Rent Beyond Good and Evil for GC
view large frontback

Beyond Good and Evil

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox, PS2

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.7

501 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beyond Good and Evil

posted by Foxx60 (CENTRAL POINT, OR) May 28, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game because the graphics were great. Tho it was a psi phy setting the characters were not totally gross, were likeable and had deffinite personalities. The story was well thought out and followed logically tho a bit sad at times. The action was solid, the characters, and vehicles moved and performed in a predictable and controllable way. Conflicts were daring, challenging and to me, exciting. Side quests were very challenging and an intigral part of the game. The possibility of more to come if you enter the internet code is just intrigueing to me. I will return to this game someday to see how much higher I get my score and to read the last Mdisc. Save points were available often along the way. I found this one of the best things about the game. If the character dies she comes back there or very near there. No backtracking. I enjoyed this game very much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is a definite

posted by Buliwyf (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Aug 9, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is simply one of the best games ever made. Ubi constantly out does themselves once more.

The mechanics/gameplay are quite good. Storyline is great. I love the twist at the end.

The only problem is that it gets on the simple side at times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Legend of Zelda Light

posted by MichaelO (PITTSBURGH, PA) May 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

Beyond Good and Evil is a true adventure game in the style of Legend of Zelda or Metroid, in which you must explore dungeons to collect various stuff and complete various objectives, all the while also collecting extra hearts for your health meter and extra gadgets which allow you to access new areas. Overall, I enjoyed playing it, but it is far from perfect, and I was frankly expecting more based on its high Gamefly rating and reputation as a hidden gem.

Pros:
1. The game just plays well and is made with care. The controls are intuitive, the maps are useful, the objectives (while sometimes set up as puzzles) are all doable without consulting a strategy guide or other resource. Playing this game made me appreciate how bad things like camera control, menu setup, item usage, and all the other minor features are in many 3D 3rd person games.
2. I also enjoyed the setting and the setup for the plot. The game is set in a futuristic world in which aliens are invading the planet, and you get tied up in the whole political situation that causes. This story gave me a lot more motivation to play than Zelda's typical "the princess has been captured" motif straight out of the 80s.

Cons:
1. I found the game to be too short and too easy. There's nothing wrong with this per se, but it's not challenging enough to be considered a gem, in my opinion, and it's a defininite "rent."
2. The story has a good setup, but poor execution. Don't expect to be enthralled by a story with lots of interesting twists and turns. Once you get the basic gist of it, that's pretty much it. The ending was also disappointing.

Other notes:
1. I was surprised that, unlike Zelda or Metroid, the game emphasizes stealth and sneaking past enemies (almost like Hitman) more than fighting. Don't expect too much beat 'em up action.
2. Also, I feel compelled to say that the world of the game is very small. This is nice for getting to your objectives quickly, but the game is not very epic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

all around bad

posted by youbetcha (EVERETT, WA) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

too many cut scenes. game play is atrocious. hard to move around, all you can do is press A to attack. the puzzles are redundant. enemies all attack in the same manner. quit playing after about hr and a half. people say this plays like zelda.... just really poorly. feels like its meant for kids who never played a videogame before. in the little time i played the game. the only thing i like about it was the how easy it was. if it was hard i would give this game a 2. do not understand how its called a hidden gem. ive seen n64 with better graphics and gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the "best" game for gamecube that no one

posted by dmoney14 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

this is a great game. to some it up, its metal gear staring a lady, with pokemon snap on the side. you sneak around and find out sercrets that the government isnt telling you. a good point is that you can get money at any time by taking pictures of different animals. this add another layer to this game. but unlike an onion, it doesnt stink after a while.

the turning point for me:

when a limosine driven by what looks like an AIG CEO drives up to you, and parks, and out of the back drives a taxi?!?!? yes!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underrated Game

posted by Dohboy (ATLANTA, GA) Oct 11, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

This is a great game that was overlooked by a lot of gamers. The game is very hard to find in retail, but I was fortunate to find it on Gamefly. But for some reason, whenever I play this game, I get sick and nauseous and can only play it for 30 minutes at a time. It's very strange. That's besides the point. It's still a great game, fun gameplay and a substantial story. Check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Love/Hate Relationship

posted by Guardian42 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Oct 6, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

When I looked around for some good games that the Cube had to offer, this came up on a few lists as being a lost gem of the system, even though it was on the PS2 and Xbox also.
Honestly, when I started playing it, I wanted to find that love and love it too. Alas I couldn't.
I tried, I really did, but the game feels incomplete and unpolished.
First for the good stuff before I throw dirt on it: graphics and sound are great for the Cube, they really did a great job there. Story is also good, and the game plays a lot like Zelda.
Now for the bad: the controls, while they usually work, also feel incredibly sluggish. Turning is slow and the camera as well. She acts like she's running through water all the time. This can also make it difficult for big battles. Also, the game seems to have a few bugs in it as well. The game froze on me at odd moments several times, forcing me to restart and hope the last place I saved was close by. Usually it froze in mid-loading, but a few times , it froze while dodge a lazer trap or just walking a corner. Really, the freezing really made me hate this game, but i tried again each time, hoping that maybe it wasn't so bad and that the game behind it was still good. Yet, after so many freezes, I couldn't take it anymore.

So, while the game seems to be very well made and unique, there a few bits that you'll have to look past.
Decent to give a try and rent, but not to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great, but short

posted by nhlfan (SUN PRAIRIE, WI) May 14, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

Overall I found thing game very fun to play and the story was great. On the other hand, I beat it in a little over 13 hours...If you are looking for a great RPG/action title that is a little Zeldaesque, its worth picking up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Why Must This Game Fail?

posted by Xiang12 (HACIENDA HEIGHTS, CA) May 5, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

Seriously, this is one of the best games I have ever played. It perfectly blends action, stealth, and exploration elements together. The fight sequences in the game are probably the best to date. The story line is also full of depth and complexity. The only gripe about the game is that I actually NEED to go through the side quests in order to advance the game. Other than that, it is a solid game that everyone should have played. It definitely diserves a sequel even if it flopped in retail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »