Rent Beijing 2008 for PS3
view large frontback

Beijing 2008

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.0

734 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Not to bad for what it is

posted by Gamer9577 (PALM DESERT, CA) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Anyone who Likes the olympics will enjoy this game, I love bought the game and have played it quite a bit. The controls are simple but annoying at times. Most of the time i feel like im going snap off my Analogue sticks and my buttons are gonna get worn out. however as a fan of these games from all the way back to the nes one its worth playing the graphics aren't to bad and the events for the most part are fun with some exceptions.

The online however is the worst online gaming experience ive ever had. It takes forever to complete the events as you have to sit there and click through each Cut, and if the other players don't click through em well have fun sitting there for 3+ hours depending on how many events and such.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Deceiving...

posted by MIBL95 (SOLON, IA) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game would be like over 35 games in one...but it was not. Though the graphics are amazing, you may as well be watching a movie.

All this game consists of is punching buttons as fast as you can, or moving the joystick in a certain direction continually for the entire event. At one point (bicycling) I was sitting there rotating the analog stick for 2 minutes as fast as I could...while about to experience a MAJOR cramp...and thought, "Well forget it!" The game went right back into the mail!

Don't even bother! I wish I had read these reviews before renting. You're not playing a game, you're cranking or pumping a machine.

What a waste...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OK...no where near great

posted by Menace2k2 (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Aug 19, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Before you even try the 100m, 200m or any race that you need to use the L2 or R2 in order to get out of the blocks dont even try it. It will do nothing but frustrate you. basically if you dont time it just right you will lose and lose miserably every time. Oh and the 110m hurdles is just impossible. I don't know about you but this makes half of the game worthless to me. Some of the field events are fun. Long Jump, Triple Jump, Javelin, Discuss, Hammer, etc... are fun. Graphics are great, sounds is great too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it would be ok if i had four hands

posted by cps493 (KINGSTON, MA) Sep 27, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the controls are too difficult. you have to use nearly every button on the control in order to do anything. and then its boring. ugh.. pass on this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not that great of a game

posted by scsuperman (PENDLETON, SC) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is ok, it is great when you can get it going but the problem is getting it going. Like another used, it is virutally impossible to just the blocks and then fun. It is very frustrating. I gave this game a 5 because after a while it gets boring. I would not rent it again...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Beijin Olympics 08

posted by PS3TALAA (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

This is probably one of the worst games, anyone wanna spend time playing it,
controls are aweful, there is no real sensation to the games,
only a few fields are really playable, which gets boring over the same moves after couple of tries.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY !!!!!!??!!!

there are much better games out,
I hope they make the next olmpic games better, funner, stronger, and more importantly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Worth Even One Dollar

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2005

One question: Where were the equestrian events?!
That's my favorite of the Summer Olympics. I never both the Winter Olympics, too boring. Anyway, my boyfriend and I both love horseracing, horse jumping events, dressage, rodeos, and endurance. But many people think only women and girls like all these, except rodeos. We were both hoping to compete one another in these events on the game, but they were not there.

I still have the old Sydney 2000 from the PS1 and that one has show jumping. I can't even imagine why a better system with such great capabilities would not have had these.

Well, let's hope the next Olympics game remembers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dont try 4 gold...u wont get it

posted by buccaneers (SPRING HILL, FL) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

When i first heard of this game i emediately wanted it because i do enjoy the marrio olympics, i just wanted a more realistic way to play with my friends. The game has a fun 4 player game, but the games r just so hard. there are about 4 games u will get gold in besides tht good luck. games like skeet shooting, gymnastics, and certain swimming events r nxt to impossible, there is no way u will beat the competidors. Also the graphics suck, there is no real feel of a croud, there is a pact house and u dont hear anything. i dont kno if its even possible to brake the world records on some events, and te game does a miserable job of showing directions. The game has an "olympic games" mode whic pretty much is u qualifying 4 events and if u screw up on like 2 events ur out of the whole olympics, and the game goes threw every single event!!! impossible!!!. also u can "create" a team which is aboslutely pointless u do absolutely nothing to the players i really do not even kno why its in the game u dont change theym at all, only good with ur buds, rent 1rst

Pros: Fun with friends, thts it

Cons: no crowd sound, horrible game feature/modes, too hard, and the game does a terrible job of explaining the game controls

Final: 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth it.

posted by lorothecat (LONGMONT, CO) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

This game was good, but very hard. I would not get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Beijing 2008

posted by animalrace (CARROLLTON, GA) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

This is the olympics alright!!! The finger olympics. Way to hard to play!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DONT BOTHER

posted by NORCAL (PLEASANT HILL, CA) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

THIS GAME IS AWFUL, I WAS SHOCKED AT HOW BAD IT WAS GIVEN ALL THE HYPE.THE CONTROLS ARE NEAR IMPOSSIBLE AND THE COUNTRY SELECTION IS MINIMAL,NOT REAL OLYMPIANS ON GAME I WAS VERY DISSAPOINTED THE GAME SHOULD HAVE NEVER BEEN RELEASED

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring and Tedious but with Stunning Graphics

posted by FriarK (HAYWARD, CA) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

The problem with this game is that the controls don’t live up to the visuals. There is very little head to head competition. Many of the events require repetitive motions that quickly cause discomfort. The gymnastics mode was by far the family favorite, but bicycling was a chore. All in all, an 8 visually 2 game-play wise. The tutorials were helpful, but still, this game failed to entertain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever!!!!!!!!!!

posted by singleton2 (MAHWAH, NJ) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This honestly has to be the worst game I ever played. It is boring there is no point to the game, buttons are hard to remember, graphics are terrible and the game play sucks. I would not recommend this game to anyone stay clear worst game ever. I gave it a rating of 1 and it totally deserves that rating or a 0.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BEIJING

posted by KNEBELJ (CHARLESTON, SC) Nov 27, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

This game was horrible. The graphics are ok. You play all the events the same way. It gets old real fast. It all depends on the start wich is very difficult to do. My opinion is : don't waste the time renting it. I played it for about 10 minuites and sealed it up to be mailed back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Beijing 2008 sucks horribly

posted by ryanviera (LIVERMORE, CA) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

This olympic 08 game sucks. its so hard to do everything. the only thing i was somewhat good at was high jump. And for the sprints i moved my fingers as fast as i could and i wonder how people get so high of a score. Is it just me or as this game really hard?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

beijing 2008

posted by crypt1 (PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

i think that it was not that good it was very hard too play pressing the buttons at the same time it was hard even hurt my fingers and arms almost broke the remote control it just wasn't that good too me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Controls

posted by SSG187 (FRANKLIN, TN) Sep 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

Couldn't get used to the controls. Targeting events were cool. Events with start times need a beeper to let you know when to power up or else you DQ constantly. Graphics were great though and with more patients maybe I could have gotten better. Not for gamers who go crazy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

beijing 2008

posted by boyb121 (MIDLAND, TX) Sep 20, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

this games suck very bad the controls sucks its just horrible worst game ever do not rent this game u be very mad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I didn't expect much...

posted by DrCerp8 (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 29, 2008

Member since May 2008

I rented this to be festive... I returned it the same day I received it.

There was little explanation on how to do the events - But it takes so long to explain it (amazing). It takes 15-20 seconds to do an event... and 15-20 seconds to load the main screen. So at best you are sitting and waiting half the time (plus however long it takes for you to choose an event... Then watch the long explanation on how to do it). Then we get into world records... Seemed like a cool idea - but became the biggest time waster. If the server is busy, you have to wait another 15 seconds to see where you ranked amongst the world (no way to cancel out of that and it happens after ever event).

I simply have no patients for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »