Rent Bee Movie Game for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Bee Movie Game

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, DS, PS2
GF Rating
5.3

654 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Not great, seen worse

posted by Ellybeth30 (SAINT CLOUD, MN) Aug 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you have read any of my other reviews, you know that I'm a very new newbie and basically got sucked into the gaming world via my boyfriend the COD addict. Keep that in mind.
Anyway, I downloaded the trial, and eventually bought the full game, for cheap.
The reason that I bought this game is that its helping me work on my "fingering" :)
Its kind of like a kiddie version of Saints Row.

Thumbs up:
1. Good graphics, cute bees.
2. Great voice acting, I believe all done by the movie actors
3. Story mode has a lot of in game direction- a plus for me.
4. Cut scenes are fun, but if you haven't seen the movie, you probably wouldn't understand them

Thumbs down:
1. Achievements are hard and frustrating.
2. I can't always figure out how to progress the story mode. If I am understaning correctly, you have to unlock a series of minigames (which I actually enjoy) and then you can go back to Barry's house to start the next chapter. I didn't know this and literally spent 45 minutes and a lot of curse words trying to FIND Barry's house.
3. Even with the cars and the "hover" function, it takes a long time to get from place to place in the hive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

UGHHH

posted by davep11 (SADDLE BROOK, NJ) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

game glitches a bunch so sometimes u cant get to ch 11 or you cant unlock all the achievements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Glitch

posted by LilHutch (WHITE, PA) Mar 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very scratched up and very glitch aka you will not get some acheivements because it glitches it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THE WORST

posted by Track2343 (Colorado Springs, CO) Jul 19, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is nothing but boring mutiplayer boring everything is boring in this game it suks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Eeh...not so great

posted by Bobby117 (BLACKWOOD, NJ) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

the two-player mode was limited and boring. The game play was confusing and didn't give you enough info to start out. It didn't tell me what I was supposed to be doing. Just plops you down in the middle of a hive to let you figure it out for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Well, It Wasn't Bad Per Se

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Jan 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game is, of course, based on the movie. I know, shocker.

You are, yes, a bee. Your goal in life is to leave the hive and interact with humans. This game follows your pursuit of this dream and, later, your pursuit of a man who is stealing all of the bee's honey in pursuit of world domination or some such nonsense.

The game is an ode to Quick-Time Events. You get them by the truckload in the game with pretty much level using them fairly extensively. You use them to get through traffic and to fight off humans. Your final boss "fight" is, basically, a lengthy QTE. And don't even get me started on how insanely cheap the final fight is. Words don't do justice.

You know, I liked Dragon's Lair back in 1983 or so --- but it does not mean that I like that particular style of gameplay NOW, but it seems to be more prevalent now than ever before.

Stop me if this sounds like a really riveting title. Because gameplay wise, it ain't.

But the cutscenes and the like ARE good and are voiced by the actors. So, yes, this game has better cutscenes than gameplay --- but, hey, it's something to hang their hats on, so who am I to condemn?

This game is a fairly easy target for 1000 Achievement Points, and you might find some of the cutscenes entertaining, but like all of the movie games but Harry Potter, it's not anything you'll regret missing, nor will you remember much about it an hour after you finish playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pathetic

posted by Blockoz (NEWPORT BEACH, CA) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

hahahahahahahahahaha this game is soooooooooo bad!!!!!!!!!! I mean usually all movie games are bad, but this movie game is over the top bad. It is ridiculously boring so dont even waste ur time. By the way, this game DOES NOT have easy gamerscore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

not a bad game if you want to kill time

posted by optimus42 (CLEVELAND, OH) Aug 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

No easy gamerscore here. If you want those achievements, you have to WORK for them.

The mini games are fun and challenging in the later levels.

Glitching does occur on occasion, but not as bad as some people are saying.

BTW, 1000 gamerscore here.

Try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

bee movie

posted by tajg24 (ANTELOPE, CA) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

hard, boring, and all mission are scattered practically impossible. Really no fun and a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No place for this game for any age.

posted by Dechols239 (HOPE MILLS, NC) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Sep 2009

Controls too complex for children under age 10-12. Story was hard to follow and was tiresome. Pass on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not A Kids Game. Glitched Achievements

posted by Feonyx (SEATTLE, WA) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

The game is divided into three parts:

1) A main hive area that my kids enjoyed running around, driving cars and changing Barrys clothes.
2) Minigames (think Frogger, Space Invaders, etc) that were too hard for my kids to enjoy.
3) Story mode Chapters that were also too hard for the kids (button sequence, button mash and left, right, up or down on the control stick) that are fairly forgiving, but very repetitive if you miss a button. This mode unlocks more minigames and story chapters.

So overal this is a kids game if you don't mind playing most of the levels for them. If however you are playing this game for the achievements expect pain! There is a nasty glitch that if it happens to you (and it happens a lot from reading the forums) you will be out of 250 gamer points unless you replay the whole game all over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for the kids

posted by SKOOT2006 (MANSFIELD, TX) May 5, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

While I'll admit that I was bored after about an hour, my kids enjoyed it a great deal. The open world (sandbox) aspect of the hive is a very cool feature for a kids game.

It was an interesting game for sure but the need to do some repetitive tasks to progress to the next chapter kinda killed it for me. I was relieved when I finally beat the game :) The story stuff is fun.. its the filler thst gets old.

Bottom Line: If you have kids 10 and under they'll get a kick out of it.. anyone older may get bored quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bee Movie Loved IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by XziiDe (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Jan 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Usually i dont play these type of games but i decided to try it out. And i loved it the story line is wonderful and closely related to the movie the mini games you can do are very entertaing and i think this is a good game for all ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Good game idea really Poor Programing

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) May 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

Well another example of a Good Game Idea Ruined by Programers that Have No Brains and are really Lucky they are still Working because if I was their Boss they would never program another game in thier lives.
Why do Programers think they have some clue as to what Makes a Good game? Answer because they are Stupid Ignorant Moronic Brain Dead People There is a very great Lack of Intelligence in the Programing Industry .
This Is a dont Buy and Only rent if you want to see how Ignorant Programers have Become.
You can only play the main game if you do the stupid Idiotic Mini Games well excuse me Idiots that Programed the game I got news for you after you get through the easy parts of most of them your stuck because you cant beat the Mini games so you cant move the game forward if you ask me the Idiots that thought that was a good idea should be gotten rid of Permanently
this Junk gets a 1 and thats more then it deserves because the Programers got their hands on it and ruined it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cute but Disappointing

posted by Cuddles (HAMLIN, NY) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game is cute. The graphics look good. The character development is pretty ok too.

With that being said.... the controls are TERRIBLE. Just to jump into a car takes at least 4-6 button presses when it should only take one.

The camera is a real pain to deal with sometimes.

Some levels and goals are very easy. Others are annoying. Not really difficult, but very very annoying to accomplish.

Not really a good child's game. Some parts will be ok for them, but others will be too difficult.

If you are a gamer score addict ( xbox 360 people will understand )... this game does have some easy and fast points. Other achievements are quite frustrating and time consuming. The achievements also do tend to glitch out many times. The game is well noted for that. It also can have a tenancy to corrupt game saves. So if you have a backup memory card, store a copy of your game save before you play each time or when you make a substantial headway into the game.

The game was definitely rushed out. If it had a bit more time, the game would be much more enjoyable. Rent only if you are a fan of the movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If looking for achievements, do NOT play this game

posted by Phenomenon (CANTERBURY, CT) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

For those that play xbox games for achievements points, this is not the game to get. Though not entirely a bad game, there are several sections that are tedious and repetitive. The mini-games that are required to unlock further progression into the story are bland at best and seem like more of a chore than fun to play. There were many times that the game glitched. For examples, I would get stuck in walls or the game would inexplicably freeze. Upon inspection of the disc, there were no scratches that would cause the DVD to do this. At one point, the game froze in the middle of a save point, causing the data to be corrupted and the loss of 10+ hours of playing since I had to begin a new game. Several of the achievements are glitched, most notably the last 200 point achievement for completing 100% of the game. Nothing is more frustrating that playing the game through a second time, only to be denied a 200 point achievement. If this game is in your Q because your expecting an easy 1000 points on your gamerscore, think again. This game was obviously rushed to make the movie deadline which is apparent from the abundance of problems. Run away, run far far away from this monster masquerading as a kids game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »