

BUT!! The characters are amazing and the gameplay is stunning. The world is open, so you can travel and investigate, running into many mini-games on your way. I preferred the mini-games to the missions, actually. My favorite activity was photographing all the species. I wish more was done with this feature. The point of photographing is to earn money from the science center, which you can then use to buy Health Uppers, etc. Unfortunately, there is no tie-in to the story... I would have loved a subplot about extinction or saving some of the species.

The gameplay mechanics are great for the PS2. The camera and AI rarely interfere, and you get the hang of the character controls pretty quickly. Driving the spaceship was the only mechanism I found frustrating.

The levels are easy, with puzzles occuring naturally and intuitively within the plot. Again, the only complaint here is one part of a mission that requires you to bump boxes around with your hovercraft. It was frustratingly difficult for no reason. In any case, there's no need for a walkthrough on this one!

Because the characters were so lovable and memorable, and because the missions were so intuitive, I found myself absolutely in love with this game.

The only thing I wished was that there was more. I wanted more species, more mini-games, more places to explore in the city. As it is, you can only visit 3-4 establishments in town.
more more more!

Here's hoping for a sequel!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I own this and still replay it on a yearly basis.

posted by Leeloo (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I remember it receiving "Most Underrated Game of the Year" award from the Playstation magazine I subscribed to, so a friend lent me her copy.

Fantastic graphics, all kinds of different campaigns to complete in order to FULLY finish the game (stealth, racing, puzzle-solving, or just all out beating the souls out of monsters). Plus, a storyline that is the opposite of boring, although not outright original.

Rent it, buy it, whatever - it's worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Play This Unappreciated Game NOW!!

posted by Krazoom (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is definitely the most unappreciated game ever. I don't understand why it wasn't more popular. It was great! I loved every second of the game and am now anxiously awaiting the (hopeful) arrival of the squeal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Much Better Than Expecting

posted by Nameless (SAN JOSE, CA) May 27, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Beyond Good and Evil is a very good comic sort of game. I was pretty skeptical before I rented it, but it turned out to be way better than I thought. You have to protect your city from the invaders trying to take it over. But not by fighting, by taking pictures of the so called army that has double crossed you. The graphics are still pretty good, even after about 3 years since it's release. The game play is good, although the camera angles will get screwy once in a while. You can also take pictures of the animals in the game also for some extra money. The game is an open world so you can go where ever you want. It's a short game so you can finish it in a weekend or maybe even a day. I recommend this game to anybody that likes action adventures.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hyped Beyond Good?

posted by penguinpaladin (FAIRBORN, OH) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

You've probably heard about this game, how good it is, how great the story is, so when I found a copy for 4 bucks at my used book/game store... and I think I was overcharged. The gameplay itself is buggy, theres a glitch where background music cuts out, at the start screen theres a glitch where the moving noise is repeated endlessly, and it doesn't really feel like a game, it feels more like a tech demo sold as a game. If you can rent it fine, but don't break the bank trying to get a copy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

beyond good and evil

posted by ganny5309 (LANCASTER, CA) Oct 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

The game is great,but at certain parts of the game it freezes up and goes in slow motion and you can't do anything!!I just have to shut the game off!!I am returning the game and hopefully you can find out why it is doing that!!Thank you for your support and your kindness!!!I look forward to the next game asap!! Thank you ,Patricia Smith

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nothing short of brilliant

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

This game tears down that wall and pulls you into the game. You actually feel like Jade. This game is so realistic that you almost feel like you're watching a movie. I could go on and on but the only way to know is to play this gem yourself. We need more titles like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Incredible play.

posted by PyroXD (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This was undoubtedly one of the best games that I have ever played. The graphics engine on this game was amazing in comparison to other older games. The controls were very simple and not confusing however, the challenges made the game ,well, challenging! Nevertheless, the best feature of this game is the plot. The story manages to be spectacular but still with a firm grip on reality. The characters were well played. The voice acting was top notch. Over all, this is probably up there next to Second Sight in terms of amazing storyline and unexpected plot twists. In my opinion, this should be at the top of every gamers "To Be Played" list. The cons however, were a lack of total control over the main character (i.e. you are not able to jump with the press of a button). Also, the camera was often aggrivating and uncooperative, even with [partial] control of the camera. Finally, I felt that the end (don't worry, I won't spoil it) should have been changed. It left me saying "Hmmm" waiting for more, even after the credits rolled (be sure to watch all of the credits until the end. Trust me). It needs a sequel, definitely. In the end, I feel that this game was superb and superior to other adventure games. Way to go Ubisoft, way to go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Only if you have the patience

posted by MagnusAce1 (Grants Pass, OR) May 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

Although the music amps you up, it is almost impossible to really get into this game due to the travelling between locations and the controls. This game is dated and although I didn't finish it and have no idea how good the story is, I think it is worth it more to check out a more recent game that is similar or better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must Play

posted by DrnkenJess (CENTREVILLE, VA) Feb 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

This is a definite must play game. Especially so with the sequel coming out shortly. The game is short and sweet so if you don't yourself starting games and never finishing them through...this game will easily keep your attention all the way through.

I'd recommend getting it for one of the other systems than PS2 though, the graphics were probably the worst of the options and I had a couple of crash issues when zoning, make sure to save ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Addicting Game

posted by Kirbygal (DAVISBURG, MI) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

I would recommend this game to anyone. This has platforming, fighting, mini-games, photography, and action to keep anyone interested for the whole game. The game focuses on Jade, a young girl who uses her photography skills to discover the truth in the "Alpha Section."

Although a great game, it did had some faults. There were a few gliches in the game and I sometimes have a hard time hearing the voices. Luckily, that's where the subtitles come in. Other than that, the game was great and the pros definently outweigh the cons. I recommend this game to any gamer out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

My daughter got bored with this

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

I can see how this might be fun. It is like a Zelda game but with a girl that kicks butt, plus you get to take pictures. For her, it was just too easy to play. I guess if you like a good story this is for you, but very unchallenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Give it a chance!

posted by toxxikk (SPRING, TX) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Within 5 minutes of popping this game in, I wanted to chuck it out the window. You're instantly thrown into a world and story without any real explanation, with bizarre characters and lame voice-overs. When are finally granted control of your character, you might find the controls to be oddly designed and difficult to get used to.

But give the game a chance. Once you get past the funky controls, lame characters, and unexplained plot, you might appreciate the graphics and the challenges presented throughout the game.

This is one of the best games I've playing in a while. Game guides are also available online for when you get stuck, which you probably will at one point or another. ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Beyond Good and Evil

posted by corkeldog (PALM BAY, FL) Feb 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

This game was easy to get through and I liked the graphics. I enjoyed taking the pictures of the animals. The hover craft was fun and I liked the different places to discover, Islands,vocanos,the main canal,the bar, and the races. The ship was fun as well. Overall a very good game and hours of fun. I would recommend this game to everyone. I hope they come out with a sequel soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game very under the radar

posted by Kokaine (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

this is a very good game great story although short and when your done your left begging for more. hopefully there will be a sequel. it reminds you of a zelda type gameplay but much more modern furturistic even great game pick it up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A True Masterpiece: Bring Us a Sequel!

posted by Thaius (ANDERSON, CA) Dec 12, 2007

Member since May 2007

I went into this game expecting it to be good. I had heard about it for a while, but I noticed it never got too popular or made too much money. Now that I have played it, I cannot see why it did not make enough money to produce the much-needed sequel. Honestly, this is one of the best games I have ever played. The storyline is excellent, the gameplay, though familiar, is well-designed, the characters are awesome, the soundtrack is fantastic, the graphics are beautiful... you HAVE to play this game. It is an experience unlike any other game out there, and it cannot be missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Imaginative World; Engrossing Story

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Feb 21, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

I'm surprised this game wasn't a commercial success. It's not perfect, but it's really, really good.

Running this game in progressive scan looks great, but I was disappointed to discover that it's not in "true" 16:9 format. Also, I ran into quite a bit of frame-rate slowdown. The game was not well optimized for the PS2's hardware. I'd recommend playing it on PC or Xbox if you have access to either.

Graphical issues aside, the voice acting, music, level-design, and story were outstanding. There were quite a few technical bugs here and there (sound effects and shadow effects were often buggy), but the sense of the story building around you is unparalleled. Like with Half Life 2, much of the story seems to unfold as you play. It didn't rely too much on FMV cinematics to tell the story; instead, ongoing conversations and scripted story actions happen as you play (similar to The Sands of Time).

Despite some frame-rate issues, some of the levels were visually stunning and impressively imaginative. The final stage was a particular treat. The game is also very colorful, and many textures (like Pey'j's skin) look beautifully detailed.

The game's graphical intentions overshoot its achievements, but it still looks great, even almost four years down the road. Though the game is really good on PS2, it'd be downright amazing on the XBox or PC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Beyond Good and Evil Thoughts.

posted by AvgGamer (FISKDALE, MA) Nov 25, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

Beyond Good & Evil is a very unique action game which provides an original, if somewhat confusing story, but a very satisfying game. It is very distant from many individual stereotypes of games and it blends many lesser known and rarely used gaming elements together to create a faulted, but purchase worthy game.

The story sets you off with a young woman named Jade sitting in her home in a planet being overrun by evil creatures called the Domz. Your family is short on money and cannot put up it's protective shield. Seeing this, the animals quickly attack and attempt to take you and your friends. You are "saved" by an army group called the Alpha Section. An outside group calls you to photographically prove corruption in this army, however, and the game is spent proving that the Alpha Section army is in fact working WITH the Domz, not against them.

The game itself has it's problems. The graphics are noticeably dated and the gameplay is filled with bugs. The game is prone to freezing, characters inexplicably disappearing/dying, and clipping. It is also rather short, but that is forgivable.

The redeeming aspects of the game include a compelling story, if a bit confusing, and great gameplay. It is a stealthy game at heart, but it is always forgiving if you are spotted. There is also plenty of fighting, which flows well, and collecting, which extends the game's rather short life. Up until the end, the world is open-ended which also adds a great deal of exploring.

Overall the game is more than worthy of a purchase. It is something many will want to play through multiple times and it is quite a challenge to collect everything. The game itself is a bit easy and short, but this doesn't detract from its being enjoyable. The only reasons it didn't score higher are the bugs and dated graphics. These aspects seriously hurt the game and make it longer for the wrong reasons. Other than these flaws, Beyond Good & Evil is a game every action fan should own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beyond Good

posted by fortyfour (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 12, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

It is a rare and remarkable occurrence when a video game has a sophisticated enough story to make you truly care about what happens to the characters. Beyond Good and Evil takes the medium of video game past the framework of simple tasks and challenges that you complete merely to pass to the next level and introduces an emotional element thanks to a strong story and the innovative approach of including significant themes of moral ambiguity and insidious deceit to fill in the pixelized world of a video game.

The gameplay is relatively straight-forward and has a mix of collection, mini-missions, and a small number of major objectives that need to be completed. There is combat in the game, but stealth is often more important as you use your camera rather than your weapons to deal the most lethal blows to your enemy by uncovering deadly secrets and then exposing them to the public. Good graphics back up the solid gameplay and innovative story to offer a complete gaming experience.

I strongly recommend this game, especially if you are someone who wishes that the world of video games had a tad fewer rocket launchers and more room for substance and development in the stories behind the gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

rent this game please

posted by ffVIIgeek (CABOT, PA) Aug 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

please rent it is a fantastic game. it is top of the line and hard to come by. anybody who has ever played the game will agree with me. this game even makes it fun to find or meet new creatures and bad guys because when you take a picture of them you get money which is good. it has tons of mini games and the best controls i have ever used. series ly your person is just plain cool to look at while she is fighting and it is really easy to switch bad guy you are hitting. yes you play as a killer chick named jade, but you get to different team mates along the way. this game has the one of the best story lines that i have ever played through. so please people rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I'm rating based on it's rentability.

posted by Sharpevil (MAYS LANDING, NJ) Aug 16, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

Don't get me wrong. This is a great game, worth at least an 8 or a 9. However, I would not reccomend renting it. This game is going to sit in the average gamer's PS2 for weeks, even months if they decide they want to put in a different game for a while. After sending this game back, I was nowhere near finished with it, but unfortunately, if I wanted to live to see another gamefly envelope, it would have to go.

Graphics: 9
Beautifully imagined characters and graphics which hold up after 2 years of advancement.

Gameplay: 8
It can get stale at times, but it's still very good, especially when coupled with the...

Plot: 10
This is the real meat of the game right here. It's what you paid for. Amazingly imaginitive, on par with other hits, such as Psychonauts.

Sound: 7
Great at the time, but it isn't very memorable.

Rentability: 5
If you want this game, buy it, don't rent it. This is gonna take up a lot of your spare time, and time is money with gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

perfect

posted by kratos305 (CULVER CITY, CA) Jul 16, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

the title says it all!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Beyond Good and Evil

posted by BlkWolf (PORTLAND, ME) Apr 28, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

Very fun. This would be one of the best games ever made if it were not so short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »