Rent Beijing 2008 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Beijing 2008

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.1

1277 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Meet Me in Beijing

posted by MrEKO1973 (WEST FRANKFORT, IL) Jul 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

26 out of 28 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Beijing 2008 for the Xbox 360 is probably the best Olympic game ever made. Of course, that's like saying, "That's the best manure sandwich I've ever eaten." Ok, it's not that bad. Actually, there are a lot of positives on this title. The best thing about it is that it’s not just track and field. There are multiple events that include pistol and skeet shooting, diving, and judo. The menus and presentation are smooth and the graphics are decent for its genre. Some of the games play like complex mini-games but it's hard to ask for more from a game that boast 36 events. And at $39.99 it's a good value.
Now some of the bad: You better have a sturdy 360 controller. I think I damage mine trying to run the 400m dash. Its lots of alternate button pushing and thumb stick waggling. A friend of mine actually ended up with blisters on his palms from the track and field events. I can see many of these games playing better on the Nintendo Wii.
Another problem, if you want to call it that, is that athlete’s names are not allowed to be used. I know these are supposed to be armature games and the participants are not allowed to profit directly from the Olympics but, it would be nice if I beat a guy named Michael Phelps in the 200m butterfly relay and not CPU USA. I can’t yell at a guy named CPU USA. Unfortunately, the online play is where the game really suffers. The constant lag and dropped game issues really hurt what could have been a fun online experience. Overall, I would say this game is worth a rental and not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Major disapointment

posted by PastorNick (DAYTON, TX) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Here is a game I was highly anticipating. The idea of having an all-american team with so many different competitions going on at the same time, and the numerous options of games to play was very intriguing to me. Needless to say, my hand was cramped after two hours of button mashing. Every single game you had to mash the A and B in ridiculous speed just to keep up. And two hours after opening the Gamefly box, it was back in the Gamefly box and in the mail the next day.

I didn't listen to all the reviews I read about the game-play being a waste of time, because I am such a competitive person, I wanted to at least try it. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME waiting for this game to be mailed to you, because you will mail it straight back. And that will be one week worth of Gamefly out the window..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Might make a fun party game but my thumbs hurt

posted by SKOOT2006 (MANSFIELD, TX) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, I was looking forward to trying this game. Thought it would be so refreshing to play some obscure sports... but its little more than button mashing.

Some of the games are fun - I quite enjoyed Archery, Javelin, and Diving. But most are overly complicated with uncomfortable controls. Running and Swimming are horrible on your thumbs since the easiest way to make them move is by pressing A and B - the faster you alternate the faster you go.. my thumbs hurt after about 10 min. With such annoying controls, winning most events is not likely. Not unless you want blisters on your thumbs :)

All that said, I think this might make a fun party game (and I'm sure drinking would help).. get 4 people on the same xbox and go to town. Since you'd all equally suck it would be fun to best your buddies.. at least until your thumbs hurt

Bottom Line: Pass unless you want to try a new party game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Serves me right for not taking others advice

posted by IhateOSU (LOCUST GROVE, GA) Sep 24, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The controls are ridiculous, I long for the days of the lonely A and B. The game would be fun if not for the controls. Oh well maybe they'll have a better game to coincide with the 2012 Olympics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

yet another bad track and field

posted by pauly37 (SULPHUR, OK) Jul 13, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

19 out of 26 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

the only good thing this game has going for it is the wide selection of events ( 38). bad thing is maybe half are fun to play , the others are just boring, tabble tennis and judo for example.
presentation plain sucks, why couldn`t they have just let you play olympic mode from start to finish,oh no you have to qualify for so many finals per day , if you don`t you have to keep replaying that day until you do.which just takes the fun out of playing the game.
graphics are ok depending on the event, swimming events look pretty good, others can look kinda bland.
overall , rent only , even then you`ll be bored after a few days.just nothing here to make you wanna keep playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a waste of time

posted by JM3D90 (Houston, TX) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Game is absolutely boring
Each event uses the same controls, my great grandma can play
Controls are repetitive meaning your constantly pressing the same buttons
You’ll end up getting blisters after playing only 5 minutes
It’s dreaded pain just typing this review, this game is a bloody massacre
I feel like the child from the “knowing”
Do me a favor and do not rent
Unless you want to be bored to death
Simulation is horrible
Come on where’s Michael
Phelps
You can’t choose from any characters
Graphics look like a game from the wii
No offense wii gamers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Inconsistent and Presented Terribly

posted by timissmexy (FREMONT, CA) Jul 12, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

The presentation on this game is really bad. The one plus I will give to this game is that it has a decent amount of events, but they are all really bad. Playing each event feels like playing an internet flash game that someone took 5 minutes to throw together. Some events are way to easy and some are way to hard. You'll find yourself breaking the world javelin record on your first try, then failing to even hit 3 targets on shotgun skeet. The graphics are terrible and the the character selection is ridiculous. You have two people per country that you are assigned. America's man looks like a more ghetto tiger woods, while our female looks like Kerry Washington (ben grimms girlfriend from the new fantastic 4 movies). Those are the only choices you get, and you don't even choose. I played maybe 3 fun events, and those were all so easy that I had broken the world record within my first few tries. I rented this game expecting to be entertained, but ended up returning it the day after I got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont buy it!!!

posted by marvelous2 (JAMAICA, NY) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game sucked! Not that I was goin to get it anyway, but there are no stars from the real games. No micheal phelps, no shawn jhonson, no usain bolt. What kind of wack sports game does that. you are basically playing with nobodys up agaisnt nobodys. PASS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What you'd expect.

posted by DrewMaw (REDDING, CA) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If mashing buttons is what you've been waiting for, then this is your title. The only unfortunate thing about it, is that there's little innovation here. While there may be some high next-gen graphics, it's not enough to waste your time on. I wouldn't even waste a rent on it unless you have brothers, or a family that's into it. It's true that you can play it online, but something gets lost here. It's just not as fun as playing it with your buds. If you are the only gamer in your house, pass on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW

posted by IISHAGII (grapeland, TX) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This has to be the worst game I've ever played on the 360.

I try to stay away from writing bad reviews, but I can't go on not telling people how bad this is. I literally felt like I was back playing my old Super Nintendo, mashing buttons like there's no tomorrow until my fingers cramped up and went numb. And I HATE button mashing. There's no talent in it, and little skill involved.

They could have done so much more with this game. Sad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Junk

posted by Mithras (MILLSTONE TOWNSHIP, NJ) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is total garbage - i played like 4 events and realized that it just sucks too much to continue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun but hard

posted by TOOCOOLFOR (HENDERSON, NV) Jul 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

9 out of 21 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Beijing 2008 is Fun but u have to play it a while to get better. Like any game it is hard when it starts but it gets easier the more you play.

The Graphics are about a 9.8 out of 10

The Gameplay is about a 9 out of 10

this is a great overall game that you can spend alot of time playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not even a bronze...

posted by bmerc23 (CLERMONT, FL) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is far below my expectations. I just don't see why they can't get an olympic game right. This game is not fun and just doesnt do it for me. I received this game at 1:30pm on 7/29 and dropped it back in the mail at 3pm on 7/29.

If you like button mashing, this game is for you. If not, put something else on your GameQ.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

OH MY GOD MY FINGERS HURT--But my Forearms are big

posted by Brikz3488 (ROCKVILLE, MD) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Oh, yeah i could have went with a bunch of these. Better eat your spinach bc you are going to need huge forearms. And if you can beat one of the CP guys in a race, then you must be triple jointed.

I give them credit for trying to be creative and ingenuitive but it still falls short. It probably is a great game for the young developing mind bc to get gold you have to have phenomenal hand eye coordination, as detailed in the parallel bars moving the sticks to match arrows, and in balance beam and floor exercise to hit the right button identifiable by both letters and colors.

Olympic events and games of this type are really hard to simulate and have usually missed the mark. These guys have come the closest so far but it still falls short and is probably only worth trying it out once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

omg

posted by xcxcxcxcxc (UNIVERSAL CITY, TX) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is horrible if you rent it i feel very very very sorry for you just never ever get this game PERIOD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst game ever

posted by Mama1181 (MEDFORD, NY) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'm gonna start by saying that if you want a game thats gonna resemble the olympics you are better of downloading for 800 points track and field on the xbox live.

after playing awhile your hands and palm start to hurt and the game is really tired, its as if you really are swimming and running and balancing and everything else.

Another thing is that the achievements are very hard to get. the records that you need to beat are even higher then the world record.

Im just gonna end by saying do not rent or buy, JUST STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Makes Button Mashers Look Sophisticated

posted by juca5056 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 10, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

After an hour or so of repetitive hand motions, with none of the rewards of "self relief," I quickly gave up on this stillbirth of a game. I get what it was trying to do, but it just failed miserably. It's essentially impossible to place in all events of a day without a truck-load of luck and breaking your controller's thumbsticks. The ability to replay a day's events that websites mentioned was noticeably absent in my Olympic playthrough, as was the retaining of any of my upgrades. This game harkens back to the dark ages of video games where if you don't know every aspect of each event perfectly, you can't advance and must start over with another attempt.
I returned this game before my xbox even finished warming up. Please, don't encourage SEGA by renting this insult to gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not To Be Played Alone

posted by NameHere (CARY, IL) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I own this game and I have a blast playing it. I only really play it though with my friends. Now a days games are all made to be played online and by yourself. Back in the day all the games were able to be played by yourself and split screen and still be fun.
This games single player is not good at all, mainly for the fact that if you don't complete in the top 3 in an event your Olympic run is over. Th controls are the same as any other Olympic based game going all the way back to the NES days, which means it mainly consists of button taping. (Though that is only the racing events.) But the game does give you an alternative controls to button mashing. The controls are fine though it makes it extremely easy to pick up and play.
This game is diffidently meant to be played with friends. Making your own Olympic schedule trying to out medal your buddies and win more events is what makes this game fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game made me want to play Track n Field (NES)

posted by fnf101 (HINTON, WV) Feb 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

The controls are screwed up in this game. I have no problem pushing A and B really fast, but trying to hit the left trigger while going clock wise with the thumbstick just isn't possible. This game could have been good, the graphics are nice. The sound and music are fine. Just the idiotic controls ruin this game.

The Air pistol part was fun, and the gymnastics area was good, but everything else sucked really bad. The controls are just overly complicated. Track N Field for the NES sounds x10 better than this game. I think I'm going to go play that :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i wouldnt purchase it

posted by kallman (HAMMOND, WI) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

THis game is to confusing and it takes to long to find a good event that you are good at and this game is impossible to win a race im hittin ab so fast but he is slower than molasses in january but it does have good graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Beijing 08

posted by BunnyRat91 (CORAM, NY) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This is for eveyone who watched the olympics on tv. Now if you did watch almost every event & loved it then you'll like this game hands down. I'll admit this isn't the best game in the world but it isn't the worst. But then again they weren't trying to make the best game they were recreating Beijing & it worked for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Beijing 2008 Flies High To Obtain A Silver Medal

posted by JValentine (NEW ALBANY, IN) Aug 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

This game is actually pretty good. The field events are just awesome, the characters' movements/techniques are dead on and it just never seems to get old. My only real complaint is that some of the longer races get kind of monotonous and are not very hard. I definitely recommend this game to anyone who enjoys Track and Field events and if you are a previous, real-life Track and Field champion as I am, it's even sweeter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Should have made the controls more user-friendly

posted by Davidovich (COSTA MESA, CA) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

The controls are abysmal. Other reviewers are right; you get blisters after 5 minutes. Not to mention how much damage is done to my controller from all that button mashing. Nope, I simply won't subject my controller to such treatment.

As long as I'm forced to play as fictional athletes, it would have been nice to be able to create my own athlete instead of choosing from a handful of pre-made ones. And when I choose to "customize" my team by selecting which of the pre-made athletes (all of whom look butt-ugly anyway) will represent my country, why do I have to painstakingly do so with each freakin' event separately? Why not have an option to change the athletes for all the events at once?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't even bother

posted by 12cowboys (LELAND, IA) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

This game should've been very good. The controls are the whole game pretty much, that and yourself not fatigueing on the long races. It could've been great but the controls were horrible. You had to alternate between A and B for ANY running you do. I had great trouble running the 100, 200 and 400 Meter dashes because the computer could run so much faster, or I couldn't tap A - B fast enough. They did a good job of putting in a lot of events. You can participate in swimming, running, field events, weightlifting events, and much more. It gets very old very fast. The achievements are well set, making you get a time/distance/etc... just slower/shorter/etc... than the world record mark. This makes it difficult. I only finished with one.

I would recommend ONLY a rental to anyone who loves the Olympics or likes to swim or run. If your not into this kind of stuff, don't even try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Take some time but Awesome reward

posted by Champman07 (LANCASTER, NY) May 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I have seen many bad reviews about this game but personally I love it. I understand where some of you are coming from but you didn't give it enough time so that you could get good at some of the controls. So give the game a chance and you'll love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse